La Roche Posay Effaclar K

3.8

217 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Salicylic Acid 1.5%) Aqua, Isonoyl Isononanoate, Propylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Salicylic Acid, Octyldodecanol, Zinc PCA, Sodium Hydroxide, Retinyl Linoleate, Ammonium Polyacryldimethyltauramide/Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Cetyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Fragrance


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

oh my gosh, what happened! i had such high hopes for effaclar k after reading some of these reviews but the truth is, it didnt work for me at all. i broke up constantly while using it, it might be my high maintenance skin but it didnt help me at all :( im really disappointed in this product but ill give them credit since it works for alot of others i see. my guess is the gel cleanser is what is really working for them and not actually this or it might be this but my skin sucks.



on 8/6/2009 4:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used this product on and off for years, but lately have used it more consistently.

It is ideal for my skin, which is sensitive and prone to vague 'congestion'--not really major acne, but lumps and bumps, scars/redness etc. I can't scrub my skin, so this is my way of exfoliation.

The way I use it is as a treatment at night, without anything over it. Just a dime size or less covers my face. I also don't use it every night, just when I see some congestion building up. My skin is softer after regular use, and it doesn't dry out my skin, although I am not using a lot of other things on my face (i.e. no Retin-A ). I also use Alpha H Liquid Gold, but I don't use it at the same time as the Eff. K.

I don't mind the smell, and I am able to use it under my makeup, but not under my sunscreen (that makes the sunscreen peel--and the sunscreen is Anthelios LRP for comb. skin).

as with most skincare, it is hard to determine what will work without trying it.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2009 4:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this cream while in Europe because I ran out of my beloved (and dearly missed) Retin-A. Effeclar K did nothing to prevent me from breaking out all over again or from developing blackheads and uneveness in tone. However, I maintained relatively smooth skin otherwise, though I have no idea if that is due to this product.

All of this is to say that Effeclar K is worse than Retin-A and I don't know but suspect that it is not particularly better than regular moisturizer. As with all noncontrolled skin experiments, this review should be taken with a grain of salt.


on 8/4/2009 11:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It works!
Yes, it REALLY works!
I've been using it for only 2 or 3 days but my skin has improved significantly! (believe me i've tried lotsa stuff)
La Roche Posay makes really good stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2009 6:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I had a couple samples of this product floating around, and I finally decided to use them this week on my combination, sensitive, acne-prone skin. I ended up using the product only once on my face and using the rest on my legs (I epilate, so my legs are prone to ingrown hairs). Due to such limited usage, I can't say how effective this product is. However, I can say that I would never consider purchasing it for two reasons: (1) although I regularly use a 2% BHA product with no irritation at all, this product made my sensitive facial skin sting and get red bumps, and (2) even if it didn't irritate my skin, the fragrance is so terrible--it smells like insect repellent--that I hated having it on my face (I couldn't smell it so much when it was on my legs). Overall, this is one of the worst BHA products I have tried, although I did like the thin lotiony texture.
Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid 1.5%. Inactive Ingredients: Water, DI-C12-13 Alkyl Malate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Propylene Glycol, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, PEG-4 Dilaurate, PEG-4 Laurate, Zinc PCA, Sodium Hydroxide, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Iodoproponyl Butylcarbamate, PEG-4, Fragrance.

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 7/23/2009 4:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have now dealt with acne/scarring for 6 years. When I hit year 4, I was introduced to this product line. Initially, I was skeptical due to the cost ( between 20-35 dollars per item, 4 steps), but in the end, I don't regret it at all!

The wash comes in either a gel or cream form (use the gel), then you use the toner, then the medicated moisturizer. I highly recommend using the spot treatment in addition to the three steps, as I found my smaller spots would disappear within 12-48 hours!!

I have never had cyst-like acne, fortunately, but I have heard this also will work wonders on that type as well. Personally, I just have had normal acne, but lots of it. After three days of using this system, I noticed drastic differences. The products were gentle, and I never noticed that dreaded stinging sensation that the salicylic acid in acne products usually give.

Now, my acne is gone due to this wonderful line of products, and I still continue using it to this day, to prevent the acne from returning. Though the cost sure hurts the wallet, you can purchase it at Shoppers, where you can use the Optimum points collected towards purchasing them for free or at a discounted price. Also, London Drugs often has stamp cards, where when you buy 5 or 9 (I forget which it is) you get one product free (any item, any price!)

Though it does not cause scarring, it also will not relieve you of scarring you might have already accumulated. For that, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE try Bio-Oil. The results made me cry!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/21/2009 8:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ok, I've only been using this for 4 days, so I will definitely do an update later on.
So far It's great. I love how this controls the oil production; waking up with a matte face hasn't happened to me in a loooong time! Also, I have a problem with clogged pores, which makes me pick my skin (horrible habit, I know, it basically controls my life, makes me need to wear foundation, and this clogs my pores too and so on... so that's why I'm searching for something to unclog my pores) Anyway, I've been using this twice a day, and my skin is clearing up!! No more new breakouts, just soft matte skin. I'll need to wait a little longer to see the long term effects, but I'm pretty sure this will keep my skin under control. If so, this would be a miracle in a tube after trying about everything out there, including accutane!
UPDATE; I'm not using this anymore, the effects were probably due to something else, because I started to break out again (not especially because of this product though)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2009 9:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

After having gone through my teenage years with no acne problem whatsoever, I was foolishly confident that my skin would never be a problem. Until I turned 20 and the fires of hell broke loose. The combination of a traumatic breakup, cakey foundation (in hindsight, excessive amounts of mu must've been one of my ways to grieve) and summer heat made my skin show me a whole new self; to my absolute horror, I was suddenly age 15 skinwise. Humiliated, I had to visit the dermatologist for the first time. It was also then that I found out that adult acne does exist and can rear its ugly head whenever, on whoever's skin.
So the doctor decided my new and exciting acne was mild enough to try and treat with cosmetic products, before jumping to actual meds, and she sent me out to buy Effaclar K to use after the matching Effaclar wash. That was also the first time I got to have a complete skincare routine, even though to my horrified self it felt like I was being treated for some disease back then:-D
To make a long story short, the conjuction of Effaclar K and the Effaclar wash didn't magically wipe everything away, but within a month it had made a big difference. The second phase of my treatment, which actually diminished the problem, was the Effaclar wash combined with Effaclar K in the morning and a heavily medicated prescription gel in the evening.
Now fast forward to last Spring: I'm 26 now, and while I keep my skin under control for the most part (with the religious use of products designed for oily skin), around Easter my face decided it was time to go on strike yet again, to remind me of those good old times I guess. I thought things over and decided I'd switch to the La Roche - Posay regime for a month, and if it didn't work out, visit the dermatologist to give me prescription stuff; made sense to me.
Well I never got to go to the doctor after all. The Effaclar treatment cleared things up by itself. Actually for the first 3-4 weeks I used Effaclar K every morning and night after cleansing. Then I switched to using a simple moisturizer for oily skin in the morning, and Effaclar K before bed, which I still do now, and my skin has gone back to normal. I plan to keep using Effaclar K once a day throughout the Summer and the upcoming Fall, so that I can ensure my skin doesn't flip out on me again.
Now as for Effaclar K specifically: it comes in a metal tube like a medicated cream would, and it has a very thin and runny consistency. However I have to stress out that after absorbing into the skin not only does it not mattify, but it actally leaves quite a shiny finish, which is why I always use it before bed, unless my skin is in a really bad state, in which case I suck it up and use in the morning as well. While I hate my skin being shiny, I gladly tolerate it, because I consider Effaclar K a full-blown treatment, not a lotion that's supposed to moisturize and provide a makeup base. After all, it's clearly stated on the package that this one is supposed to make your skin regenerate itself for the problem to diminish. That being said, if you ignore the shiny finish, it doesn't seem to get in the way of my makeup.
Another thing I'd like to stress out is, this can cause areas that are prone to dryness (if you have any) to go wild. Personally while every part of my face is breakout prone (my cheeks even more than my T-zone), the area specifically around my mouth has the tendency to get dry. Well, within the first two weeks of using Effaclar K two times a day, it went ballistic; it became one large dry patch, complete with redness, pain and even flaking. I took care of that with Vaseline and Palmer's, and now that I use once a day, my morning moisturizer has completely made the problem go away. Beware though; especially if it's cold where you live, you do want to moisturize your dry parts intensively if you're using this.
Well, that was long - excuse my enthusiasm. To sum things up, this is my go - to product when everything else fails. My last resort before dermatologist and prescription meds.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2009 12:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I cannot live without this product. I don't know how it works, I don't know why it works, but it does. I've never had full-blown acne and up until about 2-3 years ago my skin was always relatively clear with the occasional zit. But somewhere the tides turned and those occasional zits turned into 1-2 giant ones that took weeks to go away and left red spots on my pasty skin, only to have another 2 emerge immediately afterwards in new places, and this cycle went on and on without an end in sight. I actually fled to Canada to buy Effaclar K [this was before LRP was in the US], tried to use it as a spot-treatment on existing pimples - what I thought it was good for - and grew pretty discouraged when it did absolutely nothing to shrink/eliminate them so I didn't touch it again for a few months. During that time my skin continued its downward spiral and something made me pick this up again to try as an all-over treatment, applying a light layer to my face after cleansing but before moisturizing every single day, once in a while twice a day. I would say within 3 weeks I began to notice pimples WERE clearing up a little faster but it was by no means a miracle product that got rid of them overnight. However, with continued use it has been a godsend. In the months following my breakouts decreased dramatically - fewer ones were popping up and the ones that did weren't sticking around as long and weren't leaving red marks. Fast forward to today and I can honestly say I get maybe one small breakout every 3 months, if even that, that immediately comes to a head with very little redness and disappears within 3 days. My complexion looks brighter, clearer and more even. Oh and I have SD so almost everything irritates the piss out of my skin, including many other LRP products, but this was not one of them!

It may seem expensive at $20 for 1 oz. but I use less than a pea-sized amount daily and it lasts me about 5 months. I also cut open the tube when it's down it's last leg and am able to scrape out another few days worth. The ONLY thing I don't like is the the metal tube - I have repurchased a few tubes now and almost every single one, when there's about 1/4 or less left, has gotten little puncture holes in the metal from when I squeeze it [and I have a light hand!] and there's sometimes minor leakage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/29/2009 5:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought it because I hoped I will find the right products for my pimples and oily skin. Was a wrong decision, because my face getting worse, my wrinkles was deeper, and the condition of my skin did not improved at all. I am very disappointed. I will not buy it again.And I am feeling sorry for the money I wasted.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
531 Reviews
Sudocrem
137 Reviews
Nerium AD
73 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top