La Roche Posay • Effaclar K • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(209 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rainey_daze on 7/17/2009 12:45:00 AM more reviews by rainey_daze

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I cannot live without this product. I don't know how it works, I don't know why it works, but it does. I've never had full-blown acne and up until about 2-3 years ago my skin was always relatively clear with the occasional zit. But somewhere the tides turned and those occasional zits turned into 1-2 giant ones that took weeks to go away and left red spots on my pasty skin, only to have another 2 emerge immediately afterwards in new places, and this cycle went on and on without an end in sight. I actually fled to Canada to buy Effaclar K [this was before LRP was in the US], tried to use it as a spot-treatment on existing pimples - what I thought it was good for - and grew pretty discouraged when it did absolutely nothing to shrink/eliminate them so I didn't touch it again for a few months. During that time my skin continued its downward spiral and something made me pick this up again to try as an all-over treatment, applying a light layer to my face after cleansing but before moisturizing every single day, once in a while twice a day. I would say within 3 weeks I began to notice pimples WERE clearing up a little faster but it was by no means a miracle product that got rid of them overnight. However, with continued use it has been a godsend. In the months following my breakouts decreased dramatically - fewer ones were popping up and the ones that did weren't sticking around as long and weren't leaving red marks. Fast forward to today and I can honestly say I get maybe one small breakout every 3 months, if even that, that immediately comes to a head with very little redness and disappears within 3 days. My complexion looks brighter, clearer and more even. Oh and I have SD so almost everything irritates the piss out of my skin, including many other LRP products, but this was not one of them!

It may seem expensive at $20 for 1 oz. but I use less than a pea-sized amount daily and it lasts me about 5 months. I also cut open the tube when it's down it's last leg and am able to scrape out another few days worth. The ONLY thing I don't like is the the metal tube - I have repurchased a few tubes now and almost every single one, when there's about 1/4 or less left, has gotten little puncture holes in the metal from when I squeeze it [and I have a light hand!] and there's sometimes minor leakage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sanziana29 on 6/29/2009 5:05:00 PM more reviews by sanziana29

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought it because I hoped I will find the right products for my pimples and oily skin. Was a wrong decision, because my face getting worse, my wrinkles was deeper, and the condition of my skin did not improved at all. I am very disappointed. I will not buy it again.And I am feeling sorry for the money I wasted.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tequierosparrow on 6/25/2009 2:40:00 PM more reviews by tequierosparrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

best mattifyer! i absolutely love this! i tried the effaclar M matt moisurizer and it broke me out i think. this is absolutely a great product.

i have oily, acne prone skin and i use this before bed and before makeup after my moisturizer. i used to develop that classic (ugh) oily sheen partway thru the day...not any longer! and on work days (im a nurse on a busy busy critical care area) i STILL do not have any oil buildup.

i am in love. will repurchase :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kitty_82 on 6/19/2009 12:30:00 AM more reviews by Kitty_82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Utterly useless.

This did nothing at all for me. I used the whole tube and neither felt nor saw anything different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kathi200 on 6/9/2009 11:00:00 AM more reviews by Kathi200

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product. It keeps my skin clear and soft!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smclub on 6/2/2009 8:18:00 AM more reviews by smclub

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have used 2 tubes of Effaclar K but my pores are still very clogged. Hate that smell too.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eurodivas on 5/7/2009 7:14:00 AM more reviews by eurodivas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I did not have much success from this product. Was recommended by derm as I was looking for an alternative to Avene which I have used for years. The product left my skin very dry and irritated though I have oily skin. Too harsh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Baiju on 5/4/2009 3:17:00 PM more reviews by Baiju

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Good product. Just the smell, somewhat feels like toothpast. I still miss Avenue's Cleanance K.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dustdream on 5/4/2009 7:51:00 AM more reviews by dustdream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is HG for my skin! Helps to prevent breakouts (I have extremely acne-prone skin) and generally helps to clear our my prone-to-clogging pores. Also my skin gets cranky when it doesn't get this on a nightly basis, those zits start showing up again. I'm on to my third tube and have noticed a general improvement in my complexion. Smells great and has a nice, runny consistency that settles in quickly too. However it does nothing to manage oil, so I definitely wouldn't recommend as a make up base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elleokay on 5/1/2009 7:12:00 AM more reviews by elleokay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This did a good job at preventing future whitehead breakouts, but didn't really do anything for my blackheads or dealing with cystic breakouts. It had a nice matte finish to it, but that was masked by the moisturizer. The packaging was kind of agrivating trying to get product out of the metal tube towards the end.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments (Face) products