Lipstick Queen • Medieval • Lipstick

rated 4.3(123 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Halloqueen on 3/19/2009 8:42:00 PM more reviews by Halloqueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Wow...was totally not expecting this color, I read the reviews and couldn't wait to try it, When I took the lid off the tube, my first thought was YIKES,,,this is RED folks...calming myself down, I reminded myself that it's sheer...well, it's red. Not a bad red, Not as sheer as one would think, either, I guess I was expecting something a little tamer, but out of my order of three Lipstick Queen items, none of them were exactly what I expected. No retailer here, so I relied on reviews only, so I can't really complain. I'm more of a sheer light lip, smokey eye kind of gal, and rarely if ever, wear red lipstick, but guess I'm going to have to give it a try, It's supposed to be THE spring/summer lip color, On my fair coloring, it's really not that bad,,,rather nice actually, Not too orange or blue, It just takes my pinkish complexion up a notch and makes me look overheated, which may or may not be a good thing,,:) For my complexion, if I were to want a red lipstick, this would be it, along with Natural Saint. I will say one thing,,,if you have my coloring-fair skin with a pinkish/rosecea cast, medium brown hair and green eyes, this color and Saint Natural are believeable looking muted Reds that don't scream red lipstick. I really do like the texture and the fact that they are not too shiny or matte,,,just perfect, More like a stain than anything, I will probably try more LQ products.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dumpling on 3/9/2009 2:31:00 PM more reviews by dumpling

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Though I agree with all the positives regarding this lipstick I have to say the colour is not good on my deepish warm toned complexion. My lips are very pigmented and this blue toned red emphasizes the purplish tones in my lips. Oh how I wanted this to make this work, I am just too tanned and cannot pull it off, not surprising really as I do not fit the Medieval aesthetic, though I wish I could......

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katie_alti on 3/9/2009 1:12:00 PM more reviews by katie_alti

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Finally got to Barney's to test out this product, and it lived up to my high expectations. It is very smooth and balm-like, moisturizing, and wears down very evenly to a nice stain. As for the color I do get pink in this, but it looks great. I am pale with pale lips so the color payoff is pretty good and layering increases the intensity. I love that there is no smell or taste to this product, and will certainly be purchasing many other products from this line. Comparing to Black Honey directly, there is a little more slip to this lippy, it lasts a bit longer, but the color on me is brighter. Black honey is more muted honey plum, while this is sheer wine with some pink. I will wear both, but Medieval wins out between the two.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ppcgal on 3/9/2009 11:39:00 AM more reviews by ppcgal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a black honey devotee but I had to try this after seeing all the raves. Most lipstick turns fuschia on me but this does not. When I first apply it, it looks a bit unnatural. It leaves a very natural stain though- like other reviewers have said- like chapped lips- only not.

I wish this was in a black honey color with the medieval formula too though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sugahxpops on 2/27/2009 1:40:00 AM more reviews by sugahxpops

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

After waiting for this to arrive in Australia for months, I finally purchased it, hoping to get a lipstick which would give the effect of my lips looking "bitten/blood stained" in a subtle, sheer way.

I have to say I'm quite disappointed. The consistency is very smooth, like a tinted lip balm, but rubs off almost immediately without a tint at all, and it seems to mingle with my naturally pigmented pink lips so it's all too flushed as opposed to a pop of colour. I payed around $40 AU for it but I have to say it did not deliver, too pinky for me!

I will praise the packaging though, so lovely but I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 colleenh86 on 2/13/2009 9:07:00 PM more reviews by colleenh86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a PPP with incredibly pale lips, and if I don't wear at least SOME color on them, I look sickly.

I've spent years trying out countless tinted lip balms, glosses, stains, and supposedly moisturizing lipsticks, but never found that My Lips But Better formula I was looking for, until now. This is Holy Grail material.

If you want that natural, just-bitten color, Lipstick Queen in Medieval is as good as it gets.

It's essentially a tinted lip balm + stain with lipstick consistency. The formula is really smooth, not sticky; even after it wears off, it leaves the lips slightly stained, making me look as if I were blessed with pigmented lips. The color is perfect (a pinky-red), and I believe it would look good on just about any skin tone. It looks dark in the tube, but don't let that fool you; it's actually very sheer. Never drying: it contains shea and mango butters and vitamin E, amongst other moisturizing, lip-healthy ingredients. I find it as moisturizing as most balms, and have started wearing it as a base for other lipsticks (I swear it makes them last longer!). Even the packaging is gorgeous.

My only real complaints are that I wish it were cheaper, and paraben-free/organic. But for the quality of the product, it is so worth it, and the ingredients are pretty safe. I think I'm going to buy about 3 more, so I will always have a tube of Medieval within reach.

Ingredients: RICINUS COMMUNIS (CASTOR) SEED OIL CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE VEGETABLE OIL EUPHORBIA CERIFERA (CANDELILLA) WAX BEESWAX (CERA ALBA) ETHYHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE OZOKERITE BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII (SHEA BUTTER) TOCOPHERYL ACETATE HYROGENATED VEGETABLE OIL HELIANTHUS ANNUUS (SUNFLOWER) SEED OIL LIMANANTHES ALBA (MEADOWFOAM) SEED OIL MANGIFERA INDICA (MANGO) SEED BUTTER HYDROGENEATED OLIVE OIL BENZOPHONONE-3 ISOPROPYLPARABEN ISIBUTYLPARABEN BUTYLPARABEN IRON OXIDES 77491 IRON OXIDES 77492 IRON OXIDES 77499 RED 7 LAKE 15850 RED 33 LAKE 17200 YELLOW 5 LAKE 19140


6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abbe4 on 2/8/2009 2:08:00 PM more reviews by abbe4

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is great ! I am self-conscious about getting older looking, and how "mask-like" some lipsticks can me look now: what can look lovely on a younger woman can be so seriously off-putting when one gets older, and this lipstick is nourishing, with a natural stain: it is so much nicer to see "lips" not lipstick: a fresher and lighter appearance. I'd rather concentrate on eyes and good skin with great foundation as I get older, than continually trying to find a lipstick that "lasts", or isn't "drying", or a variety of colors that never really do it for me....btw I am extremely fair skinned, and this is still soft looking, even though red/blushed. The big thing for me is: I still miss Bobbi Brown original lip stains, or whatever they were called: Medieval reminds me of these ! The newer ones are just slippery lipsticks with little of a "stain".

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kateyed on 1/18/2009 10:15:00 AM more reviews by Kateyed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I hooked on lipstick queen products and I only have started using them for a month. I received Medieval in my x-mas stocking and shortly followed with Saint Berry. Poppy's lipsticks are nothing short of divine- never dries out my lips like other lip products, and stains them a lovely but natural shade, each one is a true MLBB! I'm a PPP (the palest I know) with medium brown hair and blue eyes. Medieval is the appealing color your lips turned in the summer as a kid when you had a cherry popsicle. It was intended to mimic the color women in Medieval times achieved by applying lemons to their lips. It truly does have the innocently sexy appeal of popsicle-tints and virginal ladies tempting the courting knights.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shesparkles on 1/18/2009 1:24:00 AM more reviews by shesparkles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is single handedly getting me through a very cold DRY New York winter without letting go of glamour completely. I wear it at least 3x a week. It is a wonderfully comfortable, vitamin-E-rich tinted balm, but it's got far more pigment-oomph than, say, the Tendertones by MAC. I have fairly pigmented lips and when I apply this it goes from a candy-apple-red in the tube to a sheer, almost coral color when it combines with my natural shade. I was very disappointed with the level of pigmentation in Clinique's Black Honey almost l/s and much prefer this. Highly wearable, and its moisture is greatly appreciated in these dry winter months. I took off one point on packaging because the (gorgeous, classy) burgundy brushed metal tube picks up scratches from other things in your purse too easily but I love everything about this otherwise.

Will update review to post before and afters!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amykelley on 1/17/2009 2:39:00 PM more reviews by amykelley

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm extremely pale with cool coloring and very pigmented lips. The first time I tried Medieval, I was a little disappointed because I could barely see it against my natural lip color. I finally realized its texture is so creamy and moisturizing that I don't need to wear any lip balm underneath it (which is how I had worn it the first time). Once the lip balm was out of the equation, the Medieval was much more visible. I love it! It's a wonderful color enhancement for those days when you're going for a subtle look. The texture is fantastic, too. My one minor complaint is that the color is a tiny bit warmer than my ideal shade, so I'd love to see the exact same product in a cooler rose/red.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lipstick Queen products

More Lipstick products