MAC Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

3.5

2700 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENT: Octinoxate 2.50% Other: Water/Aqua/Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Silica, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Algae Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Xanthan Gum, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methoxy Amodimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Laureth-7, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Propylene Carbonate, BHT, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol [ /- Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288)


on 4/14/2011 1:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The best liquid foundation I've ever had. It stay all day long. Good for combination/oily skin.



on 4/11/2011 3:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For more that i wanted to love this foundation it sadly broke me out!! yes it gives nice coverage but ughhh pizza face with this for me :( i think all the mac foundations have broke me out!! not cool!!


on 4/8/2011 3:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

It's good for my skin and it's good looking too :) Really good coverage and it hides the red tone of my skin... I also love the spf 15 as I burn easily and often forget to apply sunscreen ;) Too expensive is my only fault :/ I like the lock on the pump, though, and for anyone with a voucher or a bit of cash to splash, this is a treat! Good colour range. I'm NC15


on 4/6/2011 10:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm a pretty big fan of studio fix powder foundation, but the SA suggested I try the fluid because Im looking for longer lasting coverage and I mentioned how in pictures I looks so incredibly ghostly (Im NC 35 in studio fix powder). I am really trying to like this product. I do like the coverage and it feels somewhat light compared to some fluids Ive used in the past. It covers up my broken capillaries, redness, and some acne quite nicely, WHEN its first applied. After a few hours, it slides off my nose and chin and is incredibly shiny. Most foundations seem to settle into my dry cheeks and become flaky. This doesn't but it does something truly odd with my forehead. It seems to ONLY oxidize here and become a little orange AND accentuates pores like Ive never seen! Ive only been using it for a week, so Im trying to conclude if using primer, moisturizer, fixing spray and in what combo it will help. We'll see. Worst case, I'll mix this as a tinted moisturizer for the summer. Oh, and the bottle with out a pump really, REALLY sucks. I despise tapping out not enough or way too much.

***EDIT-revisit. After Ive really tried to like this and worked with it a bit more, I actually do like it. Here is the key :APPLY IN MODERATION! Ive figured out MAC prime + prep is garbage and makes all my fds worse. If I use a smaller amt of product and blend with a skunk brush, I get really good results. went from 3 lippies to 4.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have used this product for a few months (until the bottle finished - scraped clean).



I'm not pleased with this foundation. I am an NW40 and have found this product to be far too yellow for my skin tone. It also did not control my oily skin - by the end of 2-3hrs, my face was greasy looking and my wrinkles was highly enhanced. All the foundation that I placed onto my face in the morning, started to cake up around my pores and wrinkles by afternoon. My holy grail setting powder by Ben Nye didn't control the greasy look either. Furthermore, not only did I find this foundation cakey, but the texture was very heavy even when applied with gentle strokes (- fingers, stippling brush, cosmetic wedge and foundation brush). You could definitely feel the 'mask' on your face.



In terms of sensitive-skin-friendly: I did not break out from this product.



I will not be re-purchasing this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2011 12:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a great medium-coverage foundation. The finish is beautiful and matte, especially when applied with a stippling brush. I have oily skin and this did well at keeping the shine at bay when set with a mineralized powder. I don't think my color was matched very well because I did feel like it washed me out a bit. Also, for photos it gave me a bit of a "ghost face". Would NOT recommend this one for pictures. However, as a daily foundation I give it the green light!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2011 5:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used this product when my skin was still flawless and didn't not have any blemishes. It gave me the best coverage a make-up can give without looking cakey. Now, that my skin became acne prone I am afraid to use this product that it might break me out more. IF you have an okay skin to begin with, then this might work for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2011 3:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

With the studio fix, you either love it or hate it.
I'm in the middle :(

I want to love it soooo bad, because deep down inside, (I secretly do) but I just can't let myself use it because of the ingredients... I'm tryna look out for my skin!

I used this for 3 years, and that's all I would use.
My pores were soo huge and clogged when I stopped using it. I got so many facials because I felt like I needed to let my face breathe.
The coverage is so amazing but I find that Estee Lauder's Double Wear or Maximum coverage is just sooo much better with the wear. Even setting the Studio fix with Fix+, every time I hugged my bf I would get my face on his shirt(how unattractive)

If there wasn't all the amazing foundations coming out, new things, new technology like HD and all this natural stuff.... I think I would stick to MAC, but i'm actually liking Lauder & MUFE more now a days.

3 stars for packaging because I hate the "you have to buy the pump or keep reusing your old one" kinda thing


on 4/1/2011 9:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

really really tried to like this product. regardless of application method this always came out looking beyond unnatural. i'd almost call it "otherwordly", because this stuff seriously makes you look like an alien.

i usually wear N3 in studiofix powder foundation, and found the MAC artists "color-match" of NC15 to be very ashy, grey, yellowish upon application (this wasn't a great match but was almost bearable with the right blending) and, over the course of 3 hours, settled in to fine lines (that were previously barely visible - the foundation made them very pronounced!) and turned a strange shade of ashy orange. this makeup somehow manages to look bad in natural sunlight AND dinner date romantic mood lighting. in other words, for me, it was useless any time of day or night.

after less than 2 weeks of 3x a week use, developed 2 cystic pimples that were (and currently still are at the time of posting this) excruciating. guess the only mac product i'll ever really get any use out of is the studio fix powder foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2011 9:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprise SFF has rated so low. I don't even like full coverage makeup & I can work this out. The key is to use a sm amt and BUILD; if you need more, let it dry then add another layer. It is simply gorgeous with strobe liquid or lustre drops mixed in!!!


Back to Top