MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2677 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 vanilla1202 on 3/20/2011 12:58:00 AM more reviews by vanilla1202

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

this is the only foundation so far that i trust. i have a lot of rosiness and breakouts often and this foundation has such great coverage that it creates the illusion of perfect skin on my face. i use the NC20 since it has a yellow undertone, cancelling out my redness. it hasn't caused my breakouts to worsen in the 8 months that i have been useing it so i am hooked!! it will last you a while as well!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bllhjk on 3/18/2011 4:44:00 AM more reviews by bllhjk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product after using the studio fix powder foundation that had been drying my skin too much. Overall I love this foundation. My skin looks completely flawless when applied with a MAC 187 brush.
Cons: Packaging sucks-doesnt come with a pump. It also seems to be darker than other ones. Normally I am a NC15 which is perfect but this is a tad too dark. Also is seems to be pretty thick foundation (doesn't look or feel thick though), which is good for full coverage, but I would be weary of wearing it everyday if you're acne prone like me.
Hope this helped!
:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yasmiiin on 3/16/2011 4:57:00 PM more reviews by Yasmiiin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

OMG I bought this couple weeks ago as my first MAC makeup purchase and i absolutley love it ! I have acne-prone skin and was quite worried i would 'break out' by reading reveiws because quite a few people said they did by using this and other MAC makeup but so far i havn't, it doesn't irritate me or anything, goes really well with the studio finish concealer as well. I don't find it cakey for me at all it just depends on how much you put on. I am definetley buying this again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 gillian2309 on 3/15/2011 7:36:00 AM more reviews by gillian2309

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Ive used this product for 2 years now, Im NW15/20, I have a celtic colouring and would have lots of freckles and prone to sunburn. When I first went to the MAC counter 3 years ago I oily spotty teenage skin that constantly broke out .At the time, studio fix was amazing and gave me fantastic coverage and a great finish, HOWEVER in the past year my combination skin has moved towards the drier flakier side and this is doing nothing to help. This foundation is for OILY skin. Do not buy this if you have combination skin with dry patches like me, the powder within the product with catch dryness and cause orange patches to form. PS I hated the major white cast I got from this because of the SPF15, never had a foundation give me as much cast from a flash. Will be moving on to Face and Body/Chanel Pro lumiere as I dont need as much coverage as I did 2 years ago my skin has improved a great deal

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 virtah on 3/14/2011 7:10:00 AM more reviews by virtah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I know there is a lot of confusion on the colourings of MAC products so i emailed MAC and asked. Here is their reply before i get onto the reveiw:

MAC foundations, concealers and powders are coded as follows:

NC Neutral Cool (yellow based) 80% yellow tone 20% pink tone

NW Neutral Warm (pink based) 80% pink tone 20% yellow tone

C Cool (yellow based) 100% yellow tone

N Warm (pink based) 100% pink tone

To help you roughly determine your undertones: Pink (NW) undertones would tend to burn in extensive sunlight. Yellow (NC) undertones would usually tan easily.

The higher the number, the darker the product shades. This should help you determine your undertones and which shade to use. 15 Lightest, 55 darkest. As the number gets higher the shade gets darker.

The warm vs. cool issue can be confusing. We use an Artist's colour wheel to assist us in determining undertones. It places yellow undertones into the cool category and pink undertones into the warm category. NC (neutral cool) is neutral beige with golden undertones. NW (neutral warm) is neutral beige with pink undertones. N (neutral) is a blend of pink and yellow undertones and C (cool) shades have olive yellow undertones.

To determine what your undertones are, take a look at the underside of your forearm. If your vein looks more blue, then you most likely have pinkish undertones (our NW category). If your vein looks more greenish, then you have more yellow or golden undertones (our NC category).

Also try this trick: pull your hair back from your face and drape a true white cloth around your neck. White needs to be the only colour that is next to your face. The white cloth will reflect the true undertone of your skin. Look at your skin in natural daylight to determine if your skin is more golden or more rosy. Colours from clothes can cast shadows on the face that can make it difficult to determine your undertone.

SO the review!
This is definitely the best foundation i've ever used. I got it in NC20 just at a lucky guess (bought it before id emailed MAC) and it is spot on. The yellow tones evens out my skin, there isnt any red in sight once ive used it, just a perfect canvas :) wooo.
It goes on evenly and smoothly with a foundation brush, even without primer and it does not feel heavy. It has lovely matt finish but also a subtle glow which gives you depth and shape to your face.
Only thing is, the packaging. Throw in a pump for free MAC!! When using a high market product you do not expect to have to buy a pump to go with it. But i dont have one and i dont say it completely necessary, would make life alot easier if it was there though :)
No breakouts with this foundation either!
All gooood!

37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pinkorchids on 3/13/2011 12:10:00 AM more reviews by pinkorchids

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I regret not experimenting with other brands. I have clear skin other than the occasional pimple so I chose not to wear liquid foundation all these years. I finally decided to start wearing it and went straight to MAC. I liked the way this looked in the store (color was right, provided the right amount of coverage) so I purchased NC25. I apply it very lightly with a brush but it goes on heavy and doesn't go on smoothly (is another word for this chalky?) no matter how much I moisturize my face. The foundation also transferred on to my sunglasses so I learned that I have to set my liquid foundation with my powder studio fix. I want to wear make-up that evens out my skin tone and gives me a flawless but natural look...this studio fix fluid doesn't do that for me! I will not re-purchase this product again! Also, I can't believe it doesn't come with a pump!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GlitterxCocaine on 3/12/2011 11:56:00 PM more reviews by GlitterxCocaine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Ive been wearing this foundation for over a year & i love it. Its expensive but a bottle lasts me a few months wearing almost everyday. It lasts all day + it doesnt break me out & i got acne prone skin. Its heavy coverage but thats why i love it. It does rub off easily which blows but most foundations do. I set this with MAC Studio Fix powder & my face looks awesome

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nicollefaye on 3/10/2011 12:41:00 AM more reviews by nicollefaye

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i had this for about 2 weeks, and i absolutely hated it. in fact, i hate all mac liquid foundations. in my experience they are horrible. they look and feel chalky on my face. also, any dry skin on your face will be accentuated. it was terrible. furthermore it made me break out... and my skin is not prone to breakouts whatsoever. absolutely terrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kmuirheid on 3/9/2011 2:09:00 PM more reviews by kmuirheid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

HELLO, IM A PRO.MAKEUP ARTIST. I HAVE BEEN WORKING AND PERFECTING MY WORK FOR 8 YEARS.I HAVE TAUGHT CLASS, DONE ALL DIF. KINDS OF CLIENTS AND WORKED WITH TOP PRO. PHOTOGRAPHERS. I HAVE USED EVERY KIND OF TOP PRO. MAKEUP THERE IS OUT THERE,

EXAMPLE:

Estee Lauder (WHICH OWNS MAC AND OTHER BRANDS),

Clinique,

Mary Kay,

SMASHBOX,

MERLE NORMAN,

BARE MINERIALS,

DERMABLEND,

COVER FX,
(WHICH MAKES DRY SKIN LOOK CRACKED & ON OILY SKIN MORE OLIY AND SHIFTS INTO LINES, SO IT SUCKS)

LAURA GELLER

MALLY
( GOOD EYELINERS THAT ARE WATERPROOF AND HAS A CLEAR POWDER A ARTISTS DREAM EXPECT U HAVE TO REAPLY OFTEN)

DINAIR PRO AIRBRUSH MAKEUP

EVEN DRUGSTORE BRANDS
(FOR PEOPLE ON A BUDGET BUT WANT ME TO PUT A KIT TOGETHER FOR THEM AND CLASSES)

SO WHEN I COMMENT ON A BRAND I KNOW WHAT IM TALKING ABOUT AND HAVE DONE ALL THE RIGHT STEPS TO PREP AND APPLY. AND KNOW EXACTLY WHAT TO LOOK FOR AND WHAT WILL WORK ON CERTAIN SKIN TYPES.

SO TO GET TO MY COMMENT ON MAC STUDIO FIX

AFTER SOME OF MY FELLOW ARTISTS USE MAC AND LIKE IT I DECIDE TO TRY IT,( I ALWAYS TEST ON MYSELF FIRST),

TO START OFF THE COLORS TO CHOOSE FROM ARENT MANY BUT I KNOW THAT THEY THINK OF PRO'S WHEN DOING THIS BECAUSE YOUR SUPOSSED TO MIX COLORS TO FIND THE RIGHT SHADE,

SO I WENT WITH NC 20 & NC 25 IN FOUNDATION AND NC20 IN CONCEALER IT HAS YELLOW IN IT THAT WILL CANCLE OUT REDNESS IN SKIN, AND IT TURNED OUT TO BE A GRAET MATCH

PROS:
IT COVERED VERY WELL BECAUSE IT IS BUILDABLE AND WONT CAKE

CONS:
IT SMELLS WHEN FIRST APPLYED
AFTER 2 HOURS IT SHIFTS
AFTER 2 HOURS IT GETS EXTREMELY GREESEY AND SHINY
AFTER 2 HOURS IT GETS DARKER AND MIS COLORED
INCREASES BREAKOUT AMOUNT

OVERALL:
IT IS GOOD FOR A PHOTO SHOOT, BUT I WOULD WASH OFF AFTER DONE WITH SHOOT. HOWEVER A CLIENT THAT JUST PAID FOR A SERVICE LIKE THAT WOULD NOT WANT TO HAVE TO WASH AWAY THEIR MONEY.

IT IS MENT TO BE MATTE FINISH AND FOR OILY SKIN NOT DRY SKIN , BUT IT DOESNT WORK FOR EITHER, DRY SKIN DOES NOT NEED A MATTE FOUNDATION IT WILL MAKE FACE DRYER, AND OILY IT GETS WAY TO GREESY, SO ONLY FOR NORMAL SKIN WHICH IS DUNMB BECAUSE PEOPLE WITH THIS SKIN TYPE PROB. WONT NEED ALL OF THE COVERAGE.

CONCLUSION:
MAC FOUNDATION NOT WORTH IT, Estee Lauder THE OWNER OF MAC HAS A FAR BETTER FULL COVERAGE FOUNGATION AND POWDER, THEY JUST DONT TRY TO APPEAL TO A YOUNGER GROUP WITH THEIR ADS AND COLORS, BUT THEY NEED TO START
MAC SHADOWS, WHICH IS WHAT MOST ARTISTS GO FOR IN MAC
ARE GREAT IN BRIGHT COLORS & PIGMENT WHICH IS WHAT U WANT IN A SHADOW, HOWEVER PALLETS ARE PRICEY AND I USE A PRODUCT THAT IS CHEAPER AND BETTER USED WET OR DRY.

ANY QUESTIONS JUST ASK

THANKS
KATI ANN


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 StudentNurse88 on 3/9/2011 4:47:00 AM more reviews by StudentNurse88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was the first ever Mac foundation that I tried. It feels VERY heavy on the skin so if you want a light feeling foundation then i'd say this isn't for you. It's best to apply a little bit at a time, because your face can look cakey if too much is applied.
However on the positive side, if you want a long lasting matte foundation then this is probably worth a look.
I didn't have any problems with breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products