NYX • Lipstick- #529 Thalia • Lipstick

rated 3.5(250 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lovelylau on 9/3/2010 4:50:00 PM more reviews by lovelylau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I just received this in the mail in my Cherry Culture order and I was so scared because in every swatch I've seen online this lipstick looks so different. However as soon as I put it on I fell in love! This looks like a nice deep pink on me, I guess you'd say a "dusty rose" as I've seen stated on here previously. I'm cool toned, so maybe that's why it works. I don't wear MAC foundations so I can't really give a reference to my skintone. I do wear Photoready in Cappuccino, if that helps and I guess I would be a lighter NW45.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kayleigh83 on 8/28/2010 1:51:00 PM more reviews by kayleigh83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a perfect example of how different lipsticks can look on different people. At first swipe I thought this could be a MLBB for me... but then I took a closer look and realized that it looked TERRIBLE! For me (cool almost neutral skintone, pretty fair) it looked like a sort of dusty rose shade but with LOTS of brown undertones. It just looked... bad on me. As always though with NYX lipsticks the texture was smooth and creamy and the pigmentation was amazing, it's just too bad it was the wrong pigment for me! I'll keep searching for the right NYX Round Lipstick for me because it isn't this one.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oscarnabby on 8/25/2010 9:10:00 AM more reviews by oscarnabby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After falling in love with NYX eyeshadows, and reading all the great reviews for the lipsticks, I thought I would give a NYX lipstick a spin, so I purchased Thalia at Ulta for 3 or 4 dollars. The tubes aren't sealed, so I opened lots of tubes to check the colors before I settled on Thalia. It looks like a MLBB when you look at the bullet, but once applied, it appeared much more of a purply mauve that just wasn't flattering in the least. It's the color I think my lips would appear if I narrowly escaped drowning in frigid water. There was nothing else about the lipstick I liked either. I found the texture much too heavy and slippery....it looked very cheap on my lips, and I am a drugstore makeup lover, so I'm not being snobby about this....I LOVE inexpensive cosmetics, but they still have to have a certain texture, like Revlon Colorburst or Maybelline Colorsensational. NYX looked heavy, waxy, clumpy ....just very unattractive. I tried applying with a lip brush, but the color was still butt-ugly on me. I have no desire to try any other NYX lipsticks now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherzleen on 8/25/2010 4:47:00 AM more reviews by cherzleen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I’m giving this lipstick 5 lippies because I’m generous. Like what the others said, it is pink colour with a mauve undertone to it. Nothing really special actually, you can find drugstore brands carrying similar colours. Texture wise, (like any NYX product) is amazing covers my pigmented lips very well. I have olive skin NC40-42. It works ok for me, something I can wear daily. Compared to my favourite Nyx Lipstick “Perfect” which has a brown undertone Thalia is brighter and more pinkier which also means it looks good just byitself.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* megathon on 8/23/2010 11:20:00 PM more reviews by megathon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the weirdest lipstick I've ever attempted to use. I love the creamy consistency, but I cannot figure out what color it is. Someone described it as looking like a "dusty rose" color in the tube, and I'd agree with that. However, on my lips, it's purple. Not a pretty or flattering purple, either--it's truly horrific.

However, I tried this on my sister, who is cool-toned (I'm neutral-toned), and it looked like a very pretty, flattering mauve on her (it still didn't look like the color in the tube, though). So, this could work for some people, but in general I'd recommend avoiding it, just in case. I've never tried a lipstick that looks so different once it's on my lips. At least it was cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iLoveU on 8/22/2010 1:11:00 PM more reviews by iLoveU

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

the colour its horrible. luckily its cheap.so i didnt spend do much money with this weird colour lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jh0517 on 8/21/2010 1:25:00 PM more reviews by jh0517

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first ever review on makeupalley - until now I have been reading other people's and benefitting from their opinions. However I feel I need to express my thoughts on this lipstick! So here goes:
DISGUSTING! The minute I put it on I burst out laughing, as did my hubby when I turned around to show him. It made me look like a corpse. I don't want to write this in a way that may offend others because I understand some may be looking for this colour and may actually suit them, however for me (fair, warm skin tone) it was absolutely ridiculous. The lipstick looks very different from the colour on the stick and when put on skin or lips. In the tube, it looks like a dusty pink, but on the lips it translates to a purpley brown. The purple hue is what gives the dead, corpse-like effect. I suppose, in my case, it would be okay for dress up parties or a gothic look, but definitely not something I would ever repurchase. For those going for that look - get this! Apart from the colour, texture and pigmentation is quite good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TheBexExpress on 8/5/2010 10:03:00 AM more reviews by TheBexExpress

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I like the Round Lipsticks in general. But yeah, not my colour at all. I'm quite fair with pretty pigmented lips and this not only came up purplier than expected, but gave me an instant corpse look. Which is a shame because it had great coverage. And it looked like such a lovely mauve on my hand, darnit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tam23 on 8/1/2010 10:11:00 PM more reviews by tam23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very pigmented pink lips and this lipstick made my lips look purple. I know other people like this lipstick but it wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sdeyerling on 7/29/2010 1:17:00 AM more reviews by sdeyerling

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For girls with pigmented lips, this is a must have. It goes gorgeous with my NC25-30 coloring. This mauve-rose is something I would overlook easily, but after hearing so much about it I had to pick it up, and for $1.50 on cherryculture.com, how could I pass it up? It is my lips but better and I can slap it on with any look and it is natural and gorgeous. I will buy this over and over.
That said, it has that funny smell all NYX do, and the wear isn't super long, but neither of those bother me. =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products