Avene • Skin Recovery Cream (US name: Cream For Intolerant Skin) • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(214 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 SL2 on 8/24/2010 4:03:00 AM more reviews by SL2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the rich version of this cream as an eye/lip balm. Although the rest of my face is very oily, the skin around my eyes/lips is very dry, but many creams cause milia or breakouts. I bought it because of the high shea content when a Bioderma sunscreen caused severe irritation around my eyes and found it very soothing and plumping without causing puffiness. It is also the best lip balm I have found and makes a great base for lipstick, without giving me tiny pimples around the mouth area, as sometimes happens with other lip balms that I have tried. The skin on my neck is very sensitive and this caused no problems when I used it in place of an A-derma cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jadengai on 7/26/2010 4:36:00 PM more reviews by jadengai

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have really sensitive, blotchy, rough like tree bark skin, redness, itchiness and flakiness all together. I believe how I got this bad was that I used nearly-hot water to shower instead of lukewarm water, which gradually striped moisture off my skin. My skin got so sensitive because of dehydration. I didn't realize this until I start using Avene skin recovery cream.

At first, I thought my skin changes as I get older, so I turned to use a more nourishing cream which did make me feel much better, no tightness. But a week later my skin gets oily very easily, and soon pimples, zits, whiteheads all appeared. I did use hydrating masks, but still no good result. My skin could not absorb anything, all the cream and masks I used were left on my skin, leaving it oily and ruined.

So I turned to Avene recovery cream, with the Avene thermal spray. I first spray a mist of thermal water on my face, wait for it to dry up for 80%, then apply the cream and rub it into my skin with the thermal water. It absorbed right into my skin, there's no oiliness or tightness. I tried to rub it in without the thermal water, it won't absorb in. Maybe becoz my skin was too damaged that it needs the thermal water as a sponge.

After 4 days of use (day and night), my skin had such improvement (no more pimples, whiteheads) that I decide to keep using this cream as a night cream. But this is a bad decision, becoz after my skin got much better (smooth but still with tightness), this cream starts to lose its magic. It would not absorb into my skin, leaving it greasy. My cheekbone area turned red again and on top of that, white cysts start broking out all over my face. I figured out that it's the mineral oil in this cream.

So, only use this cream when your face break out badly, damaged and must stop using it after it recovers.

It's stupid that this cream can be only use as medication and thus not worth for its price. But then this is the only thing that cures burning faces, so good to keep one near you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lils88 on 6/16/2010 3:57:00 AM more reviews by Lils88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I used to have this as my moisturiser. I don't think it is too thick for me as I did not see an increase in my skin problems but it did not help with my existing issues either. I first started on this as my mother got this from her dermatologist when her skin reacted badly to some products, she now use this on my brother who has really irritated skin on his back.

I don't particularly like or dislike this product but I think it will work best on people either with irritated skin or very dry skin. If you have 'normal' skin, then this probably won't make much difference to you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Breve on 6/3/2010 12:17:00 PM more reviews by Breve

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like this as a nightime moisturizer. I tried wearing it during the day but it was just too heavy (I think it's the mineral oil), even for my dry skin. My skin ate it up and it was very soft afterwards, but it gave me a bit of breakouts. However I find wearing this at night is perfect because your skin dries out during the night so the more emollient lotion is perfect for that. When I wake up in the morning my skin is soft but not oily and I don't need to wear a lotion during the daytime anymore. One lippie off for the price and the fact that it's too oily to wear during the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissTrine on 5/16/2010 2:50:00 PM more reviews by MissTrine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my absolute favorite cream for my face. I have used it nonstop since 2006 and my skin is so soft and moisturized all through. It is mild enough to use as an eyecream.

Now theres a new richer formula, I use that instead, because I love how it feels.

Would I buy this product again? I have the last 4 years, so yes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyHox on 5/3/2010 10:22:00 AM more reviews by HollyHox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This product is nothing short of amazing. I have to confess - as much money as I spend on makeup I have been so stingy with skin care and I've been buying whatever is on sale or is cheap. Recently my skin freaked out - breaking out like crazy, rough scaly patches (almost like an allergy) and being both dry and oily at the same time.

A SA at Murale reccomended Avene products in general, and I shrugged it off and bought more makeup (I know).

Then I stumbled across a pack of Avene products (this cream, thermal water and a cleanser) for $35, and I had enough points on my card to actually only have to pay $10. See? Still being cheap.

Anyways, I've learned my lesson in skin care and I will buy this at full price from now on. Instantly my skin felt hydrated and dewy. Not greasy in the least. Within 1 day - yes, ONE day, my skin pretty much cleared up. This moisturizer feels absolutely amazing and I'm excited to try more Avene products in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sodagreen on 4/8/2010 11:34:00 PM more reviews by sodagreen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am a huge fan of Avene, it actually saved me from the bumpiness brought by sensitive skin allergy. Whenever I try something new on my face, if it doesn't suit my skin then the bumpy thing will pop up on cheeks and forehead. But this cream is like the savior to the bumpy things... they disappear within few days.

Although I favour the light hydrating cream more than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kate_rose on 4/6/2010 12:16:00 PM more reviews by kate_rose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This is perfect if you've trashed your skin - use with a very gentle cleanser and the Avene Thermal Water spray, give it a couple of weeks and watch as your skin thanks you for it! It's a wonderful, light, non-greasy moisturiser which is just the thing for over-worked and stressed skin. It helped me get over the last of my acne, in conjunction with Diacneal, which was another wonder product for me, and worked nicely in conjunction with it to finally calm my skin and stop the cycle of reactions and breakouts to all the other nasty junk I was plonking on it, ostensibly to get rid of the spots. Great stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crabu on 3/26/2010 5:15:00 PM more reviews by crabu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This cream is awesome for sensitive,irritated,dry,scaly and flaking skin.I had an allergic reaction and tried everything for 3 weeks and went to the Dr. twice,still no help! Then the Lady at shopppers drug mart told me about this,so I came home and looked up the great reviews on makeup alley and went back to buy it.Within 2 days my face started to clear up from the allergy.Plus I looked it up online at Avene and you can use this under your eye safely,which is great.Any of you out there with allergic eyes or face and have tried everything...try this.Works immediately.Always keep your receipt for everything incase you have to return it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kizzia52 on 3/22/2010 4:15:00 AM more reviews by kizzia52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I am so thankful my mum got me this. I had run out of my usual moisturiser AND Avene thermal water so she got me a set which had this, the thermal water and a sample bottle of extremely gentle cleanser. The whole thing cost $32(CAD) I think which is the cost of the moisturiser on it's own normally.

Avene products have really been a saviour for my skin. Since starting to use retinoids regularly for my acne my skin has become extremely sensitive, so much that pretty much every moisturiser I have tried has burned my skin. I have no idea what ingredient(s) my skin doesn't like but I have not had any burning with this.

It is quite expensive for only 40ml but you don't need a lot. I only use a pea sized amount for my whole face. Misting with thermal water before applying the cream makes it go a long way. However, I do find that it does take a while to absorb and it will be shiny. In the day time I use mineral makeup over it usually so that doesn't bother me too much.

I'm sure I will buy this again. It's a few dollars cheaper than my regular Lush Vanishing Cream and easier for me to get since it's sold in drug stores. It still is expensive but when nothing else works it's worth it. If you have sensitive skin like me I would completely recommend that you try this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Moisturizers products