Maybelline Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe

4.0

273 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients.Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Ceresin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Caprylyl Methicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclomethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Candelilla Cera / Candelilla Wax / Cire De Candelilla, Caprylyl Glycol, C30-45 Alkyldimethylsilyl Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Paraffin. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide.. ...


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

a gray, smeary mess. worst eyeshadow ever.

bright side: may be a good eye primer



on 3/16/2013 1:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Green

this was my second maybelline color tattoo. i originally bought bad to the bronze. i like this more because i fancy matte shades more than shimmery. this is definitely wearable, like bad to the bronze. it shows up like a soft brown with a hint of gray on your lid. my only complaint is on this one the packaging is screwed up because it doesn't close as smoothly as the other one i own. the pricing isn't bad, about $5 - $7 depending on where you live. it works just as well as mac paint pots and benefit creaseless cream shadows, it doesn't dry out as fast as mac paint pots though, which is good. overall, i love this product a lot. it doesn't crease throughout the day. i doubt it stays on for 24 hours, but who wears their makeup for 24 hours? i love this so much and i'd recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to spend $18 - $22 on a cream eyeshadow/base.


on 2/26/2013 1:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my first colour tattoo purchase and so far so good! I expected this colour to be a little more purpley as that's what it looks like to me in the container . It went on more dark grey but it was nice. Very easy to apply with a stiff shader brush or even your fingers if you wanted. I expected it to be way more creamy and crease but after I applied it, it felt powdery on the lid and didn't crease at all! I will definitely be trying the rest of these because they can be great as a wash of colour on the lid or even as a base for eyeshadow. These are also very affordable for a cream shadow and the container is sanitary and nice, love the screw on top. Would recommend to people looking for good drugstore cream shadows.


on 2/8/2013 3:14:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Tough as Taupe is not the best of the Maybelline Color Tattoo shadows. I have Bad to the Bronze and love it. Tough As Taupe creases like crazy! Sometimes my lids get oily but this is the only Color Tattoo that has no staying power whatsoever on its own. I didn't use an additional primer with it and within a few hours the oil had cracked through. I have medium brown skin and the color is nice under lighter eyeshadows. Also,once you finish the first layer the color is completely different! It's a darker, grainier taupe. Ill continue to use it with a primer but it's definately not the best one in the line IMO.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2013 2:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

These little gems are great, after primer I put these on my lids for a base and the shadow really last all day.Not sure about 24 hours but who really needs make up on for that long lol. Also these work great as a regular shadow,they blend well with each other and do not crease which is great.No smearing or smudging around. I love these and invested in mostly all the colors. Will continue to buy their great, so a little tip some of the shades are hard to blend so use those as a base.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have been a big fan of MAC Paint Pots but recently learned about Maybelline's version and the positive reviews they have received. At less than half the price of a MAC PP, they seemed to be worth trying. Especially because PPs seem to go bad fairly quickly, for the price.

Tough as Taupe is a matte medium taupe that to me is more on the gray side. It looks great with my blue eyes and blends easily with my fingertip. It's not too dry and not too emollient. Perfect texture! It lasts all day without creasing. I love it and would definitely buy it again.

*****EDIT: It's not "taupe" at all. It's definitely gray, cement gray. Not an easy color to wear unless you do a lot of smokey eye looks.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2013 1:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a perfect brow filler for me. I have very sparse brows from overplucking in my younger days and I have a bald spot at the inner right brow. The gray almost purple tone is perfect for dk. Ash blondes or light browns without imparting any warm red tones in your brows. It is long lasting and buildable to an even darker color if needed. Beautiful on blue eyes as a shadow but perfect for brows!!!
Update--dried up after only a few months, had to be careful not to have brows look cakey.
Try Clinique CHARCOALED applied damp for similar effect, longer lasting more natural appearance :)

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2013 8:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Mine dried out really fast, even though I stored it in a dark room temperate place upside down. It also looked chalky on my eyelid. I liked the other Colour Tattoos, but this one was a dud for me.


on 1/14/2013 8:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

For some reason, this one dried out much faster than the Bad to the Bronze. Also, I find this one harder to blend than the others. All in all it is a good product but nothing spectacular due to the subpar texture and blending capabilities.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2013 8:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Not sure if this warrants yet another rave review, but here's one anyway! I was looking for a cream eyeshadow for a while, since I find them fairly easy to apply & blend with a finger. However, so many cream eyeshadows I've used will crease before I even leave the house! These Color Tattoos don't do that. One more reason I love Tough as Taupe is that since I am NOT a morning person, it's great to just reach for this pot and do a simple look with it and go out looking presentable. For reference, I'm NW20 and I think it's a flattering shade on me. The only slight downside is that the consistency of the product is a bit hard, and not buttery like a lot of other cream eyeshadows. The pot is also a bit bulky for my tastes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top