MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2628 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 lightchaser16 on 2/4/2011 2:46:00 AM more reviews by lightchaser16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I've been using Studio Fix fluid for nearly 2 years now in NC 44. I'm no longer sure this is the right shade for me - it has prominent yellow tones and can make me look overtly made-up for the first 10 minutes or so after I put it on - the next time round, I'll be looking for a closer match. The product itself is extremely strong on all the points a good foundation needs to be strong on - complete coverage, absolutely no irritation or breaking out (even on acne-prone and oily skin like mine) and though it can make you look a little tired and patchy at the end of a long day, it takes about 10-12 hours of wearing it for that effect to turn up.

I will be repurchasing this for a long time - can think of no other foundation that's as reliable. I do wish M.A.C. would fix the awful smell of this product though. I try to avoid having people kiss me on the cheek while I'm wearing this because of the plasticky, chemical smell!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 licoricepirate on 1/31/2011 8:56:00 PM more reviews by licoricepirate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got matched for this in both NC25 and NW20 ... somehow. (one of the stores had weird yellowy lighting?) ugh.

NW20 is a better match, but I can't stand the way it feels. I'm constantly aware of the smell, and can just FEEL it on my skin. Wouldn't want to wear it for any extended period of time. It rubs off easily, too.

Too thick, obnox smell, rubs off ... I'm going back to Rimmel "Stay Matte."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bindi7 on 1/31/2011 11:46:00 AM more reviews by Bindi7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the Studio Fix powder foundation for nearly 10 years and although i am very happy with it, i was looking for something with a bit more staying power and oil control for special occassions & going out.

This foundation is amazing! I got matched for NC30 and bought the pump as well as i know it will reduce wastage in the long run. The colour match is near perfect and the SA matched it up to my neck colour which i was very happy with as i have ended up with the right colour. I think i will probably end up needing to purchase NC35 when i am tanned in the summer, but the NC30 shade is perfect for the moment.

The consistency is good and the liquid spreads and blends very easily - not streaking at all!.. Even when using a primer underneath (L'Oreal smooth resurfacing primer)!! I have oily skin and so one of my main concerns was that i would end up shiny by lunchtime, but this lasted all day :-) There was some natural shine coming through, but not enough to warrant using blot paper/powder. This is a first for me as i get shiny within a few hours of applying foundation.

Overall i am very very pleased with this foundation and i know i will repurchase. This is so worth trying if you are looking for a matte effect foundation with staying power - the SPF 15 is an added bonus too!

A must have for combination/oily skin in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kus on 1/31/2011 2:00:00 AM more reviews by kus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of my first foundations years ago and am still using MAC studio fix NC45 after phewww something like 10 years now.

I have to say i love it, blends into my skin and is the right shade without making me look too dark like other foundations do.
Only thing is that i use it if am going out or special occasions as iafeel it makes me feel too made up somethimes.

Perfect color, great coverage, blends well. As i get older, I wish they would come up with a mineral version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blackberrypatch on 1/29/2011 11:02:00 PM more reviews by blackberrypatch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My skin started to itch within seconds of putting on this foundation. I was shocked. Usually when a product doesn't agree with my skin, I get acne. Oh well, at least makeup wipes were handy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 artartistartistic on 1/29/2011 11:03:00 AM more reviews by artartistartistic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Maybe this is a premature review as I've only worn the product for three days, but I honestly think it's already contributing to my cystic acne. I have never had a reaction this quickly to any makeup product. Also, I think the color (NW20) is a little dark because it's a tad yellow on my face. I wish the package just came with a pump. The coverage is nice and it does last longer than Studio Tech on me. I just have to return this and get something that doesn't break me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raspberrysorceress on 1/28/2011 5:15:00 AM more reviews by raspberrysorceress

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Since I've been using this foundation for nearly a year, I think I'm able to review this since I've used and worn it under almost every circumstance. I really like the consistency, I like to wear a medium coverage foundation that's buildable so this foundation is wonderful for if you like having the freedom of building your foundation to whatever type of coverage you desire. It has decent staying-power, on most days I'll slap it on at 7am and it's only until about 12 noon that I start to notice it slipping off my face a bit (and I never even bother to set it with powder so that's quite a considerable amount of time for it to stay) Goes on brilliantly if I apply it with my 187 stippling brush and even with my bare hands it smooths onto my skin very well. I find that some days this can look cakey on me because it starts to suck the moisture out of my forehead and round my nose, but that's usually if I don't moisturize well before I pop it on.

There's something about this foundation that makes me keep crawling back to it. I think the main reason I can't let go of this is because it never lets me down. It has it's little flaws and off-days but in the end, it always gives me what I want in a foundation; something that will even out my skintone and act as a good base that will last me for majority of my time out wearing it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MACfiend11 on 1/27/2011 7:05:00 AM more reviews by MACfiend11

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. It has superb coverage, hasn't broken me out, has great staying power, and controls oil throughout the day. The shade selection is wide and I love the smell and the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lauboo87 on 1/27/2011 4:42:00 AM more reviews by lauboo87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

First of all u really need to buy a mac pump (2.00) to actually get the product out of the pot!!
I was advised this foundation for my oily skin by a mac consultant & at first i loved it & it worked beautifully. However after a few months i noticed it started seperating on my oily skin & looked caked on.
I use mac prep & prime skin base visage primer underneath & i felt like the two just didnt compliment each other!! ( even tho the primer is amazing!!)
Beacuse my skin is always changing I decided to buy MAC pro longwear foundation & fell in love. It is much lighter but wiv great coverage!! i prep my skin properley first & it goes on smooth & natural-
I still have studio fix fluid in my dresser draw, ready for when pro longwear decides 2 hate my oily skin LOL
Just For reference i also use revlon colour stay foundation for combination/oily skin & alternate between the three foundations depending on how my skin is behaving lol!


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 martas777 on 1/26/2011 10:41:00 AM more reviews by martas777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Although I have my favorite foundation - ELDW I do still buy some other foundations to check if any better than my beloved EL. This is ok, but doesn't last very long on me. It's medium to heavy coverage and didn't broke me out. If it was longer lasting I would rate it higher.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products