Avene • Skin Recovery Cream (US name: Cream For Intolerant Skin) • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(222 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ns4487 on 1/9/2011 5:51:00 PM more reviews by ns4487

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great moisturiser! I love that it has so few products - i did have a look to see if there were any irritating ings, and there does not appear to be (which is great for me as I have very clog-prone skin!). The feel is luxe and it absorbs quickly leaving my skin feeling hydrated. It is quite expensive, and you only get a small amount (40ml) but I will continue to purchase this. I love it, and am going to try out some of Avene's other products as soon as I have the cash. Have been using this for a few weeks now with no breakouts! Highly recommended!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Martine74 on 1/9/2011 12:45:00 PM more reviews by Martine74

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The first time I got this cream was when on holidays in Spain and I got the worst bout of sun allergy. I went to a pharmacy and the lady suggested this cream and to stay out of the sun ;).

Within 5 days of intensive applying and reapplying my skin was back to normal, and I've used it ever since. Sometimes I try another cream, a more "advanced" one (Dior, Chanel, Clinique, Clarins), but they left me with break outs, so no other cream for me.

This cream is just perfect; it calms, sooths, moisturizes, protects (winters here are brutal), absorbs very quickly.
Hope it will never be discontinued. That would be truly horrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 middlemarch on 12/27/2010 4:01:00 PM more reviews by middlemarch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I apply this moisturizer in the morning and evening. Pros: great price, fragrance-free, easy to apply, anti-irritating and makes skin soft. Cons: only 40 ml tube. I think you're suppose to use this for skin to "recover" and then go back to your regular cream (?). Also, I wish the tube was clear so you could see how much is left. I left Clarins for this product and I'm happy about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 justbeinghonest on 11/29/2010 1:39:00 PM more reviews by justbeinghonest

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I have dry, mild rosaecean/SD prone skin, and this moisturizer has been a lifesaver! I've been using it for only two weeks, but it has caused no additional redness or irritation. No fragrance, minimal ingredients -- seemingly perfect (knock on wood).
Edited: caused breakouts, lowered rating

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweetheart_xo on 11/8/2010 2:41:00 AM more reviews by sweetheart_xo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

After a bad experience with a very unhygienic MAC makeup artist, my skin broke out in numerous little bumps, all over my forehead, cheeks and chin. My skin was feeling itchy, tight and uncomfortable, and I pulled out one of my Avene Skin Recovery Cream samples that I picked up from work the other day. I've used this twice, once before bed and in the morning, and my skin is so so much better. This totally cleared up any itching and redness I had and helped to soothe my irritated skin. I normally have oily/combination skin and this does make my skin feel a little greasy (after all I'm used to all my mattifying face products) however I'm not complaining :) Very, very pleased with it. I don't think it would be suitable to use on a daily basis though, but for times like these it works an absolute treat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jinhee on 10/22/2010 4:18:00 AM more reviews by Jinhee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use recovery cream over my glycolic creams and diacneal at night. Gentle and while it's not the most emollient, it heals and protects against drying effects of retinols. It's not greasy or heavy so perfect for the daytime as well. Avene is affordable, gentle and effective line that has given me consistenly great results. Love the tubes that is not only hygenic but allow use to the last drop.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Everlastinad on 10/21/2010 10:46:00 PM more reviews by Everlastinad

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Love this moisturiser! Very light, suitable for day and night use. This is going to be my 4th tube already. It does help if i have redness on my cheeks, blotchiness or dryness. I'll apply slightly more during the night and u can see the redness gone the next day. It has a non greasy feel after application and doesnt make my skin oily at the end of the day. I have acne prone skin, dry cheeks sometimes and oily t zone but it really did improve my skin condition after trying this cream. The only downside is that the contents in a tube is quite little for the price. But definitely worth a try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 isabelle7 on 10/13/2010 5:45:00 AM more reviews by isabelle7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE it !
The winter weather left me with extreme dryness and redness around my eyes and cheeks as well as eczema on my neck and chin.
I tried everything but nothing would get rid of it for 3 horrible months. Then I decided to buy this product and applied it on my face before going to sleep. The morning after I was amazed: more that half of the dryness and redness was gone.
Then for the following week I was a bit disappointed as the other half did not seem to improve at all.
3 weeks later, my skin is really soft and healthy looking and the redness and dryness have gone completely.
As for my eczema I used a specific treatment that seemed to make it go an come back all the time. Since I used Skin recovery on top of this treatment the eczema seems to never come back again.
It really works for me when I donít apply it straight after cleaning my face but after I let my skin dry for a while. My theory is that letting the skin dry allows the rough surface to separate from the healthy skin underneath. And thatís when Skin recovery can best do its job on that rough part!
Anyway I will keep buying this again and againÖ

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SL2 on 8/24/2010 4:03:00 AM more reviews by SL2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the rich version of this cream as an eye/lip balm. Although the rest of my face is very oily, the skin around my eyes/lips is very dry, but many creams cause milia or breakouts. I bought it because of the high shea content when a Bioderma sunscreen caused severe irritation around my eyes and found it very soothing and plumping without causing puffiness. It is also the best lip balm I have found and makes a great base for lipstick, without giving me tiny pimples around the mouth area, as sometimes happens with other lip balms that I have tried. The skin on my neck is very sensitive and this caused no problems when I used it in place of an A-derma cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jadengai on 7/26/2010 4:36:00 PM more reviews by jadengai

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have really sensitive, blotchy, rough like tree bark skin, redness, itchiness and flakiness all together. I believe how I got this bad was that I used nearly-hot water to shower instead of lukewarm water, which gradually striped moisture off my skin. My skin got so sensitive because of dehydration. I didn't realize this until I start using Avene skin recovery cream.

At first, I thought my skin changes as I get older, so I turned to use a more nourishing cream which did make me feel much better, no tightness. But a week later my skin gets oily very easily, and soon pimples, zits, whiteheads all appeared. I did use hydrating masks, but still no good result. My skin could not absorb anything, all the cream and masks I used were left on my skin, leaving it oily and ruined.

So I turned to Avene recovery cream, with the Avene thermal spray. I first spray a mist of thermal water on my face, wait for it to dry up for 80%, then apply the cream and rub it into my skin with the thermal water. It absorbed right into my skin, there's no oiliness or tightness. I tried to rub it in without the thermal water, it won't absorb in. Maybe becoz my skin was too damaged that it needs the thermal water as a sponge.

After 4 days of use (day and night), my skin had such improvement (no more pimples, whiteheads) that I decide to keep using this cream as a night cream. But this is a bad decision, becoz after my skin got much better (smooth but still with tightness), this cream starts to lose its magic. It would not absorb into my skin, leaving it greasy. My cheekbone area turned red again and on top of that, white cysts start broking out all over my face. I figured out that it's the mineral oil in this cream.

So, only use this cream when your face break out badly, damaged and must stop using it after it recovers.

It's stupid that this cream can be only use as medication and thus not worth for its price. But then this is the only thing that cures burning faces, so good to keep one near you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Moisturizers products