Estee Lauder • Double Wear [old formula - REFORMULATED] • Liquid

rated 4.0(2110 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 dpmsll on 6/20/2010 11:34:00 PM more reviews by dpmsll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I've been using MAC SFF for a long time and my color can be from NC 35-37. I looked on temptalia's foundation matrix and saw my match was 3w1 Tawny in ELDW. The consistency of ELDW is thicker than MAC SFF and quite comparable to Revlon CS foundation. It was thick and kind of hard to blend, so be sure to blend quickly. I do use my stippling brush for this foundation and it works fine for me. I love how it looks on me and seems to be more oil control than SFF. The problem with this foundation is that it seems to have slight pinkish tone to it and i'm more yellow but its really not noticeable. Its medium to buildable coverage and covers my reddish blemishes very good. I do a thin layer all around my face and just extra on my cheeks where my blemishes are. Like the Revlon CS, because its an all day wear this stuff sticks to you like... white on rice. So have a good make up remover! This is $33.50 for 1.0 fl oz. So its kind of expensive.. i haven't had any good luck with drugstore foundation so spending this much on foundation is alright with me. I only buy foundation and powder in department stores and buy everything drugstore. Packaging is in a glass bottle with no pump...which totally sucks! I would buy this again.. its a great foundation overall!

P.S. My eyelids get really oily during the day and my old foundation would just melt off, but with this foundation it stays on! Seriously a good oil control foundation! love the oil control factor in this foundation.

i've been using this for months and still love it, i also started wearing mac mineralize skinfinish to set my foundation and found out that it makes my face look really powdery so i spritz water on my face mainly just the center of my face to look more natural and it looks way better. people even ask if i'm wearing foundation, so funny.. cuz i wear full coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Plagueofhamsters on 6/20/2010 9:59:00 AM more reviews by Plagueofhamsters

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

DoubleWear is an amazing foundation. For my super oily skin, this foundation lasted and didn't allow any shine through. I loved leaving work and still having makeup on my face, especially since I sell makeup and I hate having makeup meltdown at work. Either way, it was nice to only "freshen up." However, this foundation is so long wearing, I couldn't remove it. Despite my efforts at the time, I didn't realize I should use an oil-based cleanser and follow up with something else at the time.

Needless to say, DoubleWear was the start of my cystic acne, and for that, I simply can never use it again. I won't deny it's a good product, but it, and several other factors, led me to having terrible skin. Find a good cleansing regimen and this product will be amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aerodynamic on 6/20/2010 8:52:00 AM more reviews by aerodynamic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The coverage and lasting power of this foundation is amazing, it really lives up to the hype.
I thought I had found my HG foundation, but it causes me to have an allergic reaction where my skin peels in small areas of my face :(
But for people that don't have such sensitive skin, this is a brilliant foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blinkystink on 6/19/2010 10:36:00 AM more reviews by blinkystink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i have tried many different foundations, MAC, Bobbi Brown, Armani, Revlon, Lancome etc and I have to say i keep coming back to this one. The coverage is amasing, does not break me out and I have very sensitive skin that breaks out easily. The only problem is the colour selection. I am arabian, and I have to mix the shell beige with the bronze to get the colour I need. Also the bottle is a bit awkward, would be much better if it came with a pump. but overall, best foundation ive ever used. highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 san21 on 6/19/2010 4:08:00 AM more reviews by san21

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am trying to find a new foundation. I tried this one as a free sample. The coverage was excellant. The colour match for my skin was excellant. I have combination skin, so I did find it slightly oily in my T-zone but would have bought this product, except for its one major flaw. This foundation emphasises all my wrinkles. Its a night mare. I didn't know I had so many wrinkles. So at the moment feeling very old and now worried about wrinkles. Now moving on to trying foundations that float above my wrinkles and not in them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chanelll on 6/18/2010 9:51:00 AM more reviews by Chanelll

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm pale, oily and have so many red imperfections but this is full coverage and hides everything. No need for concealer with this. This will be a staple in my makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gizzyxx on 6/18/2010 9:33:00 AM more reviews by Gizzyxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

***EDIT: Oct 2010 - I dont use this anymore - My new HG is MAC Pro Longwear Foundation - its a lot like DW but I find I get a more natural finish and it feels lighter on my skin but has great coverage....

Original Review: This is a fantastic foundation! Highly recommend!

Pros:
Great medium coverage, that stays all day on my moderately oily skin (most foundations dont last all day on me, my skin kind of drinks them up!). It covers my current acne and does a pretty good job of covering my old acne scares that are pretty bad.
Dont need a lot of product if applied with a stippling brush (much less than with fingers), so its more cost effective.
Helps to control the shine, tend to blot later on in the day when I am wearing this foundation.
Did NOT break me out, unlike so many other foundations I have used, so thats massive plus for me (but EL have a great returns policy so if it does break you out or you dont like it for another reason EL will refund you!!)


Cons:
It sets quickly so you have to work quickly when blending it.
The bottle is not all that travel friendly and its hard to get to when you reach the bottom of the bottle...would prefer if it was in a squeezy tube, but on the plus side you can easily see how much you have left.
Moisturise well before hand, as it can show up dry spots a little if your not careful, but its not horrendous or anything.


In MAC I am NC35 and the Tawny colour is a good match for that. This foundation does not oxidise, so another thumbs up from me in that regard!!


EL are really good with thier samples. I first got a sample of this (I was worried it was going to break me out so I didnt want to splash out for the whole bottle), and the sample was generous....it lasted a good 10 days! So if your interested in buying this foundation, maybe ask for a sample of it first??

Definate repurchase for me :-) I have FINALLY found my HG Foundation!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katushka37 on 6/18/2010 9:16:00 AM more reviews by katushka37

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted this foundstion to be my HG but i suspect it breaks me out :(

Pros: Good coverage, easy to work with, looks good on skin, can be mixed with other foundations

Cons: feels a bit heavy, doesn't smell very nice (but tolerable), it congests and breaks out my skin, the bottle is very akward to use (too much product comes out

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emgurl on 6/17/2010 2:59:00 PM more reviews by emgurl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Good product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 helloaubergine on 6/17/2010 10:16:00 AM more reviews by helloaubergine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is beautiful on the skin. Without powder it gives a natural glow, a dewy look. It was easy to work with, and allowed some natural skin to come through. The product was also very comfortable and light, although perhaps in combination with Este Lauder's illuminator, makes my t-zone break out sometimes. This is my first foundation and I'm very happy with it, but as I haven't tried others I might venture towards other products because this is very expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products