MAC Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

3.5

2691 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENT: Octinoxate 2.50% Other: Water/Aqua/Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Silica, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Algae Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Xanthan Gum, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methoxy Amodimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Laureth-7, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Propylene Carbonate, BHT, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol [ /- Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288)


on 3/31/2011 9:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprise SFF has rated so low. I don't even like full coverage makeup & I can work this out. The key is to use a sm amt and BUILD; if you need more, let it dry then add another layer. It is simply gorgeous with strobe liquid or lustre drops mixed in!!!



on 3/31/2011 9:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Wow, this was bad. I decided to try a MAC foundation after hearing all the raves, and it was promptly returned. With every foundation the sales assistant tried on me, the lightest color was too dark. Pretty pathetic considering I usually buy the second to fourth lightest with other brands (such as lancome). This one looked alright with their lighting but once I was outside it was waaay too dark, then it was oxidized and orange shortly thereafter. Color aside, the finish wasn't great neither was the coverage (which probably wasn't helped by the poor color selection). This one gets a thumbs down, I got the Cargo oil free foundation instead and it's perfect.


on 3/31/2011 2:48:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I like this foundation. If it came with a pump, and was cheaper, I'd have no complaints whatsoever. I like the smell? I think I'm alone on that but I don't think it's bad at all. In Australia all MAC is ridiculously expensive, and this is no exception.
The coverage is a good solid medium, but it is buildable. It's fairly long wearing. I barely even powder with this.

Edit: I find it doesn't wear well. It goes patchy and seems cakey, sometimes it oxidizes on my skin, too.


on 3/30/2011 4:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

No wonder Studio fix fluid is so popular..If you are looking for long lasting and full coverage foundation..try this one. I know some ppl hates this but some ppl loves this. I'm one of them who loves the foundation..Just a little tip to share..before you wear a foundation (any foundation) the face should be well moisturized. So that the foundation goes on smoothly and gives flawless. So, it's not only depend on the foundation which is good or bad. It also depend on how you use. I have no problem with patchy/ dryness anything since i give a good moisture before i wear any foundation. I heart long lasting foundations becos i have dry/combo skin and most of the foundations does not stay quite well. But the studio fix does. I dont feel heavy on my skin at all. It looks natural and create me a flawless face although i need to cover my previous scars and some breakouts. I dont use concealer which i feel un necessary..i put more foundation if i think i need to cover up something. This is one of my HG foundations.update: only con is this is not the foundation for taking photos..somehow, it doesn't look great in photos..and another thing is i doubt they changed the formula a bit..normally SFF oxidized so quicky but not anymore. and less yellow/orange tone than before.??.may be it's just me.??

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2011 8:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Other

I've only used a sample of SFF for about a week now, I'm NC45 and have dry skin for reference. I originally wanted this after seeing a ton of beauty bloggers looking amazing wearing it. I've only used tinted moisturizer in the past and was looking for something with more coverage.

I was skeptical since I know how badly Mac foundations can break some people out, and I actually have sensitive and acne-prone skin. Well the first time I tried it it immediately accentuated the dry patches on my skin, however after exfoliating with sea salt I tried it again and it made my skin look amazing! It gives a real flawless look, and I find is best applied with a Mac 187 brush. I've applied it with my fingers and a kabuki brush as well, but I think the 187 allows for more control over the coverage you want to build. I also always apply in natural light so I never go over board with application. This stays on really well all day without setting powder!

I also find my studio finish concealer goes on really well on top of this.

The only cons so far is that because of my dry skin this foundation can dry me out a bit, but my skin is fine if I moisturize it a bit more. I actually like the product enough to pay extra attention to my skin so that it always looks great on. I've also been complimented on how good my skin looks.

Also, I thought it was the product but was the wrong shade because at first I got a sample of the NC44 and was looking ashy in photos, but once I switched to NC45 it looked amazing in person and in photos!

I may update this review once I buy a full bottle and have been wearing it for a month and with Mac's prep and prime underneath.


on 3/26/2011 4:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Cool

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have a love hate relationship with this foundation! As it provides great coverage, and dries to a matte finish keeping my oily skin in check...the feel of it is just too heavy for me. I cant wear it out to party, or in the summer. It feels like I have a mask on and it causes me to sweat. I just switch between the fluid and powder depending on the weather/occasion and all works out. Still a good foundation IMO


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm very fair skinned. I got the NC15 because the girl working the MAC counter tried this on me and said it matched. I used it for the first time today and it is way too dark. It looked like a mask. The foundation also had an oily quality to it. It also smelled like a box of band-aids.
It just wasn't for me.


on 3/24/2011 10:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The only thing to love about this for me was the colour match. It was FANTASTIC since it is more yellow based than PLW. However all of the goodness ends there.

Having combo skin this foundation ran off my face within 1-2 hours, leaving me glistening like a butterball. My face was melting! Not only was it pretty drying to put it on, it later did it's shiny dance. I have never had a foundation react this poorly with my skin--not even drugstore!

I also wished that it came with a pump like some other of MAC's foundations, and that it didn't smell like paint thinner.

At least it didn't break me out....


on 3/24/2011 9:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

my skin is a zitty, discolored, scarred, greasy, flakey mess so i love full coverage foundation. this happened to launch when i first started wearing liquid foundation and i fell in love with it and have gone through bottles of this stuff ever since. i stray at times but i eventually come back to this. i love the lasting power, coverage, finish, and color selection. i prefer my foundations to not have a pump so i can control how much i want to use so i dont mind that it doesnt come with one. Oh and it's unscented which is something I require in my foundations since I have sensitive skin and allergies

now the bad. i had always been a nc 42 in this stuff but recently switched shades bc i had switched jobs and became more pale since i was out of the sun. i had been able to sleep in this stuff before and it would never break me out but with my new shade nc 35, my skin is so congested and gross. i had never considered leaving this foundation but after this bottle (which i am not not going to finish unless i didnt have anything else) i am not repurchasing :( perhaps they changed the formula or its just me?

Update! I am now an NC 40 and this is not breaking me out at all, even when I sleep in it (I know, I know ) The breakouts may be due to the shade?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My skin is pretty light (tanner in the summer of course but its still lighter from winter), my color is nc25 and matched perfectly.. Perfectly. The coverage and the staying power is good. however my face became super itchy on my cheeks and forehead :( and the next day i had small bumps on my forehead a little above where my eyebrows meet, and on my cheeks. my skin has never reacted like this to a liquid foundation. so i wanted to like it but unfortunately it was a no go. oh and i didn't buy it i got a sample, i suggest doing that first. :]


Back to Top