Giorgio Armani Face Fabric Second Skin Nude Makeup

4.1

238 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, ETHYLEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, LIMONENE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, BENZYL ALCOHOL, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, ALUMINIUM HYDROXIDE, HEXYL CINNAMAL +/- MAY CONTAIN, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CI 77499, CI 77492, CI 77491/ IRON OXIDES, CI 12085 / RED 36, CI 19140 / YELLOW 5 LAKE, MICA


on 9/23/2009 11:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation blends very well. It offers light-medium coverage. Properly applied, it gives a great no-makeup look while evening out the complexion. It feels like you are not wearing anything.



on 8/18/2009 2:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great if you're looking for very sheer coverage. I have some redness on my cheeks, and large pores in my T-zone. This does a fantastic job at evening everything out and smoothing out the pores. I found it a little weird to powder over this since this has a powdery finish to it, but the powder does help it last a little longer. For me, my skin gets oily and thus, FF wears off a little throughout the day and settles into my pores a little (if I look very close in the mirror, I can see dots of the product in my pores..but this is being very nitpicky). I wear #2 and it can get slightly ashy if I put too much on my yellow-toned skin. Perfect for casual days when I just need a little help to look like I have awesome skin.


on 8/16/2009 9:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love a light foundation/TM so was excited to try this. #2 was a good match for my NC 20-25 skin. This product looks great for the first couple of hours and then poof! All gone! Worse than that this is very silicone heavy and it broke me out in horrible cysts after just two days of wear. I was hoping for a replacement for my beloved By Terry VIP but this stuff is definitely not it.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 8/16/2009 9:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is not designed to be a full on foundation so don't expect great coverage but it does even out skin tone and feels lovely on the skin. It has just the right amount of glow even if you are prone to shine. Its a nice product to use if you want a light boost of colour.


on 8/16/2009 8:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It is a decent foundation. I really liked their LSF so I wanted to try this since it has SPF in it. This foundation seems sheerer so there wasn't as much coverage as I would have liked. It also took a bit longer to blend. I did like the tube though, easy to get the right amount out and hygienic too.


on 8/15/2009 2:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG foundation and I'd buy it again and again!


It smooths out my face, conceals any visible pores, stays matte throughout the day, stays colour-true and yet it looks super natural on your skin. Prior to this I was using Laura Mercier's Tinted Moisturiser which I found to be too thick for my skin, oxidised and tended to settle into pores. In terms of coverage i'd say this was a sheer foundation, a little more coverage than Laura Mercier's Tinted Moisturiser but coverage can be controlled by how much you use. This has enough slip to allow you to use less than a pea sized amount on your entire face which provides a more tinted moisturizer like coverage.



I'm somewhere between a MAC NC35 and NC40 and shade 4 works brilliantly for me.


Just a few tips I've learnt while working with this foundation:


- It's practically a silicone gel so skip any heavy silicone based primers like Clarins Instant Smooth or the heavier silicone gels like Smashbox. The reason for this is if you layer face fabric over a dense silicone base, the texture will become splotchy and unnatural in direct light.


- This mattifies the skin like a silicone primer would so it's a good idea to prep the skin with a moisturising primer like MUFE Elixir if you have dry skin or YSL Top Secrets which is what I use for my combination skin. This ensures that the foundation won't make you look overly matte and yet still controls oil throughout the day.


- I've tried to apply this with a MAC 187, 188, 109 and 190 and none of them work better than my fingers. I simply smooth the product onto my skin and the most important step is to then pat my face rapidly in order to even out the distribution and help the silicone really 'bond' with your skin. That's what the Armani SA told me to do and it's what really makes the foundation look like a second skin.


- Alternatively you can smooth the product on with your figers and then gently brush over it with a blush brush like the MAC 165 instead of patting for a velvety smooth airbrush finish. This only works for face fabric because it has a very light, silicone gel texture which literally glides across your skin.


- Because of the silicone in this, it can tend to dry out the skin underneath your eyes and exaggerate lines (even if, like me, you're only 20). The best way to counteract this is to pat on some eye cream beforehand or only use the excess product left on your fingers after applying the face fabric and then pat that under your eyes - following up with a highlighter or concealer if necessary.


- Even for combo skin like mine it's not necessary to set the foundation with a layer of powder but powder definately helps to just add a finishing touch to the look and improve it's staying power. I use Chanel's Poudre Douce in Peche Tendre and lightly dust that over my face with a fan brush which looks natural and keeps my face fresh all day. Rely on the face fabric to control your oil, not your powder or you'll look cakey and dry.


That's all I can think of! This foundation is a real joy to use, a definate staple in my routine.

43 out of 43 people found this review helpful.


on 8/11/2009 5:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Went around Nordstoms getting samples of foundations one day because in the summer absolutely NOTHING matches my skin. Tried Face Fabric on my hand and loved the smooth, silky, powdery feeling and the color blended well too. It covers well, feels like I'm wearing nothing and still looks natural. No mask here.Long story short..... ended up buying it. It is expensive but my makeup has never looked better. I apply Monistat Anti Chafing Gel to Powder as a primer then apply my Face Fabric and set with the powder compact #7. Ideally you would eliminate the primer and setting powder and I probably could but love the way it looks together. This is the ONLY foundation I have tried that keeps the oil at bay. My complexion has improved after using this even. Less breakouts and my skin looks smooth. I seldom have to retouch the entire day where I used to 2 to 3 X in the morning alone. I keep wanting to find a reason to return it because of the high price but can't bring myself to do it. I will continue to try more GA products in the future.

EDIT: This foundation amazes me. I look in the mirror and still can't believe it can look so good especially after trying everything out there. 95 degree heat and NO touch ups and it still looks great eight hours later. WooHoo !!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2009 4:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really wanted to like this foundation...it's a dream to apply and gives a fantastic finish (nice and smooth)...unfortunately after 1-2 weeks of using this, I broke out all over my face. So disappointed! I think it's all the 'cones....


on 7/29/2009 10:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This product is truly a heaven's sent. No, I'm not being an Armani fan-girl, or overly positive, I'm just that astounded that something can work for me THIS well!

The product costs £28 as far as I remember, but one tube goes extremely far. With everyday use, I guess this should last for 4 - 6 months, depending on how much you need. The amount I use is the size of a very small almond. The packaging is very chic and minimalistic, like all of Armani's offerings. It's rough surface means it won't slip out of your hand during application.

On a VERY important note: This is the first foundation (and no, this is not a tinted moisturizer!) that matches my skin tone. I'm on the extreme end of PPPism. All foundations I have tried before looked either yellow, pink or orange on me. However, Armani's Face Fabric Second Skin Nude Makeup #8 (which is supposed to be a brightener) is a perfect match. It's pure alabaster.

(Only one word of warning: It doesn't seem to agree with some serums (MUAC's Gly-Luronic Serum comes to mind) and moisturizers on the market. However, I didn't have any problems with Olay's All-Day Moisturizer, although you have to use a microscopic amount in order for it not to turn into a grease fest.)

The product glides onto your skin perfectly and evenly. I use my fingers to apply it all over my face because its consistency is closer to a moisturizer. And even so it blends in flawlessly, without any patches or blotches. The coverage is great, but not intended for people who have obvious blemishes or scars (if I have a very bad-skin-day or if my skin is irritated, I put in half a pump of Laura Mercier's Oil-Free Foundation to add some coverage).

The beauty of the Face Fabric Second Skin foundation is that it is supposed to be featherlight and not noticeable. The finish is dewy with light reflecting particles adding some radiance to your skin. It sets to a powdery finish, but I prefer to use at least some powder to set it. I hate being self-conscious about not being able to touch my face in order for my foundation not to come off.

I don't know how long this lasts without being set by a powder, but once you dust a layer of powder over it, it seems to last for ages. Ten hours at work and it's still like new without any touch-ups.

To sum it up: This is HG stuff. For me at least, since I have IMMENSE trouble finding anything that matches my skin tone. But even if you ignore this factor, the consistency, finish and staying power is top-top-top-notch. Even the price seems puny considering how long it lasts. Definitely the best buy I made in this category!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2009 6:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is a little miracle for those who don't want to look made up.
This featherweight foundation glides on the skin to make it look oh so perfect oh so subtly. It is a sheer fluid mousse like foundation that is perfect for daily coverage that gives my skin a flawless, smooth appearance. It has a rather matte finish at first but becomes very skin-like with a very slight glow once it settles. The best thing about it: it is indetectable!! It can be applied with a foundation brush, kabuki brush or fingers which is how I apply it. I'm gonna give it a try with a foundation brush and will edit my review if it changes the look of the foundation!! It comes in a very hygienic and convenient tube and costs $45. I am NC 25 and use the shade 2 throughout the year but I use #3 during the summer.
This the perfect compromise between a tinted moisturizer and a foundation. Giorgio Armani, you impress me again!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Foundation - Tony Moly CC Cream vs. Hera UV BB Mist vs. Armani Maestro vs. Armani Face Fabric by Josephine Chiu



Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

50 reviews
image

Sheer Bronzer #1

123 reviews
image

Blender brush

55 reviews
Back to Top