MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2588 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 makeupjunkie159 on 12/19/2010 5:40:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkie159

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation gives quite a good, heavy coverage, and covers minor spots and red patches, so on those terms is good. It is very matte and looks caked on - not very blendable and you can almost feel it sitting on your skin. On the days where for some reason it blends well, it is pretty good. If you like the matte look then this is a good foundation to choose, though for me, it made me break out like crazy. I also prefer the more dewy/glowy foundations, so this one having a matte finish is not something i favour. It doesnt come with a pump, and mac make you pay an extra 2.50 for it! Without a pump, you end up with a whole load on your hand. The smell is also quite stong, and in my case, is better applied with a brush, but even with this, you can still see it sitting on your skin, like it needs to be rubbed in more. Its an okay foundation, nothing great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* charlies04 on 12/15/2010 7:56:00 PM more reviews by charlies04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had to give this product a 5! Its the first beauty counter foundation I ever bought......I was just wondering from department store beauty counter to beauty counter looking for my first ever 'proper' foundation-had heard a lot about Dior and Chanel foundations but not really known much about the brand MAC other than lipsticks. Then i tried on NC15 Studio Fix (which i neva even heard of before-so i had zero expectations) and met my perfect match! It was good coverage, great skin match, easy to apply, good texture, cooling on the skin and non-expensive! And 10 other foundations later its still a winner! Its the sort of foundation every girl should start off with! If you don't know what to buy or your rush for time just buy MAC and you can't go too wrong-thats what i say! Though I would say, this foundation is for younger and more combination/oily type skin-I tried it on my mum who has mature dry skin and it made her face look hairy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 trancewh0re on 12/14/2010 11:29:00 PM more reviews by trancewh0re

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have never been so disappointed by a foundation in my life. I was excited to FINALLY try this foundation after loving the pro longwear. The coverage is okay... not as great as it's hyped up to be. I honestly get the same amount of coverage with my pro longwear. But honestly this is one of the worst foundations I've tried. It goes on nicely and matches my skin perfectly but only lasts for about 4 hours. It literally completely came off my nose and chin and on my cheeks within 4 hours... I will be returning this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweetheart_xo on 12/13/2010 6:13:00 AM more reviews by sweetheart_xo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, I want to say that due to my ethnicity it is very very hard for me to find a foundation that matches my skin. However MAC did exactly that. Studio Fix Fluid applies smoothly and has the most amazing coverage I have ever seen in a foundation. I have a lot of acne scarring and hyperpigmentation, but with this on, I look like I have absolutely FLAWLESS skin. I don't even need to use a separate concealer, this baby covers so well! I also want to add that I have oily/combination skin and for some reason this foundation mattifies my skin quite well and I don't have to blot as often. I don't mind the fact that it doesn't come with a pump because I don't use this on a daily basis- explanation coming up. This foundation does take a bit more work removing at the end of the day, and due to its high intensity and full coverage it does clog my pores :( I haven't experienced cystic acne after wearing this, but I do get a tiny bit more 'problem' areas. I paid about AU$48 for this product. It is my special-occasion makeup. And did I mention it photographs beautifully?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 defendergirl on 12/11/2010 8:20:00 PM more reviews by defendergirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use this is NC 50. Perfect match for my skin. The only con, thus far, is that is is super thick and heavy and I have a hard time getting it out of the bottle. I apply it with my fingers to warm up the makeup in order to make application easier. A little goes a long way. I usually apply it in spot areas: i.e., under eyes, under nose, on sides of nose, on sides of mouth and on forhead and then I blend, blend, blend. This creates a natural, polished covereage that lasts most of the day. I don't put setting powder over this because I don't like to look too cakey. Overall, I really like this product. My favorite Mac foundation....

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 farah0718 on 12/10/2010 5:45:00 AM more reviews by farah0718

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is an excellent product when you know how to apply it. I dip a cotton bud in the bottle and take out some product and apply it on my face to the places which need to be smoothed out/covered. I then blend it into my skin using my fingers. It really does provide great coverage and then again if you apply too much product regardless of the brand you will end up looking like a cake face!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AmyyN on 12/10/2010 3:21:00 AM more reviews by AmyyN

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When I was first starting out with makeup I really liked this foundation, however the smell is unbearable to my nose (smells like heavy paint), and I break out from this foundation as well. In pictures it makes your face look pale... It's great for those who need/want more coverage, it is quite thick and it looks great applied with a duo fiber brush. It is a nice product but just not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AnaCLAreias on 12/9/2010 12:19:00 PM more reviews by AnaCLAreias

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hello everyone!
I have an oily, sensitive, prone to acne skin and I am using this foundation for months now and I thought I should give my opinion on it since I have probably the worst skin type anyone could ask for. So anything that works for me, will most probably work for a lot of people. ;)
My concerns when I bought this product were two: full coverege that looked like skin.
When I tried the foundation I thought yes, it is full coverege! But I noticed that it sets almost as a powder, and I have an oily skin. Anyways, I set it with powder and left the house. The first minutes it looked like I had sooooo much makeup on! But after a while it really sets into your skin and looks like SKIN!
I completly love this product now! It did not break me out at all and gives me a full flawless coverege.
In case you are wondering, I set it with dream matt powder and it is the perfect combination!
I apply this foundation with my fingers and I find it to be the best way to do it.
Remember that everyone is different and don't forget to try it before you buy it!
Hope this helped!
xoxo
Ana

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LisandBobbie on 12/7/2010 12:18:00 AM more reviews by LisandBobbie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to like this foundation as it was a really good match for me NC15, I have combination skin, and felt that if there was any dry patches at all then this product just sat on them and accentuated them. I used this with the Studio fix powder as well, and together they do give a really nice finish. However, I am returning this product after nearly a month. I have used it about 10 times, and each time I have gotten some sort of new pimples/clogged pores. The first time I wore this all day&out for the night, I had the biggest pimple of my life pop up on my chin and I am not normally susceptible to many pimples. Also, today, I saw one huge pimple coming after only 4 hrs! So, I would say that if you are acne prone at all, or oily then I would stay away from this product. (The price is good though! at 35$CDN it's not bad)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Vampvixen on 12/5/2010 9:03:00 PM more reviews by Vampvixen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ok I love the finish, the lasting power and the easy application of this product. It doesnt make me breakout or give me a reaction. Looks great in photos but the only thing I hate about this foundation is how yellow it is on me makes me look a simpsons character. If the shades had an N shade range along with the NC/NW range then maybe this will be holy grail but I wont repurchase due to the severe yellowness this foundation makes me look. Such a shame since the formulation is great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products