Estee Lauder • Double Wear (old formula) • Liquid

rated 4.0(2244 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 franklyscarlet on 11/2/2010 2:44:00 PM more reviews by franklyscarlet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this after having a 10 day sample and loving it.I am quite pale and I use the shade ecru and altho its a look tad dark in the bottle it actually matches my skin very well.It lasts ages but doesnt look too cakey,sometimes I get a bit of shine but thats usually after a good 5/6 hours.The only thing that would make this better is if it came with a pump or in a squeezy bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ESTHETICIANNM on 11/2/2010 10:02:00 AM more reviews by ESTHETICIANNM

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really love DW...however it is a little cakey. I have tried DWL and think too light lol. Also the color choices are not the best for pale people. It does have great staying power and helps with my oil control. I work at the Clinique counter and cannot stress how popular this is at our Lauder counter. People love it. My skins just difficult.

No breakout!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 irisis on 11/2/2010 1:45:00 AM more reviews by irisis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Bit of background, I have oily skin - everywhere! Not just the t-zone, but my cheeks, temples and even eyelids. I was passing an EL counter one day and decided to try it on a friends recommendation. Of all the foundaions I've tried (very, very many) this has been the only one to last the longest, not go streaky on application, and to not settle straight into my pores. I've had my first bottle for about two years, mainly because I'm foundation whore and can't resist trying others to get that 'perfect' foundation. But this has come the closest. What has made it even better has been my recent purchase of the EL Face Primer Plus Smoothing Matte Base. I used it underneath my ELDW, and on a warm, humid day, it has taken 6hrs (with no touch ups) for my face to develop a 'glow' starting to border on shine. For me this is absolutely awesome!! I used a thin layer of the primer all over, waited 5 mins for it to dry, then used a sponge to apply the DW (I've found using a brush gives better coverage, but can look a bit thick on) I like the sheerer look (and I've tried ELDW light recently and hated it!!). Today I set my foundation with NP camera finish powder. Will definitely buy again!
ETA: I took a lippie off because I would love this bottle to have a pump. Easily fixed though :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tiff829 on 11/1/2010 11:09:00 PM more reviews by tiff829

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this foundation! It is too expensive to use everyday, but I have it for special occasions. It really does last all day. In fact, I've slept in this makeup, and when I woke up, it looked as if I had just applied it. The only complaint I have is that it settles into my pores, even using a good primer, and this stuff does not come off easily. However, it doesn't rub off on clothes, either, so that is a plus. This is a great foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 minniemina on 11/1/2010 2:42:00 PM more reviews by minniemina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

perfect foundation. amazing coverage, blends well, not cakey BUT every single colour has strong pink undertones. :( that does NOT work for my skin.

bottom line if you have pink undertones go for it you will not be disappointed. if not better skip this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tcpham on 11/1/2010 12:52:00 PM more reviews by tcpham

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use Revlon Colorstay foundation for my oily skin and splotchy skin. I tried a sample of the Estee Lauder doublewear foundation and fell in love with it. It has medium coverage, but you can use a brush to dab on for extra coverage. It has superior staying power with a quick brush of loose powder over the foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mel_C on 10/29/2010 10:04:00 AM more reviews by Mel_C

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried DW based on a friend's rec and all the good reviews here. I need a long-lasting medium to full coverage foundation. I've been wearing it now for a few weeks and I don't think I'm in love. At first I thought I found my HG, but now I'm not so sure. The coverage is great, almost too thick though because I find it hard to blend. Maybe I need to try it with a damp sponge, I'm currently using my fingers. My workday is long and by the time I get home, my face doesn't look all that great. I use silica powder to set my foundation and maybe they don't play well together. I went back to Revlon Photo Ready, but might bring out the DW on occasion if I don't swap it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* katrosado5 on 10/28/2010 2:32:00 AM more reviews by katrosado5

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation in 5N1 Soft Tan. It is an absolute perfect match to my skin tone. The only time I have had the experience of having a foundation that was a complete and perfect color match.

I am almost 49 yrs old. I abused my skin when younger I have issues I want to cover, as well as fine lines and age spots, acne scars...etc. This gives me a buildable coverage and goes on as a medium coverage.

NOTE for the older ladies: The first day I put this foundation on I put it on a cleanly washed face. Just wanted to see the formulation and check color and etc. NO! Oh NO! nonononono. You absolutely need a good moisturizer under this---even with oily skin (which I still have at my age). It looked cakey, masky, it accentuated every pore, every acne scar, every piece of skin that I missed when I exfoilated LOL.

I now put this on with a really good moisturizer on first. I use Eucerin, I don't have any primer at this time but I might use that if I get around to picking some up over the Eucerin moisterizer. I poured a dime sized bit in the palm of my clean (sanitized) hand and used a dry makeup sponge to spread it quickly over my face. Quickly and buffing at the same time.

I set it on my t-zone with a transluscent powder (I grab coty usually, just depends on what I hit first when I open the drawer).

Beautiful coverage. Medium but buildable if I chose to do so. I do enjoy this and recommend it for those that do not have dry skin.


EDIT TO ADD: I did not let a Makeup Assistant near me when I chose this color. I have lived decades with them putting me in shades that always ended up way too light on my face and I looked like a clown in pictures. I waited until they had all left for the day at the PX, took the sample bottles myself and used the cotton swabs available to dip once and discard for a sample. I identified my perfect color. sometimes I think these MA choose color for themselves instead of me! Irks me to no end!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sadexx on 10/27/2010 8:30:00 PM more reviews by Sadexx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Great coverage and lasts all day or night love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abrad1967 on 10/24/2010 9:40:00 PM more reviews by abrad1967

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

To my disappointment, this foundation did not work for me. After using this for a few days, it left me with dry patches, which I found strange because my skin is extremely oily, and also broke me out. I've been using Revlon Colorstay and wanted to try a new foundation. I heard DW provided better coverage so I gave it shot. The coverage with DW is comparable to CS. I don't feel the coverage with DW is necessarily better. However, DW is easier to blend because it doesn't dry as quickly as CS. I've order EL Maximum Cover foundation so I can't wait to try that out but I will not repurchase DW.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products