MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2657 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girrl65 on 2/27/2011 1:27:00 AM more reviews by girrl65

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The FORMULA of this is great, but my reason for rating it low is the poor shade selection. NC15, seriously? The SA matched me with that so I thought she was right at the time, but she just wanted to make a sale and that was the lightest thing MAC makes. NC15 makes me look like pumpkin face because it is tooooo dark for me and it likes to oxidize, as well. Using a primer underneath helps. The formula is good actually. It has great coverage and does not get too shiny on my oily face. Powdering during the day helps. For reference, I currently use and love both L'Oreal True Match in W1 and Maybelline Fit Me in 110. Why can't MAC make a lighter foundation shade? If DS brands can, MAC can too. I will buy this again if they make a NC10 or NC5, but until then MAC will get no more of my money as far as foundation is concerned!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nette92 on 2/27/2011 1:02:00 AM more reviews by nette92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this product, because for a high end foundation its relatively cheaper than the others. First I want to say that you should all really match yourselves. Blend a little of it into your neck so you can see which color matches you the best. In my experiences at MAC, they love to match me (and alot of my pale friends) to NW20. My face might be pale and red, but I need a color to match my NECK so that I look like one color. I'm really an NC20. Anyway, this foundation is medium-full coverage. It dries to a completely matte, powdery finish. It lasts very long and from what I saw, it fades away pretty evenly, not in patches. One thing I didn't see anyone mention is that this foundation smells like a sharpie marker. With that being said, whatever they put in this stuff, it's STRONG. I was hoping this wouldn't break me out, but it did. I got little bumps all over my cheeks and the foundation was itchy. I returned this foundation. It'd too bad, it matched pretty well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TLovesSephora on 2/25/2011 2:42:00 PM more reviews by TLovesSephora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This product broke me out, and by that I mean two pimples. HOWEVER, I never get acne so I was so surprised and couldn't figure out for the longest time what was making me break out. The bigger those two pimples got, the more of this liquid foundation I'd use to cover them up, and they wouldn't disappear which really frustrated me. After reading reviews I realized it could be this foundation, so I stopped using it for awhile and the two pimples completely disappeared!

This offers great coverage and it does look really really good in photos after you apply it, I used to love wearing this to clubs and such. HOWEVER, this looks sort of cakey in the day light, so with the whole cakiness and acne break out I just figured this isn't the right foundation for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crimrose on 2/25/2011 11:40:00 AM more reviews by crimrose

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my favourite, favourite foundation. I love it. I can't live without it now. I'll still experiment with others, no doubt (I just love makeup way too much, and I'm also a huge product tester), but I believe I will always come back to my MAC Studio Fix Fluid. Oh, how I love you so. :P
And here's why I love it. (Yeah, on to the actual review now.)

CLAIMS: A modern foundation that combines a natural matte finish and medium-buildable coverage with broad spectrum UVA/UVB SPF 15. Comfortable and long-wearing: lasts for up to eight hours. Applies smoothly, builds coverage quickly and easily. Contains specially treated micronized pigments and soft-focus powders for a super-smooth look that helps minimize the appearance of imperfections. Absorbs and disperses oil. Contains special skin-conditioning ingredients. Oil free.

PRICE: $32 CAD, probably a little less US.

MY SKIN: My skin is about as "normal" as you can get. No signs of major oiliness or dryness, drier in the winter, oilier in the summer, generally balanced, not acne-prone or sensitive, no skin conditions (such as rosacea, etc), no acne, few skin discolourations, minor dark circles under eyes. Young skin, wrinkles are not a concern.

COVERAGE: Buildable, but this foundation is pretty thick and viscous, meaning it's unlikely that, if you love the "no-makeup", natural-skin look, you will achieve it. It IS possible, I have done it with this foundation, but it will probably only be achieved with a stipple brush and a careful hand. Generally I think this is perfect for medium coverage, though I imagine (I have never used it for this purpose) you would well be able to build it to full.

FINISH: Matte, I would say. It's not ultra-matte, so it won't accentuate the tiniest bit of dryness, but it also won't hold up for super-oily people either. It's a very natural matte, which I adore. I love matte foundations because I find they look the most natural; that's personal preference.

LOOK & FEEL: This foundation is wonderful because I can skip the concealer. The coverage is awesome, conceals and blends like a dream, looks like my skin is perfect! It feels soft once it dries, makes my skin beautiful, touchable, soft, and overall just happy!

DURABILITY: Lasts all day on my normal skin, and into the night. May not be so for extra-oily people, but it will stand up to a decent amount of oil. I do not have to touch up even once during a day.

PROS: Great, buildable coverage. Excellent when used to cover redness or dark circles. Natural matte finish. Soft, blendable, durable. Absorbs oil. SPF 15.

CONS: Not transfer-proof. Not suitable for very dry skin, due to its absorbent nature.

WHO WOULD LIKE THIS: Normal skins, oily skins (depending on the degree), slightly dry skins (with moisturizer), people who want a buildable coverage but not necessarily full, people who like a natural matte finish.

WHO WOULD NOT LIKE THIS: Very oily skins, very dry skins, people who want the "no-makeup" look, people who like a dewy finish.

OVERALL RATING: A+

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkskyequeen on 2/25/2011 10:33:00 AM more reviews by darkskyequeen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Foundation Experiment Mac Studio Fix Fluid vs MUFE Mat Velvet:

Recently I was on the hunt for an alternative foundation that has the same perfect colour as Mat Velvet but has better staying power and perhaps with a better price point. So decided to try out the Mac Studio Fix fluid in NC44. NC44 is almost dead on perfect match with #65 Mat Velvet in Golden Beige and a perfect match for my skin tone. So i decided to do an experiment. I wore mat velvet on one half of my face and Mac studio fix on the other half. As a base I used oil free moisturizer and Sheer envy primer before application and after application I dusted off with Mac Blot powder and Mac Prep and Prime finishing powder. Both have similar consistency when applying. Mat velvet though seemed to accentuate the areas dryness on my skin. Studio Fix went on more smoothly but only slightly. Coverage for both are almost identical. After 2 hrs I had the exact same oiliness on both sides of my face. After 4 hrs though Mat velvet was only slightly more oilier. Both started the smudge off the face when my skin was oily if I scratched it (this doesnt happen with Revlon Colorstay BTW). They both transferred the same on a kleenex. Funny thing.. they both have a slight oxidation but it actually makes my skin look better with the colour being a tad more golden until I blot with a blot sheet. I see no difference in oxidation colour between Mat velvet and Studio Fix. Makeup removal on oily skin is easy (compared to Revlon colorstay) but when I applied both to the back of my hand Studio Fix had better staying power and I had to use makeup remover. Mat velvet still washed off easily. Also they both photograph the same even with Mac Studio Fix having sunscreen in it. In terms of packaging they are both easy to use as long as you buy the pump with the Studio Fix. It's easier to travel with the Mat velvet packaging since it's nice and sleek.. but really for me it's not a selling point.


Final thoughts:

I would say Studio Fix fluid seems like a dupe for Mat velvet except that Studio fix has sunscreen. So for the price I would without a doubt choose Mac Studio Fix Fluid. Plus it has a very very slight edge on Mat Velvet in terms of smoother application and more oil control. These differences though are hard to see. The only other thing is I would make sure to use a good make up remover for Mac since it may be deceiving when it looks like it's removed. Maybe this accounts for some of the breakouts that people are reporting. Also don't underestimate the power of water!! I find the way how these foundations apply and wear is much more improved when I've been drinking lots of water and less coffee. I'm still on the hunt for my HG foundation. That foundation would have the colour match of the MUFE and MAC but the quality of the Revlon colorstay.

I will buy this foundation again until I find my HG. It's perfect for the winter months. For summer I may go back to revlon colorstay especially since the slight red in it may match me better then.


Update: My tester ran out so I bought a bottle. I'm loving this foundation. I find that when I apply with fingers or a flat foundation brush it goes on kind of heavy but with the Sephora #56 air brush It applies flawlessly giving coverage but still letting your skin texture show through. Seriously looks like I don't have makeup on. I would not recommend this for those with dry skin though. I can see it getting a little flakey upon application.

Update: I stopped using this foundation when I saw myself under energy saver light bulbs and in bright sunshine. Yikes!! I have to bump down the lippies :(

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beybika84 on 2/25/2011 7:45:00 AM more reviews by beybika84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Really good foundation. It gives you that fresh and well-rested look early in the morning, your skin looks really fantastic when you apply it. My skin is oily but the foundation doesn't change the color throughout the day. It's not very long lasting, after a few hours it sits into your pores and it doest't look so good and fresh as in the morning.
It gives quite good but not too-much coverage. I love the fact that this founadtion gives you a bit of glow ... it's really not dewy or luminious but is not over-matte, which i dont like because that tends to make all the imperfections more visible. It gives you more of a velvet healthy skin look.
It didn't couse me any zits or break-outs. The price of it is 26 + the pump 4. I higly recommend it. It is really good and will match your skin perefctly. I am waiting to try it out with a primer underneath, it may be more loglasting with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alliemily on 2/24/2011 3:28:00 AM more reviews by alliemily

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

When I first got this foundation it broke me out completely, and I had lost the receipt so i couldn't return it. I moved to the desert and it got lost in my makeup drawer. After sitting untouched for two months or so, I found it and decided to try it again, since it was so expensive. It's my go to foundation now. When I apply it with a stippling brush I get the best natural, yet full-coverage foundation.
I don't know whether my skin changed a lot when I moved or what, because my face has been a lot clearer lately, even with the mac studio fix.
i'm an NW15 and I will def buy it again :]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Betzy04 on 2/23/2011 4:48:00 PM more reviews by Betzy04

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Mac Studio Fix Fluid SPF15 was the second foundation i ever used, and i loved it. I love the full coverage effect it gives, and the consistency. The packaging itself is alright, the plump is not included but can be purchase at any mac store or counter. However it gave me a few pimples when i first started using it but within a month my skin was clean&clear. I just make sure i wash my face every night to remove any makeup. I am a NC35 which is a little to dark for me right now, but i purchase it during the summer so i was darker. Yes i will repurchase as soon as i ran out of it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 8MissT on 2/23/2011 9:18:00 AM more reviews by 8MissT

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Broke me out!!! I loved the consistency and coverage of this product but it definitely wasn't worth having the acne that came with it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 workingmoma on 2/22/2011 11:09:00 PM more reviews by workingmoma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Red, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use a combination NC50/NC45 to make my face an more even tone. Obviously blending key for me. I've tried a few other high-end and well as drug-store brand but this one work for me. I have yellow tones in my check, forehead and chin, but darker around the perimeter of my face. The coverage is good also. I apply with either the skunk brush or the flat foundation brush. I tried applying with the Sonia Kashuk blending sponge but it let tons of streaks. I also recommend using a moisturizer with SPF since this foundation does not have any.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products