Unlisted Brand • Tazorac • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(209 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 pinchopeach on 10/11/2009 10:09:00 PM more reviews by pinchopeach

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

in all my life, i have never found anything that works like this stuff. tazorac is a long process to killing acne.. it took me 4-5 months to see results and after that, i've remained acne free. the reason why it takes so long is because when you first apply this stuff, it burns really bad for a couple of days and you have to let it heal. then apply again after your skin feels better and so on... it's different for everyone~ i applied to my trouble areas once at night every 4-5 days so that the burning wasn't too bad. once you get past the burning and then healing stage, you will soon see your face clear up. i literally wanted to give up after a couple of months of pain but i'm SO glad i didn't because if you can commit to this, you won't be sorry.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mollyandbert on 10/1/2009 5:44:00 PM more reviews by mollyandbert

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

WOW! im 29y/o, and have had HORRIBLE skin all over my cheeks and chin, even on my neck some, for the past 6 years. ive taken accutane x 2 and it worked temporarily but the zits only came back even worse. like most on here, i've tried everything on my skin and spent so much money on make-up and other things as well. i began takin this in conjunction with spironolactone (100-150mg) about 8 weeks ago and am just THRILLED with the results! i keep touching my face because it literally hasn't been this smooth is years. : D it did make me peel, and turn red, and feel kinda dry and stuff but i just exfoliate in the shower and it helps a lot. im also using merle norman makeup which doesn't itch my face. i started seeing results after about 3 weeks and they have improved every day. its just a great feeling not to have so many zits everywhere ruining my self confidence and causing me embarassment. just try it- and give it about a month or two before you judge it! good luck all!! its awesome!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SheKnowsItAll on 9/23/2009 5:41:00 PM more reviews by SheKnowsItAll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm In Love With Tazorac!

NOTE: I have Not experienced any drying out, peeling, or redness from this product.

COST: With my insurance the cost is $20. With Out insurance it should be around $100 per tube. One 30 gram tube can last 2 months.

MY STORY: After struggling with what is suspected to be hormonal acne for the last 4 yrs (trying everything over the counter as well as natural products) nothing has been able to actually stop the breakouts.

I finally gave in and went to the dermatologist and the first thing out of my mouth was "I don't want to go on accutane!" (because of the side effects reported, do your research). My dermatologist put me on Solodyn (oral anti-biotic), Tazorac Cream (0.5%) at night, and a topical anti-biotic in the morning. I took all of these for 2 months. For the first two weeks I could see a big difference. After 3 wks, everything seemed to stop working as I started breaking out just the same as before the medication. I went back to the dermatologist after the trial 2 months, disappointed of course, and one of the medical assistance had said she was on accutane and her skin cleared up and she's never had another break out. Although I didn't want to go on accutane, I was feeling hopeless & desparate and agreed to go on it. Luckily there is a 30 day waiting period for accutane because you have to have 2 pregnancy tests & blood work drawn (this stuff is highly monitored because of the side effects). During this 30 day wait I was to continue my current routine (tazorac and topical anti-biotic).

It has been 3 1/2 weeks since my last appointment and in this 3 1/2 weeks my skin has SIGNIFICANTLY cleared up. I have had 3 tiny pimples that disappeared in 2 days and I haven't even been using the topical anti-biotic. I've just been using the Tazorac at night. My skin is soft, I've experienced No irritation and it's allowing healing time for my existing scars since other breakouts are not occuring on top of them prolonging the healing process.

When I started seeing such great results I had to ask myself "WHY DID IT TAKE 2 MONTHS FOR ME TO GET THESE GREAT RESULTS?" and thinking back at it, I realize I wasn't using the product correctly after the first two weeks. After two weeks I got lazy and figured I could save time by washing my face and then applying the Tazorac Immediately after and go right to bed. The directions are to Wash Face & WAIT 30 Minutes Before Applying Tazorac. I'm thinking this is the key to the results because when I started waiting the 30 minutes after washing, I was seeing results again. For some reason that 30 minute wait seems to be the ticket! Appearently it has something to do with the absorption.

Needless to say, with such great results from Tazorac I will NOT be going on Accutane. Thank God!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lovisa on 8/29/2009 2:03:00 AM more reviews by Lovisa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have used tazorac 1% and 0.5% on and off for a decade with varying results. When my skin was younger and very oily, I could stand using it every night and found, aside from redness, that it gave a real glow and did help somewhat with acne. A few years ago I stopped using as it was causing really flakey, unsightly dry, reddened skin. After not using for a long time I did notice my skin seemed "older" more lax, less glowy. Anyway, I went to a new derm. several weeks ago for the *awful* jawline acne that's appeared recently---totally hormonal and nothing was working. He suggested short contact every night of 0.5%. for 3 mins then use a lotion he compounds with clindamycin and hydrocortisone. I already knew about sct and was skeptical. It means before bedtime is a real production of washing face, waiting for it to dry--they recommend for 30 mins, not sure why--doing tazorac, then I'm supposed to wait for my face to dry again before applying the lotion...but I have really stuck to it for a month now, which means I've seen my face during it's worst time- the monthly breakout and can say wow I'm really, really happy with results so far. Acne has improved remarkably-like no need for concealer some days-and also skin just looks way healthier. Believe me, like many, my self esteem has been shot by my bad skin over the years, and I have been feeling really good, almost confident the past few weeks as my skin has cleared up and stayed pretty clear. I've been using on my neck, jawline and even undereyes (although sparingly and rinse off after a few minutes) and have seen some definite difference in lines and firmness which is a new concern to go along with acne. All in all, after reading about sct and trying it for myself, I think it's great. It makes a potentially harsh (but effective) product much more tolerable, and therefore more effective.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 naivewanderer on 8/23/2009 3:50:00 PM more reviews by naivewanderer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I was prescribed Tazorac several weeks ago by my dermatologist after numerous other treatments barely helped my moderate cystic/hormonal acne. So far, I'm fairly pleased -- it has done WONDERS for clearing up blackheads and whiteheads, leaving my skin very smooth. The only downside right now is that it seems to make things much worse before it makes them better -- my cheeks, chin, and part of my neck broke out like CRAZY. I am starting to clear up, but it does take quite a long time -- however, after Tazorac clears up an area of skin, that area tends to STAY clear, and if further breakouts occur they aren't as large as they normally would be. I definitely feel that Tazorac is something meant to clear skin over the long term, so don't expect immediate results. I am going to continue to use it and see how my skin looks a few months from now!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tramrak on 8/11/2009 3:49:00 PM more reviews by Tramrak

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Tazorac has been an absolute dream come true for me! all my life (i'm 26 now) i have had pretty normal, clear, easy to deal with skin. an occasional bump or blemish here and there around my period but nothing even close to major...UNTIL the past 6-8 months. i have no idea what brought it on because i haven't changed anything at all in my routine, no new foods, no new medicines, and no new products, but i've developed a really persistent and annoying problem with the skin around my chin area. for some reason i have been fighting a ton of small, flesh colored bumps (whiteheads or closed comedones) that my regular salicylic acid gel wouldn't even begin to help. i tried a ton of different things, including benzoyl peroxide, MaMa lotion, Differin, and Paula's Choice 2% BHA gel to name a few, and while they would help somewhat at first they never cleared things up completely and eventually the bumps would come back to full prominence despite my careful regimen to fight them. i also have a very bad habit of squeezing any and every visible bump on my face and so i was constantly attacking my chin area which would only make things redder, irritated and scabby. i was so distraught that i even thought about trying out a sample of Retin-A that i had gotten as a swap extra even though i know that my skin HATES Retin-A and freaks out as soon as it gets near it. as a matter of fact, my skin has never been able to tolerate ANY retinoid or AHA at all, i immediately break out in huge bright red painful welts. i don't know why i did it, especially since knowing that Tazorac was also a retinoid, but i decided to try out the sample sized tube that i had. at first i started with just a microscopic dot of the medicine on one really persistent white bump that was near my eye (millia) and to my suprise when i woke up the next morning my skin had tolerated it perfectly! so i started using the .05% cream on my bumpy skin nightly after i had moisturized the area first and the results have been incredible. i would say that in a month or so 95% of the bumps have cleared up and disappeared. at first my skin did get dry and at night i could exfoliate a lot of dry flakies off of it but it was nothing like the pain and misery other retinoids caused me. it was a dryness that was easily manageable and didn't ruin my appearance, and after using Tazorac for a while it went away almost completely. i'm also using Persagel (10% benzoyl peroxide) layered lightly on top of the Taz and that has really helped with the war against my pores. i am so absolutely THRILLED with the results i've gotten and i would absolutely recommend Tazorac to people who have had horrible reactions to retinol since i was convinced that i could never use anything derived from Vitamin A and was proven wrong. i would just make sure to advise someone to start out with the .05% cream, use it very sparingly and moisturize well BEFORE applying the it in the first place.
**UPDATE** 3/29/10 after many blissful months of using Tazorac and enjoying wonderful results, my skin took a sudden and unexpected nosedive. i just couldn't understand what had happened-- i hadn't changed anything about my routine or the products i used or even the order that i used them in but out of nowhere my skin became bumpy, red, irritated and so dry in some spots it almost cracked. in a state of panic i committed these very unwise, skin-sabotaging sins: ratcheted up my exfoliation to a nightly basis and started using a Buff-Puff instead of my usual washcloth (i can't stand those dry flakes! gotta get rid of them!), continued using an acne-fighting cleanser which was definitely not helping my angry, parched skin, started using a 2% salicylic acid toner, became heavier handed with the Tazorac and the Persagel, picked at my face more and more the worse it got and stressed out like crazy over the whole situation. after a few weeks with no improvement i was so desperate and so unwilling to accept the fact that my beloved Tazorac had just stopped working for me that i had a breakthrough moment-- i would look up all the usage directions on the Tazorac website, see what i was doing wrong and then follow the directions to the T no matter how unnecessary they seemed. if that didn't work i would just give up. so what i found when i did some reading was that while using Tazorac it's EXTREMELY important that you not use any harsh, drying cleansers or toners containing alcohol and other potentially irritating ingredients. next, and maybe most importantly, it's essential that after washing your face and applying moisturizer you wait a FULL 20 minutes before applying Tazorac. i was basically doing everything totally wrong and it was showing on my skin. once i started using a more gentle cleanser (LOVE Bliss's Foaming Face Wash), tossed the Buff-Puff, ditched the toner, and waited the full 20 minutes before applying the Taz, everything magically fell back into place. my skin is pristine again and i am so thankful i followed the directions! take my advice: no matter how stupid the directions on a prescription (or even OTC) product seem, it's worth following them to make sure you don't end up looking like Freddy Krueger. Long live Tazorac!!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PaigeMontana on 8/10/2009 9:14:00 AM more reviews by PaigeMontana

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

It breaks my heart that I cannot tolerate this, I tried numerous times. Maybe it's my extreme fair skin...But still I am trying to use up the supply that my derm gave me, even bought the Avage. Now I am doing what he told me to do- using the pea-size drop and dotting it on. Layering it with Roc Retinol Intensive just might work also. So far no peeling or burning. If this plan does not work, at least it will not be all for naught, Taz makes for a darn good peel!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DDGattina on 8/10/2009 4:19:00 AM more reviews by DDGattina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

HG, have used for years. First for acne-- it works. Now for acne AND anti-aging. It works. I find it more effective AND more gentle on my skin than Retin A. The Retin A left me very irritated and sun-sensitive, and was less effective at clearing up acne.

Tazorac is ridiculously expensive, even with my healthplan. It's extortion, plain and simple. Fortunately, with overseas pharmacies here to help us, the price is close to dirt cheap. I purchased from India (hint: use a prepaid credit card rather than your regular one, and buy in bulk to defray the shipping costs. If you do that, your price could get down below $5 per tube. And guess what: the .5% gel from India is BETTER (I believe) than either the brand or generic versions in the US! It's a clean-feeling gel instead of a yucky cream.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meltingpotoflove on 7/21/2009 1:10:00 AM more reviews by meltingpotoflove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love Taz. Got a huge bottle of it, and I use it in conjunction with Spironolactone. Has done wonders for my skin, which hasn't been clear for many years! I find that I don't even need to use it every night!
The only thing I don't like is the texture when I first put it on my face, but after it absorbs, this goes away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shushka on 6/29/2009 10:17:00 AM more reviews by Shushka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Tazorac has done wonders for my acne!! I'm so happy.

My only complaints are that it leaves a slightly greasy film on my face, and it lightens my skin (I prefer to be tan!).

... but I think those are small prices to pay for clear skin!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products