Clinique • Brush-on cream liner in TRUE BLACK • Eyeliner

rated 4.3(201 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ladysonoma on 5/8/2010 12:12:00 PM more reviews by ladysonoma

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is now my favorite. It's just like the cream pencils but there's a ton more of it. In fact, I think this will last me at least two years or more. Of course, I'll probably replace it before then but what a great deal, relatively.

Some say the brush is too small, but not for me. The brush is perfect and the bristles are perfect to put the shape that I want that isn't too thick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HotCurry on 5/6/2010 9:56:00 PM more reviews by HotCurry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is an amazing cream liner...a million times better than Mac's fluidline! It's VERY black, very smooth and easy to work with, and lasts all day, even on my waterline! It also doesn't irritate my super sensitive eyes. Pretty much a flawless product, love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 westcoast84 on 4/23/2010 12:53:00 AM more reviews by westcoast84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

You can see my before and after cream eyeliner photos here
http://citygirlmakeupideas.com/?p=95

Iím a huge eyeliner person. I feel that my makeup is incomplete without thick black eyeliner. Before I got my hands on Clinique Brush-On Cream Liner (14.50 USD), Iíve tried MAC Fluidline, gel liner by Bobbi Brown, and LíOrťal HIP Color Rich Cream Eyeliner. Those are all very popular brands. People raved about these two gel liners, particularly Mac Fluidline and gel liner by Bobbi Brown, thatís why I was greatly disappointed when they both came off my oily lids and smeared under my eyes in the middle of the hot day. I gave up on gel/cream liner all together after those tries and switched to liquid liner. Liquid liners can give you intense jet-black color, and they really donít stay on your eyelids forever. Iíve gone swimming with my gel eyeliner on (Itís private swimming pool so I didnít have to remove my makeup) and it stayed on my face the entire time. However, while liquid liners have amazing lasting power, itís not as easy to work with as cream liners. The slightest wrong move leaves a big dark splotch on you which is hard to clean up. Liquid liners also dry up slower than cream liners which can lead to potential mess if you wink or smudge it by accident. But when theyíre completely dry, they never come off.

Even though I had some good liquid liner days, I had been tempted to go back to cream/gel liner for awhile despite my previous bad experiences I had with them. I was somewhat tired of the stark/harsh line liquid liner gives me, and really wanted to change things up and adopt a softer look. When I picked up Clinique Brush-On Cream Line, I had no expectations whatsoever, but it impressed me.

This liner glides on smoothly, it doesnít dry right away which means you get 10-20 seconds to smudge it out if you wish. But after this, it stays put rain or shine. The texture is creamy and itís perfect for beginners who donít have steady hands. With liquid eyeliner, every jitter of your hand shows on your eye line. This cream liner is also good for making those cat eye flicks.

The brush applicator it came with is flat and stiff, I use Bobbi Brown angle brush which is softer and gives you more precise lining. But since the original brush is so tiny, you can carry it in your purse in case you need some touch up. The Clinique brush quality kind of lower its overall rating, but this little grievance doesnít change the fact that this cream eyeliner is simply one of the best out there.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lsc87 on 4/22/2010 6:44:00 PM more reviews by lsc87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a lovely pigmented liner, very smooth application, and doesn't dry flakey or anything. Stays on all day. However when putting it on the brush, because it is quite solid sometimes clumps do go on the brush. Comes with a little brush which is a good idea, though I do not use the brush that came with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 andygirrl1 on 4/9/2010 1:24:00 AM more reviews by andygirrl1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I got lucky and bought this as my first gel liner. It is so black and easy to work with. I sampled other gel liners and they're not as good as this. This stuff goes on smoooth and it lasts all day long even in the waterline which is a tricky place to keep eyeliner on for the entire day. The price on this is great for the quality.I think $14.50.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FinalDestination019 on 3/16/2010 11:32:00 PM more reviews by FinalDestination019

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

After running out of my HG cream liner, MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack, I decided to try something new when I spotted this at Sephora about a week ago. The packaging is cute and it is about $2 less than the fluidline. I put it on and fell in love. The texture is super creamy, the color is definitely a true black, and slightly more pigmented than the MAC one. It is so easy to manage my brush with this and I use it on both my upper and lower lash line. It lasts an extremely long time and I don't need to reapply like I do with a pencil. This is a great gel eyeliner. I will definitely be repurchasing it. Not too pricey (about $16) and it works great! I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xfallenx on 3/8/2010 2:51:00 PM more reviews by xfallenx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Brush-on Cream Liner is a gel eyeliner. The colour is absolutely true to it's name. It is black unlike MAC's Blacktrack Fluid Line which I find isn't as pigmented. I predominantly use this eyeliner on my waterline. It doesn't cause any irritation to my eyes despite being a contact lens wearer. It also stays put and I don't find myself reapplying every hour like I do with a pencil liner.

This eyeliner costs around £11 in the UK which I believe is very similarly priced to MAC.

The packaging is a small round pot with the Clinique logo on and silver lid. Perfect for a gel eyeliner.

Would I purchase this eyeliner again? Most definitely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 simplexangel on 3/7/2010 1:19:00 AM more reviews by simplexangel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a fan of putting eyeliner on top everyday and sleeping in. I can put this on in less than 5 minutes with an angled brush with minimal mistakes and it lasts all day (I have oily lids too). For subtlety, I just use it to tight line. The tiny brush provided works well for it and the texture is soft enough to not scratch my eyes. Overall, I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OnTheRock111 on 2/25/2010 5:33:00 AM more reviews by OnTheRock111

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Absolutely LOVE this product!!!!!!!
I live in Asia, its always hot and humid AND I am a contact lenses wearer thus, I'm constantly sweating and my eyes are always moist.
This eyeliner stays on forever!!! No matter how much I sweat no matter how hot or rainy the day is, no matter how many tears I shed! It is water-proof.
Usually I apply this eyeliner on my waterlines and it does not smudge or smear or irritate my eyes or my contacts. It goes on so easily and smooth! I just absolutely love it!! Especially because I wear contacts, I have had a huge problem with eyeliners smudging or smearing, creating dark circles around my eyes. But not this one!!!
And yes, it is somewhat pricey, but I've bought mine more than a year ago and I'm still using it! I know it is well known that you shouldn't use these kind of products for more than 7 months or so, but after every time of usage, I close it properly and I always clean my eyeliner brush after every single use. And since its not irritating my eyes or causes me any weird rashes or break outs, its still fine for me.
And some people say that it dries out after long time usage, I say, if you close it properly, it will not dry out as fast. Besides, other gel eyeliners like MAC's fluidline also dry out, even much faster as a friend told me who used both and compared them.
Thus, in my opinion, for a person who wears contacts like me and has problems with smudging u will love this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mbanghart on 2/24/2010 12:13:00 AM more reviews by mbanghart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I know for some people this product is really great but i'm just not that impressed. I find that the color isn't really True Black. It goes on think and the more i try to put on the more it seems to wipe itself away. I sometimes will layer this over a weak kohl liner to make the color stay longer. This cream liner doesn't smudge which is a plus and it does go on pretty smoothly.. flakes a tiny bit towards the end of the day. My main issue is just with the color and the fact that you can get much better cream or gel liners for waaay cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Eyeliner products