Tazorac

4.1

223 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Tazorac Cream Ingredients ---------------------------------- tazarotene 0.05% or 0.1% (w/w). The inactive ingredients are benzyl alcohol, carbomer 934P, carbomer 1342, edetate disodium, medium chain triglycerides, mineral oil, purified water, sodium hydroxide, sodium thiosulfate, and sorbitan monooleate. Tazorac Gel Ingredients ------------------------------ tazarotene 0.05% or 0.1% (w/w). Nonmedicinal ingredients: ascorbic acid, benzyl alcohol, butylated hydroxyanisole, butylated hydroxytoluene, carbomer 934P, edetate disodium, hexylene glycol, poloxamer 407, polyethylene glycol, polysorbate 40, purified water and tromethamine.


on 5/13/2010 4:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the best acne medicaiton I have ever used. It does peel your face, but my derm reminded me that people pay thousands of dollars for chemical peels, this is just less expensive and slower. She also gave me several hints. In the morning, I use Cetaphil gentle cleanser to wash my face followed by Benzaclin (tried both alone and they do best in combo) and Olay Total Defense SPF 30 for sensitve skin. At night, I use the Cetaphil to remove my makeup and wash my face. HERE IS THE TRICK---Use Cetaphil lotion or cream (depending on how dry you are) BEFORE you use your Tazorac. This decreases peeling and redness quite a bit, and it is on the patient rx info that no one reads. My skin has less pimples, looks better and does not peel as bad when I follow these directions.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 4/19/2010 8:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I HATED this stuff when I first started using it, but after using it for several weeks now, I've learned to use it properly.


I was originally using an AHA lotion to moisturize at night, and I would exfoliate in the evenings with a scrub too. Combining Tazorac with an AHA AND exfoliation in the same night is a baaaad idea! I'm on .1% and this is powerful stuff....


I no longer use the AHA lotion (instead I use a regular non-medicated moisturizer). And if I need to exfoliate, I do it in the morning. I only apply Tazorac before bedtime. The biggest side effects for me was the burning and itching. But by eliminating my AHA and exfoliating less frequently, it started feeling a lot better.


This works VERY well with speeding up cell turnover. With that, I also experienced a lot of peeling. I'd put it on at night, and by the next morning when I went to wash my face, I'd notice little flakes of dead skin falling off after cleansing. I started getting new breakouts on my chin and left cheek, and the Tazorac dried them up very, very quickly. It works great with fading post-acne marks (newer marks will fade faster than older ones). My face is definitely evening out in tone and texture.


This stuff will work fine all on its own, meaning you don't really need to supplement it with other harsh acne products. Although, I would recommend applying a layer of moisturizer underneath it to give your skin a protective barrier. And of course, if you apply it in the morning, always add a sunscreen.


UPDATE: Been on this stuff for over a month now, and I'm loving the results. Even after a month, it does still sting when a put it on right away after washing, but I created a little routine for myself: After washing and moisturizing, I wait about a half hour (enough time for my skin to build a slight barrier of natural oil) AND THEN I put the Tazorac on. A little work, but it's fine for me. Does not sting at all when I do this. My skin tone is much more even in tone and texture.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i started this product back in April at my derm's rec for my mild, but stubborn acne. i have mostly blackheads and whiteheads and over the years NOTHING has worked and ive tried everything.
i do NOT recommend this product, particularly if you are truly emotionally suffering w/ your acne and cant take any more stress from it.
Tazorac is harsh, and gave me a very hard time. it creates a lot of redness, dryness, peeling, and breakouts! this broke me out until JUNE and at times the redness/harsh irritation was so bad i honestly looked like i had a disease. i went home crying a few times from work and people asked me what was wrong with my face. In my opinion anyone with acne knows, its bad enough to have it, you dont need this extra aggravation.
overall this didnt even help my skin! i switched to Retin A which was a lot gentler but still rough. finally i increased my dose of spironolactone and it cleared my skin immediately. i still use the Retin sometimes but it doesnt seem to help/hinder any.
if you do decide to use this, listen to your Dr. Do not tan, do not wax, do not use overzealously, and use moisturizers. be prepared to be pale, red, and miserable for a few weeks and then hopefully it will kick in and work for you. it did not for me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2010 1:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product saved my skin. I've done Dan's BP, Diacneal, Duac, MUAC SA's, everything. It takes a very long time to really work (about 3 months) and the beginning is awful... red skin, peeling, more breakouts. You can combat this by washing your face (getting ALL the makeup off), waiting 30 minutes, moisturizing, wait another 30 minutes, then apply a PEA sized amount. After I did this for a few months, I started skipping the moisturizer so it would penetrate a bit more. My skin is still peeling a bit, but a honey mask and manual exfoliation in the shower works well. IF the peeling is really bad I'll use a little Aquaphor. I generally take my makeup off with jojoba oil, then wash my face with a non soap cleanser (neutrogena gentle wash), workout, shower, then apply taz .01 gel before bed. In the morning I'll splash my face with water and use a moisturizer with UV 40 or higher, then apply makeup. I find the less other products you use, the better taz works. I have duac on hand, but I never really have to use it. I find the taz does fine on it's own. Don't give up on this. It will take time to work, but it WILL work, just be patient and stay out of the sun. You'll look younger, have no acne, and an even skin tone. It's worth a few months of pain. TRUST!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This was the second prescription treatment I tried for my acne. (First was Retin-A Gel)

If I had to describe it in one word, it would be "ow".
Of all the products I have used, nothing ever, ever, ever set my face on fire like this stuff.
I went through pain, suffering, peeling, and loads of discomfort for, well, nothing.

I gave it six months and it gave me nothing but a face so tender I couldn't even stand to use foundation on the acne that was coming up.

The worst part is my insurance refused to cover any part of this one. Leaving me with a nasty price tag.


on 1/30/2010 10:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Update #4: (3/28/15) Turns out I blamed Tax for an inflammatory skin condition that was internal, so Taz may have exacerbated, but did not cause it. Now that it is under control, I am back to using taz, and it is erasing the past couple years of aging that this skin condition caused. I also started using it on my hands, and after a month or so, they are looking noticeably firmer. Amazing stuff!!! still super drying though. I can use retin A .025 every other night. This is more like once a week.

Update #3:
It seems like this gave me bad rosacea- burning , itchy, red face and eyes. I can't get it under control and had to go on antibiotics and eyedrops. It seems like Tazorac brought it on, so be careful! I was trying to push through the irritation, and after awhile the irritation just stayed and won't go away though I stopped using any acids/retinoids months ago.


Original review:
Wow - this stuff with SCT is amazing ! I am using it for skin texture, and eventually breakouts though initially it is aggravating them. I am only a few weeks in, so I will update if progress stalls, but so far my skin has improved more than I ever thought possible in just 3 weeks!

First, my skin is so sensitive I gave up on retinoids. I kept trying retin a .025 and retin a micro.04 just once a week, but couldn't build up to twice a week so I stopped after a few months. This time, although skeptical, I started with SCT. I put it on between 10 minutes about every other day. I took off time when my skin got irritated.

I have experienced irritation, and initial breakouts. It visibly increases inflammation, which causes breakouts, and I think the increased moisturizer I have to use is clogging so pores. But it is so worth it, because the product is reversing the problem, and on days irritation subsides, my pores are so much smaller and my skin tone is very even and has a thick glowy look. I have fair, freckly skin, but this product is giving it the tone of thick, olive skin. I can only imagine how great it will be in a few months.

Tip: breakouts are not inevitable, nor are they just 'purging'. They are the result of inflammation, a side effect of the product. If you back off when your skin gets really irritated, you can keep inflammation lower, and keep breakouts to a minimum. I always slow down when skin starts to get red, puffy or break out a lot. I also use a teeny bit of benzoyl peroxide because you have to stop the inflammation right as it starts.

UPDATE: My skin was looking amazing for much longer. Even and glowy and almost a bit 'waxy' but I didn't mind since it was freshlooking. I ran out, and changed to SCT with Retin A .1 gel and it has left my skin texture rough and thin looking and red and pigmented. Somehow is just much more irritating and less effective. Maybe it's the base. I'm going back to Tazorac - if you are not having results with one retinoid, try another

UPDATE #2: With my switch back to tazorac leaving it on all night, under moisturizer, every few nights, and it was awful-breakouts, red, inflamed skin, and dry , old-looking texture. This further proves the SCT can be amazing for people who can't handle an 'all-night' application.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2009 12:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First of all, everyone's skin will react differently to Taz. In my opinion Taz has been very kind to me over the past few months. I have been using Tazorac for about 6 months now. I have tried all 4 formulations and my skin likes the .05 gel the best. The creams continually made me break out and the .1 gel really irritated my skin. I never got an initial breakout like most people did. But I also attribute that to the fact that I only used it every 3rd day for the first 6 weeks, then every other day for the next month before I began to use it daily. I found that, for me, applying Taz directly to my skin (not over moisturizer) is much more effective. But it will be trial and error for everyone who tries it. With that being said, about 6 weeks ago I was ready to give up on Taz altogether. While I was no longer breaking out in large pimples, I was still getting unpredictable clogged pores and random bumps. Well around the 5 month mark my skin completely began crystal clear. I still have some post-inflamatory hyperpigmentation and some mild scarring but it is all manageable. My skin was a mess as I approached my 26th birthday and all of a sudden developed adult acne. I struggled with crazy depression as a result of it for nearly 8 months. I thank Tazorac for allowing me to regain my confidence. For those of you not seeing results...just stick with it for a bit longer...it took me 5 months. My derm insists that it will assist in wrinkles and such in the long-term. I have not seen any results in terms of wrinkles thus far so hopefully I will see that down the road.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/15/2009 6:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I use the gel version of this product because the cream wasn't strong enough. This alone with aczone saved my face. I love this product because I thought nothing would cure my face of acne. This and aczone did. I highly recommend this product if you are having problems with adult acne. Talk to you dermatologist about the product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is the best product for acne suffers. I have used this a month and my skin has totally changed. I used to have uneven oily skin with cystic acne around the jaw line that would not go away for months. My skin care routine consists of a.m. washing with cetaphil gentle cleanser apply Duac gel let dry and apply lots Purpose lotion. In the p.m. I wash with cetaphil apply Purpose lotion and wait 30-45 min. then apply tazorac. One night I tried to apply tazorac by itself and the next day I applied Neutrogena lotion after duac and it burned like heck. It is very important to moisturize before taz or you skin will burn and get red bumbs the next day. Purpose lotion is the only lotion I can use that won't burn my skin because the taz makes skin very sensitive. Your skin will not look so great in the first couple of weeks but it is important to stick with it. I used retin a cream before but I still continued to break out. Now with the duac and tazorac my skin clear even and way less oily. It's a life saver.

****12-23-09.... update. I have found that all I need right now is the tazorac. After using the Taz and Duac for over a month my skin started getting really sensitive and burning so I just use the Cetaphil, Purpose moisturizer and Taz. I tried applying Cerave under taz and my face felt like it was burning up with little red bumps all over. Then I switched back to the purpose lotion under the taz and the next morning my skin looked like it's glowing. With out the Purpose under taz my skin looks dull in the am. Taz is really strong stuff and make skin very sensitive.

******2/3/10 My derm switched me to the gel .1%. The cream was not doing enough for me. I no longer use the Duac and now in the am use Purpose wash and Cerave lotion and in the pm use Purpose wash, moisturize with cetaphil lotion and tazorac gel after 30 min of applying the lotion. I found this way my skin doesn't burn or itch as much. I was getting alot of whitehead but no huge pimples with the cream version. I also found that using cetaphil lotion in the morning made me really oily so I just use it at night and it does a wonderful job making skin really soft so it doesn't peel as much. Cerave is more like a gel lotion but absorbs super fast and doesn't make me look more shiny then what I already am. Cetaphil looks greasy after a while but it's ok because it doesn't affect the taz. With the taz gel I feel like it is actually getting into my pores since i have oily skin.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2009 5:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think I'm one of the few who found this product to be completely useless. After my unsuccessful attempts with Differin, my dermatologist switched me over to Tazorac, with the 0.5%. It made my face red and dry, but it wasn't too bad. It was just completely ineffective. After 3 months of use, my dermatologist decided to up the dosage to 1%. That was horrible, my skin was even more red and it would peel off in flakes. No amount of moisturizer could help with it. If it cleared my acne, then maybe I could deal with the redness and drying, but it didn't. After trying out a couple more brands, I'm now on Retin-A micro which I find to be much more gentle on my skin and it helps get rid of most of my tiny little bumps that cover my face.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Turmeric Mask
Turmeric Mask
185 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
Rosehip Seed Oil
109 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
Rosehip Oil
287 Reviews
Unblemish
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Back to Top