MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2512 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nola80 on 9/18/2010 10:43:00 PM more reviews by nola80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Before Pro Longwear came out this was the only foundation that gave me the absolute perfect color match, great full coverage but I'm an oily mess in like 2 hours! Maybe in the winter time when my face is kinda of dry it might work better but not enough for me to buy back. I use to get tons of compliments on how good my skin looked with this on because with a 187 brush my face literally looked airbrush! But the oiliness always won out and I can't stand to blot all day or check on my foundation, so I won't be buying this back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cleo_satsweet on 9/18/2010 2:35:00 PM more reviews by cleo_satsweet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is not a great product but much better compared to other products in the high end/low end range. My skin is dark (NC 50) with golden yellow undertones and this foundation in NC 50 is the perfect color choice for me and I have not found the same match in any other HE/LE brands. Another plus is that it didnt aggravate my cystic hormonal acne. Besides that, it didnt reely control my oil. My skin would get oily about 2 hrs later even with setting powder and primer. And, it is EXTREMELY transferrable. I could NOT hug my bf for fear of ruining his shirt. Also beware when u wear a light colored top and u r removing it. Another minus is that it oxidises horribly. I know I said that it matches my skin tone perfectly but this is only true be4 the oiliness kicks in. Once, it gets oily on my face, it separates, lightens or darkens in color and slips off my face.
But, during those times when the oilies dont kick in yet.....ppl never beleived me when I told them I have cystic acne. The coverage is medium to full but it would cover all my spots without concealor and the effect was very soft and wouldnt accentuate my bumps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clorabits on 9/18/2010 2:16:00 PM more reviews by clorabits

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Good ol' Studio Fix. I've got mixed feelings on this product. I don't love it -- sometimes far from love, but it's the only foundation I've ever found that (and believe me, I have tried quite a few, including expensive ones marketed as "noncomedogenic" and "oil-free" that completely ruined my skin) does not flare up my acne. It's a product I can always trust, which I find is important to have.

The coverage is medium to full so it covers my hyper-pigmentation and acne scarring well, and the finish is slightly dewy. If you have trouble finding the right foundation shade for you, you're guaranteed to find a match, which I praise MAC for as someone who has issues with that. The price is right compared to other department store buys, though not exactly cheap. But $26 dollars is a definite improvement over $40+ dollar foundations.

The reason this will never be a favorite is because of how much it oxidizes. If you put some on the back of your hand and leave it to sit for five or ten minutes, it turns a distinct orange. I don't notice the orange color on my face, but after an hour or two you can tell it has gotten a shade or two darker.

The staying power is also lacking. After a few hours all of the scarring and uneven skin tone starts to show through once again. And despite setting it with powder, this rubs off easily. If you wipe your nose with a tissue, foundation will come off on it.

So, I am unsure of this foundation. It will remain on my dresser until I'm finally able to find a foundation that has decent coverage, doesn't accentuate dryness and does not break me out. But the search has yet to be fruitful, and Studio Fix continues to be the only safe choice I can always fall back on to do the job, albeit not without price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beautified16 on 9/15/2010 1:24:00 PM more reviews by Beautified16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Mac's studio fix fluid is a product that i will most definetly repurchase. It stays matte all day long. I apply my makeup at around 7am and i take it off at around 7-8pm. The first time i purchase this product i broke out with 7-10 cystic pimples on my face. I went back to the the mac mua and i told her what was happening and we pin pointed that i wasn't washing my brushes with something that would clean it properly. At the time i was using baby shampoo. Now i am using dawn dishsoap and since i retried it again i have not had 1 single pimple from using it. This is my hg foundation. I have it in two colours NW45 and NW55. Mixing those colours gives me the exact shade that i am because NW50 was looking a bit ashy and NW45 was too light. I got very dark this summer. I like the ability to have control in mixing my colours. Therefore this is a product i will definitely be repurchasing for a very long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 wurquhart on 9/14/2010 5:31:00 PM more reviews by wurquhart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have aproblem with foundations. I want one that stays on, and matte all day. Ive gone through many foundations over the years and this one was probably the one that did the job the best. Im not saying this on eif fantastic... but it did the job. I did find after a few hours you could 'see" it...
I will be continuing my search for the perfect foundations after Im done this bottle

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jbantad on 9/13/2010 6:23:00 AM more reviews by Jbantad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I generally do like this product. The formula isn't runny, which is good because it gives a nice coverage without using a lot of product. There is a decent range to choose from also, and not just by color but also by undertones. I'm in NC35 which has a more yellow tone (I read complaints how that yellowish tone can be a problem. However, I have tan/golden-ish skin, so the yellow tone is just what I need). Also, I have patchy parts on my skin and the coverage of this foundation evens everything out so well.

CONS:
-Smell is HORRIBLE, but I can tolerate weird smells.
-For some reason, I feel like the lasting power isn't as great as revlon's colorstay. I can see it crack on my laugh lines after 6-8 hours.

If you have dry skin with a warm undertone, this foundation works well for you, especially for those who are looking for great coverage to even out the skin. I will repurchase this :).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Marzipan on 9/11/2010 3:56:00 PM more reviews by Marzipan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this fuoundation. It can be light or heavy - you choose by the amount you put on your face. I have applied it both with a brush (kabuki) and my fingers and both work well. For the length of time this item lasts me I think the price is OK.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 celkin on 9/11/2010 6:10:00 AM more reviews by celkin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is fantastic. I have dry skin and I found that it was wearing a bit thin on my dry cheeks about midday. I have just trialed using a bit of Rimmel Lasting Finish 24hour underneath the MAC foundation and it is the perfect match. It stays perfect looking for hours and doesn't dry out at all.
I'll update this review if anything changes but for now it looks and feels great!
EDIT:
Breakouts, have to knock this rating down to two for the sheer fact that it is terrible for my skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JoSummers on 9/9/2010 4:19:00 PM more reviews by JoSummers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the few foundations I have repurchased. It gives great medium-to-heavy coverage, and it matches my skin well. It wears fairly well throughout the day as long as I keep the oil under control. However, I have oily skin so keeping the oil under control is sometimes a problem. I use MAC Select Sheer powder that matches this foundation and it is not usually enough to control the oil. When my skin gets too oily, the makeup starts to melt and look unnatural. But, I haven't found anything better, so I will keep using this until I do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 knicks on 9/9/2010 1:29:00 PM more reviews by knicks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely hate this foundation. Here are the reasons why:
1. I have combination/ dry skin, it made the dry part of my face a lot more drier and made my oily part of my face more oily.
2. Color transfer, after taking a call on my cellphone, you could actually see the foundation transferring to my phone and I had to wipe it off.
3. Oxidation. I look very orange after a couple of hours.
4. The foundation doesn't last long and it would start slipping or should I say melt off my face.
5. I could get a refund as it doesn't apply over at the MAC counter in Hong Kong.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products