Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1052 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 posteverything on 9/21/2002 7:23:00 PM more reviews by posteverything

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is just ok. It does reduce shine nicely, but I often forget I have it because it's nothing special. Also, very expensive for the TINY jar it comes in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 actionwoman on 9/5/2002 4:49:00 PM more reviews by actionwoman

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using Almay Luxury Loose Powder for the past year and wanted to try something else. I tried SK Barely There and didn't like it, so I figure I'd try the MV. I don't know what it is about this stuff, but it makes my skin look really nice & glowy (better than the Almay)- not dry/cakey. I put mine into a sifter container, though - crap packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 glendah on 9/3/2002 2:20:00 PM more reviews by glendah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I know I'm in the minority here, but I HATED this powder. It does have a nice, dry silky texture and is very matte and translucent but it broke me out horribly. In fact, no product has caused me to break out worse than this one. I'm not sure which ingredient is the culprit and frankly I don't care. Also, I think loose powder is a pain in the butt :p

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sugar76 on 8/25/2002 8:41:00 AM more reviews by Sugar76

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Mineral Veil is a translucent finely milled powder. It is compatible with most skintones. When paired with BE minerals foundation, it cuts the shine and provides more of a matte finish. It can also be used over liquid foundations. An added bonus is that it can be layered without looking cakey. A regular size jar is approximately 13 grams and this little baby will last quite a long time. During the past two years of daily use, it looks like I've barely made a dent in it. I've suffered no breakouts or irritation from using this product. My only disappointment has to do with its packaging. I just wish the MV jars come with sifters like the mineral foundations. Also, touching up can be quite a pain if you have to lug around a bulky jar and separate brush.

UPDATE July 03: Still loving Mineral Veil. I'm on my second jar (the first one lasted close to 3 years)! BE has finally included a sifter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msjene on 8/2/2002 1:41:00 AM more reviews by msjene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A super basic corn starch based loose powder. It did well on cutting shine and controlling oil, but nothing special. It had a very fine texture and provided no coverage. If it were a larger container it would be worth the price, but for such a tiny container, it's just not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luminella on 8/1/2002 10:22:00 AM more reviews by luminella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This a great loose, translucent powder with a cornstarch base, which helps absorb oil and control shine. I enjoy using this, but not the foundation. B.E. mineral foudations are the wrong color scheme for my skin (#2 is just TOO yellow for me) and for $35 a pop, I'm not not about to buy different colors to custom blend. The packaging of this powder is annoying & potentially messy (you can't just pop it into your purse for touchups - well, you could, but you'd need a separate mirror and brush). All in all I do like this product - it performs well. I use this at home & cover girl on the go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupdiva23 on 7/30/2002 1:58:00 PM more reviews by makeupdiva23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Update: I have switched to Aromaleigh minerals, which works much better with my skin. Bare Escentuals is too shiny for me, caused breakouts, and didn't match/work with my skintone.

Old Review: I love this!!! I had been using the foundation for awhile and then I finally decided to give this a try. This powder works so beautifully with the foundation. It makes your skin look flawless! This powder just melts right into your skin; you can't even tell it's there. I just wish that it had a sifter on the top like the foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LaurieS on 7/20/2002 11:49:00 PM more reviews by LaurieS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is great. It lasts forever (unless you're clumsy like myself and spill most of it all over your bathroom) and is totally buildable without looking cakey. It leaves a lovely matte finish and a quick dusting whisks the oilies away. My only beef is the packaging. Can't BE come up with some sort of klutz proof container? Please?!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 faeryglitter on 7/20/2002 4:14:00 PM more reviews by faeryglitter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

umm..yuck? BE stuff just did not work for me. this was oh-so-obvious even with a tiny little bit. didn't control oil, looked gross. thumbs down. sorry..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MusesX9 on 7/19/2002 11:27:00 PM more reviews by MusesX9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this...I totally recommend it to anyone and everyone. It makes my pores look smaller. My only gripe is the money for the size. I ordered it through QVC and hoped that it would be bigger alas, it wasn't. Overall, love this! It is very messy and, unfortunately, I did have to retouch but not as much as I normally do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products