No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Argan Oil • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(115 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ruby2003 on 12/13/2009 5:45:00 PM more reviews by Ruby2003

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to test drive an organic brand of Argan oil. I have naturally dry skin and heading into the winter months thought this would be a great addition to my night time skin care . I used it a handful of times but I can't get past the smell, or stench it was terrible!!!! Like manure. IT.WAS.AWFUL. I may have to try a more processed version because the naked version...just wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mohsin22 on 11/24/2009 9:11:00 AM more reviews by mohsin22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Skincare has always been important to me. Hence why I joined this website to see what you guys made of other products before I went out and tried them myself.

Argan oil is simply the single most important discovery I have made for my own skin. Ordinarily my skin is oily/combination. I've never suffered greatly from breakouts anyway, but when I do, it's not nice. And the spots seem to last for ages before clearing.... The bane of my existence however, has always been an oily T-zone and open, visible pores on my nose. So when I stumbled across Argan oil, I was scepticle. How can an oil be used to combat oily skin?!

I gave it a try for over a week or so, and lo-and-behold, 1 week later, my T-zone was less shiny and my pores much tighter and smoother. Fast forward a couple of months, and I am glowing! My skin has never felt so free, so open, so smooth and SO radiant. A radiance to rival that promised by ANY high-end moisturiser on the market today. It has evened out small pigmentation patches and this has not gone unnoticed by people in the office and on the street. Seriously, I have been stopped by strangers who have commented on my skin....

I've done a lot of research into the benefits of what has been heralded by the NY Times as 'liquid gold' and to cut it brief, Argan oil is massively rich in Vitamin E and it penetrates the skin so quickly that you are left without a sticky, shiny residue.

I have two words left: BUY IT!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emharrison on 11/23/2009 12:25:00 PM more reviews by emharrison

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

On the nights I don't use my Yon-ka stuff, I use plain old argan oil. If you are on a budget, you can't do better than a bottle of this from a health food store. It's a wonderful moisturiser that gives your skin a visible glow and healthiness the next morning, and works on oilier skintones like mine. I also use it as a body oil as it is very effective on bad winter dry skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kathy123 on 11/7/2009 7:23:00 PM more reviews by Kathy123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is long (waist length), dyed and thick. I have been using other oils so my hair has been healthy. In fact, my hair is the first thing that people notice about me and compliment me for. I heard that this is better than Morracanoil so I gave it a try. IMO, if you are buying this from Sally's, it has almost the same amount of silicone as Morracanoil. If you get this in 100% pure version, it does not do a thing about frizz. In fact, this made my hair feeling not so silky but rather stiff and greasy feeling. Bottom line is that I would stick to my Olive Oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amaiaisabella on 10/3/2009 6:27:00 PM more reviews by amaiaisabella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought argan oil from my Sally Beauty, as it is supposed to be very good for hair. I use it on dry hair as a gloss serum, before straightening, and as a heavy treatment before shampooing. My hair is still very short, but I iron every other day and I have yet to see a split end, so something's working! I have a wound on my nose that came from when I dug too deep for a blackhead, so I put the oil on that today after reading these reviews. Will update on if it is beneficial for skin as well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 9/27/2009 5:37:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination, acne-prone, finicky skin and I love argan oil. It's my new favorite facial moisturizer/treatment, more moisturizing than jojoba or grapeseed oil, but lighter than olive, hemp seed or emu oil. And it doesn't break me out like evening primrose oil does.


I mix a few drops with my regular moisturizer (Desert Essence) when my skin is feeling especially dry, or use it alone at night if my skin is at all flaky (I use Tazorac and AHAs regularly). I invariably wake up with calm, soft skin. It actually seems to prevent or diminish zits and gives me the loveliest glow with regular use.


I also use the oil every night around my eyes. It helps keep the area nicely moisturized and soft and brightens a little too. An unexpected benefit is that it nourishes my eyelashes; they're stronger and a little thicker and longer than usual.


I get pure, organic, cold-pressed oil from Garden of Wisdom for a very fair price (The Josie Maran stuff is a rip-off at $48 for 1.7 oz; GOW's oil is about $8 for 1 oz).


I've already repurchased this once and will do so again. I now consider argan oil to be a staple in my skincare routine.

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sugarplum71 on 8/29/2009 4:35:00 AM more reviews by sugarplum71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

A friend gave me some very pure Argan oil she bought from Morocco and it is really effective! I've been using just a very tiny bit around my eyes on top of my reg eye cream and the results are significant. My fine lines are much softer, the deeper lines are much less noticeable and the whole area looks more youthful. When I use AO on the rest of my face, I prefer to mix it 1:1 with jojoba oil so that it spreads more easily. By itself, AO is quite thick. So plus the fact that the oil benefits women's cooperatives in Morocco, I think it's def worth trying and far superior to many commercial concoctions.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* solai on 8/5/2009 6:30:00 AM more reviews by solai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using argan oil for about a week now and so far, so good. The scent isn't too pleasant but fades quickly. I use this oil as a nightly moisturiser and I find that only a few drops is enough, espescially if my face is a bit moist. It also absorbs a lot quicker than other oils I've used even though the oil seems somewhat thick. I haven't had any breakouts or irritation from this yet and I hope I won't get any because it's a really good nightly moisturiser without silicones or other gunk. It's not too expensive either since a little goes a long way for me. However, it hasn't changed my skin for the better or worse so it doesn't seem like a miracle cure. It also works nicely for moisturizing hands.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunshine880 on 5/21/2009 11:01:00 PM more reviews by sunshine880

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I first came across argan oil in the "Moroccan Oil" that is sold in some hair salons. While the Moroccan Oil works great on hair, it is expensive and I hated the overwhelming and lasting musky scent. I researched argan oil and found it from an internet company called AAA Shea Butter. It is organic and virgin cold pressed. I use it on my hair for shine and softness. I just put a few drops in my hands, rub them together and then smooth over my dry hair. I also use this on my face, neck and chest in combination with coconut oil. Argan oil is wonderfully moisturizing and I feel it is keeping the wrinkles away.

The only negative is that the smell is horrible when it first comes out of the bottle. Thankfully, the scent fades completely away after a few minutes.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jellybean78 on 5/21/2009 8:11:00 AM more reviews by jellybean78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have bought expensive creams forever and always had problems with my skin I use Argan oil now and it has changed my life. It is good for anti aging and it doesn't clog pores or break you out! It is amazing, my skin is smooth and soft! Try it!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Moisturizers products