Dermablend • Cover Creme - Cream • Concealers

rated 3.7(218 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Liddy on 4/30/2008 9:35:00 PM more reviews by Liddy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this to cover some old red acne marks but it broke me out by the end of the day where I applied it! It's not necessarily the mineral oil in the product that is the problem, although mineral oil can be mildly comedogenic in some people it is actually classified as a "noncomedogic" ingredient, but the isopropyl palimate which is HIGHLY comedogenic! It is a known pore clogger and acne promoter so if you have acne prone skin this will totally make you break out! So I got covermark's face magic foundation instead because although it does have mineral oil it does not contain isopropyl palimate or any other comedogenic ingredient. Better colours than dermablend's cover cream as well. However I really love dermablend's new leg and body cover...it's been reformulated and has great natural looking colours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shilohcalista on 4/29/2008 10:33:00 PM more reviews by shilohcalista

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am reviewing the newer version of cover creme which I got a decent sample of from a SA the other day. I asked to sample Chroma 1 Rose Beige and she wrote Chroma 1 Pale Ivory (which is Chroma 0) on the bottle, so at the moment I am not certain which color I am trying...lol I will add to my review if necessary after a color change.

Pros: Feels like a dream on. My skin is soft and supple. No mask like feeling normally present with full coverage makeup.Fragrance free. Non irritating to my very sensitive skin. No silicones which I seem to have a problem with. Blends easily with no need for moisturizer first. Slow drying so it leaves you time to blend and make sure its all even. Did not dry my skin out. Did not emphasize wrinkles.

Cons: My sample is too light in color so until I can find a great color match in the next cool shade up I am not sure if this is a keeper as an all over face makeup or just as a concealer. Application is tricky, it seems easy to use too much but luckily it blends and wipes off very easily so I am sure that can be mastered.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 melg_1981 on 4/17/2008 5:39:00 PM more reviews by melg_1981

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is an OK product for covering undereye circles, but I hate how obvious and cakey it looks. I have tried using primer (which does help) and the LM secret brightening powder to set it, but that just seems to make it even more apparent. The coverage and opacity is good, but IMO, it's not worth the money. I would suggest trying Physicians Formula concealer RX instead, it's a fraction of the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suzicole on 4/16/2008 5:45:00 PM more reviews by suzicole

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm transgendered and need a product that'll cover anything, and dermablend is absolutely the best foundation I've found. I blend a winter tone and a summer tone depending on the time of year and use a really small amount rubbed in and remove the excess with a sponge and it lasts all day. The trick is to not spackle it on.

It even completely covers a tattoo, the light shade makes a great eyelid base that holds the eyeshadows forever, and a small dab will also cover scars or dark spots on my legs or arms.

Great stuff, and it lasts forever.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cupcakemakeup on 3/15/2008 4:01:00 AM more reviews by cupcakemakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

love love love this i use it all the time it makes my skin flawless in photos! i got mine from qvc the first time then from ebay and will def rebuy but it lasts for ages and i mean ages! i havent used any other concealor for about 7 years! i get it out the pot using a spatchelor then rub it in the palm of my hand till its warm and creamy then dab it onto where its needed then use mac blot powder over the top. I was using the set powder but ran out and havent repurchased yet. I suffer from spots and this does an amazing job of covering them up and red marks they use dermablend on actresses adn actors on tv etc and it can be used to hide birth marks etc. im currently on some tablets for my spots so hopefully when i finish i wont need to use dermablend but i would def 100% repurchase for the 3rd time! xx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Paulinecheyram on 1/1/2008 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Paulinecheyram

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Coverage is great, but caused my skin to get worse. look at the ingredients! mineral oil, parabens, all bad for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chick_n_atx on 12/27/2007 8:59:00 PM more reviews by chick_n_atx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have very oily skin and have horrible acne scars... I am only 20 years old and it's very hard to find something that will stay put the whole day.

I saw the dermablend makeup being discussed on many websites and decided to give it a try myself. The first time I went to the Dermablend counter it was a disaster, I went on a Saturday and the person who was there was not at all familiar with the products... she did my make-up and told me which was my "perfect" color... as soon as I stepped into the outside light I noticed how horrendous it looked (very cakey). I went home and tried to put a lighter coat on but it was not the right shade and that was the problem... I went back to the store during the weekday and finally got some good feedback. Turns out that the shade I was given was too dark and had pink undershades when I needed yellow undertones.

It took a lot of practice to get the right "look" with this makeup but it's the best thing I've ever used!! I use a wet sponge to dip into the makeup and then blend it on my face... I apply the setting powder and I'm set for the day... any other brand and I would have to reapply my makeup at least twice a day because of my oily complexion but with this, I only need to reapply the setting powder after a few hrs to keep it looking perfect.

A lot of people give this makeup bad reviews but I think it's due to having the wrong shade, applying too much or not blending it correctly. Don't add too much moisturizer to your skin before hand because that causes the makeup to slide right off during the day. I would recommend going to several Dermablend counters at different stores... and don't worry about being persistent, that's what they're there for... after they do your makeup go outside and take a look at it before committing to buying anything, you might also want to ask them to try to mix to shades to get your ideal color. One more thing to remember is that this makeup was made to cover up FLAWS so it has a thick consistency and a high concentration of color... a little goes a long way!!! Just blend, blend, blend! If you're not happy get your money back or get an exchange for a better shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redheadjane on 12/12/2007 10:44:00 PM more reviews by redheadjane

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Oxidized on my skin within three hours. I was as orange as a pumpkin. It didn'y go on smoothly either. I had to fight to make it look right. Very blotchy and caked up. I was hoping to cover my acnes scars but it just looked terrible. Tried it three times using three methods. It's just a bad product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annemosca on 12/1/2007 5:52:00 PM more reviews by annemosca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Well, I have a lot of discoloration on my pale ivory face, but I like that "Nicole Kidman" look of porcelian and perfect skin (ok, I'm in a dream world, but whatever!). This product helps me actually get close to achieving this, and I've been using it as my foundation. I love the look I get.....even and pretty, and if I use the setting powder it lasts a long time...hours and hours. You MUST blend it up or mush it up between your fingers before you put it on your face, or it will be a total disaster. Once you mush it and warm it, you only need a little and it works miracles! This also never, ever breaks me out (and I am prone). I could NOT live without this, and all my other crappy foundations are going back to the store. They just don't cut it. Oh, and I also LOVE that Dermablend has SO many colors to choose from.....perfect!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Scottish72 on 11/29/2007 1:05:00 AM more reviews by Scottish72

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Purchased and tried this product on several occasions. It's a very heavy concealer and since I have dark circles that are extremely hard to cover-up, I did use this product for a while. It's thick in consistency which can be a good or bad thing for an individual and in my case I thought the thick consistency would help cover the dark circles under my eyes. It worked OK, nothing exceptional about Dermablend. It was definitely quite the "chore" and then some to make sure I removed it all when washing my face with my cleanser and more often than not, I had to repeat several times to get it all off (or so I thought it was all removed). However, this stuff definitely stays put! It did cake up on my skin (even with a "light handed" application), and drawed attention to dryness, fine lines, which is not a "compliment/attribute" I was happy about (who is???). I decided to keep looking and I am glad that I haven't gone back to this product/item as I have found other concealers that have worked fairly well without the "putty knife" to remove all traces of this cover-up. Overall, not impressed and wouldn't recommend for the reasons stated above.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermablend products

More Concealers products