La Roche Posay • Effaclar K • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(212 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 carwee on 7/23/2009 4:58:00 PM more reviews by carwee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have now dealt with acne/scarring for 6 years. When I hit year 4, I was introduced to this product line. Initially, I was skeptical due to the cost ( between 20-35 dollars per item, 4 steps), but in the end, I don't regret it at all!

The wash comes in either a gel or cream form (use the gel), then you use the toner, then the medicated moisturizer. I highly recommend using the spot treatment in addition to the three steps, as I found my smaller spots would disappear within 12-48 hours!!

I have never had cyst-like acne, fortunately, but I have heard this also will work wonders on that type as well. Personally, I just have had normal acne, but lots of it. After three days of using this system, I noticed drastic differences. The products were gentle, and I never noticed that dreaded stinging sensation that the salicylic acid in acne products usually give.

Now, my acne is gone due to this wonderful line of products, and I still continue using it to this day, to prevent the acne from returning. Though the cost sure hurts the wallet, you can purchase it at Shoppers, where you can use the Optimum points collected towards purchasing them for free or at a discounted price. Also, London Drugs often has stamp cards, where when you buy 5 or 9 (I forget which it is) you get one product free (any item, any price!)

Though it does not cause scarring, it also will not relieve you of scarring you might have already accumulated. For that, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE try Bio-Oil. The results made me cry!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cem on 7/21/2009 8:18:00 AM more reviews by cem

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Ok, I've only been using this for 4 days, so I will definitely do an update later on.
So far It's great. I love how this controls the oil production; waking up with a matte face hasn't happened to me in a loooong time! Also, I have a problem with clogged pores, which makes me pick my skin (horrible habit, I know, it basically controls my life, makes me need to wear foundation, and this clogs my pores too and so on... so that's why I'm searching for something to unclog my pores) Anyway, I've been using this twice a day, and my skin is clearing up!! No more new breakouts, just soft matte skin. I'll need to wait a little longer to see the long term effects, but I'm pretty sure this will keep my skin under control. If so, this would be a miracle in a tube after trying about everything out there, including accutane!
UPDATE; I'm not using this anymore, the effects were probably due to something else, because I started to break out again (not especially because of this product though)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* danai on 7/17/2009 9:43:00 AM more reviews by danai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After having gone through my teenage years with no acne problem whatsoever, I was foolishly confident that my skin would never be a problem. Until I turned 20 and the fires of hell broke loose. The combination of a traumatic breakup, cakey foundation (in hindsight, excessive amounts of mu must've been one of my ways to grieve) and summer heat made my skin show me a whole new self; to my absolute horror, I was suddenly age 15 skinwise. Humiliated, I had to visit the dermatologist for the first time. It was also then that I found out that adult acne does exist and can rear its ugly head whenever, on whoever's skin.
So the doctor decided my new and exciting acne was mild enough to try and treat with cosmetic products, before jumping to actual meds, and she sent me out to buy Effaclar K to use after the matching Effaclar wash. That was also the first time I got to have a complete skincare routine, even though to my horrified self it felt like I was being treated for some disease back then:-D
To make a long story short, the conjuction of Effaclar K and the Effaclar wash didn't magically wipe everything away, but within a month it had made a big difference. The second phase of my treatment, which actually diminished the problem, was the Effaclar wash combined with Effaclar K in the morning and a heavily medicated prescription gel in the evening.
Now fast forward to last Spring: I'm 26 now, and while I keep my skin under control for the most part (with the religious use of products designed for oily skin), around Easter my face decided it was time to go on strike yet again, to remind me of those good old times I guess. I thought things over and decided I'd switch to the La Roche - Posay regime for a month, and if it didn't work out, visit the dermatologist to give me prescription stuff; made sense to me.
Well I never got to go to the doctor after all. The Effaclar treatment cleared things up by itself. Actually for the first 3-4 weeks I used Effaclar K every morning and night after cleansing. Then I switched to using a simple moisturizer for oily skin in the morning, and Effaclar K before bed, which I still do now, and my skin has gone back to normal. I plan to keep using Effaclar K once a day throughout the Summer and the upcoming Fall, so that I can ensure my skin doesn't flip out on me again.
Now as for Effaclar K specifically: it comes in a metal tube like a medicated cream would, and it has a very thin and runny consistency. However I have to stress out that after absorbing into the skin not only does it not mattify, but it actally leaves quite a shiny finish, which is why I always use it before bed, unless my skin is in a really bad state, in which case I suck it up and use in the morning as well. While I hate my skin being shiny, I gladly tolerate it, because I consider Effaclar K a full-blown treatment, not a lotion that's supposed to moisturize and provide a makeup base. After all, it's clearly stated on the package that this one is supposed to make your skin regenerate itself for the problem to diminish. That being said, if you ignore the shiny finish, it doesn't seem to get in the way of my makeup.
Another thing I'd like to stress out is, this can cause areas that are prone to dryness (if you have any) to go wild. Personally while every part of my face is breakout prone (my cheeks even more than my T-zone), the area specifically around my mouth has the tendency to get dry. Well, within the first two weeks of using Effaclar K two times a day, it went ballistic; it became one large dry patch, complete with redness, pain and even flaking. I took care of that with Vaseline and Palmer's, and now that I use once a day, my morning moisturizer has completely made the problem go away. Beware though; especially if it's cold where you live, you do want to moisturize your dry parts intensively if you're using this.
Well, that was long - excuse my enthusiasm. To sum things up, this is my go - to product when everything else fails. My last resort before dermatologist and prescription meds.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rainey_daze on 7/17/2009 12:45:00 AM more reviews by rainey_daze

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I cannot live without this product. I don't know how it works, I don't know why it works, but it does. I've never had full-blown acne and up until about 2-3 years ago my skin was always relatively clear with the occasional zit. But somewhere the tides turned and those occasional zits turned into 1-2 giant ones that took weeks to go away and left red spots on my pasty skin, only to have another 2 emerge immediately afterwards in new places, and this cycle went on and on without an end in sight. I actually fled to Canada to buy Effaclar K [this was before LRP was in the US], tried to use it as a spot-treatment on existing pimples - what I thought it was good for - and grew pretty discouraged when it did absolutely nothing to shrink/eliminate them so I didn't touch it again for a few months. During that time my skin continued its downward spiral and something made me pick this up again to try as an all-over treatment, applying a light layer to my face after cleansing but before moisturizing every single day, once in a while twice a day. I would say within 3 weeks I began to notice pimples WERE clearing up a little faster but it was by no means a miracle product that got rid of them overnight. However, with continued use it has been a godsend. In the months following my breakouts decreased dramatically - fewer ones were popping up and the ones that did weren't sticking around as long and weren't leaving red marks. Fast forward to today and I can honestly say I get maybe one small breakout every 3 months, if even that, that immediately comes to a head with very little redness and disappears within 3 days. My complexion looks brighter, clearer and more even. Oh and I have SD so almost everything irritates the piss out of my skin, including many other LRP products, but this was not one of them!

It may seem expensive at $20 for 1 oz. but I use less than a pea-sized amount daily and it lasts me about 5 months. I also cut open the tube when it's down it's last leg and am able to scrape out another few days worth. The ONLY thing I don't like is the the metal tube - I have repurchased a few tubes now and almost every single one, when there's about 1/4 or less left, has gotten little puncture holes in the metal from when I squeeze it [and I have a light hand!] and there's sometimes minor leakage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sanziana29 on 6/29/2009 5:05:00 PM more reviews by sanziana29

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought it because I hoped I will find the right products for my pimples and oily skin. Was a wrong decision, because my face getting worse, my wrinkles was deeper, and the condition of my skin did not improved at all. I am very disappointed. I will not buy it again.And I am feeling sorry for the money I wasted.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tequierosparrow on 6/25/2009 2:40:00 PM more reviews by tequierosparrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

best mattifyer! i absolutely love this! i tried the effaclar M matt moisurizer and it broke me out i think. this is absolutely a great product.

i have oily, acne prone skin and i use this before bed and before makeup after my moisturizer. i used to develop that classic (ugh) oily sheen partway thru the day...not any longer! and on work days (im a nurse on a busy busy critical care area) i STILL do not have any oil buildup.

i am in love. will repurchase :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kitty_82 on 6/19/2009 12:30:00 AM more reviews by Kitty_82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Utterly useless.

This did nothing at all for me. I used the whole tube and neither felt nor saw anything different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kathi200 on 6/9/2009 11:00:00 AM more reviews by Kathi200

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product. It keeps my skin clear and soft!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smclub on 6/2/2009 8:18:00 AM more reviews by smclub

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have used 2 tubes of Effaclar K but my pores are still very clogged. Hate that smell too.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eurodivas on 5/7/2009 7:14:00 AM more reviews by eurodivas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I did not have much success from this product. Was recommended by derm as I was looking for an alternative to Avene which I have used for years. The product left my skin very dry and irritated though I have oily skin. Too harsh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments (Face) products