Giorgio Armani • Face Fabric Second Skin Nude Makeup • Foundations

rated 4.1(231 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dralim on 7/31/2009 4:14:00 AM more reviews by dralim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to like this foundation...it's a dream to apply and gives a fantastic finish (nice and smooth)...unfortunately after 1-2 weeks of using this, I broke out all over my face. So disappointed! I think it's all the 'cones....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AngelOnFire on 7/29/2009 10:29:00 AM more reviews by AngelOnFire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product is truly a heaven's sent. No, I'm not being an Armani fan-girl, or overly positive, I'm just that astounded that something can work for me THIS well!

The product costs 28 as far as I remember, but one tube goes extremely far. With everyday use, I guess this should last for 4 - 6 months, depending on how much you need. The amount I use is the size of a very small almond. The packaging is very chic and minimalistic, like all of Armani's offerings. It's rough surface means it won't slip out of your hand during application.

On a VERY important note: This is the first foundation (and no, this is not a tinted moisturizer!) that matches my skin tone. I'm on the extreme end of PPPism. All foundations I have tried before looked either yellow, pink or orange on me. However, Armani's Face Fabric Second Skin Nude Makeup #8 (which is supposed to be a brightener) is a perfect match. It's pure alabaster.

(Only one word of warning: It doesn't seem to agree with some serums (MUAC's Gly-Luronic Serum comes to mind) and moisturizers on the market. However, I didn't have any problems with Olay's All-Day Moisturizer, although you have to use a microscopic amount in order for it not to turn into a grease fest.)

The product glides onto your skin perfectly and evenly. I use my fingers to apply it all over my face because its consistency is closer to a moisturizer. And even so it blends in flawlessly, without any patches or blotches. The coverage is great, but not intended for people who have obvious blemishes or scars (if I have a very bad-skin-day or if my skin is irritated, I put in half a pump of Laura Mercier's Oil-Free Foundation to add some coverage).

The beauty of the Face Fabric Second Skin foundation is that it is supposed to be featherlight and not noticeable. The finish is dewy with light reflecting particles adding some radiance to your skin. It sets to a powdery finish, but I prefer to use at least some powder to set it. I hate being self-conscious about not being able to touch my face in order for my foundation not to come off.

I don't know how long this lasts without being set by a powder, but once you dust a layer of powder over it, it seems to last for ages. Ten hours at work and it's still like new without any touch-ups.

To sum it up: This is HG stuff. For me at least, since I have IMMENSE trouble finding anything that matches my skin tone. But even if you ignore this factor, the consistency, finish and staying power is top-top-top-notch. Even the price seems puny considering how long it lasts. Definitely the best buy I made in this category!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bigfranny on 7/26/2009 6:26:00 PM more reviews by Bigfranny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

This is a little miracle for those who don't want to look made up.
This featherweight foundation glides on the skin to make it look oh so perfect oh so subtly. It is a sheer fluid mousse like foundation that is perfect for daily coverage that gives my skin a flawless, smooth appearance. It has a rather matte finish at first but becomes very skin-like with a very slight glow once it settles. The best thing about it: it is indetectable!! It can be applied with a foundation brush, kabuki brush or fingers which is how I apply it. I'm gonna give it a try with a foundation brush and will edit my review if it changes the look of the foundation!! It comes in a very hygienic and convenient tube and costs $45. I am NC 25 and use the shade 2 throughout the year but I use #3 during the summer.
This the perfect compromise between a tinted moisturizer and a foundation. Giorgio Armani, you impress me again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wtfiholly on 7/7/2009 8:49:00 PM more reviews by wtfiholly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I tried this hoping that it would help, but alas it was not in the cards. I bought this in #4 for the summer. I know that #3 would be better for me in the winter.
I added a small dusting of BE powder after I applied this (over sunscreen), but my wrinkles popped out, what a fright! I will use this since I have had compliments on my skin while wearing this.
It does make my pores appear smaller, It does even my complextion a bit, it does give a bit of a haze to hide some small wrinkles, it does make the redness seem non-exsistant, but for the most part this gives a total "natural look" that I really wanted.
I need to find a foundation that makes me look ten years younger during the winter without the help of any powder. I want to look in the mirror and say "WOW who is that?" and have my husband ask the same.
I don't believe in conceler since I don't have bags to hide. I need a 3 minute face that knocks "em dead all day. This does not seem to last all day and I must touch up before going out. I must add the sunscreen or nothing works and if I have added powder it becomes a mess.
I love the way it feels every time, but every time I always get one small bump on my face. If I sweat the makeup is gone.
If the price for this beauty is to re-make my face up every time, then I don't want to do this anymore. It's just too much work for the price. I wonder if LSF is as sheer and strange to me? Maybe that will work.
I need to make this work right. Maybe it's me and my appication of this product. Time for lessons.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chocolatemartini on 6/27/2009 1:08:00 PM more reviews by chocolatemartini

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really do love this product. It feels extremely light on the skin and gives an almost powdery, even but dewy finish that I find very flattering on me. The texture is very special indeed - it is silicone based so its not oily or sticky - rather it is a tint that helps diffuse the light such that you stay matt without looking dry. I have combination skin and I find this product great at keeping my skin looking even rather than highlight my oily T zone like some tinted moisturisers and liquid foundations do.

I would definitely recommend this product if you require only light coverage and some evening out of the skin tone. Perfect for the summer and hot weather if you pair it with a good sunblock. Looks so natural its really like your second skin!

My only gripe is the price and the fact that I've since gotten darker in the summer and #2 is abit light on me now. Also it only has SPF 12 which is insufficient in my opinion.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tracy7366 on 5/21/2009 8:24:00 AM more reviews by Tracy7366

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this product. It doesn't feel like you are wearing makeup at all. I cannot stand foundation so have always used a tint. This gives a sheer coverage and a fresh flawless complextion without looking made up. I use Chantecaille's compact makeup up very sparingly over my t zone to touch up when necessary during the day and the two work perfectly together.
UPDATE: I'm afraid that Chantecailles Just Skin knocks spots off this. I was a GAFF convert for well over a year until I tried CJS. It makes your face look to much healthier and alive and if someone had told me that before I tried it I wouldn't have believed it. If you are thinking of buying this just try CJS too and compare.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ALBA on 5/13/2009 10:46:00 PM more reviews by ALBA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

EDIT: 17TH March
My new tube of this seems less powdery, more slimy and URGH - has a very strong smell of Nivea and I hate the smell of Nivea. Why do they have to mess around with formulations???

Original Review.
This foundation reminds me a bit of Chanel's discontinued Double Perfection Creme Poudre foundation in the tube, in that it's like a combination of powder and silicone.

The Pros:
1) It's sheer and looks very natural
2) It doesn't have the oil that most foundations have and so I didn't have to apply much powder - that really is saying something for an oily girl like me!
3) It seems to be long lasting
4) I don't have much t-zone oil after 4 hours of wear

The Cons:
1) I wear a sunblock and this probably doesn't sit as perfectly as it would do on bare skin but it's still good.

2) Although the powdery texture is undoubtedly good for oily skins, even if I apply this as sheerly as possible, I just think it deadens the skin around the eyes a little bit, making my skin look flat and slightly dull.
3) I chose no.3 as no.2 looked too pale and no.4 too orange. I'm a C4 -C5 with a little bit of N3 mixed in with it (MAC F&B foundation) As another poster has said the no.3 shade has a bit of yellow in it and it isn't the greatest shade. Their Luminous Skin Shade 5.5 is much better on me.

So in conclusion, looking in the mirror at the end of day, I was happy to see that I wasn't an oil slick and that I looked natural however I possibly looked dull, flat, jaded natural as opposed to radiant, brimming with health natural. This would be very good for the beach where there's a lot of natural light and you don't want to look loaded up with makeup however at an evening party this might look lack va,va, voom without an inner glow. Not sure if I'll continue with this, perhaps I'll just apply it to my t-zone and use another more radiant product around the eyes and cheeks.

Update July 1st: Now that it is boiling hot - this is great, very natural, I still need powder over my t-zone but it looks much better than even the sheerest liquid foundation. I go very, very lightly around my eyes. When the sun is very bright, liquid foundation can look too shiny, especially if it has titanium dioxide in it but this dosesn't do that.

Love that the packaging is just an elegant, simple matte plastic tube that you squeeze to get the product out. I like to get every last bit out and I hate having to cut through tough plastic or stick q-tips down glass bottles.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nelking on 4/18/2009 1:07:00 AM more reviews by nelking

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I hate foundation. This applied with a foundation brush evens my skin, without looking like a mask. Every time I even look at another foundation I remind myself, I own Face Fabric.

Joey at SFA in Portland sold me this very bright pink liquid tint. I mix it with face fabric for the perfect blush color. Because they are the same texture it's an incredibly natural look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 funkiemunkiee on 4/5/2009 4:32:00 PM more reviews by funkiemunkiee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this product! This product is great for the summer because it's really sheer, and when I mean sheer, I mean sheer! You will need really clear skin to use this as it doesn't provide much coverage. Why do I love this product so much then? Because when they say it's second skin, it really feels like your skin! I can't even tell that I have product on my face, it just absorbs right in and stays put! Because it's a cream-like foundation, you don't need a powder to set it, which saves a lot of time in the morning! Use this with a foundation brush, like the MAC 190, I find this provides the most coverage. It just makes your skin glow and look really natural. It doesn't cake and it is great for my dry skin.

It is quite pricey for a foundation, $50CAD, but it is totally worth it! It's 1.3 fl oz, but you only need a small amount. So this product should last a really long time. The only thing I don't like about the packaging is that its completely opaque so you can't see how much product you have left.

I totally recommend and will probably be using this for the rest of my life! Unless I find an even better foundation!

I use #2, which is perfect for my fair NC20 skin!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 happycanary on 3/29/2009 2:41:00 AM more reviews by happycanary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product after reading the positive reviews here on MUA. I bought it in shade #3. I was prepared for the sheer coverage - it evens out your skin somewhat but you will need concealor for any spots. The texture is really smooth, velvety, easy to blend and the finish is extremely sheer and natural. It does seem to get oily faster than my skinfood aloe sun bb cream that I used prior to this though, so I usually set it with a light dusting of MAC blot powder. However I have no problem with this slipping like some others have mentioned although my skin is on the slightly oily side. Shade #3 is a tad too dark for me but shade #2 looked too light, so I usually mix half and half of this and my bb cream which is just the perfect color and amount of coverage I need - the bb cream gives a nice glow to my complexion while the skin fabric lightens up the texture so the finish is really natural. This works really well for me, so unless I find something better, I think I would repurchase when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Foundations products