MAC Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

3.5

2712 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENT: Octinoxate 2.50% Other: Water/Aqua/Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Silica, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Algae Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Xanthan Gum, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methoxy Amodimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Laureth-7, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Propylene Carbonate, BHT, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol [ /- Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

Heavy, cakey, did not control oil well at all. It felt like it was just sitting on my face. One of the worst liquid foundations I've tried.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/23/2011 7:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I finally decided to invest in this foundation. MAC is pretty expensive in NZ so I was a bit reluctant to spend alot on this. I got matched to NC25 which I think is a good match for me. I can get it blended nicely without any harsh foundation line on me. I use the ELF powder brush to blend this in and does an amazing job. Coverage I say is medium, the way I usually like my foundation to be. However, I hate that this broke me out. I know its this foundation since it was the only new product I was using for my face. I also ended up looking quite oily after a couple of hours. Since its quite expensive I think I'll stick to Revlon Colourstay since it is cheaper and doesn't break me out. Plus, it's just as good as the studio fix in my opinion.


on 4/23/2011 5:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product> I use it as a concealer. I'm a nw43 in powder but nc50 with this studio fix fluid. In order to buy this I suggest going to mac in person.


on 4/23/2011 3:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Awesome stuff, good coverage. At first, I thought it was a bit too yellow for me, but the consultant put it on anyway and it was fine! I don't think I'll buy any other brand... but I guess I won't have to because this bottle lasts forever!


on 4/23/2011 3:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really do enjoy this foundation. I have a pump on it, so WITH the pump, I love the packaging. It definitely is annoying that a pump doesn't come standard with it, but at least it does have the option.
I apply this either with a wet sponge, or with my fingers. Both application methods are great. I find that if I use a brush, it will look a little streaky, since it dries so fast.
I love that it dries though. I hate when a foundation never really dries, so that is a huge benefit of SFF.
My color is NC25. This is close, but still a little too yellow for me. I have neutral to pinkish undertones, and I find that both the NC and the NW don't really match perfectly, but the NC is better. That's the main downside I have with this. But, it's pretty close, and it actually blends into my neck pretty well, so it's not a huge deal. I also don't like that it doesn't last all day. I have oily skin, and it will last for about 6 to 8 hours, and after that I definitely need to use blotting sheets and powder to keep it looking nice.
The bottle lasts forever since you really only need one pump. I love that it has amazing coverage, so after I apply a super thin layer to my whole face, I then can use it as my concealer by patting a more condensed layer over all my acne/acne scars, and it does a great job covering it.
I don't think this has made my acne any worse, but it definitely hasn't made it any better. I generally always have like 4-5 active acne spots on my face, but it's nothing that SFF can't cover! I even will use this for my under eyes if I don't have any concealer at hand.
I have oily skin, so I love how matte it is, but I would see how those with dry skin would hate it, as I would imagine it would make your face feel tight judging by how fast it dries.
All things considered, this is a pretty awesome foundation, and once I go through the stock pile of foundation that i've accumulated, I'd definitely consider getting this again, just because I love the coverage, but yet how natural it can look if applied correctly. Great job, MAC!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2011 10:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I think this is kind of product where you have to use a complete set make up ritual (i.e primer, skin mattified, etc) and bought the pump. It looks good at first 3 hours but then my face will melt away. The good side is this product is light (despite the medium coverage), easy to blend and the color is a true match with my skin (I am a NC35).

I think when I return to Mac, I'll buy Pro Long Wear instead for the coverage.


on 4/18/2011 7:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I wanted to like this after reading about its great coverage and how it was good for oily skin, but it did not work for me. It was great when I first put it on. It had a natural matte finish, but after two hours, my face was slick with oil. Not only did it not help with the oil, it rubbed off on EVERYTHING. This is not a product I'd buy again, especially for $26 a bottle. :/


on 4/18/2011 10:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I bought this on a whim when I was having a bit of a skin problem, as I heard it gives a good medium/high buildable coverage, which it definitely does.

I have noticed the foundation seems to darken over time, and read somewhere this is due to oxidisation. I am extremely pale, and even the lightest shade (NC15) was far too dark for my skin tone, and gave me a kind of orange tint.... not nice!

It gives a very matte finish, and I have combination skin so it had a tendency to look a bit patchy on my dry areas. However for someone with oilier skin, I think this would be great!

Over all, I probably wouldn't buy this product again, just because it's slightly too heavy for me for every day use and the orange tint is a bit unsightly on my very pale skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wanted so bad to like this foundation as it's a lovely texture and provides good coverage. I'm quite pale but I find that using the shade that matches me perfectly doesn't cover anything and makes dry patches look worse, so I use nc30 which is about two shades darker however I do fake tan so theres no horrifying line. For starters, it goes on nicely, a little goes a long way. Even with my very dry skin it doesnt stay on all day. Two years ago I had cystic acne so reviews that this could cause it scared me slightly. I did find it gave me pimples around my mouth after a few days use but nothing awful. This week though, having switched back to it, I now have a cyclic pimple next to my mouth. This hasn't happened in two years since I came off accutane so it's enough to warn me off studio fix fluid for good.


on 4/17/2011 9:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this foundation doesnt really work on dry skin as it makes the skin more dry and makes dry patchs stand out more. It gives a matt finish but not dull matt like revlon colorstay for oily/combo,its quite a nice matt finish.the coverage is good, what i can say i like about this foundation is that it makes the skin look really smooth. As i have normal to dry and prefer a slightly satin/dewy finish i mix this with chanel vitalL or rimmel renew&lift. this foundation makes everything more smoother when mixed in with other things.


Back to Top