Maybelline • Dream Fresh 8-in-1 BB Cream • BB Cream

rated 3.2(1180 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 krazyskittles5 on 7/31/2012 10:20:00 AM more reviews by krazyskittles5

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is ok. It's not as moisturizing as any of the other BB creams i have try'ed.This also doesn't have very good coverage. I do, appreciate the SPF 30 aspect of it.I have the light-medium skintone and honestly it is suppost to blur imperfections and adjust to skintone... when it adjusts to skintone it is basically invisable! I will not buy this again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 redangel21 on 7/31/2012 12:33:00 AM more reviews by redangel21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was actually not expecting to be overly impressed by this product. I bought it for a cheap summer coverage, but I actually really like it!
I have a very uneven skin tone, and this almost completely evens it out.
However, the main thing that has impressed me is the condition of my skin! This has done a great job of hydrating my skin and it seems so much smoother and healthy. I feel good putting this on my skin.
The cons would be
a) the smell, this might sound weird but it smells to me like my pet's food. But the smell goes away pretty fast.
b) The container broke on the second day.

I also LOVE how it has spf 30, because that's so important in the summertime.
Overall, im impressed :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dartag on 7/30/2012 1:14:00 PM more reviews by dartag

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i love this bb cream. it's amazing and for bb cream, hava a good coverage.
LOVE IT!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dbmiller on 7/30/2012 11:29:00 AM more reviews by dbmiller

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is ok. Out of all the BB creams I own, this is my least favorite. It's not as moisturizing as any of the others I own, which all happen to be drugstore brands. This also doesn't have very good coverage. I do, however, appreciate the SPF 30 aspect of it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 watercute on 7/30/2012 8:45:00 AM more reviews by watercute

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I brought this in the lightest shade in a rush when I wanted to buy a tinted BB cream for the summer. I'm normally 51 in healthy mix foundation so I thought this would be similar but more sheer. After about 5 minutes it oxidized pretty dark and orange the coverage was very sheer pretty much like a moisturizer with an orange sheen. Made my skin look very oily and also irritated my cystic acne on my cheeks. Will definitely not repurchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kriselise84 on 7/30/2012 6:34:00 AM more reviews by kriselise84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was excited to jump on the new BB cream craze, but this def. was not the cream to do it with. I buy both expensive (love lancome) and cheap (Revlon and Loreal) and this seemed to be a great deal...8 IN 1! Well I have about 8 problems with it. I only wore it one day and am taking it right back where i found it! When I first put it on I thought...heavy feel, greasy oil slick, highlights imperfections, non-natural tone, doesn't blend well with powder and concealer, why...just why?! And..through all of that..I have about five new pimples after wearing it for 8 hrs....nice try Maybeline, but no cigar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ammba on 7/29/2012 6:31:00 PM more reviews by Ammba

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The first impression was disappointing. I was left with shiny T-zone and no matte effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawndie23 on 7/29/2012 6:16:00 PM more reviews by dawndie23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

BB Cream?....eh, no. Very good tinted moisturizer.....yes!

***EDIT 6/2/13***
So after trying a few different brands of BB Cream I still stand by my Maybelline and Smashbox BB Creams. I found that I could get away with the Med/Deep during the winter, but Dark is perfect now that I've gotten some sun. Yes, you do have to shake the tube before applying, but you don't need a ton to get a smooth look. I top it with Ben Nye powder and only have to blot a couple times during a hot, humid day.
***EDIT 6/2/13***

The color (dark) and consistency work very well for those days that you want a very natural, yet pulled-together look.

If you add concealer you will end up with a smoother result. This cream doesn't completely hide any dark spots or circles, but makes them look less prominent on the face.

A light dusting of powder over your slick spots is all you need to have a nice, lasting finish all day long (even in the heat and humidity!).

The price is very good, especially with sales and coupons. I've had no irritations or breakouts since I starting using this about 3 weeks ago.

So far, other than the very expensive Smashbox BB Cream, Maybelline is the only one who realizes that WOC are willing to shell out major money for the newest trend. Admirable job.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mimiii on 7/29/2012 3:05:00 PM more reviews by Mimiii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

With so much talk and hype about BB Creams, I've been wanting to try one for a while and saw this at my local Walgreens. It cost me about $10.00 and I use the shade Light. I have never tried a tinted moisturizer or a BB Cream, so I wouldn't exactly know what I would truly label it as. Actually, I love this product. I have combination, but very acne prone skin and it does not break me out what so ever,maybe because it says it's free of oils. It hardly offers any coverage, so if you have a lot to cover up, or prefer full coverage foundations, this is not for you. I love that it has spf 30 in it! I do apply another moisturizer before using this (in case you are wondering it's the Olay Beauty Fluid Moisturizer, witch is super light weight, doesn't make me oily and does an exelent job at moisturizing). This is great for daily use or for those lazy days where putting on foundation is just too much. I hardly use my Revlon ColorStay anymore because I like this so much. If there is anything I wish to cover, I will just go in with a concealor, and that's it. I do think it's a bit pricey; $10.00 for 1 fluid ounce and no good coverage? The main reason why I like this is because it is super light weight and has such a great spf! If you want something with sheer coverage for everyday use, I would suggest you try this! I only gave it four lippies because I wish it had just a bit more coverage and was a bit cheaper, but all in all, I do see myself repurchasing as soon as I run out!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PiMehMeh on 7/29/2012 1:12:00 AM more reviews by PiMehMeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For those who are familiar with Asian BB creams, once again this American BB cream is hardly anything like the Asian BB creams despite Maybelline’s forage into Asian BB territory in the past (they have at least 3 Asian BBs). But to be fair, BB has a very broad definition now and Maybelline is simply tweaking its formula to meet the demands of a different demographic with Dream Fresh BB.

I tried this BB in Light/Medium, which wasn't quite a match because it has pink undertones (I have gold/neutral undertones) but once blended it dries sheer and the undertones aren’t noticeable. Dream Fresh BB performs much more like a tinted moisturizer, but it makes a surprisingly good tinted moisturizer for its lightweight feel and subtly dewy finish. The back of the Dream Fresh BB tube has a rubric to score by, so here is how I feel this BB performs based on its claims:

1. Blurs imperfections—it does even out minor imperfections/uneven skintone, but coverage is sheer so concealer or another foundation may need to be layered over more noticeable imperfections.
2. Enhances—what exactly it enhances, it doesn't specify.
3. Brightens—yes, given you get a close color match of the 5 offered to the American market (4 in the European market, I believe). I notice that these BBs have cool/pink undertones.
4. Adjusts to skin tone—coverage is very sheer, so technically, it blends into your natural skin tone, not adjusts. But it's otherwise natural-looking.
5. Smoothes—this in fact makes a pretty good primer for powder makeup.
6. Hydrates—yes, great for dry to normal skin. Okay for oily skin as long as you dust matte powder over it to set it and prevent too much oil coming through in a few hours, because this does not seem to have oil control properties.
7. SPF30 protects—probably not, because this only contains 1.15% titanium dioxide; a more substantial sunscreen should be worn underneath
8. 0% oils and other heavy ingredients—it does feel amazingly lightweight.

Based on its own rubric, this product scores 6/8 for me but may teeter at 4/8 or 5/8 for some people due to shade selection and specific skin needs (hydration, blemishes, uneven skin tone, coverage, etc.) As far as its claims, this BB cream succeeds as a lightweight tinted moisturizer but fails as a sunscreen. I use it primarily as a primer (it’s cheaper than most primers too, at $7 or $8) and moisturizer over an actual sunscreen to ensure sun protection, and add powder foundation for additional coverage I might need. Dream Fresh BB isn't enough of a multi-tasker to replace an existing skin care and foundation regimen like most Asian BBs intend to do, but it can still fit nicely into an existing one.

As for me personally, I will not be repurchasing this BB because my needs for coverage, sunscreen, and skin care are better met by other foundations and traditional Asian BBs at a relatively comparable price. Tinted moisturizers and BBs that perform like tinted moisturizers (most American BBs) just don't seem to work out for my combo-oily skin type.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More BB Cream products