Lipstick Queen Medieval

4.3

135 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(from packaging): phenyl trimethicone, silica, nylon-12, octyldodecanol, ozokerite, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, methyl methacrylate/glycol dimethacrylate crosspolymer, euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax, octyldodecyl stearoyl stearate, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, polyisobutene, persea gratissima (avocado) oil, beeswax (cera alba), simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil, vegetable oil, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, limnanthes alba (meadowfoam) seed oil, hydrogenated vegetable oil, salix nigra (willow) bark extract, actinidia chinensis (kiwi) fruit extract, honey extract, vinis vitefera (grape) fruit extract, camelia oleifera (tea) leaf extract, tocopheryl acetate, retinyl palmitate, butylene glycol, water (aqua), microcrystalline cellulose, polysorbate 20, butylparaben, propylparaben, iron oxides (CI 77499). (from website): RICINUS COMMUNIS (CASTOR) SEED OIL CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE VEGETABLE OIL EUPHORBIA CERIFERA (CANDELILLA) WAX BEESWAX (CERA ALBA) ETHYHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE OZOKERITE BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII (SHEA BUTTER) TOCOPHERYL ACETATE HYROGENATED VEGETABLE OIL HELIANTHUS ANNUUS (SUNFLOWER) SEED OIL LIMANANTHES ALBA (MEADOWFOAM) SEED OIL MANGIFERA INDICA (MANGO) SEED BUTTER HYDROGENEATED OLIVE OIL BENZOPHONONE-3 ISOPROPYLPARABEN ISIBUTYLPARABEN BUTYLPARABEN IRON OXIDES 77491 IRON OXIDES 77492 IRON OXIDES 77499 RED 7 LAKE 15850 RED 33 LAKE 17200 YELLOW 5 LAKE 19140


on 7/25/2009 10:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This lip product seems to perfectly cover the lipbalm/liptint/lipcolour genre, and it looks so beautiful!

The product is a proper lipstick bullet in a wonderfully glamorous red case, and the bullet is a very dense slightly cherryish red. On my lips it comes out a tad more red than I would like, and the red on my lips is a bit more warm strawberry than cool cherry or even cool raspberry.

It is a buildable colour, but I prefer to give it a light layer, there is no taste or smell.

I have noticed a slight staining after a snack, but really this is a balm with a tint, rather than a stain.

What I love is the feel of it on the lips, it really is very moisturising without being sticky or slimey, and that moisturising feeling does last.

It is very expensive - on a par with NARS lipsticks at around the 17 in UK and is only available from SpaceNK at the moment, and I am not entirely sure that it is the best colour for me, it is certainly not a MLBB colour, and it has more than a hint of the colour my lips go if I've eaten a good chilli ie that sort of orange/red tint. When I put it on, however sheerly there is a definate colour on my lips.

As a comparison, Lipsmackers Dr Pepper is sheerer than this but is the same hue, Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey is more of a coca cola colour ie more brown.

But I love it and have splurged on backups (note the plural), I used to always wear red lipstick and this is a nod to that time, without the fantastic level of upkeep.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.



on 7/8/2009 8:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not a lipstick gal, but I try, so what ususally happens is I buy some "great" product and it gets lost in the drawer after a week. This one though, I tell ya, this is the only lipstick I've ever had that I'm sure I'll use till the end and buy another one. I'd be upset if I lost it - I even got upset once I dropped it on the floor - now it's got a little chip on the beautiful tube...I use it in the morning and put a gloss on top if I want extra shine. It gives my lips such a healthy natural lift. It's also very moisturising so I can do without lipbalm if I have to. I took a lippie off though cos it's not that long lasting and a bit expensive.


on 7/3/2009 11:17:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

A lovely lightweight red lip tint which (unlike most red lipsticks and glosses) does NOT turn fuchsia on my lips. I wish it lasted a bit longer, but the effect is well worth frequent reapplication. Highly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is one of my absolute favorite lip products.
It's a red that I can actually wear without having it completely overwhelm the rest of my face.
I am quite pale-skinned, and most lipsticks (or glosses, etc.) show up quite bright on my lips. For a long time, I virtually never wore anything on my lips, because I preferred to play with colors and shades on my eyes.
More recently, I have been finding some lip shades that I actually like wearing. It's been fun trying very minimal makeup on my eyes and the rest of my face, but then adding a bit of color on my lips. Medieval is perfect for this sort of look.



Medieval is what I would call a "lip tint". I have heard it (incorrectly) referred to as a lip stain a couple times, but while the color does last a surprisingly long time for such a sheer tint, it does not stain the lips.



This lipstick feels light, and moisturizing on the lips. If you have very dry lips (like me) you might want something moisturizing under or over Medieval, because while it's not drying, it doesn't add moisture the way a lip balm or moisturizing lip treatment does.



In terms of color, Medieval will look different on different people because it is so sheer. Basically if you imagine your natural lip color, and then add just a touch of a bright but very sheer red, that's Medieval. My lips are pinkish, and lightly pigmented. Applied lightly, Medieval leaves my lips looking a brighter, slightly redder and brighter pink color, which is healthy-looking, and flattering, but not high-impact. If I layer Medieval onto my lips, it moves closer to actually looking like a red, but it doesn't become an opaque color (if you're looking for that, you want Lipstick Queen's sinner range of lipsticks).



I haven't found that it's necessary at all to wear lip liner along with Medieval. I think unless you have a lot of trouble with lipsticks bleeding, or unless you prefer a really sharply defined lip line, you really don't need lip liner. Despite this, as a somewhat less experienced lipstick wearer, I like to line my lips with Lipstick Queen's Invisible Lip Liner before applying Medieval. This is mostly because sometimes I forget about my lipstick and accidentally smear it (the liner just lets me worry less, Medieval does a good job of staying in place).



The packaging is excellent. The dark red metal tube feels luxurious and special. It's distinctive, and just a bit different from everything else out there. Having such awesome packaging adds a bit to the feeling of glamor that goes along with all of Lipstick Queen's products.



I totally love Medieval, and it's raised my lipstick standards. Now that I've experienced perfection, I'm not willing to settle for anything less!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2009 5:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A perfect 10 IMO! A sheer red that is not too thick/sticky nor too thin/greasy! It can be built up or left nice and sheer for a stained look. It's a universal red (I've had quite a few friends try it on) very natural & innocent looking - not really vampy. To up the vamp factor I add a layer of Lipstick Queen's black pot gloss! Stays put, doesn't dry lips up - LOVE IT!

I wish Poppy King would make more colors in this formula!


on 6/11/2009 1:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

Absolutely. Gorgeous.

After reading about it, and writing about what I'd read about it, I finally got around to trying it. It took me a while, as I'd been using some very nice Cliniques of which I'm fond. That's my excuse. Tried it, loved it, got it.

The colour is the main thing that strikes you. It looks red in the tube. Applies pinkish-red, a sheer wash. Once on, it's one of these YLBB rosey tints, like Clinique's Black Honey (but less plum-brown than it), or various Stila ones, and many many others ... but nicer. It does indeed "lift" you, that's the only single-word description for it. Looks slightly different in different lights: but basically a pink tint with a hint of red. Pic at end of review.

Claims to be a "universal shade that suits every skin tone." No guarantees on that for everyone, but it's good with pale slightly freckled skin, with red hair and grey-green eyes. And if it works even for low-incidence statistics like me, that's a pretty good test. And gets my thumbs up either for caring enough to test it out and make sure it works on Us Freaks, or for the sheer genius of a theory working in practice.

Good wear for the colour, especially compared to Black Honey. Beautiful feel: moist without being slick or greasy, glossy but not shiny, no gloopy stickiness. Neither flavour nor scent, just Good Stuff. And I'm afraid it's replacing the Black Honey for me.

Costs USD 20.00 / EUR 23.00 (grrr...) / GBP 16.15. Ireland: available (only???) from Harvey Nichols @ Dundrum; UK, from Space.NK. The price isn't disastrous, as there are many good lipsticks out there for at least this price, and the other stains I'd tried don't last as well. No fragrance, no animal testing, gluten-free, and (might be helpful for some) no bismuth oxychloride / CL 77163 (the Saints and Sinners contain it; Medieval, the Oxymorons, Shines, and Black Tie don't).

INGREDIENTS: phenyl trimethicone, silica, nylon-12, octyldodecanol, ozokerite, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, methyl methacrylate/glycol dimethacrylate crosspolymer, euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax, octyldodecyl stearoyl stearate, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, polyisobutene, persea gratissima (avocado) oil, beeswax (cera alba), simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil, vegetable oil, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, limnanthes alba (meadowfoam) seed oil, hydrogenated vegetable oil, salix nigra (willow) bark extract, actinidia chinensis (kiwi) fruit extract, honey extract, vinis vitefera (grape) fruit extract, camelia oleifera (tea) leaf extract, tocopheryl acetate, retinyl palmitate, butylene glycol, water (aqua), microcrystalline cellulose, polysorbate 20, butylparaben, propylparaben, iron oxides (CI 77499).

(NB echoing ClariceD observation: difference between ingredients lists on packaging and website - maybe also between versions, and versions for different markets in different countries. Who knows. It's still gorgeous.)

Comparison of Gingerrama-approved lippies for everyday redhead use:

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 6/9/2009 5:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My lip product of choice for several months now, and I can see it being a permanent favourite. I'm usually very skeptical of marketing claims, but so far Medieval lives up to the hype and my expectations. It's described by Lipstick Queen as a universally flattering and comfortable "tinted lip treatment". It's sheer, containing less pigment than the LQ Saints' 10%, and allows some natural lip colour to peep through, so will look different on everyone. A bold true (verging on cool) red in the tube, it creates a beautiful wash of pinky red when applied. I can imagine this product looking slightly different against warm and cool-toned skin, and fairly bright on pale lips. I think this would work for the majority, but people with very dark lips might want to opt for one of the darker Saints. For most people, the look it creates will be in the region of a bitten lip shade.


On me (NC/W15, dark hair, green eyes) Medieval plays up the contrast between my fair skin and dark hair nicely, without looking overdone. The overall look is pretty and quite vibrant, but very natural. It looks similar to a stain, but with the creamy satin finish of a lipstick. Between my colouring and my wardrobe (lots of vintage), my default look is quite Snow White-eqsue. Medieval complements this well, but its chameleon qualities mean it would look equally good on lots of different people. It adds oomph for daytime, but is understated enough to work with quite strong eye make-up in the evening. On any occasion requiring a YLBB lip colour, Medieval can be substituted.


Application is silky - the colour is deposited very consistently. The wear is good for something so emollient - it has the texture of a balm, but in terms of lasting power it resembles a stain. Subtle effects continue for several hours, but I reapply more frequently (every couple of hours) to maintain the initial look. I wore a fairly intensive lip balm underneath Medieval during the winter, but now that summer's hit I'm successfully wearing it alone with no signs of dryness. My lips feel much more plump and smoother than they usually do with other comparable lipsticks, but I don't rely on it for moisture.


I don't tend to carry make-up around with me, but panic ensues if I find that Medieval isn't in my bag. I thought that by this point, I'd be dealing with a scratched and battered tube, but the sleek red brushed metal container looks good as new. Bonus. (I've also kept, and love, the illustration of Eve on the packaging. Lipstickqueen.com explains parts of the image, so that was a fun few moments of nerdery for me - fond memories of Christ in Late Medieval and Renaissance Art as a theology undergrad.) It's expensive, but not unreasonable for its quality and versatility.
Cost: UK �19.09 (at time of writing; I paid less) from SpaceNK or SpaceNK concessions at Harvey Nichols.


Ingredients (from packaging - NB, these differ from the ingredients listed on LQ's website): Phenyl trimethicone, silica, nylon-12, octyldodecanol, ozokerite, shea butter, methyl methacrylate/glycol dimethacrylate crosspolymer, candelilla wax, octyldodecyl stearoyl stearate, carnauba wax, polyisobutene, avocado oil, beeswax, jojoba oil, vegetable oil, castor oil, meadowfoam seed oil, hydrogenated vegetable oil, willow bark extract, kiwi fruit extract, honey extract, grape extract, green tea extract, tocopherol acetate, retinyl palmitate, butylene glycol, water, microcrystalline cellulose, polysorbate 20, butylparaben, propylparaben, iron oxides.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2009 6:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Please click "Continued" below for pics and swatches

Would I buy this again? yes, a million times, yes! i love it dearly.

COLOR: This is a true looking red in the tube, and it goes on very sheer and appears as a sweet slightly warm red on the lips. I would call this color the red for people who don't wear red. For those who aren't adverse to bold lips, it's a MLBB bitten type look. it's got enough pow that you can wear it with a light eye look, and you can still rock it with a dramatic eye.

TEXTURE: The application is silky and smooth, and very sheer yet buildable. It's almost like a gel and feels amazing on the lips. I don't think it's overly moisturizing, but it's definitely not drying whatsoever.

PACKAGING: This comes in a red brushed metal case. you can see photos of it below. It's distinctive for sure and seems sort of elegant to me. the outer carton seems a little cheap, looks almost like a blister pack you'd find at the drug store but the illustration is very cool. the outer carton never really bothers me, and the tube itself is really nice.

WEAR: This does not have the best wear, it sticks decently well but definitely is pretty emollient so it will wear off within an hour or two.

PRICE: $20 USD for this product doesn't bother me at all, it's just that great.

OVERALL: I can't talk this product up enough. I have a freaking storage unit's worth of lip products and still want a backup of this. i don't have a backup of a single other lip color so I think that says a lot. This is the desert island lip color, goes with absolutely everything.





8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2009 3:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised at how much I like this.. it has really grown on me! I usually can't wear anything remotely pink since my skin is warm toned. This IS pink, but it doesn't turn fuschia on me. What I love most of all about Medieval is the texture. It just feels so good on my lips - like a really moisturizing lip balm. The staying power is surprisingly good. It leaves behind a nice stain on my totally unpigmented lips long after it has worn off. I liked this much better than benetint or Dr. Pepper Lip smackers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2009 7:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Normally I'm a benetint kind of girl but I heard about this and was intrigued. The packaging is pretty, and the tube is very nice looking. The price of it though is a little ridiculous, especially considering that the tube isnt that big. It is definetly brighter than benetint which I wanted, but when applied more than two times it looks frankly, kind of cheap. Buuuut I love how it wears down to a stain that it even and very flattering.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated Lipstick Queen Products

image

Medieval

135 reviews
Back to Top