MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2605 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraNikkita on 1/10/2011 10:20:00 PM more reviews by SaraNikkita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite foundation. I like full coverage foundation because I have some acne scars and I need to cover that up. This stuff works great. Makes me feel so pretty. The downside is that if I fall asleep with it on I break out like mad, but then again, that happens with any foundation I wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Victoriamandmsmommy on 1/10/2011 2:43:00 PM more reviews by Victoriamandmsmommy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

This stuff is pretty good but it's tricky. First off, I'm a die hard MAC fan and I like everything in my collection to generally be a product of MAC's. I'm oily so I was recommended to use this foundation. When I first put this on, I felt that I looked like a dead person but my sister said I looked gorgeous.... Just looked a little too fake for my liking. I thought to myself, don't want to give up on MAC so I decided to use my fix+ spray-- I pumped out the foundation once and then I sprayed my brush with the fix+ once or twice and although it went on more sheer, I liked the fact that I was able to control how much I was putting on without it piling up so quickly. It looked a hell of alot better! Lol my skin seemed to show through instead of feeling like a mask. I don't know if that makes sense but I prefer to build it up because when I applied it regularly, it looked too fake and it wasn't a good look. So for women that don't want a mask or to look cakey, I would suggest to invest in some fix+ (multipurpose product) because it works wonders. The studio fix fluid is so thick that it makes it kind of hard to blend and that's the key, you really have to blend it out in order for it to look like skin and look flawless in an almost natural way- the fix+ helps it glide on. As for buying it again, I don't think I will because I prefer the powder form of Studio Fix for my oily skin and in Florida- the liquid gets a tad bit too shiny. And as for oxidizing, I haven't really experienced that but this maybe because I use Urban Decay All Nighter to set my makeup. In case you're wondering, I'm an NW47, a 180 in MUFE HD, 85 in MUFE Mat Velvet, F90 in Cargo and a NW50 in the Studio Fix powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KimmyKub on 1/9/2011 12:56:00 AM more reviews by KimmyKub

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I actually really LOVE this foundation,I got compliments on how smooth my face looked,works great coverage,great oil-control,I am usually an NC30 but got it in NC25 because it oxidizes,& I didnt breakout at all

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cinnamonpink on 1/7/2011 10:29:00 PM more reviews by cinnamonpink

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I think the consistency was nice but I got NC15 and it was WAY TOO DARK! Everyone raves about how light it is...this was not light...it left an orangey hue on my face and neck, even when i tried blending over and over again.
so really fair girls, dont get this..Its a shame though cause I love the consistency and the fact that it really does cover nicely! Everything

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gorgeouslady on 1/7/2011 3:21:00 PM more reviews by gorgeouslady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was previously using Dermablend foundation but after a while i noticed it made me look much older than i actually was so i decided to try something else and went for MAC brand.I regret deeply that i made the decision to get MAC studio fix fluid and used it with Mac studio fix powder plus foundation.I got HUGE cystic acne all over my face from this product.I am already dealing with acne but i RARELY get cystic acne.I should have listened to the other reviewers who complained about it messing up their faces.Now i cannot even go out cos it's really bad :( .I had so much hopes of liking MAC considering this is my very first purchase of this brand.Never again will i purchase any MAC products for my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miomega on 1/6/2011 9:26:00 PM more reviews by miomega

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Good coverage, nice color match BUT transfers like crazy and looks pasty. Won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yasminhayat on 1/2/2011 6:48:00 PM more reviews by yasminhayat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I would only buy this product again if I was tight on money and couldn't afford the more expensive brands that I have fallen in love with (unfortunately!)

It's not baaad, but I am just not blown away, and at around 18 it's not the cheapeast item out there.

Here are the positives:

1) It's really long lasting, I put it on in the morning and it wont budge - fantastical!

2) It does do a much better job than your drug store brands (and I have tried nearly all drug store brands out there.) It feels nicer on the face, covers better, lasts longer, looks better in photographs, etc...

and the negatives (and the reasons why I wont buy it again)

1) It doesn't hide my pores. I have the biggest pores on the planet that no amount of primer (although it makes a massive improvment) wont hide them, and the foundation realllly doesn't make a difference.

2) It doesn't hide my acne very well. I have PCOS, so I suffer from acne outbreaks alot. Mac hasn't made my acne teribbly worse (although my skin is suffering from wearing it nearly every day) but it wont hide it well either. I need to plaster industrial strength concealer under the foundation, add the foundation and then plaster more concealer on top to hide it. The foundation alone doesn't feel too cakey (although I know when I am wearing it - I have tried some brands that just feel like magic) but once I've got the works on top I feel like i'm drowning in face paint.

3) I was told it was buildable - the more layers you add, the more it hides. My foundation just looks more caked the more I add and if I have some bad boy spots on my face, no number of layers can hide their very angry heads.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alt629 on 12/30/2010 1:46:00 PM more reviews by alt629

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

So far, this is my favorite foundation. I like the coverage which is medium (and buildable to full) and the finish with is matte. My only gripe with this is the color line on the pale end of the spectrum (I guess this goes for all MAC foundations, except maybe the mineral ones). I am paler than NC15, so if I wear this without altering it in some way, it looks orangey on my skin. I discovered though that if I mix two pumps of strobe liquid into a pump of this, the color and texture is nicely adjusted for my skin. I would love to find a foundation that required no adjustment, but so far I haven't found it. Until then, it's SFF for the win.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NC41 on 12/29/2010 6:19:00 AM more reviews by NC41

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ok foundation, but I expected better from MAC... quite natural/light finish, mac MUA suggested this would really benefit with being buffed in with a duofibre brush (which does make it look better). Wear time is much shorter than pro long wear on me, but colour is more natural

woudl not buy again - for price, i can get a better quality foundation (BTW - revlon color stay is much better than this, as is No 7)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ReineRedWillow on 12/29/2010 5:16:00 AM more reviews by ReineRedWillow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation, but it is not my favorite. Its a beautiful foundation, it leaves a nice matte finish, but it is very heavy, and I find it kind of hard to blend unless I use a brush. I do really think this is good for a full coverage makeup, but it is too much for my everyday use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products