Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1071 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 9/5/2002 4:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have been using Almay Luxury Loose Powder for the past year and wanted to try something else. I tried SK Barely There and didn't like it, so I figure I'd try the MV. I don't know what it is about this stuff, but it makes my skin look really nice & glowy (better than the Almay)- not dry/cakey. I put mine into a sifter container, though - crap packaging.



on 9/3/2002 2:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I know I'm in the minority here, but I HATED this powder. It does have a nice, dry silky texture and is very matte and translucent but it broke me out horribly. In fact, no product has caused me to break out worse than this one. I'm not sure which ingredient is the culprit and frankly I don't care. Also, I think loose powder is a pain in the butt :p


on 8/25/2002 8:41:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Mineral Veil is a translucent finely milled powder. It is compatible with most skintones. When paired with BE minerals foundation, it cuts the shine and provides more of a matte finish. It can also be used over liquid foundations. An added bonus is that it can be layered without looking cakey. A regular size jar is approximately 13 grams and this little baby will last quite a long time. During the past two years of daily use, it looks like I've barely made a dent in it. I've suffered no breakouts or irritation from using this product. My only disappointment has to do with its packaging. I just wish the MV jars come with sifters like the mineral foundations. Also, touching up can be quite a pain if you have to lug around a bulky jar and separate brush.

UPDATE July 03: Still loving Mineral Veil. I'm on my second jar (the first one lasted close to 3 years)! BE has finally included a sifter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/2/2002 1:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A super basic corn starch based loose powder. It did well on cutting shine and controlling oil, but nothing special. It had a very fine texture and provided no coverage. If it were a larger container it would be worth the price, but for such a tiny container, it's just not worth it.


on 8/1/2002 10:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This a great loose, translucent powder with a cornstarch base, which helps absorb oil and control shine. I enjoy using this, but not the foundation. B.E. mineral foudations are the wrong color scheme for my skin (#2 is just TOO yellow for me) and for $35 a pop, I'm not not about to buy different colors to custom blend. The packaging of this powder is annoying & potentially messy (you can't just pop it into your purse for touchups - well, you could, but you'd need a separate mirror and brush). All in all I do like this product - it performs well. I use this at home & cover girl on the go.


on 7/30/2002 1:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Update: I have switched to Aromaleigh minerals, which works much better with my skin. Bare Escentuals is too shiny for me, caused breakouts, and didn't match/work with my skintone.

Old Review: I love this!!! I had been using the foundation for awhile and then I finally decided to give this a try. This powder works so beautifully with the foundation. It makes your skin look flawless! This powder just melts right into your skin; you can't even tell it's there. I just wish that it had a sifter on the top like the foundation!


on 7/20/2002 11:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is great. It lasts forever (unless you're clumsy like myself and spill most of it all over your bathroom) and is totally buildable without looking cakey. It leaves a lovely matte finish and a quick dusting whisks the oilies away. My only beef is the packaging. Can't BE come up with some sort of klutz proof container? Please?!!


on 7/20/2002 4:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

umm..yuck? BE stuff just did not work for me. this was oh-so-obvious even with a tiny little bit. didn't control oil, looked gross. thumbs down. sorry..


on 7/19/2002 11:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this...I totally recommend it to anyone and everyone. It makes my pores look smaller. My only gripe is the money for the size. I ordered it through QVC and hoped that it would be bigger alas, it wasn't. Overall, love this! It is very messy and, unfortunately, I did have to retouch but not as much as I normally do.


on 7/16/2002 4:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

While I am not that crazy about the mineral foundation, I absolutely adore the mineral veil!!! It is hands down the best powder that I have ever used. It is very finely milled and is translucent on the skin. I agree with the other reviews this stuff is a winner! I highly recommend!!! My only complaint is that it does not have a shaker top.


Recommended for Normal Skin

Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top