Unlisted Brand • Tazorac • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(218 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 puppycrazy on 12/24/2009 12:06:00 AM more reviews by puppycrazy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, everyone's skin will react differently to Taz. In my opinion Taz has been very kind to me over the past few months. I have been using Tazorac for about 6 months now. I have tried all 4 formulations and my skin likes the .05 gel the best. The creams continually made me break out and the .1 gel really irritated my skin. I never got an initial breakout like most people did. But I also attribute that to the fact that I only used it every 3rd day for the first 6 weeks, then every other day for the next month before I began to use it daily. I found that, for me, applying Taz directly to my skin (not over moisturizer) is much more effective. But it will be trial and error for everyone who tries it. With that being said, about 6 weeks ago I was ready to give up on Taz altogether. While I was no longer breaking out in large pimples, I was still getting unpredictable clogged pores and random bumps. Well around the 5 month mark my skin completely began crystal clear. I still have some post-inflamatory hyperpigmentation and some mild scarring but it is all manageable. My skin was a mess as I approached my 26th birthday and all of a sudden developed adult acne. I struggled with crazy depression as a result of it for nearly 8 months. I thank Tazorac for allowing me to regain my confidence. For those of you not seeing results...just stick with it for a bit longer...it took me 5 months. My derm insists that it will assist in wrinkles and such in the long-term. I have not seen any results in terms of wrinkles thus far so hopefully I will see that down the road.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meaninc on 12/15/2009 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Meaninc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use the gel version of this product because the cream wasn't strong enough. This alone with aczone saved my face. I love this product because I thought nothing would cure my face of acne. This and aczone did. I highly recommend this product if you are having problems with adult acne. Talk to you dermatologist about the product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paulobaptista on 12/1/2009 9:13:00 AM more reviews by paulobaptista

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This is the best product for acne suffers. I have used this a month and my skin has totally changed. I used to have uneven oily skin with cystic acne around the jaw line that would not go away for months. My skin care routine consists of a.m. washing with cetaphil gentle cleanser apply Duac gel let dry and apply lots Purpose lotion. In the p.m. I wash with cetaphil apply Purpose lotion and wait 30-45 min. then apply tazorac. One night I tried to apply tazorac by itself and the next day I applied Neutrogena lotion after duac and it burned like heck. It is very important to moisturize before taz or you skin will burn and get red bumbs the next day. Purpose lotion is the only lotion I can use that won't burn my skin because the taz makes skin very sensitive. Your skin will not look so great in the first couple of weeks but it is important to stick with it. I used retin a cream before but I still continued to break out. Now with the duac and tazorac my skin clear even and way less oily. It's a life saver.

****12-23-09.... update. I have found that all I need right now is the tazorac. After using the Taz and Duac for over a month my skin started getting really sensitive and burning so I just use the Cetaphil, Purpose moisturizer and Taz. I tried applying Cerave under taz and my face felt like it was burning up with little red bumps all over. Then I switched back to the purpose lotion under the taz and the next morning my skin looked like it's glowing. With out the Purpose under taz my skin looks dull in the am. Taz is really strong stuff and make skin very sensitive.

******2/3/10 My derm switched me to the gel .1%. The cream was not doing enough for me. I no longer use the Duac and now in the am use Purpose wash and Cerave lotion and in the pm use Purpose wash, moisturize with cetaphil lotion and tazorac gel after 30 min of applying the lotion. I found this way my skin doesn't burn or itch as much. I was getting alot of whitehead but no huge pimples with the cream version. I also found that using cetaphil lotion in the morning made me really oily so I just use it at night and it does a wonderful job making skin really soft so it doesn't peel as much. Cerave is more like a gel lotion but absorbs super fast and doesn't make me look more shiny then what I already am. Cetaphil looks greasy after a while but it's ok because it doesn't affect the taz. With the taz gel I feel like it is actually getting into my pores since i have oily skin.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xcaramelissa on 12/1/2009 5:35:00 AM more reviews by xcaramelissa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think I'm one of the few who found this product to be completely useless. After my unsuccessful attempts with Differin, my dermatologist switched me over to Tazorac, with the 0.5%. It made my face red and dry, but it wasn't too bad. It was just completely ineffective. After 3 months of use, my dermatologist decided to up the dosage to 1%. That was horrible, my skin was even more red and it would peel off in flakes. No amount of moisturizer could help with it. If it cleared my acne, then maybe I could deal with the redness and drying, but it didn't. After trying out a couple more brands, I'm now on Retin-A micro which I find to be much more gentle on my skin and it helps get rid of most of my tiny little bumps that cover my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tonyawyatt on 11/23/2009 6:26:00 PM more reviews by tonyawyatt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Tazorac has completely changed my skin! At first, it really does make your skin red and irritated. You must go slow. I didn't take this advise and started with too much and have experienced raw, dried out extremely red, sensitive skin. However, after 3 full months of use, my skin is adjusting and I'm starting to see the benefits as well. My skin is smoother, my pores are smaller, I rarely break out now. I'm just waiting for the long term effects to kick in and start to see my fine lines smooth out a bit. You have to use an extremely mild cleanser and moisturizer when using this. You won't want to use anything harsh because it changes your skin to be extremely sensitive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olelala on 11/10/2009 10:11:00 PM more reviews by olelala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh my gosh, the answer to all my prayers, seriously. In the past year, my skin has been HORRIBLE. The kind where you do not want to leave the house, because you know everyone will be staring. I tried OTC products first, and nothing worked. I went to a derm, tried antibiotics, that didn't work. Tried a bunch of rx things - Klaron lotion, Finacea, RAM, Epiduo. I tried those for 8 months, and though it cleared me up maybe 80%, I was still getting these random cysts that would stay for weeks and scar, and under the skin nodules. Finally, I was rx'd Taz and WOW. So this is what people talk about when they talk about retinoids giving them babybutt smooth skin! Seriously, *1 month* into this and my skin is super smooth, I have ZERO cysts, no clogged pores, and in the light it looks poreless. It's nothing short of a miracle. My hyperpigmentation from post-acne scarring is also going very very fast. Every morning I wake up to brighter, clearer looking skin. I'm astounded.


It looks like a thick, clear gel, and is slightly greasy upon application. It doesn't feel like it sinks in, but in the morning my skin is no longer sticky - my pillow probably eats it up, lol. As a disclaimer, I have skin like an elephant. While RAM and Epiduo did not give me complete results, they also gave me zero side effects. I did not peel, get dry, or turn red from previous retinoids. Taz is definitely making me dry and peel around the corners of my mouth, but nothing lotion can't fix. The first few applications, I did itch around my jawline, but now I hardly itch. I didn't experience purging, although I was coming from months of use of a weaker retinoid so that's probably why.


How I started using it: I did short-contact therapy first. An hour on bare skin, then I'd wash it off and apply just moisturizer, nightly for a week. Then I buffered it with CeraVe, and applied overnight every 3rd night. On the off-nights I just moisturize with Korres Yoghurt Mask (another product that seems to work fantastic with my skin). I am now up to every other night of Taz, with no irritation and very minor peeling. Did I mention I love this stuff? The goal here is to start slow, so that you don't shock your skin. Taz is the strongest retinoid out there, and I am using the strongest strength (0.1%) so its not to be taken lightly. In the daytime, WEAR SUNSCREEN. It's a must, or you'll burn 10x faster.


I paid $0 with my insurance and an instant rebate card my derm gave me, for a huge honking tube (100g, looks like a tube of toothpaste, its going to last me forever!), but I'd gladly pay thousands if this works as wonderfully as it does for years to come!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Thao0226 on 11/1/2009 8:19:00 PM more reviews by Thao0226

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used Tazorac for my acne for a few years and all it did was make my face burn and peel. That's just me though! I'm afraid of anything retinoid now because of my awful experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flawlessbackflip on 11/1/2009 8:04:00 PM more reviews by flawlessbackflip

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using tazorac and duac for 6 years. i use this at night and use duac in the morning. for 6 years up until recently i've been using the silver tube (.01%) but recently switched to the gold tube (.05%) of tazorac.
i have terribly oily skin and the golden tube as made my oily skin dissappear. i am beyond amazed! i also can not live without tazorac and duac for my acne. i ran out a few months ago and my face exploded. i am in the process of getting my skin back to normal.
the only thing is that when i first started using this golden tube, my face burns. i'm sure my skin is just getting used to it, but it's still a side-effect.
also, what i love about the packaging is that it last SO LONG. i've had my silver tube for more than 2 years, and i feel bad for buying a new golden tube because i have so much of the other one left!

edit: i stopped using the golden tube! it dried out my skin like crazy and i couldn't handle it. i switched back to the silver tube and i love it because it gives me the moisture i need at night.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ImYourFavoriteDrug on 10/28/2009 9:58:00 PM more reviews by ImYourFavoriteDrug

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Greatest acne product ever. It took a few months to work but pure dedication really makes this stuff work. I apply moisturizer beforehand and then apply this and it works like a charm!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinchopeach on 10/11/2009 10:09:00 PM more reviews by pinchopeach

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

in all my life, i have never found anything that works like this stuff. tazorac is a long process to killing acne.. it took me 4-5 months to see results and after that, i've remained acne free. the reason why it takes so long is because when you first apply this stuff, it burns really bad for a couple of days and you have to let it heal. then apply again after your skin feels better and so on... it's different for everyone~ i applied to my trouble areas once at night every 4-5 days so that the burning wasn't too bad. once you get past the burning and then healing stage, you will soon see your face clear up. i literally wanted to give up after a couple of months of pain but i'm SO glad i didn't because if you can commit to this, you won't be sorry.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products