Aspirin Mask

4.2

2237 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

C₇H₆O₃


on 1/7/2008 12:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I just decided to try the aspirin mask yesterday, so I give it 4/5 for now just because I don't really know how it'll work for me long term.

I crushed about 4 aspirin and mixed it with a little bit of water and active manuka honey and slathered in on my face. My immediate reaction was that I started to feel a bit dizzy, but I can be a bit of a hypochondriac so I layed down for a couple of minutes and surely snapped out of it.

After rinsing it off my face felt clear and smooth and it helped tone down the redness on my face (KP rubra faceii) just a little bit.

While I have no doubts that this will be a great and cheap 3x weekly mask for my face, I decided to experiment a little bit more and came up with a mixture to slather on my arms, thighs and buttocks in an attempt to treat my Keratosis Pilaris. I crush up about 6 aspirins to cover my thighs and buttocks and another 3 or 4 for my arms. I mix this with pure Vitamin E oil and active manuka honey, leaving it on for about 15 minutes and playing dance dance revolution in my undies :P

I just rinsed this mixture off my thighs and butt and they do indeed feel nice and smooth, however I can't vouch for this being an effective KP treatment just yet because I have onlyy used it once. The Vitamin E oil makes it a bit hard to get off because its very sticky and dosnt seem too water soluble, so it's best to do this treatment just before you get in the shower so that you can wash it off with body wash. You can of course use regular honey instead of Manuka honey, which is a special type of super antibacterial honey that I imported from new zealand.

I will update this review again in a few weeks to see if it has improved the condition of my KP...



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love aspirin masks. Aspirin REALLY cleared up my skin. I had horrible, very noticeable acne. My face use to look swollen in the blemished areas because it use to cluster together so bad. NOT ANYMORE. This stuff really worked for me. I even use the aspirin paste as a spot treatment and wear it around the house on the days I'm not doing anything.

My favorite mask though would be:
4 Aspirin tablets, dissolved
Burt's Bee's pore refining mask
and a little lemon juice if I'm oily.
then I moisturize with Vitamin E oil

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2008 6:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ladies (and Gents) this is THE HG of Aspirin Masks.
The HG of all Masks, period.

Recipe:
4 Uncoated Aspirin
A couple spritzes of water from a Mist Sprayer (You can get this at any drug or dollar store) to turn the aspirin into a powder
*A squirt of The Body Shop Hemp Hand Cream*

I initally tried the other recipes for this mask (Honey, Yogurt, Vit E, Aloe). I have been using this particular combination for a week now and my skin is _amazing_. I was on medication that gave me cystic acne and deep, pitted acne scars. I have dry, sensitive, acne prone skin. I have tried accutane, which made me turn a lovely peely shade of muave.... I used Paula's choice which helped SO MUCH but I was looking for more.... I have been using the aspirin mask as seen on ricebunny's xanga site for several weeks, then came the idea to use the hemp cream. You mix it together and it goes on with wonderful creamy consistency.... Does not flake... and your skin becomes SOFT. I thought it was soft using honey and yogurt.... But mixed with the hemp hand cream it is SUPER SOFT. I did not get any dryness whatsoever.

I never thought that a former pizza face could go out during *that time* of the month with just a touch of concealer and powder. No zits, faded scars all within a month. Try it. Love it. Spread the joy!

BTW: I use this in conjunction with 100% pure shea butter afterwards which has also done wonders. Great for dry, sensitive, acne prone skin.

UPDATE: I spoke to a Pharmacist about using the acne mask-for those of you who feel iffy about it. He said, "What a great idea..... I can't believe no one has thought about that before." I guess he had not been looking on MUA! There are no isses with blood thinning or long term use. It is just a great face mask!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2008 10:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Really calmed my irritated skin down . Feels great. I'd tried this before, leaving it on for at least an hour, with no major results. Recently, my skin has become highly sensitive and reactive to AHAs, BHAs, retinols, and heavy moisturizers. I have red, irritated skin and big pores. It's just a mess. I figured this might calm it. I used 3 aspirin dissolved in water, and dabbed it on. I left it on for only 5-10 minutes. I just needed calming, not for it to act like a BHA. I rinsed it off, careful not to rub the little aspirin bits into my skin. My skin is nice and smooth, and looks less red. It feels calmer, less puffy, and even cleaner than before. I followed it up with a little Cerave lotion. I would definitely use this again, but not more than once a week or so. The trick for me is to leave it on only a few short minutes, and make sure I don't rough up my skin scrubbing off the flaky bits.


on 1/5/2008 3:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Well, I'm new to MUA, and I am so glad I stumbled accross the site! I've been browsing about all beauty secrets you girls share, and decided to do the aspirin maks tonight after reading all the reviews!
Firt know that I'm not the type who would ever thing about putting aspirin or honey on my face nor my body! My bathroom attest that I have all the brands and products for each part of my body,and I never thought I'd venture to anything like this.
Amazing is all I can say about this mask! I've been blessed with very good skin, a little dry, but I travel a lot, so I take good care of it,no wrinkles,nor lines anywhere,nor blemishes or pimples, which I never get or anything and I get told regurlarly that I look very young ( %90 of people never get my age right!), quite younger than my actual 35 years,but just this week - I suspect it's due to the terrible california weather! I travelled 3 continents in the past 10 days and went from sunny 32 degrees celcius to a mere 10 degrees with rain!- Well, sudenly 2 pimples appeared on my forehead, and being old enough to know not to scratch them, and after waiting for a few days in the hope they'll disappear and go back wherever they came from, I decided to do a mask.
I usually either use Dermalogica or Juvena or La prairie when my skin is really tired, but I thought I'd try something new and did the aspirin one,and I don't regret it at all!
I crushed 9 aspirin with 3 spoons of water, 3 spoons of milk, and mixed it with a spoon of organic orange blossom honey, put the mixture on my face and went to set the diner table!.I noticed the mixture wasn't runny at all,and stayed well in place.
After 20 minutes, I srubed my cheeks and forehead a little for 30 sec, and rinsed with just tepid water.Well,my skin felt amzingly soft aferwards,my little niece who's 17 & was with me said,I quote" Well, we knew you don't look 35 ,but now you look even more ageless,you look like a teenager! people are going to think you're just my sister".
I've added 2 pearls drops of oil to my face 30 mn later just to make sure the skin was moisturized but I wonder if it was necessary?
I don't know if it was this particular combination of aspirin and honey or the milk, but the mask worked great! It is 4 hours later and my skin is still very soft and I don't think I'll be putting on night cream tonight!
Also I have actually decided to try it on my whole body to see if it does the same, as I haven't read-yet?- reviewers talk about the aspirin mask on the body, so tomorrow I'll try it, and I will post the results!
But even if it's half as good, then I guess, I can say goodbye to all my Bliss body scrubs/buff/exfoliants as this will be my HG in that department!
So I definitely recommend!


on 1/3/2008 8:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

WOW!!! I tried this mask a few months ago based on the reviews here. Amazing, my skin was absolutely glowing. Then I got lazy and didn't do it for a couple of weeks and the difference was unbelievable. I started getting these little itchy pimples, clogged pores and my face just didn't look as good. Then I did the mask...Everyone at work thinks I went to a spa...Amazing, considering I got the bottle for about a dollar. I dissolve 4 or 5 aspirin in about six drops of hot water, massage it on my face, leave it on as long as I can (makes me sneeze, like a reviewer mentioned earlier) When I wash it off I kind of massage it in, rinse it off and go to sleep...the next morning my skin looks bright, clear, flawless...this is amazing stuff...thank you MUA!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2008 8:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very close to being crowned my Holy Grail, save for my concerns about the long term effects that the Aspirin Mask will have on my face. Then again, there are worse things to put on your face that are present in everyday face products.

Pros: immediate results. Blemishes cleared up within two days of use, brighter and more even skin tone, less oil in t-zone.

Cons: this mask is quite harsh. I diluted it with honey to make it more gentle and washed it off after a few minutes, followed by a soothing moisturizing mask or aloe vera. Not suitable for everyday use. I started off with 3 times a week, a within 5 months I was down to once a week or even once every 10 days.

UPDATE: I have stopped using this. My facialist recently told me that the skin on my cheeks is showing signs of thinning. I suspect that the Aspirin is to blame since it is quite strong. However, it DID get rid of my acne and balance out my combo skin. My face no longer turns into an oil slick 3 hours into the day. I get the odd PMS zit, but that's about it now.


on 1/3/2008 12:39:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

WOW! This is amazing. I used 6 aspirin, couple drops water and less than 1 tsp on honey. Slathered it on and let it sit for 10 minutes. Results... so many compliments on my skin. And for the first time in 20 years, I just dabbed concealer on my under eye circles, dusted on some powder and MU was finished. No foundation necessary.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2008 10:47:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

How could go all this time without knowing this little beauty secret??? Love it! Does make me sneeze every time I use it. I like the Best Choice Aspirin-dissolves nicely. Key is to use 6 -10 aspirin and just drops of water. Wow - this is my new thing.


on 12/31/2007 8:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

great mask! can mix your own favourite formula! i always mix with only aloe vera gel. makes my skin sooooooo smooth! my blackheads all gone after one use. of cause they do come back after a few days but im gald this mask can help me clear them and makes my skin smooth!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Aspirin Mask by Michelle Phan

Aspirin Mask, Jojoba/Vitamin E oil reduces acne/acne scars and minimizes pores by CindysFaves



Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

112 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

44 reviews
Back to Top