Lipstick Queen • Medieval • Lipstick

rated 4.3(128 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karrieleigh on 6/7/2009 6:07:00 PM more reviews by karrieleigh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Please click "Continued" below for pics and swatches

Would I buy this again? yes, a million times, yes! i love it dearly.

COLOR: This is a true looking red in the tube, and it goes on very sheer and appears as a sweet slightly warm red on the lips. I would call this color the red for people who don't wear red. For those who aren't adverse to bold lips, it's a MLBB bitten type look. it's got enough pow that you can wear it with a light eye look, and you can still rock it with a dramatic eye.

TEXTURE: The application is silky and smooth, and very sheer yet buildable. It's almost like a gel and feels amazing on the lips. I don't think it's overly moisturizing, but it's definitely not drying whatsoever.

PACKAGING: This comes in a red brushed metal case. you can see photos of it below. It's distinctive for sure and seems sort of elegant to me. the outer carton seems a little cheap, looks almost like a blister pack you'd find at the drug store but the illustration is very cool. the outer carton never really bothers me, and the tube itself is really nice.

WEAR: This does not have the best wear, it sticks decently well but definitely is pretty emollient so it will wear off within an hour or two.

PRICE: $20 USD for this product doesn't bother me at all, it's just that great.

OVERALL: I can't talk this product up enough. I have a freaking storage unit's worth of lip products and still want a backup of this. i don't have a backup of a single other lip color so I think that says a lot. This is the desert island lip color, goes with absolutely everything.





8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pr0cessa on 6/4/2009 3:20:00 PM more reviews by pr0cessa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised at how much I like this.. it has really grown on me! I usually can't wear anything remotely pink since my skin is warm toned. This IS pink, but it doesn't turn fuschia on me. What I love most of all about Medieval is the texture. It just feels so good on my lips - like a really moisturizing lip balm. The staying power is surprisingly good. It leaves behind a nice stain on my totally unpigmented lips long after it has worn off. I liked this much better than benetint or Dr. Pepper Lip smackers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 phants on 5/14/2009 7:29:00 PM more reviews by phants

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Normally I'm a benetint kind of girl but I heard about this and was intrigued. The packaging is pretty, and the tube is very nice looking. The price of it though is a little ridiculous, especially considering that the tube isnt that big. It is definetly brighter than benetint which I wanted, but when applied more than two times it looks frankly, kind of cheap. Buuuut I love how it wears down to a stain that it even and very flattering.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nissiechan on 4/21/2009 9:48:00 PM more reviews by nissiechan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Poppy King said she made Medieval to recreate the effect that applying lemon juice to your lips has (people were forbidden to wear make-up back then, which is why they used this method). In my opinion, this product does not achieve that look at all! It is really a lot more red than I expected, and it definitely looks like you're wearing lipstick.

I do think the color it gives your lips is rather nice, at least it looks quite good with my skin, while I'm usefully kind of clown-looking when I wear red lipstick. I gave it four lippies because it's not what it claims to be. However, if you're looking for a nice red lipstick that you can actually wear outside, give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shamisen on 4/13/2009 11:05:00 PM more reviews by Shamisen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This stuff looks just as beautiful in the tube as it does on - it's a really classy sheer balm-type lipstick. It doesn't last for ages but then again, I'm classing it as a balm so I don't expect it to. The tube is beautiful and fun to reapply from. It feels great on my lips, not massively slippery feeling, just nice and soft. Absolutely love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Halloqueen on 3/19/2009 8:42:00 PM more reviews by Halloqueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Wow...was totally not expecting this color, I read the reviews and couldn't wait to try it, When I took the lid off the tube, my first thought was YIKES,,,this is RED folks...calming myself down, I reminded myself that it's sheer...well, it's red. Not a bad red, Not as sheer as one would think, either, I guess I was expecting something a little tamer, but out of my order of three Lipstick Queen items, none of them were exactly what I expected. No retailer here, so I relied on reviews only, so I can't really complain. I'm more of a sheer light lip, smokey eye kind of gal, and rarely if ever, wear red lipstick, but guess I'm going to have to give it a try, It's supposed to be THE spring/summer lip color, On my fair coloring, it's really not that bad,,,rather nice actually, Not too orange or blue, It just takes my pinkish complexion up a notch and makes me look overheated, which may or may not be a good thing,,:) For my complexion, if I were to want a red lipstick, this would be it, along with Natural Saint. I will say one thing,,,if you have my coloring-fair skin with a pinkish/rosecea cast, medium brown hair and green eyes, this color and Saint Natural are believeable looking muted Reds that don't scream red lipstick. I really do like the texture and the fact that they are not too shiny or matte,,,just perfect, More like a stain than anything, I will probably try more LQ products.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dumpling on 3/9/2009 2:31:00 PM more reviews by dumpling

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Though I agree with all the positives regarding this lipstick I have to say the colour is not good on my deepish warm toned complexion. My lips are very pigmented and this blue toned red emphasizes the purplish tones in my lips. Oh how I wanted this to make this work, I am just too tanned and cannot pull it off, not surprising really as I do not fit the Medieval aesthetic, though I wish I could......

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katie_alti on 3/9/2009 1:12:00 PM more reviews by katie_alti

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Finally got to Barney's to test out this product, and it lived up to my high expectations. It is very smooth and balm-like, moisturizing, and wears down very evenly to a nice stain. As for the color I do get pink in this, but it looks great. I am pale with pale lips so the color payoff is pretty good and layering increases the intensity. I love that there is no smell or taste to this product, and will certainly be purchasing many other products from this line. Comparing to Black Honey directly, there is a little more slip to this lippy, it lasts a bit longer, but the color on me is brighter. Black honey is more muted honey plum, while this is sheer wine with some pink. I will wear both, but Medieval wins out between the two.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ppcgal on 3/9/2009 11:39:00 AM more reviews by ppcgal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a black honey devotee but I had to try this after seeing all the raves. Most lipstick turns fuschia on me but this does not. When I first apply it, it looks a bit unnatural. It leaves a very natural stain though- like other reviewers have said- like chapped lips- only not.

I wish this was in a black honey color with the medieval formula too though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sugahxpops on 2/27/2009 1:40:00 AM more reviews by sugahxpops

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

After waiting for this to arrive in Australia for months, I finally purchased it, hoping to get a lipstick which would give the effect of my lips looking "bitten/blood stained" in a subtle, sheer way.

I have to say I'm quite disappointed. The consistency is very smooth, like a tinted lip balm, but rubs off almost immediately without a tint at all, and it seems to mingle with my naturally pigmented pink lips so it's all too flushed as opposed to a pop of colour. I payed around $40 AU for it but I have to say it did not deliver, too pinky for me!

I will praise the packaging though, so lovely but I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lipstick Queen products

More Lipstick products