Unlisted Brand • Tazorac • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(215 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 xcaramelissa on 12/1/2009 5:35:00 AM more reviews by xcaramelissa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think I'm one of the few who found this product to be completely useless. After my unsuccessful attempts with Differin, my dermatologist switched me over to Tazorac, with the 0.5%. It made my face red and dry, but it wasn't too bad. It was just completely ineffective. After 3 months of use, my dermatologist decided to up the dosage to 1%. That was horrible, my skin was even more red and it would peel off in flakes. No amount of moisturizer could help with it. If it cleared my acne, then maybe I could deal with the redness and drying, but it didn't. After trying out a couple more brands, I'm now on Retin-A micro which I find to be much more gentle on my skin and it helps get rid of most of my tiny little bumps that cover my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tonyawyatt on 11/23/2009 6:26:00 PM more reviews by tonyawyatt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Tazorac has completely changed my skin! At first, it really does make your skin red and irritated. You must go slow. I didn't take this advise and started with too much and have experienced raw, dried out extremely red, sensitive skin. However, after 3 full months of use, my skin is adjusting and I'm starting to see the benefits as well. My skin is smoother, my pores are smaller, I rarely break out now. I'm just waiting for the long term effects to kick in and start to see my fine lines smooth out a bit. You have to use an extremely mild cleanser and moisturizer when using this. You won't want to use anything harsh because it changes your skin to be extremely sensitive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olelala on 11/10/2009 10:11:00 PM more reviews by olelala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh my gosh, the answer to all my prayers, seriously. In the past year, my skin has been HORRIBLE. The kind where you do not want to leave the house, because you know everyone will be staring. I tried OTC products first, and nothing worked. I went to a derm, tried antibiotics, that didn't work. Tried a bunch of rx things - Klaron lotion, Finacea, RAM, Epiduo. I tried those for 8 months, and though it cleared me up maybe 80%, I was still getting these random cysts that would stay for weeks and scar, and under the skin nodules. Finally, I was rx'd Taz and WOW. So this is what people talk about when they talk about retinoids giving them babybutt smooth skin! Seriously, *1 month* into this and my skin is super smooth, I have ZERO cysts, no clogged pores, and in the light it looks poreless. It's nothing short of a miracle. My hyperpigmentation from post-acne scarring is also going very very fast. Every morning I wake up to brighter, clearer looking skin. I'm astounded.


It looks like a thick, clear gel, and is slightly greasy upon application. It doesn't feel like it sinks in, but in the morning my skin is no longer sticky - my pillow probably eats it up, lol. As a disclaimer, I have skin like an elephant. While RAM and Epiduo did not give me complete results, they also gave me zero side effects. I did not peel, get dry, or turn red from previous retinoids. Taz is definitely making me dry and peel around the corners of my mouth, but nothing lotion can't fix. The first few applications, I did itch around my jawline, but now I hardly itch. I didn't experience purging, although I was coming from months of use of a weaker retinoid so that's probably why.


How I started using it: I did short-contact therapy first. An hour on bare skin, then I'd wash it off and apply just moisturizer, nightly for a week. Then I buffered it with CeraVe, and applied overnight every 3rd night. On the off-nights I just moisturize with Korres Yoghurt Mask (another product that seems to work fantastic with my skin). I am now up to every other night of Taz, with no irritation and very minor peeling. Did I mention I love this stuff? The goal here is to start slow, so that you don't shock your skin. Taz is the strongest retinoid out there, and I am using the strongest strength (0.1%) so its not to be taken lightly. In the daytime, WEAR SUNSCREEN. It's a must, or you'll burn 10x faster.


I paid $0 with my insurance and an instant rebate card my derm gave me, for a huge honking tube (100g, looks like a tube of toothpaste, its going to last me forever!), but I'd gladly pay thousands if this works as wonderfully as it does for years to come!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Thao0226 on 11/1/2009 8:19:00 PM more reviews by Thao0226

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used Tazorac for my acne for a few years and all it did was make my face burn and peel. That's just me though! I'm afraid of anything retinoid now because of my awful experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flawlessbackflip on 11/1/2009 8:04:00 PM more reviews by flawlessbackflip

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using tazorac and duac for 6 years. i use this at night and use duac in the morning. for 6 years up until recently i've been using the silver tube (.01%) but recently switched to the gold tube (.05%) of tazorac.
i have terribly oily skin and the golden tube as made my oily skin dissappear. i am beyond amazed! i also can not live without tazorac and duac for my acne. i ran out a few months ago and my face exploded. i am in the process of getting my skin back to normal.
the only thing is that when i first started using this golden tube, my face burns. i'm sure my skin is just getting used to it, but it's still a side-effect.
also, what i love about the packaging is that it last SO LONG. i've had my silver tube for more than 2 years, and i feel bad for buying a new golden tube because i have so much of the other one left!

edit: i stopped using the golden tube! it dried out my skin like crazy and i couldn't handle it. i switched back to the silver tube and i love it because it gives me the moisture i need at night.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ImYourFavoriteDrug on 10/28/2009 9:58:00 PM more reviews by ImYourFavoriteDrug

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Greatest acne product ever. It took a few months to work but pure dedication really makes this stuff work. I apply moisturizer beforehand and then apply this and it works like a charm!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinchopeach on 10/11/2009 10:09:00 PM more reviews by pinchopeach

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

in all my life, i have never found anything that works like this stuff. tazorac is a long process to killing acne.. it took me 4-5 months to see results and after that, i've remained acne free. the reason why it takes so long is because when you first apply this stuff, it burns really bad for a couple of days and you have to let it heal. then apply again after your skin feels better and so on... it's different for everyone~ i applied to my trouble areas once at night every 4-5 days so that the burning wasn't too bad. once you get past the burning and then healing stage, you will soon see your face clear up. i literally wanted to give up after a couple of months of pain but i'm SO glad i didn't because if you can commit to this, you won't be sorry.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mollyandbert on 10/1/2009 5:44:00 PM more reviews by mollyandbert

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

WOW! im 29y/o, and have had HORRIBLE skin all over my cheeks and chin, even on my neck some, for the past 6 years. ive taken accutane x 2 and it worked temporarily but the zits only came back even worse. like most on here, i've tried everything on my skin and spent so much money on make-up and other things as well. i began takin this in conjunction with spironolactone (100-150mg) about 8 weeks ago and am just THRILLED with the results! i keep touching my face because it literally hasn't been this smooth is years. : D it did make me peel, and turn red, and feel kinda dry and stuff but i just exfoliate in the shower and it helps a lot. im also using merle norman makeup which doesn't itch my face. i started seeing results after about 3 weeks and they have improved every day. its just a great feeling not to have so many zits everywhere ruining my self confidence and causing me embarassment. just try it- and give it about a month or two before you judge it! good luck all!! its awesome!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SheKnowsItAll on 9/23/2009 5:41:00 PM more reviews by SheKnowsItAll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm In Love With Tazorac!

NOTE: I have Not experienced any drying out, peeling, or redness from this product.

COST: With my insurance the cost is $20. With Out insurance it should be around $100 per tube. One 30 gram tube can last 2 months.

MY STORY: After struggling with what is suspected to be hormonal acne for the last 4 yrs (trying everything over the counter as well as natural products) nothing has been able to actually stop the breakouts.

I finally gave in and went to the dermatologist and the first thing out of my mouth was "I don't want to go on accutane!" (because of the side effects reported, do your research). My dermatologist put me on Solodyn (oral anti-biotic), Tazorac Cream (0.5%) at night, and a topical anti-biotic in the morning. I took all of these for 2 months. For the first two weeks I could see a big difference. After 3 wks, everything seemed to stop working as I started breaking out just the same as before the medication. I went back to the dermatologist after the trial 2 months, disappointed of course, and one of the medical assistance had said she was on accutane and her skin cleared up and she's never had another break out. Although I didn't want to go on accutane, I was feeling hopeless & desparate and agreed to go on it. Luckily there is a 30 day waiting period for accutane because you have to have 2 pregnancy tests & blood work drawn (this stuff is highly monitored because of the side effects). During this 30 day wait I was to continue my current routine (tazorac and topical anti-biotic).

It has been 3 1/2 weeks since my last appointment and in this 3 1/2 weeks my skin has SIGNIFICANTLY cleared up. I have had 3 tiny pimples that disappeared in 2 days and I haven't even been using the topical anti-biotic. I've just been using the Tazorac at night. My skin is soft, I've experienced No irritation and it's allowing healing time for my existing scars since other breakouts are not occuring on top of them prolonging the healing process.

When I started seeing such great results I had to ask myself "WHY DID IT TAKE 2 MONTHS FOR ME TO GET THESE GREAT RESULTS?" and thinking back at it, I realize I wasn't using the product correctly after the first two weeks. After two weeks I got lazy and figured I could save time by washing my face and then applying the Tazorac Immediately after and go right to bed. The directions are to Wash Face & WAIT 30 Minutes Before Applying Tazorac. I'm thinking this is the key to the results because when I started waiting the 30 minutes after washing, I was seeing results again. For some reason that 30 minute wait seems to be the ticket! Appearently it has something to do with the absorption.

Needless to say, with such great results from Tazorac I will NOT be going on Accutane. Thank God!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lovisa on 8/29/2009 2:03:00 AM more reviews by Lovisa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have used tazorac 1% and 0.5% on and off for a decade with varying results. When my skin was younger and very oily, I could stand using it every night and found, aside from redness, that it gave a real glow and did help somewhat with acne. A few years ago I stopped using as it was causing really flakey, unsightly dry, reddened skin. After not using for a long time I did notice my skin seemed "older" more lax, less glowy. Anyway, I went to a new derm. several weeks ago for the *awful* jawline acne that's appeared recently---totally hormonal and nothing was working. He suggested short contact every night of 0.5%. for 3 mins then use a lotion he compounds with clindamycin and hydrocortisone. I already knew about sct and was skeptical. It means before bedtime is a real production of washing face, waiting for it to dry--they recommend for 30 mins, not sure why--doing tazorac, then I'm supposed to wait for my face to dry again before applying the lotion...but I have really stuck to it for a month now, which means I've seen my face during it's worst time- the monthly breakout and can say wow I'm really, really happy with results so far. Acne has improved remarkably-like no need for concealer some days-and also skin just looks way healthier. Believe me, like many, my self esteem has been shot by my bad skin over the years, and I have been feeling really good, almost confident the past few weeks as my skin has cleared up and stayed pretty clear. I've been using on my neck, jawline and even undereyes (although sparingly and rinse off after a few minutes) and have seen some definite difference in lines and firmness which is a new concern to go along with acne. All in all, after reading about sct and trying it for myself, I think it's great. It makes a potentially harsh (but effective) product much more tolerable, and therefore more effective.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products