Maybelline • Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(259 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 weakshine on 1/3/2013 8:39:00 PM more reviews by weakshine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I bought several of these colour tattoo eyeshadows and really loved them all - the staying power is great. Some of the colours come out more sheer than others, and my white one (05 'too cool') seems to have dried out a bit. I definitely get the most use out of the taupe colour. I find it fairly pigmented and the staying power is great. I use this most often in my brows as it is a great neutral for my fair skin and deep drown hair, but it also works as a great subtle shade for my crease.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AshleyRivers on 1/1/2013 4:41:00 AM more reviews by AshleyRivers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely on its own, or paired with other eyeshadows. Perfect shade, perfect consistency.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jatkins on 12/30/2012 8:25:00 PM more reviews by jatkins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

These eyeshadows have a great consistency. I was afraid to try them at first because they looked like something that could get greasy and slide off of my eyes. I was so wrong. I think this particular color does great over a neutral eye shadow look. I dab a tiny bit of this in the corner of my eye with my finger and the color lasts all day. I use Too Faced Shadow Insurance under all eye shadows and liners. I can't wait to try more colors. My sister uses the maroon shade (not sure of the name) and it looks great on her.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kupo_baby on 12/29/2012 3:50:00 PM more reviews by kupo_baby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this because of all of the buzz. It's not a color I normally gravitate towards but I do like it. It doesn't go on quite as smoothly as Barely Beige or Bad to the Bronze but it's very blendable.
This is nice but it's not HG

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetvictory23 on 12/29/2012 12:23:00 AM more reviews by sweetvictory23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Other commenters are right in saying it is more of a grey than a taupe. Nevertheless, I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase. I use this as an everyday crease color for a smokey eye. I apply it with my finger and can use more or less depending on how dark I want it to be. You have to act quick though because it is difficult to blend the longer it sits on your eyelid. I always use primer, so I'm not sure about it staying 24 hours, but in all honesty, who wants it to last that long anyway? It is definitely still on and noticeable when I take my makeup off at night after a long workday. I love this so much I want to purchase in another color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 12/28/2012 10:36:00 PM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This item was gifted to me by a lovely MUA'er and started my near obsession with the Maybelline Color Tattoos. Tough as Taupe has already been well described by other reviewers - a mushroom grey-brown with zero shimmer as far as I can tell. The texture remains the smoothest, creamiest out of the Color Tattoos I've tried thus far. It's very blendable and gets high marks for texture as well as versatility. I love to layer it under taupe and grey eye shadows, and it's great as an all over lid color as well. True to it's name I have not experienced creasing (with or without primer) with this shade. I think if you are just starting out with this line of shadows, this color as well as Barely Branded are the most versatile colors to start with imo. I would absolutely recommend this color because I think it would work on pretty much anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lydiaxaidyl on 12/26/2012 3:58:00 AM more reviews by lydiaxaidyl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Has a grey brown shade. Applies smoothly on my oily lids and lasts for hours. I like that the glass jar has some weight to it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* samiiyo on 12/26/2012 2:27:00 AM more reviews by samiiyo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I enjoy this product. It stays on really well and provides a very pigmented base. The one thing that bothers me is that the color is named "tough as taupe" yet it's really more of a grey than a taupe. Despite this, I do love that it's matte. It also provides an excellent base for a smokey eye look. It's also very affordable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* decoydream on 12/26/2012 1:53:00 AM more reviews by decoydream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I agree with a lot of other reviewers in saying that this leans much more towards a matte mid toned grey when applied. It's not a bad thing though because it becomes highly versatile in that you can layer other eyeshadows on top, use it as a smudgey eyeliner that's less intense than black kohl and by itself. The formulation is great (especially considering I have had no luck and therefore no faith in cream eyeshadows since they always crease!) and is easiest to apply with fingers straight onto the lid (work quickly and in thin layers). I'm not too sure whether it does stay on for 24 hours but it definitely lasts a good 10 hours without primer underneath!

I would definitely buy again but I wish they came out with more wearable colours. The blue, purple and orange look amazing but i could never pull it off without looking like an extra from cirque du soliel!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lookingood450 on 12/23/2012 4:20:00 PM more reviews by lookingood450

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff stays on like glue! I use a primer (Rain Cosmetics) and I tap this on with my finger. Love the earthy color, and it's a great base for a smokey eye.
The glass pot is high end, and the price is so reasonable-wow! I wish I was not so color phobic or I'd purchase all the snazzy bright ones too-but I'll stick with the taupe right now. Great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products