La Roche Posay • Effaclar K • Treatments

rated 3.8(204 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 smclub on 6/2/2009 8:18:00 AM more reviews by smclub

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have used 2 tubes of Effaclar K but my pores are still very clogged. Hate that smell too.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eurodivas on 5/7/2009 7:14:00 AM more reviews by eurodivas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I did not have much success from this product. Was recommended by derm as I was looking for an alternative to Avene which I have used for years. The product left my skin very dry and irritated though I have oily skin. Too harsh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Baiju on 5/4/2009 3:17:00 PM more reviews by Baiju

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Good product. Just the smell, somewhat feels like toothpast. I still miss Avenue's Cleanance K.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dustdream on 5/4/2009 7:51:00 AM more reviews by dustdream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is HG for my skin! Helps to prevent breakouts (I have extremely acne-prone skin) and generally helps to clear our my prone-to-clogging pores. Also my skin gets cranky when it doesn't get this on a nightly basis, those zits start showing up again. I'm on to my third tube and have noticed a general improvement in my complexion. Smells great and has a nice, runny consistency that settles in quickly too. However it does nothing to manage oil, so I definitely wouldn't recommend as a make up base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elleokay on 5/1/2009 7:12:00 AM more reviews by elleokay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This did a good job at preventing future whitehead breakouts, but didn't really do anything for my blackheads or dealing with cystic breakouts. It had a nice matte finish to it, but that was masked by the moisturizer. The packaging was kind of agrivating trying to get product out of the metal tube towards the end.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ceci2468 on 4/26/2009 9:24:00 PM more reviews by Ceci2468

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. It worked great for my adult acne and black/whiteheads. I use a light moisturizer afterwards. The small tube lasts a very long time. You don't need to use much and it dries quickly. It's also great for razor bumps. Just apply after shaving and no razor bumps. I bought some for my 21 year old son who has mild acne and gets razor bumps easily and it solved his problems. I highly recommend this and I would buy it again. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OrdPsy on 3/18/2009 8:25:00 PM more reviews by OrdPsy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I used to use this in the past, which reminds me I have to restock as it worked well to combat blackheads and improve the surface of my skin. No serious pore refining though and it does not work on other spots for me just blackheads, which is fine as I mostly get those.

When I get other spots I use spot on treatment such as ole henriksen, fucidin and differin. Effaclar AI was not bad if I remember correctly but I do not think it was as powerful

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 saibu on 1/26/2009 10:36:00 PM more reviews by saibu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

dried my skin out so much that it was painful. so i could use it long enough to witness the anti-acne results. not for people with sensitive skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lslouffm on 1/19/2009 12:46:00 AM more reviews by lslouffm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I saw a blurb in British Vogue that Natalia Vodianova uses this to clear up her pores the day before a shoot. I should know better than to buy off the beauty recommendations in Vogue, but this was cheap enough that I thought I might as well try it -- $20 was far better than the $60+ that pore-refining treatments usually go for.

Did it minimize my pores? No. It did take some of my smaller blackheads and make them into whiteheads, but my bigger pores / blackheads remain ever the same. I've been using it for over a month, and I see no measurable difference in the pores on my nose other than that a few small blackheads have turned into pimples, which doesn't generally happen.

What Effaclar does do is clear up acne other than blackheads quickly (hence the 3 rating). When I used it on the deep, underskin acne on my chin, or on the whiteheads I sometimes get there, it cleared them up in a matter of a day or two. This is better than most acne treatments, but a little worse than normal toothpaste (which my chemist family members have always recommended as the best acne treatment).

But I'm still on the lookout for something that will work as a pore minimizer (and no, those $60+ treatments I've tried also didn't work, which was why I thought I'd give Effaclar a spin).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xue88 on 1/1/2009 7:19:00 AM more reviews by xue88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i decided to try this product after reading on raves that it can clear clogged pores and blackheads. it does help in clearing the bumps, but not before turning them into small painful pus-like pimples! the pimples just keeps appearing and i have finally decided to stop using this product after trying for a month. another thing is, i cannot understand how it can be used as a makeup base as it appears so shiny and sticky on me. am on another lookout for a product which can clear clogged pores without the trauma of pimples appearing time and again.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments products