Maybelline • Color Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Shadow in Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(237 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lavenderwig on 10/24/2012 5:10:00 PM more reviews by lavenderwig

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

maybelline color tattoo is the only eye shadow i like. i was always an eyeliner person, and any shadow i got was cheap crappy powder, with and without shimmer, and i was never happy with the way it looked, felt, or faded my eyeliner with its dust. never tried any other way, like eyeshadow sticks, but i just figured since they are chubby i wouldn't be able to put it right above my eyeliner (note--when i say eyeliner i mean a thick cat eye thing i do with the mac gel eyeliner in the pot). i didn't want to get any of the eyeliner on top the pencil tip. thus, me giving up on eyeshadows altogether. i'm not a pro with makeup colors, i'd rather conceal and apply foundation to my face to make it all one color, apply eyeliner, then apply chapstick! very basic. oh maybelline mega plush mascara also. lately been doing a dark wine color on the lip for fall. but that just happened a day ago, so i'm obsessed with this specific look right now. anyway, i tried tattoo right when it came out. i wanted to see if the color was true. to my surprise it felt amazing, it stayed on, and EVERY color looked so good somehow. even the orange and orange is never a color near me. i had a bad habit back then though and never could actually buy anything. i didn't pay today, but hey, it was already unwrapped and only tried once.. anyways, grey is my favorite "color", always has been, and i use an estee lauder blending shadow brush to apply. i use like nothing to get the look i want. will last a long time i imagine. if i have a dark lip, i like to make a bit of a smokey eye. if i'm just using chapstick i can cover the eyelid in seconds and it's bold yet blends if you want it to. i really wish they would create a million different colors with this formula. it is perfection. also what's great about the grey is, to me, when i have a chapstick lip, it kind of looks like it's a color in the purple family. i remember a long time ago i bought two mac eyeshadows, one was a bold violet color, and unfortunately i looked like a streetwalker. both colors had gone back. i never got purple again. but this grey is a nice play towards it. please maybelline make more colors of these i don't wanna have to look elsewhere for colors you don't have! p.s. i gave the packaging a 4 because the parts the stickers are placed makes them look switched around. i kept opening it and the pot was facing towards the floor. and now when i set it in the right direction i see no color, just an all-black cap with an annoying label.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aldehyde on 10/24/2012 10:55:00 AM more reviews by aldehyde

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

If you like hard working, multi-tasking, dirt cheap beauty products then you need this. I like several colors in this collection, but Tough as Taupe is the most versatile for me. I am NW20, brunette. I can use this as an eyelid primer, or a shadow if I don't want to look too done or I'm in a hurry. I can use this one my eyebrows!! My once black thick eyebrows need filling in, and no matter how much makeup artists tell me to use brown, sable etc, those colors look too warm. This looks very natural, but not harsh like a black pencil would. I also use this as an eyeliner for a very natural, no makeup look. So yay! All I need is mascara and my eyes are done! I love this stuff. It's under $5 at Walmart. I'm not a big fan of Walmart, but just noting how inexpensive it is. This is also the only matte color in the collection as far as I know. I'm getting back-up, and back-up to back up the back-up.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 10/24/2012 6:14:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love using this as a base for my smokey eyes!! Whether its using gray, purple or even black eyeshadows, I love it with smoky eyes! Color is a matte medium grayish/taupe. I use my fingers to apply and then blend out with a fluffy brush. For daytime, I love wearing satin taupe over this. Gorgeous! Def would repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jmp24 on 10/23/2012 8:35:00 PM more reviews by jmp24

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Interesting product/color. I only have the one, bought it to use mostly as a primer...was hoping to find the LE Barely Beige, but the only place I have seen it is ebay for $20 (no thanks!)

I thought the taupe would be lighter, and was initially disappointed when I swatched it on my hand....but after actually trying it on my eyes, I love it. It's a nice color - not warm, sort of like a cool, deep mushroom. I use my fingertip and it goes on the eyelids nice and even. I use my ring finger to dab a bit along my lower lashes, add mascara, and I am good to go. Nice matte finish, but not too overdone.

It looks great alone, but another option is to put shadow over it. Probably not every color will work, but it does add more depth to whatever you put on top. For example, Bare Minerals in "Bahama", a sheer pink shimmer, looks light pink on bare skin or nude primer - but over this tuape cream, it's a deeper, more dramatic taupey lavender shade. I have yet to experiment with many shades on top, but so far it's worked well with most of the colors I wear.

Lasts all day on me, no irritation...I can't wait to try using it as a brow filler as someone else posted. I just wish Maybelline made it in more matte neutral shades.

If anyone knows where I can find Barely Beige at a reasonable price, please let me know!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aliciaschulz26 on 10/13/2012 9:20:00 PM more reviews by Aliciaschulz26

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first color tattoo I got, I have three. I like all but one. I use this as a base for any brown/neutral eye looks. It's also greattttt for eye liner on the lower lash line. Actually they all are!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xAutumnBabyx on 10/13/2012 9:14:00 PM more reviews by xAutumnBabyx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product is amazing for filling in and shaping eyebrows. Sounds a bit strange, but when I apply this onto my brows it turns into the most gorgeous light Taupe color, and I have tried countless of brow powders and pencils that wouldn't suit my platinum hair, and this one did. The key to make sure is that you apply this with a light hand. I use my MAC 212 Brush to create the perfect brow, and I'm always satisfied with the colour, as well as the amazing lasting power. I set this with MAC's Omega eyeshadow, or the lightest brow powder in my NYX Eyebrow Cake Blonde quad. I am so glad I tried this for my brows, its my Holy Grail and I hope they never discontinue the Color Tattoos, because they are just lovely :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DKER on 10/13/2012 8:35:00 PM more reviews by DKER

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My first CT, and the one I still find lasts the longest. A great neutral color to sweep all over. However, it is just a little too cool for me....I look better with a warmer eyecolor...but I wish those would stay on as well as this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smtiquia on 10/7/2012 1:17:00 PM more reviews by smtiquia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm pretty impressed. The color is more gray than brown, but I like the way it looks over my brown eyes. A little goes a long way, and it blends very easily

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amlheureux on 10/7/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by amlheureux

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am CRAZY about this product. I, more and more, find myself reaching for this on a daily basis. I'm very pale (like NC15ish) and this is a great color on me... It's a grayish purple taupe rather than a beige. It looks great by itself or as a base for another color and has excellent staying power. I work 7-10 hours every day and this lasts through it all without touch-ups. I can use fingers in a pinch although I get the most flawless finish with a flat shader brush. I also love what a great value this product is-- you get a large amount of product in a little glass pot and it just feels expensive. Although I have had good luck across the board with the Color Tattoos, this is my favorite one and I would recommend it to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lessisabore on 10/3/2012 8:42:00 AM more reviews by lessisabore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Hope I'm putting this review in the right place; in the UK the product is called 40-Permanent Taupe. As it's matte like the other reviewers have mentioned I've assumed it's the same product.

Love this. I normally don't wear eyeshadow as I find it just moves to my eye creases and wears off unevenly. Primer seems like too much faff.

But this is great; it stays were you put it and the colour is perfect for adding some shadow and looking pulled together, quickly, without the sparkle and effort of too much makeup. In the very squat glass jar there is a bit of sparkle on the surface, but it isn't noticeable once on the eyes.

Hope that they consider doing more tones in a matte-ish finish, as the other colours in the range presently are fun but quite blingy-bright & not really everyday wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products