Bare Escentuals • Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1071 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kminer on 2/14/2003 9:29:00 AM more reviews by Kminer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

My hold grail powder! I love Translucent powders like MV, it goes on light, appears matte, and stays well with some touch ups (as it doesn't control oil - nor is it supposed to). I love that MV can go over ANY type of foundation and look great. What I didn't prefer was the open pot, so the new sifter pot has been a dream!! This did not even compare to anything else I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bablondie25 on 2/13/2003 9:19:00 PM more reviews by bablondie25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I don't know what's sooo special about this powder, it seems like a real, real light foundation that's just ground up superduper fine,,so that it'll sink in and fill in your pores/lines,,,kind of like a spackle effect. It's okay,,but Jane colorless powder does about the same thing or that's what liquid foundation is for,,filling in the pores,,I don't give it raves, but it's not bad either, I kinda like it w/the BE foundation, it looks better w/it..rather than w/o it...but really, for the prices they should just sell the two together, what's the deal w/that? YUCK, I KEEP INHALING IT, because the powder is so light and fine, every time I put my face brush to my face, I inhale mineral veil,,,yuck. I'm sticking to my old makeup cheap drugstore makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bablondie25 on 2/8/2003 7:12:00 PM more reviews by bablondie25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Out of the Bare Escentuals line..I'm really not sold. I've tried all sorts of samples, etc. I like plain old Jane colorless powder much better. Bare Escentuals is messier than regular makeup, and and it gets all over the sink, in my eyes, and clothes. I keep inhaling it from the brush, and that never happens with any other powders I use, I think we're dealing w/ way too many powders here, which can seep into fine lines and make you look older! Mineral Veil doesn't do anything, it's all hype. Way too expensive makeup, when most loose powders have almost the same ingredients as Bare Minerals, and you can find ones with spf, and/or fragrance free, non irritating, etc. at the drug store. Glee is really nice,,,but I found an EXACT MATCH, in jane blush, wine. yep, exact! And Mineral Veil, is almost the same as a colorless or transcluscent loose powder at a drugstore, except they grind theirs up more finely, so you end up inhaling more of it on accident as you're putting it on your face. Whatta disappointment..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Powhatten on 1/31/2003 4:45:00 PM more reviews by Powhatten

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried it for a day after a makeover in the BE store. I have oily skin and it felt drying. It did go on well and it looked ok. Not special enough for the price though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Zezzie on 1/24/2003 2:04:00 PM more reviews by Zezzie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really like this product - especially during the summer. It takes the oilies away from my skin nicely and never leaves a heavy powdery finish.

The downside is it doesn't come in a convenient compact or something similar to take along in your purse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shells on 1/12/2003 8:08:00 PM more reviews by Shells

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

When you use this correctly (light hand, swirl~tap~buff) this works soo well! It makes my skin look so soft and pretty, just like in candlelight and it makes those huge pores on my nose disappear. ***QVC is the only place that sells this w/o a sifter for shipping reasons..if you want a sifter buy it from Bare Escentuals!!*** This eliminates my shine and is great for toning down 'mistakes' with blush and bronzer. I loooove it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tiggerfan on 1/12/2003 7:35:00 PM more reviews by tiggerfan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like everything from this line, it definitely takes a light application to achieve wonderful results. That being said, I find mineral veil one of the best powders I've used. It makes my pores appear smaller and just completes the overall finish of my skin without caking or settling into the fine lines.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amswtr on 1/12/2003 8:23:00 AM more reviews by amswtr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm disapointed in the mineral veil especially since I loved the foundation so much. It was too matte for me. I would much rather use clinique loose powder b/c it has more of a pretty shimmer to it. Update: I have completely been wrong about Mineral Veil! I didn't think it was doing much for my skin until I took a before and after photo of myself. My skin looked luminous and beautiful. Now I wear mineral veil every time I wear my foundation. Mineral veil is fantastic, I was so wrong!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carissa1801 on 1/11/2003 9:49:00 PM more reviews by carissa1801

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Great product! It doesn't make my dry skin flake like most powders do! Very easy to spill, though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ModChick on 1/4/2003 4:11:00 AM more reviews by ModChick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this product. Finally a powder that isn't like any other. I use this under the BE foundation and then over it. I also use it with other foundations and it works great. My skin looks and feels better, less breakouts. I'll try other powders to test, but will never toss this away. The only drawback is it needs a sifter. I just pour mine into an empty BE foundation jar. Still I can't fault a great product because of a minor packaging flaw. EDIT: I no longer use this product. It started caking and caused my foundation and skin to flake. Plus I wasn't getting the coverage from it I used to. Dropped to a 3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products