Maybelline • Volum' Express The Falsies • Mascara

rated 3.4(2233 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 HeidiG12 on 5/1/2011 11:56:00 AM more reviews by HeidiG12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this mascara after seeing the commercial and of cource got sucked in by those gorgeous lashes, i bought it for 12.99 + tax at a local drugstore. The only think i liked about it is, Yes it does make your eyelashes bigger, but in the process it clumped up and stuck my eyelashes together, and when it came time to take it off for the night, it wouldn't budge with eye makeup remover or water, and when i did get some off, i could still feel clumps 2 days after, so i discontinued use due to the dissipointment and loss of lashes! I wouldn't recommend this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ktyska on 5/1/2011 7:10:00 AM more reviews by ktyska

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this mascara for about 2 months now, so I think I can give it a fair review. I bought in in black.

ME= I have medium brown lashes and I look for volume and separation & a little lenght (mine are naturally long enough) in my lashes.

This has to be the WETTEST mascara I have ever used. Even 2 months later, it is so wet and heavy on my lashes. Pulls the curl down.

When I pull the wand out, the mascara is globbed all over the bristles and tip. I have to wipe w/a tissue several times to get the excess off--now, I've always wiped my NEW mascara's off because they are new and yes, wet, but they eventually dried to a more useable mascara. I thought it would "dry out" after a few weeks, but no.

The curved brush is wide and flat and I never really seemed to use it to my advantage. I would use the "curved" side up and get mascara on my eyebrows, so then I would turn it to use the "side of the curve" and that did nothing except smear my lashes together.

The only good this is that is is a nice black color, didn't flake, and I could remove with regular make up remover.

I won't recomend nor will I buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Frenning on 4/29/2011 5:37:00 PM more reviews by Frenning

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Nice everyday mascara. I do, however, find it much more flaky than other mascaras and ironically it's still pretty hard to wash off in the evening. Fairly priced, but not the best product out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 velvetbow on 4/28/2011 1:35:00 PM more reviews by velvetbow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Holy grail mascara! My eyelashes are relatively long (for being Asian) and relatively curled (again, for being Asian) but very, very sparse. The Falsies in Very Black? Blackest Black? (Is there really a difference?) gave me the most amazing long, full and fanned out fringe I've ever had.

I found that both formula and wand were key. Don't know if my application is "proper", but this is how it works for me: hold wand so that the curved side faces down. Use the thin side to put a thin coat on lashes first--gives the mascara something to grab onto. Do each eye. Go back to first eye and hold wand the same way. Apply thin side of wand to the base of your eyelashes, then slowly twist your wrist so that you are applying the wider "back of the spoon" portion of the wand to your lashes, then flick upwards. (Sounds complicated as I type this, but really, it can be done in one smooth motion.) This action loads color onto your lashes, combs them out, and curls them upwards--all in one artful wrist twist! Two coats is a great everyday look for me, but if I'm feeling vampy, I'll add a coat to the outer lashes.

Best part is that I get no smudges and no flakes (and I didn't get the waterproof version) after a 10-hour day. And it wipes clean off with makeup remover towelettes.

However, as great as this product is, I would not say it gives a false lash effect. In my experience, only actual false lashes do that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* singwritenow on 4/27/2011 10:44:00 PM more reviews by singwritenow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is not the best or the worst that I've tried.If you are looking for a mascara that is going to thicken your lashes, then I would say, go for it. If you are like me and need all the help you can get with thin, pale, sparse lashes that need lengthening, I would recommend trying the Lash Stiletto which is my current HG mascara. I actually wore the Falsies on one eye and Lash Stiletto on the other and like how Lash Stiletto lengthened my lashes much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ToxicMegacolon on 4/27/2011 7:59:00 PM more reviews by ToxicMegacolon

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

EH. I liked this mascara for about a day...and then...EH.

I have short sparse asian lashes, so I was NOT expecting "Falsies" effects with this mascara...honestly, not with any mascara. All I really want is a mascara that is dark, and good at separating my lashes. First of all, I hate the giant package. This is a similar problem I have with LashBlast. Why...why do we need a jumbo sized mascara bottle? It makes maneuvering the thing so much more difficult than just a normal handle/bottle.

Anyways...the mascara itself is ok. Pretty dark, and the formula is a nice, thin formula...but perhaps a little too thin. It has very little buildability for me..and tend to clump up into these watery little triangles. The brush itself is inexplicable...slightly haphazard bristles in a curve (?)...I doubt if that adds anything to the mascara.

Overall a pretty EH mascara for me. Nothing special, nothing great...just mediocre at best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashwillis83 on 4/27/2011 3:11:00 PM more reviews by ashwillis83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have really enjoyed this mascara. Im on my third tube. I use the black drama kind also and it works well. It makes your lashes really bold. I wish it could lengthen a little more, But i still love it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* captainflamingo on 4/27/2011 2:50:00 PM more reviews by captainflamingo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this last week and have been wearing it every day since, usually for about 8 hours at a time. I have short, thick lashes that are curled. The thing I look for most in a mascara is length, and sometimes I've resorted to false eyelashes, hence my buying this product.
This mascara, after about 3 coats on curled lashes, gives me good length, good volume, and more thickness. It's a good mascara! I have very black, regular formula. My lashes are separated and more than actually long enough see(!!!) and just look good, though they're not exactly models for the "false lash glam" this mascara promises. I suppose if somebody were blessed with longer lashes than I to begin with, they might see that effect.
This mascara is weird, though, in the way my lashes feel when they're dry. I use a lot of coats so it's kind of hard yet soft enough for me to retouch without severe clumps(I am very careful and use a lash comb afterwards). It has minimal clumping and does not flake at all, and most mascaras tend to flake on me. At the end of the day, my cleanser removes every bit of it easily.
I would repurchase, I can see it becoming a staple in my makeup collection, and this $7 purchase eliminated the need for the countless other mascaras I have in my mascara bin, including both of the LashBlast versions and Clinique's High Impact one,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Piggie8 on 4/27/2011 5:37:00 AM more reviews by Piggie8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

WARNING: This is such a hit and miss product. If you want a good one, you HAVE to get the Falsies regular in waterproof. The others, especially Black Drama suck like crap. They clump, flake, smudge, you name it. However, the waterproof does do it and really does give you the false eyelash effect. It lengthens more than gives volume, but not such a far difference. I can see why they call it Falsies because false eyelashes if you look at them on their own, the lashes are kind of separated, but there is a lot of them and they are long, this is what it gives. Not a loss in product, but you have to buy the regular waterproof. I actually like it very much now that I found the right one as before I wanted to burn it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SkyAlternative on 4/27/2011 1:27:00 AM more reviews by SkyAlternative

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Worst mascara I've ever used! Maybelline yet again uses false advertisements and says it will give you a false lash look without false lashes (yet the model in the adds obviously has them on!)

Made my lashes too wet and clumpy. And I KNOW how to apply mascara correctly so that wasn't the problem.

I really wanted to like this product too =[

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products