Lancome • Le Crayon Kohl • Eyeliner

rated 3.6(215 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 hello2belle on 1/15/2008 10:55:00 AM more reviews by hello2belle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I'm not a big fan of pencil liners, because they don't create the look I'm looking for and seem to smudge easily or disappear too fast. This liner is pretty good at staying put and doesn't smudge as much. It lasts a long time too. However, for the price I paid for this I rather buy a gel eyeliner at the same price. As for pencil eyeliners though, I think this could be one of the best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maybeiloveyou on 1/12/2008 11:04:00 PM more reviews by maybeiloveyou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeliner. It's creamy - so it's great for smoky eyes. The downside is that it smudges fairly easily. If you live in a very humid climate (or have very oily skin), then you probably need to look elsewhere. I actually love using this as a brow pencil. If you use a light hand and then go over it with a brush, it creates the most natural looking brows! The pencil lasts FOREVER, so the price isn't too bad when you know it'll last for 2-3 years (if not longer).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Xonasaxo on 11/24/2007 1:23:00 PM more reviews by Xonasaxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is my absolute must-have product. It was worth every dollar of the $22 I payed for this eyeliner. Well, first of all, even thought it was $22, it's like, 10 inches long so I probably won't have to re-purchase for a very long time. I can use for any type of look, whether I'm going for a smoky look or a delicate look, this liner makes my eyes look amazing. It's about as black as any liner can get, so it looks good with my olive complexion and my dark brown eyes. It comes on really easily too, and it rarely has to be sharpened. It has a good quality formula, so it stays on all day, and I never need to re-apply when I wear this eyeliner. I think everyone should have one of these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 effi33 on 10/16/2007 9:51:00 PM more reviews by effi33

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This thing has NO staying power at all! It does go on very very creamy, but then completely disappears within a few hours. I have extremely dry skin, so the fact that it vanishes so rapidly is an indication that this is just the way this product is. Clinique quickliner is still my favorite; does not go on as smooth and creamy as this one, but def has more staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 suzyQ3 on 10/13/2007 9:32:00 PM more reviews by suzyQ3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have Le Crayon Khol in both moss and black ebony (given to me as a gift). The colors are nice but, for $22 a piece I was expecting much better performance! The smudging is very bad and they wear off only after a few hours. I much rather prefer urban decay 24/7 glide-on eye pencils or clinique's cream shapers. Don't fall into this expensive trap!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anadeandrada on 10/6/2007 9:08:00 PM more reviews by anadeandrada

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    


I have been using this eyeliner for as long as I can remember. I used to wear black, grey, brown, and blue, but now I stick with the brown (Brun) shade because it suits me so well. It is a gorgeous chocolate brown color, which I like better than black because it is a softer look. I like the way this pencil glides on really easily. It is creamier than other eyeliners I have tried. I don't have a problem with it smudging. It does tend to wear off by the end of the night, but I think that is normal with most make up. I can see myself being loyal to this product for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jadekisses on 9/26/2007 11:20:00 PM more reviews by Jadekisses

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

read below because xlooceex got it completely right
I also find it fairly smudgy so if it hasnt faded yet its smudgy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xlooceex on 9/26/2007 11:27:00 AM more reviews by xlooceex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i had hopes for this eyeliner...it draws one really well and dark. HOWEVER, it fades in about an hour. I use mac's eyeshadown base, which keeps on my mac eyeliner and other eyeshadow for up to 8 hours. no matter how much base/primer i use, this lancome eyeliner will just not stay on. i am quite said as this was quite expensive and now i dunno what to do with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Myfugitive on 9/26/2007 7:59:00 AM more reviews by Myfugitive

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Call me old-fashioned...call me a rebel of modern technology, but I hate using those self-sharpening automatic twist up eyeliners. I've tried them from a variety of brands, and I have to pull and tug and poke just trying to get the e/l on my eyelid, that my eye is sore by the time I'm finished. Thats' one reason I purchased this pencil e/l from Lancome. Other factors were: the size...it's much longer than other brands, making it last months longer, and giving you more control when applying it.
Black Coffee is my FAVE.It is black, but there is the slightest hint of brown, so I wear it to work, and in the daytime. That way, I get to wear my beloved black without looking so harsh and "inky" at those times.
I find them especially good when I want a thin line on my lower lashes and slightly smudge it. When I wear cream/liquld eyeliner on my top lashes, I always use this for my lower.
There is never an issue with tugging or pulling with the eyeliner. It goes on very easy, but it's not at all "mushy". Just a perfect creamy pencil.
The reason I am ducking it a lippie, is that there is another pencil e/l I'm crazy about that's just as good as this one, from AVON (Ultra Luxury Liner), and when they're not on sale, they are $5.00 ea., but on sale they're sometimes $1.99. The reason I buy the Lancome, is for the Black Coffee shade. If i just needed the basic black, I'd just buy the cheaper.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* filmart on 9/18/2007 6:16:00 AM more reviews by filmart

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I'm, sadly, old enough to remember the days when this pencil was all the rage. The idea of rich, creamy KOHL liner was so exciting years back that this pencil was available in at least a dozen different colors. We had no choice but to deal with the problem of kohl smearing easily, until dryer options, like cake eyeliner, came along. Recently a SA assured me that Le Crayon Khol was better and more modernized than I had remembered it. She was wearing the liner herself, and said that it hadn't budged all day. So, I then become reacquainted with the rich color and easy glide-on application that kohl offers, until suddenly . . . I sneeze (which I do a LOT of, with my allergies). Then old memories return, of eyeliner that never truly dries and all those blotches of kohl color under the eyes that I have to lift off. Ah . . . some things NEVER change. In the big picture, it's nice that kohl is still available, for those who prefer creamy, rich, soft, smudgable eyeliner. And there will always be plenty of newbies who will be impressed with Le Crayon Khol's Best of Beauty Hall of Fame award from Allure. But as for myself, I'm much happier remembering this product as a distant memory.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Eyeliner products