Lancome • La Vie Est Belle • Fragrances

rated 3.7(127 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 mdorese21 on 11/6/2012 12:43:00 PM more reviews by mdorese21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has taken the place of JS Fancy as my go-to fragrance now. The top layer smells a lot like Flowerbomb but this scent is actually a little sweeter on me which I could see some people not liking but I happen to love. I got the gift set and fyi the lotion is horrid. They overdid the iris in it and I can't even use it. So I'll be happy to swap if someone wants it.
6/28/14 Edit: This fragrance is sooo strong. I can spray my wrists once in the morning and still smell it when I get home. So it can be completely overbearing. I now just spray my ankles and this helps some. And now only wear it when its cold cause wearing in the summer would make me gag.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lisbet on 11/6/2012 12:32:00 PM more reviews by lisbet

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I think I just found my HG!! Who knew I would fall in love with a sweet gourmand?? After a frustrating hour in Nordstrom's trying to find a fragrance to bring home with me, I spotted LVEB and tried a tiny spritz. It was love at first sniff!! I accused my poor saleslady of holding out on me, but to her defense, she also had no idea I would suddenly decide I loved sweet gourmands. Before that time, I mainly wanted Orientals and Chypres. But LVEB lifted me up to fragrance nirvana. Being a little skeptical about sinking my teetlh into a brand new fragrance-I purchased the small bottle. It is now empty and I have already purchased the biggest bottle they had. I just love love love this fragrance. I don't care about reviews, generally, but I see some people have really hated this fragrance. It is NOT for everyone as the sweetness can be a bit cloying. But on my perfume-eating skin, it's just right! Plus-my husband loves it!! What more could I want?? Do yourself a favor and give it a try!

12-11-2013 Almost a year since I wrote the above and I'm still loving this fragrance! I'm on my third large bottle and have been through a few smaller ones as well! This is still a HG for me and I have yet to tire of it.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nancy_deathbeast on 11/6/2012 9:16:00 AM more reviews by nancy_deathbeast

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm very picky with my perfumes and this one is beautiful. very girly and perfect for Australian summer. it last forever on the skin. Men love it, ladies love it.

Other perfumes I like;
Dior Addict
YSL Cinema
Elizabeth Arden Irresistable Woman
Dyptique Eu Duelle

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* danai on 11/3/2012 9:21:00 AM more reviews by danai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm quite surprised that Julia Roberts is the face of this fragrance, as I find her maybe the last celebrity on earth it would remind me of. I would expect a bubblier and younger celebrity to advertise this. I don't mean to offend at all by saying younger, I'm no teenager myself, it's just that this fragrance is so sugary, overwhelmingly girly and sweet. Nothing elegant or sophisticated about it whatsoever, it's not very far from Pink Sugar.
It starts off with an aggressive, in your face, syrupy sugar note, but once it settles there's a somewhat bitter, burnt note underneath. Maybe it's about my skin chemistry? Anyway, I would have given it a lower rating, but if I'm being honest I have an unbecoming weakness for sweet, tacky scents (yes, Pink Sugar too) so this is not entirely awful to me.
However: if you want a sweet scent that is sophisticated and elegant at the same time, go for Prada Candy instead. Then if, like me, you are willing to give up sophistication for sex appeal, go for Flowerbomb. Both are favorites of mine and sweet, candy gourmands done much better than this fragrance here.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ShellyMum on 11/2/2012 11:02:00 PM more reviews by ShellyMum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was quite disappointed in this, not because it's a bad fragrance, but because it was so similar to Flowerbomb on me. The opening notes were like Coco Mademoiselle for a while, then almost identical to Flowerbomb through to the dry down. Do try it on yourself, as scents often smell different on different people. It has good sillage and good lasting power. There is no way I'd buy this personally, as I already own Flowerbomb and it's pretty much a dupe on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ilovestuff on 11/2/2012 3:05:00 PM more reviews by ilovestuff

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this fragrance! Normally I am not a big fan of Lancome fragrances, but they hit the mark on this one! Saw the whole "spiel" on HSN not long ago about it and they described it as a gourmand + fruity smell and it really is very YUMMY!

I agree with others that it's got a "sugary" scent, but it's not sickeningly sweet and it definitely is a more sophisticated fragrance than Pink Sugar, which I loved for a while and even bought more and realized I didn't love it anymore!

I bought La Vie Est Belle at Ulta. The 1 oz was $55 and the packaging is adorable with a little gray ribbon around the neck of the bottle and the pretty pink-ish color of the juice. On HSN, the Lancome rep said that the bottle design was created back in the 1949 and has been re-designed from the classic Lancome fragrances. I found that intriguing as well.

As for whether or not it's similar to Flowerbomb...I guess I can *see* that, but it's not so similar that I feel like I have duplicate fragrances. This is more "sugary" than Flowerbomb and Flowerbomb seems to have more vanilla in it than La Vie Est Belle.

Overall, I love this fragrance and I can imagine running out quite quickly and will re-purchase the largest size when I do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 REDK1967 on 10/21/2012 9:55:00 PM more reviews by REDK1967

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is the longest lasting perfume I have found in ages. The only thing comparable is Must by Cartier. This seems like more of a perfume for women not girls. Does not remind me of Flowerbomb at all. The notes are lovely and it is ultimately a creamy soft oriental on me.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 moomooknickers on 10/15/2012 6:23:00 AM more reviews by moomooknickers

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Vile.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MalibuMands on 10/13/2012 1:09:00 PM more reviews by MalibuMands

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

The pear is the strongest fruit note on me - well, I say strongest, but it is still pretty soft and doesn't leave me with a lasting impression. There is soft vanilla present through all of the fragrance too, with adds a creamy sweetness and warmth to the fragrance. The patchouli is also quick to develop, so whilst everything is sweet, it's not cloyingly so.


The floral notes used are powdery and just provide a background for the iris. It's quite startling how, after around two hours, the fragrance suddenly changes from a soft gourmand to present the wearer with a rich iris note. I don't have much experience with iris in perfumes, so LA VIE EST BELLE is unique to me.


After another few hours the fragrance turns slightly nutty and even creamier as the rest of the base notes develop. Whilst the iris note dies down, the combined powderiness of the floral notes remain and softly fade away with the base notes after around nine hours on my skin.




Official scent notes: Iris, orange blossoms, jasmine, black currant, pear, tonka bean, praline, patchouli and vanilla

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bloublou065 on 10/2/2012 6:01:00 PM more reviews by bloublou065

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Why i like it. it's light, it's sweet, it's caramel-y, it's really girly, but not too much. Boyfriend loves it. The price is like any other high end perfume, and well yeah. I love lancome for their frangrances..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Fragrances products