Estee Lauder • Double Wear (old formula) • Liquid

rated 4.0(2236 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abrad1967 on 10/24/2010 9:40:00 PM more reviews by abrad1967

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

To my disappointment, this foundation did not work for me. After using this for a few days, it left me with dry patches, which I found strange because my skin is extremely oily, and also broke me out. I've been using Revlon Colorstay and wanted to try a new foundation. I heard DW provided better coverage so I gave it shot. The coverage with DW is comparable to CS. I don't feel the coverage with DW is necessarily better. However, DW is easier to blend because it doesn't dry as quickly as CS. I've order EL Maximum Cover foundation so I can't wait to try that out but I will not repurchase DW.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 andrea34 on 10/24/2010 9:21:00 PM more reviews by andrea34

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have finally found my HG foundation, and this is it! I wish I had tried this a long time ago, but I was always afraid it would be to heavy and mask like..it's not at all! The coverage is great, blends easily, oil free, lasts all day and does not change color or fade at all. I have oily skin, and this is perfect for me..doesnt cntribute to oilyness at all..stays fresh all day on me..oh and the color match was perfect..what more could I ask for? Love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeGee35 on 10/24/2010 8:36:00 PM more reviews by BeeGee35

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

i love this foundation. it has the pigmentation to cover just about anything. i do wish it had a pump applicator though. a little goes a long way with this product and it will cake if you use too much. i have very acne prone skin. once my pimples heal, i'm left wiht a dark mark for months. this covers all those marks easily. i really love this foundation. its probably my HG even though i give it a 4. i just wish it had a pump. plus since the seasons have changed and we've needed to start turning on the heat in the house my skin has become dry. this foundation can be drying on VERY dry skin. (nothing a tub of cetaphil can't cure) love it though!

UPDATE 8/21/11 : my only gripe is that with most long wearing foundations you must make sure you wash thoroughly to get it off. my cleansers haven't gotten the job done.. so i get clogged pores from this. i don't get breakouts. just clogged white pores. very annoying.. but i started using a toner after cleanser and its clearing up the problem. just beware.. long wear is no joke.. haha wash off well!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acnnacnn on 10/23/2010 11:39:00 PM more reviews by acnnacnn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a combination oily skin and my shade is desert beige 2N1, I really love this foundation and it really does last long and stays up to 8 hours! I have tried many cheap or expensive foundations but this one is the best. I love it and my husband told me I look so natural all day with this double wear!

Thanks EL and I would recommend this product to all combination & oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mangopancake88 on 10/22/2010 10:03:00 AM more reviews by mangopancake88

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Was hoping to find a good long lasting foundation but no luck. This foundation accentuated the dry patches on my face an hour after application and made my skin feel tight.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rouquine25 on 10/20/2010 5:48:00 PM more reviews by Rouquine25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was very excited to try this! I got colormatched for Shell and I got a 10 day sample. It looked like the color matched really well in the store. The first day I applied it, I moisturized with a moisturizer plus sunscreen, like I do under all foundations. It went on really well with my fingers. I was shocked though, because it looked so yellow tinted at first! But I blended it, and it looked fine. The coverage of this stuff is amazing. I have red marks and I didn't have to use concealer. I just layered this a bit on some darker spots and it looked pretty amazing! You don't need a lot of product, either. I wore it the whole day without blotting or repowdering, and for awhile my face just looked dewy. But then towards the end of the day, it was actually drying out my skin! All my dry patches were completely exposed all gross and flaky! And I won't say that this stuff broke me out, because I don't know for sure if it was the cause, but I got a few tiny shallow bumps. So the next day I gave it another go. Beautiful application, once again. But that day, I noticed how weird the color looked. I was sitting by a window with sunlight coming in, and I looked in the mirror. My face looked too pink compared to my neck!! And much paler! I have never had a problem with a foundation being too pale before because I'm so light, so that's really weird. And once again, I was very flaky by the end of the day. Oh, but I didn't have too much trouble taking it off at night actually. I just washed my face with my cleanser and got the remaining foundation off with a baby wipe. I just decided that this isn't the foundation for me. The color is off, it accentuates my dry patches, and it just doesn't feel quite right, plus I'm not going to pay $34 for a just average foundation! I how smooth it goes on and the coverage is amazing. I would recommend for people that are more on the oily side and have neutral skin tones. Too bad...I really wanted to like this. I thought it was going to be "the one!" I'll save the sample and use it when my skin gets oily maybe...and in the winter when I'm more pale!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kenzierosaline on 10/20/2010 5:28:00 PM more reviews by kenzierosaline

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like this stuff a lot. I don't notice the smell, I have no breakouts or adverse effects on my skin, in fact it doesn't even affect my eczema and dry skin. It's very heavy, which I like at times, and offers great coverage and colour, and stays on all day.

It's not exactly HG material because it doesn't do anything super amazing, just what it says it will. If you wear too much moisturizer under it, the texture goes a bit crappy. I noticed it sort of clumped and dried in a flaky fashion. But if you use it with primer and a clean sponge, it's a safe bet, so I will repurchase since I can't afford to be trialling everything on the market.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deeemiii on 10/20/2010 8:20:00 AM more reviews by deeemiii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This product goes on nice, dries quickly and does really stay on all day! The only fault i'd really have with it is, its too dull for my liking, I love something with a bit of glow. Coverage is great! Its a very good coverage foundation. Amazing foundation, just want something with a glow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jsATC on 10/19/2010 3:03:00 PM more reviews by jsATC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this last week based on reviews and a friend's recommendation. My previous daily foundation was Colorstay, which wears well but I thought is too matte and blah looking for special occasions, so I was using Smashbox HD for my wedding and going out, which looks fantastic but does not wear well at all. I was hoping to find a happy medium.

Well, Double Wear isn't it. :-P

The sales association recommended their daywear light oil free moisturizer under the makeup so I've been making sure I moisturize my oily/combo/acne prone skin before applying to give my skin a smooth canvas to apply the Double Wear since it is very matte.

I've given it a chance for a week and I really feel that it makes my skin look crepey and dry. It is very very matte and seems to settle into all my pores and fine lines. It draws attention to fine lines that I never noticed before!

It does wear pretty well and even stands up to my frequent nose blowing (allergies). The coverage is great and I find that I use much less of this than other foundations. However, it just doesn't make my skin look good. I look very flat and sallow and sickly while wearing it.

I'm definitely returning Double Wear tomorrow. It's pricey and for that amount of money, I would expect it to make my skin look great, not sickly. It might be a good foundation for our humid summers but for the rest of the year, the search continues for my perfect foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snowflake91 on 10/18/2010 11:58:00 PM more reviews by snowflake91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is currently my favourite foundation, it makes my skin look flawless and I like that it dries to a smooth, non-transferable finish. Even though it is a little matte, with a little skinfinish powder i can get a slightly glowy look with the extra coverage which is great because you hardly need any product at all to give you full coverage. I have quite dry skin and a couple of dry patches but this surprosingly does a excellent job of hiding them. The cost isn't too bad for a higher end foundation so if that isn't an issue I would definately reccomended this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products