MAC • Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.5(2599 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 yasminhayat on 1/2/2011 6:48:00 PM more reviews by yasminhayat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I would only buy this product again if I was tight on money and couldn't afford the more expensive brands that I have fallen in love with (unfortunately!)

It's not baaad, but I am just not blown away, and at around 18 it's not the cheapeast item out there.

Here are the positives:

1) It's really long lasting, I put it on in the morning and it wont budge - fantastical!

2) It does do a much better job than your drug store brands (and I have tried nearly all drug store brands out there.) It feels nicer on the face, covers better, lasts longer, looks better in photographs, etc...

and the negatives (and the reasons why I wont buy it again)

1) It doesn't hide my pores. I have the biggest pores on the planet that no amount of primer (although it makes a massive improvment) wont hide them, and the foundation realllly doesn't make a difference.

2) It doesn't hide my acne very well. I have PCOS, so I suffer from acne outbreaks alot. Mac hasn't made my acne teribbly worse (although my skin is suffering from wearing it nearly every day) but it wont hide it well either. I need to plaster industrial strength concealer under the foundation, add the foundation and then plaster more concealer on top to hide it. The foundation alone doesn't feel too cakey (although I know when I am wearing it - I have tried some brands that just feel like magic) but once I've got the works on top I feel like i'm drowning in face paint.

3) I was told it was buildable - the more layers you add, the more it hides. My foundation just looks more caked the more I add and if I have some bad boy spots on my face, no number of layers can hide their very angry heads.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alt629 on 12/30/2010 1:46:00 PM more reviews by alt629

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

So far, this is my favorite foundation. I like the coverage which is medium (and buildable to full) and the finish with is matte. My only gripe with this is the color line on the pale end of the spectrum (I guess this goes for all MAC foundations, except maybe the mineral ones). I am paler than NC15, so if I wear this without altering it in some way, it looks orangey on my skin. I discovered though that if I mix two pumps of strobe liquid into a pump of this, the color and texture is nicely adjusted for my skin. I would love to find a foundation that required no adjustment, but so far I haven't found it. Until then, it's SFF for the win.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NC41 on 12/29/2010 6:19:00 AM more reviews by NC41

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ok foundation, but I expected better from MAC... quite natural/light finish, mac MUA suggested this would really benefit with being buffed in with a duofibre brush (which does make it look better). Wear time is much shorter than pro long wear on me, but colour is more natural

woudl not buy again - for price, i can get a better quality foundation (BTW - revlon color stay is much better than this, as is No 7)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ReineRedWillow on 12/29/2010 5:16:00 AM more reviews by ReineRedWillow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation, but it is not my favorite. Its a beautiful foundation, it leaves a nice matte finish, but it is very heavy, and I find it kind of hard to blend unless I use a brush. I do really think this is good for a full coverage makeup, but it is too much for my everyday use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FauxChic on 12/26/2010 12:20:00 PM more reviews by FauxChic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation but for different reasons other than the basic use. I find the studio fix fluid too heavy and "makeup-y" (if that makes any sense at all! lol) it has a very flat shine-free finish, which can come across very unnatural, however I can see why oiler skin-types will worship this foundation.It has a very thick consistency and can be much more easier to use with a dispenser pump which you can buy separately. I use this as somewhat of a foundation concentrate, like if another foundation doesn't give me enough coverage, I mix a little of this and Perfecto! I have dry skin and don't like the look of flatness on my face so I prefer Pro Longwear foundation, SFF is a bittersweet foundation for me but I may repurchase if I run out, we'll just have to see...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jeniferp on 12/23/2010 3:00:00 PM more reviews by jeniferp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, I wish it came with the pump I mean that just makes sense to me but whatever. even with the pump it's a bit pricey of a foundation but hey, thats what it's like these days. I have been wearing SFF for a month now and have had no breakouts whatsoever. Can you say freaking awesome? I was so afraid this was going to tear up my skin.

With that said, I have dry skin and walked into mac to buy the studio sculpt. But the MA talked me into the SFF and to mix it with the care blend oil to make it more moisturizing. I absolutely love it.

I will say she matched me at NW15. Im usually an NC20 but this looked great on me. It is slight bit orange I won't lie but compared to the revlon colorstay buff (pale!) it looks so much better on me. The revlon made me casper the ghost white. Ick.

I love the pump and the cap it came with, such a great idea to cap the pump and bring it travelling or something, and I love the staying power it doesnt melt off my face and it still looks great 10 hours later when I go to take it off. I will most definetly purchase this again I think I just found my HG foundation! Yay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mzlisaa on 12/22/2010 7:33:00 AM more reviews by Mzlisaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

HG for good. I started using it when I was 17. No freaking clue why I ever parted with it! Feels good to be back. For good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shakinstevens89 on 12/21/2010 7:56:00 PM more reviews by shakinstevens89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

After using the Revlon Colour Stay foundation for years I decided to try the MAC Studio Fix fluid (NC35), at first I wasn't so sure, I found it slid off quite easily and it did break me out. But after using for some time I have grown to like it, it has really good coverage and the colour matches my skin tone perfectly! The slide was down to my oily skin so now I use a MAC primer and use blot powder on top and generally only have to touch up once a day... I still have the odd breakout but if this foundation is removed properly on a night it should be fine! I would definately recommend to those who want a full coverage and it is now my everyday wear foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweetkindoflife on 12/21/2010 7:49:00 PM more reviews by sweetkindoflife

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i receive the most wonderful compliments on my skin when i wear this foundation. people tell me that my skin is so flawless that i look like a porcelain doll! as an acne sufferer for most of my life i can't tell you how amazing it is to receive these types of compliments. MAC 187 brush + Studio Fix Fluid = Full-proof

during the summers my foundation does tend to get a bit greasy but this is easily fixed by layering an oil-free primer under my makeup and blotting papers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ccastle on 12/20/2010 11:54:00 PM more reviews by Ccastle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for about three years now and I still love it. I first purchased it because I was going through a phase where I was breaking out in the in my cheeks and I wanted to cover my blemishes. I had heard that this foundation broke people out, but my skin doesn't really break out from products to begin with as long as I wash my face at night. Once I bought it it worked great since it is medium to full coverage and I could build it up to cover the areas that needed most. It has never broken me out and I love the finish. There is also a great variety of color selection, which I liked because I since I have a yellow undertone this foundation matches me perfectly in NC40

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products