NYX • Black • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(189 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 UnityDivides on 1/9/2010 4:29:00 PM more reviews by UnityDivides

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

THE ultimate matte black shadow. Beats any other black shade I've ever seen. I've never used MAC Carbon, but see no need when I have NYX Black. It's a fantastic addition to any makeup bag because it can be lightly applied to the outer corner of the lid to spruce up or smoke out a regular lid color. Very, VERY pigmented and has great staying power. Will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 petitderriere on 1/8/2010 10:08:00 AM more reviews by petitderriere

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After borrowing my friend's, I HAD to buy my own. This is a beautiful eyeshadow. Very dark matte black, very soft and super pigmented. It is a must-have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bambie_Blonde on 12/25/2009 2:30:00 PM more reviews by Bambie_Blonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Wow, this is one heck of a pigmented eyeshadow! I thought my last black matte eyeshadow was pigmented, but not compared to NYX's black! I have been wanting to purchase this for awhile, but I wanted to use up my other black eyeshadow first (which was Annabelle's Ebony) and I wish I just would have purchased this sooner. I like using black E/S in my crease and my lid, depending on what look I want- I dipped my brush into this and one dip was enough to shade my whole crease fully, I had to go over it one more time to shape and I was done in a very short amount of time since there was nearly no blending needed & the color was so strong. I am so happy with this purchase, I have been nothing but pleased with all my NYX eyeshadow singles so far. Where I live in Canada these retail for $7.98 each, I prefer to purchase them from Cherry Culture for $3.50, it takes 2 weeks to arrive but I think its worth it as I can pick up other NYX items for dirt cheap. If you want a black matte shadow that will beat out MAC's Carbon anyday- you need to try this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Xelestra on 12/18/2009 11:30:00 PM more reviews by Xelestra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A limerick, for NYX's Black.


There once was a shadow from NYX,
I picked up to sate my cheap "Carbon" dupe fix,
"Black" is SO versatile
You can't help but smile
And price for the quality? I'm shitting bricks.


... hmm. I'll work on that more.

37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kad9k on 12/17/2009 12:46:00 AM more reviews by kad9k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Other    

Fabulous product. I don't have MAC Carbon, so I can't compare, but I don't foresee ever needing to buy it. This is everything I want in a matte black: smooth, silky, dark & pigmented. A must-have staple.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mandiluk on 12/16/2009 11:32:00 PM more reviews by mandiluk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Must have for makeup users. This is such a smooth blendable matte black! I love using it to top off my khol eyeliner and it doesn't run and keeps my liner in place! Such a must have with multiple ways to use it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zunaira on 12/13/2009 12:32:00 AM more reviews by zunaira

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really potent black eyeshadow! The color payoff is great, which means a really intense black but at the same time, its blendable. I loove this shadow...great for smokey eyes or just a little bit extra drama when placed in the outer corner and/or the crease.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brittbrat118820 on 11/25/2009 11:52:00 AM more reviews by brittbrat118820

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a good, matte black (and I do mean black) eyeshadow. I tried using it as an eyeliner but there was too much fallout. I love the color because its a true black with no shimmer. My only gripe with this is that the day after I got it it broke! Its crumpled now on one side but I can still use it. Its not like i dropped it or anything, it was just in my makeup bag and my other NYX eyeshadows didn't break. I took one lippie off for that but I will still probably repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maybelle on 10/15/2009 10:01:00 PM more reviews by maybelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this matte black shadow. I've sampled MAC Carbon (not buy, too expensive), and I find there is very little difference. This shadow is a must have. I have this as a single as well as part of one of the palettes.


Edit: I find that every time I use this, or any black eyeshadow for that matter, it smudges. I'm not happy about smudging, nor am I happy about black eyeshadow anymore. I tend to prefer a charcoal. For all the ones I've tried, this is still one of the ones I would prefer to use, but I'm pretty much staying away from black eyeshadow unless I'm doing a very smoky eye. Sorry, minus one lippie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candyrivera on 10/11/2009 11:00:00 PM more reviews by candyrivera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

A must have basic shadow! In my opinion like a few others, this black is better than MAC's Carbon. It has a very smooth and creamy textures and blends very well. I also use this to line my eyes and it lasts all day. I love that the quality is wonderful and the price is great! I will repurchase when and if I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products