Estee Lauder • Double Wear [old formula - REFORMULATED] • Liquid

rated 4.0(2115 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 DebbieDeeze on 6/28/2010 11:22:00 PM more reviews by DebbieDeeze

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used DW for years. I started getting clogged up oil glands from this product. I was using Take It Away and cleanser, but being a long wear makeup it just wasn't cleansing properly. It was truly long wearing. I went to BE and liked it for awhile, but it didnt' stay on as long. All of a sudden BE got orangey and very drying and I was breaking out again.

I went back to DW. I do love the DW coverage. I am having no trouble this time. I think the clogged pores were from the Take It Away. I am hoping I won't have the same reaction. Everyone is saying I look 10 years younger again! Even though BE is more natural, DW looks airbrushed. DW is my HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelmariew on 6/27/2010 12:29:00 PM more reviews by rachelmariew

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this foundation after wearing Revlon Colorstay for 3 years and thinking that was my HG. Little did I know! This has way better coverage than Revlon CS and lasts longer. Also you don't need as much foundation, a little goes a long ways. It lasts all day without budging. You need a good makeup remover to take it off. I use Aveeno makeup remover, and use 2 pumps, wash and rinse, and then another 2 pumps. I have very sensitive skin which is very prone to breakouts, and this has actually cleared up my skin - I think because I am using a lot less product. I am amazed, I will never go back to Revlon CS.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beccababesx on 6/25/2010 1:30:00 AM more reviews by beccababesx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This has gained HG status for me :)
Medium-full coverage (more than Revlon Colourstay but less than Illamasqua Rich Liquid Foundation) but very buildable, and also could easily be worn lighter coverage. Thin runny texture but sets to a tacky feeling quite quickly, but not so quickly that you can't blend. It is seriously the longest-lasting, most durable foundation OR concealer that I've come across. I bought this and on the first wearing my boyfriend of 2 years split up with me (bad luck foundation?!! ha) and I was crying and wiping my face, head on his white top, rubbing my eyes and nose and generally being a state. Not a smudge on his top, my makeup-perfect. Not even joking, my foundation looked EXACTLY as it was when I applied. For that reason alone I would adore this foundation.
Also, it looks beautiful on the skin. I use heavy coverage foundations, and they tend to collect in my smile lines, pores, etc, but no. Sits beautifully on the skin, even without a primer, hides pores and lines. Very natural, not screaming 'I'm wearing foundation'! Neither does it go caky-it remains exactly the same after 10 hours. Very very matte, fantastic at controlling oily skin.
However, the bottle is oh so annoying. Very small amount for the price, and the bottle is glass with a pour lid. Meaning that you lose so much product, because you'd have to smash the glass to get the rest and I can't see that being possible-it's very thick.
Also, the colours are very strange... I'd recommend if you are pink toned to get a neutral shade (1N1 for example) rather than a 'warm' shade (1W1 etc) because the neutral is quite pink, the warm shades are quite odd... Orangey peach? Hmm. Personally I am a very tanned caucasian and I use ivory beige-3N1.
Overall though, this is genuinely the best foundation I've ever used, and I've used a lot: Dior, Chanel, Clinique, YSL, Mac, Stila, Smashbpox, Revlon, Rimmel, etc etc etc. Highly recommend, at least to try.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makeupismyaddiction on 6/24/2010 12:16:00 AM more reviews by Makeupismyaddiction

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation, it stays on forever! Im NC35-NC37 and I use the Fresco. I always thought that in MAC the NC37 was a bit too yellow for me but this color is perfect for my skin tone. I love how light it feels and it makes my skin so even and flawless. I will repurchase!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mya_5 on 6/21/2010 3:53:00 PM more reviews by Mya_5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very good coverage, long lasting and nice natural shades, this is perfect. BUT for mine enlarged pores too heavy and makes it look even worse... :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dpmsll on 6/20/2010 11:34:00 PM more reviews by dpmsll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I've been using MAC SFF for a long time and my color can be from NC 35-37. I looked on temptalia's foundation matrix and saw my match was 3w1 Tawny in ELDW. The consistency of ELDW is thicker than MAC SFF and quite comparable to Revlon CS foundation. It was thick and kind of hard to blend, so be sure to blend quickly. I do use my stippling brush for this foundation and it works fine for me. I love how it looks on me and seems to be more oil control than SFF. The problem with this foundation is that it seems to have slight pinkish tone to it and i'm more yellow but its really not noticeable. Its medium to buildable coverage and covers my reddish blemishes very good. I do a thin layer all around my face and just extra on my cheeks where my blemishes are. Like the Revlon CS, because its an all day wear this stuff sticks to you like... white on rice. So have a good make up remover! This is $33.50 for 1.0 fl oz. So its kind of expensive.. i haven't had any good luck with drugstore foundation so spending this much on foundation is alright with me. I only buy foundation and powder in department stores and buy everything drugstore. Packaging is in a glass bottle with no pump...which totally sucks! I would buy this again.. its a great foundation overall!

P.S. My eyelids get really oily during the day and my old foundation would just melt off, but with this foundation it stays on! Seriously a good oil control foundation! love the oil control factor in this foundation.

i've been using this for months and still love it, i also started wearing mac mineralize skinfinish to set my foundation and found out that it makes my face look really powdery so i spritz water on my face mainly just the center of my face to look more natural and it looks way better. people even ask if i'm wearing foundation, so funny.. cuz i wear full coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Plagueofhamsters on 6/20/2010 9:59:00 AM more reviews by Plagueofhamsters

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

DoubleWear is an amazing foundation. For my super oily skin, this foundation lasted and didn't allow any shine through. I loved leaving work and still having makeup on my face, especially since I sell makeup and I hate having makeup meltdown at work. Either way, it was nice to only "freshen up." However, this foundation is so long wearing, I couldn't remove it. Despite my efforts at the time, I didn't realize I should use an oil-based cleanser and follow up with something else at the time.

Needless to say, DoubleWear was the start of my cystic acne, and for that, I simply can never use it again. I won't deny it's a good product, but it, and several other factors, led me to having terrible skin. Find a good cleansing regimen and this product will be amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aerodynamic on 6/20/2010 8:52:00 AM more reviews by aerodynamic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The coverage and lasting power of this foundation is amazing, it really lives up to the hype.
I thought I had found my HG foundation, but it causes me to have an allergic reaction where my skin peels in small areas of my face :(
But for people that don't have such sensitive skin, this is a brilliant foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blinkystink on 6/19/2010 10:36:00 AM more reviews by blinkystink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i have tried many different foundations, MAC, Bobbi Brown, Armani, Revlon, Lancome etc and I have to say i keep coming back to this one. The coverage is amasing, does not break me out and I have very sensitive skin that breaks out easily. The only problem is the colour selection. I am arabian, and I have to mix the shell beige with the bronze to get the colour I need. Also the bottle is a bit awkward, would be much better if it came with a pump. but overall, best foundation ive ever used. highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 san21 on 6/19/2010 4:08:00 AM more reviews by san21

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am trying to find a new foundation. I tried this one as a free sample. The coverage was excellant. The colour match for my skin was excellant. I have combination skin, so I did find it slightly oily in my T-zone but would have bought this product, except for its one major flaw. This foundation emphasises all my wrinkles. Its a night mare. I didn't know I had so many wrinkles. So at the moment feeling very old and now worried about wrinkles. Now moving on to trying foundations that float above my wrinkles and not in them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products