MAC • 188 Small Duo Fibre Face brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.3(218 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Calicupcake on 1/23/2010 7:11:00 PM more reviews by Calicupcake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have 2 one for using with highlighter and the other to use when I put on Studio Sculpt.. I heart this brush it blends well and as long as you keep it clean it should not shed..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kdoll222 on 1/2/2010 7:08:00 PM more reviews by Kdoll222

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this at MAC, and later found it at a CCO for ten dollars cheaper and got another:) This is sooo great for everything on the face, bronzing, foundation, powder, blush, highlighter,and all. I think it provides a flawless, lighthand apllication and is very versatile. For facebrushes all you need is this andmaybe a powder brush for heavier application, but its just so great! Just wash and condition your brushes before you use to ensure they last a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* malinen on 12/18/2009 4:22:00 PM more reviews by malinen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

At first I regretted that I bought this brush. I couldn't get my foundation (Mac Studio Sculpt) to look good and it shredded like crazy. After experimenting a bit, all I can say is that I love this. This and the MAC 217 are my two favorite brushes. The MAC 188 is my staple when it comes to applying foundation. At first I had some trouble with cakyness when using this, but since I've started using less foundation on the brush it works amazingly well. I use it in swirling or stippling motions depending on my mood and the foundation. My MAC Studio Sculpt applies the best when stippling, but the MAC Face & Body foundation works just as well when applied in swirling motions. Despite being made for foundations it works amazing when used to apply blushes. I just pick some color up with the brush and then swirl it on my cheeks. It looks SO natural!

A common complain when it comes to this brush is that it's hard to clean. I always use my oil cleanser to clean the brushes I use together with cream or liquid products and it works great. The bristles are WHITE after using it and the brush looks brand new!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 12/12/2009 12:17:00 AM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love my 188. It's so soft, and the perfect size for my small face. I use it for blush and highlighter, and it's especially useful for very pigmented products. It stands up very well to washing, and hasn't shed at all. I think it's worth the price because I don't know of another duo fiber brush that's this size, and I can't really replace it with any other brush I own. I exchanged the 129 to get this one, and I'm so happy I did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fromsmithwlove on 12/9/2009 4:33:00 AM more reviews by fromsmithwlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very mixed feelings about the 188. On the one hand, it's my favorite brush for highlighting. On the other, most of my highlighters are easily applied with my fingers (my favorite is MAC's Luna Cream Colour Base), so a brush isn't really necessary. It is a very well-constructed brush, I've had minimal shedding and it's very good at blending and giving an airbrushed look. Was it worth the money I paid for the uses I have for it? Probably not. Is it a great brush? Definitely. I think if you use powder-based highlighters this is definitely a good buy, otherwise I think the 187 has a lot more bang for your buck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinchopeach on 12/5/2009 1:25:00 AM more reviews by pinchopeach

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

HG brush for my blush!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mu5icbtch on 11/29/2009 12:45:00 PM more reviews by mu5icbtch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really didn't like this brush at first. However, I've grown to really like it and use it all the time! I use it to apply blush mainly, but you can use it for a lot more - foundation, highlight, powder etc...I love using this for blush because it allows me to build up and places the perfect amount of colour on my cheeks. Blends very nicely too, and never sheds!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ktdetails on 11/5/2009 8:15:00 PM more reviews by ktdetails

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This brush is a multitasker.
Use can use it for foundation, highlight or blush.
I've tried it for all of those things....
I'd rather use a Sephora #55 for liquid foundation-
But this little wonder is amazing for heavily pigmented blushes.
It's small so you can place color exactly where you want it on your cheeks and it blends really nicely.
The Duo Fiber can help you avoid turning into a discoball with heavily glittered blushes.
I use this brush all the time with my Nars Luster blush...
when I'm done with putting color on my cheeks - I use the same brush to pop a bit of my blush color into my crease - it really ties the look together.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 khadijanile on 10/28/2009 7:08:00 AM more reviews by khadijanile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

great lil brush, magical wonder, i love my 188, i have two 187's one i use for liquid the other for powder. i wasnt sure if i needed the 188 but the reviews it has been getting pushed me to purchase it.

i used it this morning for my tinted moisturiser, where i would usually use my 187... it was a great finish, i cant say its BETTER but for sure you feel like your paying attention to every nick and cranny.

... i have now found that this little brush is great for under eye concealer... i apply concealer under and around my eye using a concealer brush....and blend away with the 187 brush... its magical!!!!

i say yes yes yes to this brush for concealer application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sayoko on 10/25/2009 6:26:00 PM more reviews by Sayoko

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The #188 is definately a brush staple it's Very versatile, like most MAC brushes. This brush is great application brush for applying everything: powder, liquid foundation, bronzer, powder and creme blush....It picks up up color really well plus, it allows you to build product as needed. I washed it several times and it hasn't shed which is great.(I hate excessive shedding) I use the 188 so much that I bought another as a back up. I would definately buy this again.

Pros: versitile
Cons: A little costly

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products