Cover Girl • Clean Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.7(205 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 isabellaxxmarie on 9/13/2009 5:18:00 PM more reviews by isabellaxxmarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I just dont really like this makeup. It smells funny and I dont like how the bottle is designed. I dont wear foundation at the moment, just a thin layer of powder, and I think that If i went back to foundation, this would NOT be it. I am a nw15 and I dont remember what kind I used, but it wasnt a pretty sight

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amwong on 9/12/2009 2:27:00 AM more reviews by amwong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I usually wear NC 30 but after getting a tan on holidays, needed a slightly darker shade. Cover Girl Creamy Natural is a perfect match.


I got the original to try out instead of oil-free or fragrance-free just because it was on sale (CAN $5). The medicinal smell everyone keeps talking about is pretty obvious but doesn't really bother me so that's not a big deal. The lack of oil control however, is a huge minus. I get pretty shiny and this foundation didn't help at all when i discovered my nose and forehead gleaming back at me within 2 hours.


Good coverage though. And a little goes a long way. But i'd probably buy the oil-free version next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tm1999 on 9/10/2009 10:06:00 PM more reviews by tm1999

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

this was the first foundation i used when i started using makeup in middle school. it was ok at the time. it wouldn't last on me because of my oily skin,so i always had to touch up. the colors i wore were ivory for the winter,and creamy natural for the summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Olena on 9/7/2009 1:20:00 PM more reviews by Olena

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I'm on my third bottle of this stuff :-)
I guess I'm in the minority, but I like actually like this product quite a bit. First of all, the price. That's actually what inspired me to buy this product in the first place. I hadn't yet found my holy grail product as far as foundation went. I'd been using a department store brand that I was unsatisfied with, so when I saw this at Wal Mart, I was pretty much like, what's 5 dollars? So... I gave it a try, and may I just say I'm so happy that I did!
Classic Ivory is my perfect shade-- it doesn't require blending with any other foundations, which is obviously a plus.
I would say that this product is medium-coverage. My light freckles show through, but my skin is beautifully evened out and appears smooth. It's not very buildable, but it's very blendable to an even finish. If you want coverage but don't have anything MAJOR to hide, I recommend this foundation. If you do have something major to hide, I recommend it anyway, because it fits very well into a full-coverage routine. My skin is actually quite good, but I like full coverage, so I follow this up with concealer and a powder, and that works well for me.
The smell.... it's bad. Not gonna lie. I'm pretty sure most people would agree on that one. To me it smells like a hospital-- like sterilization. However, I don't really notice it when applying it anymore, and it definitely fades after a few minutes, so it's not like people are disgusted when they go anywhere near my face.
Minor issue: This foundation does NOT hold up in the heat and humidity, so in the summer, I'd recommend replacing it with a tinted moisturizer. Otherwise, it's long-lasting. To get the ultimate results, though, you really need to follow with a finishing powder. If that feels like too much on your face, you can always use a lightweight, sheer one.
The packaging is certainly convenient, in the sense that it is a compact and clean method of storage. The only thing I hate is that it can get a little messy when you are pouring this out onto your hand to use with a foundation or stippling brush.
Overall, I really don't feel the need to experiment with other foundations. This is just a good, go-to product. The ability to get it cheap allows me to feed my addiction to more expensive products. Highly recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AshleyD2010 on 9/2/2009 6:13:00 PM more reviews by AshleyD2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is my second bottle. I like this foundation from CG because it is cheap, non comedogenic, never breaks me out, and makes my skin glowy. But, why, why CG. the shade is only off by a teeny bit. )=. I have this in tawny. i don't know what shade i am in mac cosmetics, but i believe it is btwn nc30-40. I have many acne scars and dull-ish skin and this make my face glow so well that ppl wonder if my pictures are altered bcuz my skin is so glowy and perfect, when i wear this!! No one could even tell that i wear foundation when i put this on. Great stuff, and cost me 3 bucks(=
*p.s.be careful with this because the product is glass, lol, my little brother broke my last bottle and i got so upset, lols.*

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dulcetpurr on 8/27/2009 2:33:00 PM more reviews by dulcetpurr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I kind of think of this as the good ole standby when it comes to foundations. I keep a bottle of it around all the time, even when I'm trying other foundations. I keep coming back to it because there's no surprises, and I know exactly what I'm going to get with this foundation. I've known forever that I'm the lightest shade, ivory, I know it's always available and cheap, and I know I get a great natural look with good coverage. I find the smell to be comforting, it takes me back to my high school days when I used this makeup exclusively. :)


The staying power of this foundation is pretty good. I like that it covers my acne scars so well. I love the dewy looking finish I get with this stuff. This probably isn't a good foundation for oily skinned gals...I'm pretty dry, so it's great for me, though.


Trying new foundations is so stressful...trying to find the right shade for you, trying to figure out exactly how much you need, etc etc...Time and time again I feel like I want to stick with the tried and true, and that's a very adequate description of Cover Girl's Clean Makeup. Yeah, there are probably better foundations out there, more expensive, better packaging and such, but why fix what ain't broke?

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sw33tBlond3 on 8/17/2009 5:34:00 AM more reviews by Sw33tBlond3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me say that I'm a bit of a makeup whore and I have tried just about every foundation out there... from the very very cheap to the very very expensive and this is one of the best out there. This foundation has the right amount of coverage without looking orange or cakey. It has a beautiful smooth dewy finish and covers imperfections quite well. It also has great staying power with a light dusting of powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Deedix11 on 7/24/2009 4:06:00 PM more reviews by Deedix11

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I suspect that people claim to not like this product for two main reasons: The Noxzema smell, (clean makeup variety) and it's another dirt cheap product. The Noxzema smell is a personal thing. Some find it nostalgic, some think it's medicine-y smelling and some think everything has to have a nice perfumey smell. I believe the smell in this makeup is put there on purpose because many women have used it for years, and it is simply a classic part of this product.

Then of course there are those that think that just because it's not something you can buy at a department store cosmetics counter or pay big bucks for, it must not be any good. If you've looked around this site long enough, you must have discovered that this is simply NOT true. There are many wonderful cosmetics, from foundations to eyeshadows to lipsticks to hair products and everything in between, that do not require a great big price tag to be excellent. That being said, I think this product is absolutely one of the best foundations out there. Great coverage, great color selection, great price, great performance. This is a true HG product all the way.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CLEOJLW on 7/24/2009 12:45:00 PM more reviews by CLEOJLW

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, so this product is not a favorite of many but, it is most definitely my favorite. I actually received like six bottles of these for free from a person who worked for the distributing company. But, I am so happy for this product. I don't like to toot my own horn but, I love my skin. I had acne problems in my preteen years but, after that no major problems besides an occasional pimple. However, I love this product because it accentuates my skin, gives it a flawless finish, while also maintaining the smoothness of it. I love that this product is geared toward maintaining the skin and I feel it really does its job. I rarely have any outbreaks and I wear this product 6 days out of the week. The coverage is smooth (i apply with a wedge sponge) and flawless. It does have a tendency to look oily but, I follow up with pressed powder. Overall, I love this product because with just a little amount I receive the coverage I need without looking like a cake face. I don't see myself ever trying another product and once I go through my stash of this foundation I will repurchase.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ccj36 on 7/21/2009 7:07:00 PM more reviews by ccj36

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like many others, this was the first foundation I used when I started wearing makeup. I've kept a bottle on hand over the years b/c it seems to help my skin heal when I break out. I usually buy Ivory, which is actually a little lighter than my skin tone but seems to look better. The Noxzema smell doesn't bother me. I think a light application is key for using this makeup; when I've been heavy-handed, it feels too thick and doesn't look as nice as it does when I've applied it lightly. Maybe it's the Noxzema, but it clears up my skin after a couple of days when I use it. It's a keeper as far as I'm concerned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Liquid products