Argan Oil

4.1

123 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Argania Spinosa Oil


on 1/19/2011 3:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This review is for Slice of Nature Argan Oil purchased through Amazon.com. I specifically bought it because of the review below from moonandtheriver. (THANK YOU!!!) I have suffered with horrible painful ugly eczema on the backs of both hands for the last 5 years. I tried petroleum jelly first, then Aquaphor, to CeraVe cream, to Yu-be cream I read about on Sephora.com. I tried Weleda Skin food, and olive oil as well as something I bought at Target, Sage and Olive oil from Boots? Of course, I also used the prescription creams I was given my the derm also, but nothing, nothing has helped. Along comes argan oil. I had the Josie Maran version (will review that separately), but I ordered this less expensive oil for the purposes of slathering it all over my hands. I am thrilled to say that in just one week, my hands look and feel the way they did 5 years ago!!!!! The eczema is gone. I have to apply 3 times a day or else the skin by my knuckles will begin to crack and bleed, but I will happily apply this stuff as often as I have to for my hands to look normal and not hurt anymore!!! I also started applying this all over my face because of the miraculous results on my hands! I have combo skin and I apply the oil to my palms and then pat all over my face. I will update my review at a later date because it has only been two days of face application.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this oil! I get mine from Garden of Wisdom, it's organic, cold pressed and very reasonably priced at around $8 for 1oz. I apply it to my face at night and by morning my dry but clog prone skin is happy, moisturized and glowy. I also apply a few drops in damp hair and it smooths away any frizz I have without weighing down my fine hair. I also will add a few drops to my body lotion, and will rub a drop or two on my cuticles. A great multi-use oil that I will def. repurchase.


on 5/25/2010 7:32:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like using this oil in my pre-shampoo oil treament mixed with safflower oil. It is a tad heavy for everyday hair oilings but I mix 2 drops of this with 2 drops of Safflower oil for hair oilings on high humidity days...it works great for taming the frizzies. I use "Slice of Nature" argan oil. It smells not so good but thankfully the scent fades quickly.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Argan oil is my beauty secret. I just can't get enough of it. I buy the virgin cold pressed argan oil from my local natural food store. I haven't used it for my hair, but every night I apply just 1 pump of this oil onto my cleansed face before going to sleep. It has a bit of a nutty smell, which is fine, but it might bother some people. It can look a bit oily on my skin, which is why I only use it at night as a heavy night time moisturizer for my face. I am only 20 years old, but it helps with fine lines, wrinkles, dry skin, stretch marks, etc. I find that it also helps with the odd acne break-out as well. I HIGHLY recommend this product for everyone!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2010 2:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The first few days I wore argan oil on my face, I was glowing. I thought I'd found my hg skin serum. But alas, the glow disappeared and I was left w/dry skin. I didn't like this in my hair either. It jut made it limp and greasy. I got pure, organic argan oil from Whole Foods.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2010 11:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love argan oil. I got organic oil (2 oz for $30 with pump) off of amazon, and I am in love. I have EXTREMELY acne prone skin with scarring that breaks out from everything, yet is still easily dried out and sensetive. I mix this with my aveeno moisturizer in the morning and at night, and it's improved my skin amazingly over the last few weeks. My skin is plumper, luminous, softer, moisturized, and I break out less. I have less pimples and my scars have even begun to heal. This product is amazing. If you have any sort of skin issue, buy it.

The type I have is Eden Allure Fairly Traded Organic Morrocan Argan Oil. It is clear, has no smell, and cleared up my skin. It has never, ever made me break out. EVERYTHING else does.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2010 9:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

My hair dresses usually uses Biosilk on my hair before she blow dries it. What I noticed about the Biosilk is that it would dry the living crap out of my hair. So I asked her to use something else and this is what she used.
I have to say that when she used this before blow drying and applying all that heat to my hair, the results were GORGEOUS! So I went ahead and purchased a mini/sample bottle to test it out.
So glad I did. I understand some reviewers love this stuff but for me, it wasn't worth the hassle. First of all, this stuff stinks. Plain and simple. I don't care where it comes from, how rare it is, or how expensive it is...but the fact that I put this more than 2x in my hair tells you I'm nuts.
My hair didn't really feel any different than when I use my usual products, except it felt a bit more oily and it stunk. Uggh.
But then, the kicker...by the 3rd day, I had horrible breakouts on the back of my neck and around my hairline and to add to this, one HUGE zit right in the middle of my forehead. I honestly rarely break out so I'm almost sure the oil did this, especially since I got them in the back of my neck. This stuff is not for me and I will not repurchase.


on 1/21/2010 2:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I soak my face in argan oil once a week as part of my beauty routine. It's great for hydrating the skin. It's a light easily absorbed oil too and not too greasy. I'll carry on using it.


on 12/13/2009 5:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I decided to test drive an organic brand of Argan oil. I have naturally dry skin and heading into the winter months thought this would be a great addition to my night time skin care . I used it a handful of times but I can't get past the smell, or stench it was terrible!!!! Like manure. IT.WAS.AWFUL. I may have to try a more processed version because the naked version...just wasn't for me.


on 11/24/2009 9:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Skincare has always been important to me. Hence why I joined this website to see what you guys made of other products before I went out and tried them myself.

Argan oil is simply the single most important discovery I have made for my own skin. Ordinarily my skin is oily/combination. I've never suffered greatly from breakouts anyway, but when I do, it's not nice. And the spots seem to last for ages before clearing.... The bane of my existence however, has always been an oily T-zone and open, visible pores on my nose. So when I stumbled across Argan oil, I was scepticle. How can an oil be used to combat oily skin?!

I gave it a try for over a week or so, and lo-and-behold, 1 week later, my T-zone was less shiny and my pores much tighter and smoother. Fast forward a couple of months, and I am glowing! My skin has never felt so free, so open, so smooth and SO radiant. A radiance to rival that promised by ANY high-end moisturiser on the market today. It has evened out small pigmentation patches and this has not gone unnoticed by people in the office and on the street. Seriously, I have been stopped by strangers who have commented on my skin....

I've done a lot of research into the benefits of what has been heralded by the NY Times as 'liquid gold' and to cut it brief, Argan oil is massively rich in Vitamin E and it penetrates the skin so quickly that you are left without a sticky, shiny residue.

I have two words left: BUY IT!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

107 reviews
image

Sugar

247 reviews
image

Tamanu Oil

46 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

39 reviews
Back to Top