MAC Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15


2765 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$


ACTIVE INGREDIENT: Octinoxate 2.50% Other: Water/Aqua/Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Silica, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Algae Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Xanthan Gum, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methoxy Amodimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Laureth-7, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Propylene Carbonate, BHT, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol [ /- Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288)

on 6/21/2011 10:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been wearing this foundation for a bit longer than a month now, and I'm really loving it! The shade NC35 is the perfect match for my skin tone, and I'm so relieved because this really is the first time that I've found a foundation that is a perfect match to my skin. Before this, I would go to different makeup counters and stores and have them match a foundation to my skin tone, only to find that the foundation they recommended is either too light or is too pink for my skin (I'm Asian with really yellow undertones).

Anyway, the staying power in this is excellent, and it is a medium to full coverage foundation. I have some redness on my cheeks and general area from acne, and I find that this foundation really covers them up well. I have to be careful when applying this, though, it can appear cakey very quickly if I put too much on (one pump is enough for my entire face). I found that using a damp makeup sponge to apply this is the best way for me, I use a retinol so using a stippling brush or any kind of brush aggravates my skin which causes intense peeling, which defeats the purpose of putting any foundation at all. I have sensitive skin as well, but I have not had any break outs from this foundation at all. It's very worth its price, and it costs $9-$10 less than MUFE, NARS, Bobbi Brown or any other department store foundation. The only gripe I have about this is that I have to purchase the pump separately (you need the pump, the consistency isn't as thin as other liquid foundations) which is $6 extra (at least, where I live). Besides that one negative, this is my HG foundation.

on 6/21/2011 7:25:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've had a generous sample of this foundation for quite some time. I have so much difficulty with liquid foundations - they look crappy in the area where I need the coverage the most (on the tip of my nose, where I have some broken capillaries). I've tried most of them - NARS, MUFE Face and Body, Clarins (several types) and others. I've also tried many different brushes. And I've had some successes, thanks to the Sephora Professional airbrush foundation brush, which has made most of my liquid foundations more wearable and also thanks to MAC's Pro Longwear foundation. But I still find these far more work than my good old Pur Minerals mineral powder foundation....they take way more time.

Just for the heck of it the other day, I decided to try MAC Fix Fluid again to see what would happen if I applied it with a damp sponge. RESULT!!!! My skin looks PERFECT. The red on my nose is covered and without the ugly "dots" of foundation I always get on my nose no matter what primer I use or what brush I use. I've spent a few days just looking "flawless", and what is more, it feels wonderful - velvety soft but not greasy or oily. I think I'll be trying the damp sponge with other foundations but I may just buy a full bottle of Fix Fluid because I'm so pleased. Like almost everyone else, I am amazed there is no pump included with this foundation (if cheaper brands like Revlon can swing this, why not MAC?) and for that reason, I took off one lippie.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 6/18/2011 3:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Overall, this is a pretty good foundation. I apply this foundation with a blending sponge to make sure that I don't look like a complete cake face. If applied sloppy, it will be obvious that you're wearing foundation. This stuff will last all day for me, except for during the hotter months, it melts off a bit. I'm the color NC15, and I find that it's EXTREMELY yellow! I mix mine with some of my pink foundation to make it more wearable for my skin tone. I don't like the fact that it doesn't come with a pump. I think it's a affordable price for a foundation that works pretty good and to get the name "MAC". It's not my holy grail foundation by any means but it works for now. I'm on my second bottle, and although I answered "yes" to purchasing this product again, I probably won't right away. I'm on the search for my favorite one!

on 6/18/2011 1:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

this foundation suck !

on 6/18/2011 1:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Already wrote an essay on this + the powder combined in the studio fix powder comments, but on its own this is even worse than the powder :\ not only does it looks crap, it doesnt even have enough coverage for a foundation at that price! And all the rest too which I mentioned. Just a crappy unnatural fake looking piece of crap >_>
Go natural people! Being flawless but also having a natural look with a nicer makeup is so much more flattering & better for yourself, than a mask like MAC =.= I had to learn the hard way, I once thought my makeup actually looked good at one point too. lmao

on 6/17/2011 6:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've repurchased 4 times already, so I think it's time to share my experience with this foundation

1) Very good buildable coverage
2) Wide color range
3) Long lasting
4) Matt but not over the top
5) Controls oil quite well (but I also use matte base and blot powder)
6) Price is not bad
7) A single bottle last for a while

1) Might cause breakouts
2) You have to buy an extra pump
3) Might be heavy for those who prefer lightweight sheer coverage foundations
4) During hot months tends to ''melt''
5) It's quite obvious that you wear foundation (unless you have already a good skin with not much to cover and apply a tiny bit)
6) Weird smell

For a very long time I thought this foundation was my godsend holy grail. I had acne since my teens and tried every medical treatment available and many many foundations without luck.
I was looking for a foundation with excellent coverage, long lasting that would match my skin color -and believe me, that was hard to find.

Studio Fix Fluid fullfilled all my wishes. I apply it with the 187 brush for a natural look or with a flat brush for more coverage. It worked wonders and used it every single day for years. Even when my skin was absolutely terrible I knew it would cover all the scars, pimples, blemishes. When freshly applied, combined with blot powder and Fix+ my skin looked closer to perfection than ever...

The only reason I think I might not buy again is that I feel that it's not the healthiest for the skin. Although I wouldn't like to admit it my skin is visibly clearer during the periods I don't use it often. And I never went to sleep with this on my face.
Now, since my acne has improved I don't need heavy coverage and I suspect that it contributed to keep my skin that way for a long time. Now I use it every now and then and there's no problem...
Overall, it's a decent foundation -with some flaws - but I haven't found anything closer to my personal HG yet!

Update: I've moved on at last to experiment with other foundations and I won't look back.
First of all the color match wasn't as perfect as I wanted to believe. In fact it's nowhere near perfect as I realized. NW15 is way too dark and orange and NC15 too yellow. Unfortunately MAC doesn't have a color for pale cool toned girls.
Second, full coverage foundation won't look natural. Ever. I used to think ''the fullest coverage the better'' Wrooong! Light is fine, medium is fine. you can always spot conceal imperfections- that looks way healthier than covering heavily your skin.
Third: no foundation is worth causing acne. Now I know- I still love MAC eye shadows and lipsticks but I wish I hadn't used studio fix fluid for so many years!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 6/17/2011 1:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this product. I have been using it for 5 years! I always seem to have a hard time finding a good foundation because I have oily skin and big pores, so I find that I break out easily with some products, and I have to say, my skin just loves every MAC product I get, especially this one. I have some redness on my face and blemishes, and sometimes I'll have some dry skin, and I find no matter what, the Studio Fix Fluid covers everything up and lasts all day long. It has GREAT coverage and blends so easily and the colour is beautiful and flawless. I get compliments on my skin all the time being flawless and beautiful and soft looking, and to be honest, it's mostly the product. I definitely recommend this product!

on 6/16/2011 11:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

I tried this foundation a couple of years back and really did not like it. The texture was so thick and heavy on my skin, looks cakey and gives unnatural medium-full coverage, it oxidised on my face within 1-2 hours, made my face extremely shiny (I do not have oily skin), broke me out in red bumps. I prefer the Studio Fix Powder to this.

on 6/15/2011 4:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wish this worked out for me.. :( it said it controls the oil but it did the opposite, after putting it on and waiting an hour, it already got oily! It was like an oil slick look! It didn't look attractive at all. Although I have to say that this foundation gives GREAT coverage. I love how its very yellow toned. I'm an NC30-35. It does have a thicker consistency, and has a smell to it. But personally, I'm not one of those people who really are bothered by the smell, it smells just like Revlon ColorStay just for reference. It's too bad! I would've loved this if it didn't make me oily, or if it had a pump. Dryer skin would probably be a better match with this one. I suggest trying it out first before buying. Take a sample home.

on 6/15/2011 3:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Im a NC50 in Studio Fix Fluid and i apply it with the MAC 187 Stippling Brush. This is a matte foundation and i have oily skin so this is what i prefer. Overall, it does somewhat control my oil, but i do have to constantly touch it up throughout the day. It does help more than other foundations that i've used though.

Back to Top