Estee Lauder • Double Wear (old formula) • Liquid

rated 4.0(2228 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 jsATC on 10/19/2010 3:03:00 PM more reviews by jsATC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this last week based on reviews and a friend's recommendation. My previous daily foundation was Colorstay, which wears well but I thought is too matte and blah looking for special occasions, so I was using Smashbox HD for my wedding and going out, which looks fantastic but does not wear well at all. I was hoping to find a happy medium.

Well, Double Wear isn't it. :-P

The sales association recommended their daywear light oil free moisturizer under the makeup so I've been making sure I moisturize my oily/combo/acne prone skin before applying to give my skin a smooth canvas to apply the Double Wear since it is very matte.

I've given it a chance for a week and I really feel that it makes my skin look crepey and dry. It is very very matte and seems to settle into all my pores and fine lines. It draws attention to fine lines that I never noticed before!

It does wear pretty well and even stands up to my frequent nose blowing (allergies). The coverage is great and I find that I use much less of this than other foundations. However, it just doesn't make my skin look good. I look very flat and sallow and sickly while wearing it.

I'm definitely returning Double Wear tomorrow. It's pricey and for that amount of money, I would expect it to make my skin look great, not sickly. It might be a good foundation for our humid summers but for the rest of the year, the search continues for my perfect foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snowflake91 on 10/18/2010 11:58:00 PM more reviews by snowflake91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is currently my favourite foundation, it makes my skin look flawless and I like that it dries to a smooth, non-transferable finish. Even though it is a little matte, with a little skinfinish powder i can get a slightly glowy look with the extra coverage which is great because you hardly need any product at all to give you full coverage. I have quite dry skin and a couple of dry patches but this surprosingly does a excellent job of hiding them. The cost isn't too bad for a higher end foundation so if that isn't an issue I would definately reccomended this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* songtothesiren on 10/16/2010 11:29:00 PM more reviews by songtothesiren

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This wears pretty well on the skin all day, but does start to cling on to any oil that comes throughout the day... which can accentuate any pores or dryness that you have. However, the coverage of this foundation is full, a little bit really goes a long way, so this will last me years. The finish when you first apply it is flawless, airbrushed, and a soft-matte, at the end of the day, if you look up close the makeup will start to cake, but it's still covering, and from farther away it's not that noticeable. It's not perfect for this reason, but I have this problem with all foundations(around the nose area especially), and this one stays on the longest even if it doesn't stay "fresh" all day. I like Revlon Colorstay(normal/dry skin version), but this lasts longer, is a fuller coverage, and more pigmented so you don't use as much product. My skin is normal/ dry, and this works best when I have exfoliated my skin, and don't have many dry patches. I have a lot of redness I need to cover up, and this does the trick really without ANY concealer (with any other foundation I'll have to follow up with concealer), so this really is worth the money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BigPrimpin on 10/16/2010 10:50:00 PM more reviews by BigPrimpin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Liquid foundations rarely look natural on me 2 minutes after I apply them. I have far better luck with powder & minerals in general. That said, for long wear, I'm very pleased with ELDW liquid. It covered everything I wanted to cover without looking thick or mask-like, and never broke out or dried out my skin.

Given that it takes me much longer to apply and blend, as well as to wash off this longer wearing formula, I don't reach for it often. It is good stuff though, and I think I would use it more if I hadn't gotten my skin under control (finally) and if I lived in a more humid area.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 olaylover on 10/15/2010 8:31:00 PM more reviews by olaylover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this foundation for about five years and its awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! other than the packaging i have nothing bad to say. i would however, like to share with you ladies a time i had run out of my beloved double wear. i couldnt get to the department store before it closed so off i went to walmart, desperate i chose maybelline superstay 24hour foundation. its a beautiful product. almost the exact same! after a few uses i noticed a bit more powder is required to set the foundation. but only one blot throughout the day(same for dw for me anyway) Estee Lauder double will always be my number one, just wanted to let you all know about an alternative. In canada dw is $42 and maybelline is $12. so if your a bit low on cash, this product will hold you over until your next double wear purchase

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smileybiker on 10/15/2010 11:26:00 AM more reviews by smileybiker

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought Nars Sheer Glow and this one at same time. Nars Sheer Glow broke me out really bad...i was surprised this one didnt. The coverage is great if you have a few spots and lasts all day. No need for primer or finishing products. It gives great coverage, i felt i didnt need too much.

Only downsides is because of the SPF it looks too white in photos. I wish Estee Lauder would stop putting SPF in products as i only wear makeup at nighttime and obviously theres not need then. Also when i accidently touched my skin during the day the make up went on my fingers and onto anything else. They would do with a pump or in a see through plastic tube. I think glass is too heavy anyway.

Overall...this has been the best foundation ive ever tried...they just need to remove the SPF from it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Makeup7addict on 10/14/2010 8:48:00 PM more reviews by Makeup7addict

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I have extremely oily skin, and I just couldn't find a foundation that wouldn't help with the oilyness, or not make me break out so much. This foundation has done the trick! I don't have to blot every hour, maybe just once a day, and it lasts all day. It gives me a matte finish and i top off the foundation with Mac's setting powder. Love this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bootyliciousx on 10/10/2010 6:16:00 PM more reviews by Bootyliciousx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation is full coverage, very fully coverage. It stays put. You could use your fingers or Mac 187 brush to apply it. The Mac 187 brush makes it really easy and then you could control on the coverage as it dries fast. You really need to work fast because in a minute it dries up. It is like Mac Pro longwer lipcolor as it does not comes off if you eat. It won't move or transfer on clothes. it won't melt. It stays up in the hotest temperatures, when it is really hot. It stays on for a long time. Like pro longwear lipcolor it dries in a minute so you have to blend it fast. If you have trouble using it try Mac 187 brush, it will allow you to control the coverage you want. If you want a foundation that stays put then this it is. It is fully coverage as Prescriptives Flawless finish liquid foundation ( which covers and feels great on the skin, Studio Finish Liquid foundati'on, and DiorSkin Forever Extreme Wear Flawless Makeup SPF 25 liquid foundationon, Revlon Colorstay (sticky), Studio finish powder. It is not sticky as Revlon Colorstay. It lasts a month if you use it everyday as in full coverage. It is good for acne porn skin. It won't break youn out at all. Not one pimple.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 2010jesslee on 10/10/2010 1:14:00 AM more reviews by 2010jesslee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great coverage, no irritation at all to my acne-prone skin. I have used this for 1 week continuously. So far it controls my oil pretty well, just need to blot my face 2-3 times. (with Revlon colourstay I need to blot it 4-5 times a day)
Feel clean and fresh and not too heavy. A bit pricey but love it:-)
Follow up: Use this for a month now, still liking it:-) skin didn't break out from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgiasweety on 10/8/2010 10:40:00 PM more reviews by georgiasweety

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Fantastic full cover foundation! My color is 1N Ecru it is a perfect match. I tried this based on all the raved about youtube reviews. I am in between MAC NC15 & NC20. If you are a true NC15 this will be a tad too dark, and if you are a true NC20 this is a tad too light. I have horrible dark circles and always layer 2 or 3 high end pigmented concealers on top of my regular foundation. With this foundation, I only need 1 concealer because it knocks most of my under eye circles out. It is truly long lasting, sweat proof, and stays in place. You only need a tiny amount for the entire face. It gives a nice matte finish and can cover almost anything I would say. This can feel both lightweight and heavy depending on how much you use. For instance I could layer on MAC studio fix fluid and it never felt heavy or looked like makeup. If you use too much of this it will feel masky and kind of settle into pores. This is one of those foundations where I would recommend a setting powder because it doesn't feel soft until you set it with powder. I tested this foundation's non transferring claims and it passed with flying colors. I can take a tissue and blot any of my foundations, including mineral makeup and the foundations always transfer to the paper. If you press a tissue all over your face with a firm press the tissue remains white. No distinct scent, kind of like Revlon color stay, a mild natural fragrance. I'm very acne prone & have sensitive skin that turns red easily, no problems yet. Will update this review later. I am beyond pleased, and always thought Estee Lauder foundations were too dark and for older skin types but its working for me. Also 3 people bought this same foundation while I was waiting to get helped, they were all 30-65 so I think this foundation works for all skin types and ages. The coverage is buildable so start off with a small amount. It looks dewy the first minute but it dries matte. Cant wait to try the double wear light as well. 5 Stars but know this is an extremely full cover foundation! Makes your skin look flawless, and photographs beautifully! Has spf 10 too!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products