Clinique Brush-on cream liner in TRUE BLACK

4.4

206 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

isododecane, cyclopentasilosane, polyethylene, barium sulfate, trimethylsiloxysillicate, disteardimonium hectorite, propylene carbonate, lecithin, phenyl trimethicone, ethylehexylglycerin, hydrogenated polyisobutene, methicone. May contain: mica, iron oxides, carmine, titanium dioxide, yellow 5 lake, ultramarines, manganese violet, chromium oxide greens, bismuth oxychloride, ferric ferrocyanide, blue 1 lake, chromium hydroxide green.


on 7/10/2010 3:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Love this eyeliner because it lasts really long on my oily lid. Mine is a bit dried out but I like the texture a bit more that way because it was a bit like shiny and too creamy when I bought it. Very black color. Brush that it comes with is useless but a nice gesture. Would repurchase!



on 6/24/2010 12:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this as I had relocated to a city that didn't have a MAC counter (boo-urns!) and needed a gel pot liner to replace it, as pencil liners are too chalky to do my signature cat-eye with.

So I bought Clinique's brush-on liner in True Black and have been using it for around 8 months now. How does it compare to MAC Blacktrack?

-It seems to be more slippery than Blacktrack, so it slides right on and is very easy to apply (I use a MAC 209 brush to do my eyeliner)
-However, it does seem to be a bit less pigmented and more transparent. It transfers on to your eyelids halfway through they day if they get oily, and leaves a smeary, "ghost-track" on the hood of your eye. You can slow down the wear of it by prepping your eyelids with matte foundation.
-It's just as, if not more, tenaciously water-resistant than Blacktrack, and still very.. very easy to remove with makeup remover! Yay!

I would recommend this as an alternative to my beloved HG of eyeliners in a pinch. But remember to prep before applying this eyeliner, and either blot or set your crease with translucent powder throughout the day so it doesn't wear off!

Hope this review helped!

- Alice

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2010 9:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great gel eyeliner for first timers at a reasonable price. I found I got a better application with my MAC 209 Eyeliner brush (I like a very thin neat line). The only downside is that it smudges sometimes. I bought the Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner Set and it does exactly what it says...it lasts all day and night without a smudge. I also find the quality and ease of application with the BB Gel Eyeliners are much better.


on 6/16/2010 12:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This Was My First Creme Eyeliner. I Like It Very Much. It Goes On Nicely, And It Is Dark(Atleast You Can Make It By Lightly Applying It Over You Line) I Love It. It Looks Very Smooth And Creamy And Makes My Small Green Eyes Look Big. I Would Definitely Recommend It. It Last A Long Time And By The End Of The Day I Just Grab A Q-Tip With A Lil Lotion And It Comes Right Off!


on 6/11/2010 2:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hm... this was my first cream liner i've ever bought and I have to say it is very gooood. It's not as black as i'd like it to be and i haven't compared it to MAC's gel liner in black, but i'd suppose it isn't as pigmented as MAC's is. other than that, it is super creamy and goes on very niceeee.


on 5/24/2010 7:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is my favorite eyeliner so far. The texture is so smooth and creamy that it's easy to alter and re-alter to your perfection. It also stays on and does not come streaking off at the end of the day. I recommend using either a really thin eyeliner brush or a lip brush instead of the little brush that comes with the application. I use a lip brush - it's easy to handle and it helps me get a precise line.


on 5/8/2010 12:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is now my favorite. It's just like the cream pencils but there's a ton more of it. In fact, I think this will last me at least two years or more. Of course, I'll probably replace it before then but what a great deal, relatively.

Some say the brush is too small, but not for me. The brush is perfect and the bristles are perfect to put the shape that I want that isn't too thick.


on 5/6/2010 9:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is an amazing cream liner...a million times better than Mac's fluidline! It's VERY black, very smooth and easy to work with, and lasts all day, even on my waterline! It also doesn't irritate my super sensitive eyes. Pretty much a flawless product, love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2010 12:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

You can see my before and after cream eyeliner photos here
http://citygirlmakeupideas.com/?p=95

Iím a huge eyeliner person. I feel that my makeup is incomplete without thick black eyeliner. Before I got my hands on Clinique Brush-On Cream Liner (14.50 USD), Iíve tried MAC Fluidline, gel liner by Bobbi Brown, and LíOrťal HIP Color Rich Cream Eyeliner. Those are all very popular brands. People raved about these two gel liners, particularly Mac Fluidline and gel liner by Bobbi Brown, thatís why I was greatly disappointed when they both came off my oily lids and smeared under my eyes in the middle of the hot day. I gave up on gel/cream liner all together after those tries and switched to liquid liner. Liquid liners can give you intense jet-black color, and they really donít stay on your eyelids forever. Iíve gone swimming with my gel eyeliner on (Itís private swimming pool so I didnít have to remove my makeup) and it stayed on my face the entire time. However, while liquid liners have amazing lasting power, itís not as easy to work with as cream liners. The slightest wrong move leaves a big dark splotch on you which is hard to clean up. Liquid liners also dry up slower than cream liners which can lead to potential mess if you wink or smudge it by accident. But when theyíre completely dry, they never come off.

Even though I had some good liquid liner days, I had been tempted to go back to cream/gel liner for awhile despite my previous bad experiences I had with them. I was somewhat tired of the stark/harsh line liquid liner gives me, and really wanted to change things up and adopt a softer look. When I picked up Clinique Brush-On Cream Line, I had no expectations whatsoever, but it impressed me.

This liner glides on smoothly, it doesnít dry right away which means you get 10-20 seconds to smudge it out if you wish. But after this, it stays put rain or shine. The texture is creamy and itís perfect for beginners who donít have steady hands. With liquid eyeliner, every jitter of your hand shows on your eye line. This cream liner is also good for making those cat eye flicks.

The brush applicator it came with is flat and stiff, I use Bobbi Brown angle brush which is softer and gives you more precise lining. But since the original brush is so tiny, you can carry it in your purse in case you need some touch up. The Clinique brush quality kind of lower its overall rating, but this little grievance doesnít change the fact that this cream eyeliner is simply one of the best out there.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/22/2010 6:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a lovely pigmented liner, very smooth application, and doesn't dry flakey or anything. Stays on all day. However when putting it on the brush, because it is quite solid sometimes clumps do go on the brush. Comes with a little brush which is a good idea, though I do not use the brush that came with it.


Back to Top