Lancome • La Vie Est Belle • Fragrances

rated 3.6(123 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 ShellyMum on 11/2/2012 11:02:00 PM more reviews by ShellyMum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was quite disappointed in this, not because it's a bad fragrance, but because it was so similar to Flowerbomb on me. The opening notes were like Coco Mademoiselle for a while, then almost identical to Flowerbomb through to the dry down. Do try it on yourself, as scents often smell different on different people. It has good sillage and good lasting power. There is no way I'd buy this personally, as I already own Flowerbomb and it's pretty much a dupe on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ilovestuff on 11/2/2012 3:05:00 PM more reviews by ilovestuff

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this fragrance! Normally I am not a big fan of Lancome fragrances, but they hit the mark on this one! Saw the whole "spiel" on HSN not long ago about it and they described it as a gourmand + fruity smell and it really is very YUMMY!

I agree with others that it's got a "sugary" scent, but it's not sickeningly sweet and it definitely is a more sophisticated fragrance than Pink Sugar, which I loved for a while and even bought more and realized I didn't love it anymore!

I bought La Vie Est Belle at Ulta. The 1 oz was $55 and the packaging is adorable with a little gray ribbon around the neck of the bottle and the pretty pink-ish color of the juice. On HSN, the Lancome rep said that the bottle design was created back in the 1949 and has been re-designed from the classic Lancome fragrances. I found that intriguing as well.

As for whether or not it's similar to Flowerbomb...I guess I can *see* that, but it's not so similar that I feel like I have duplicate fragrances. This is more "sugary" than Flowerbomb and Flowerbomb seems to have more vanilla in it than La Vie Est Belle.

Overall, I love this fragrance and I can imagine running out quite quickly and will re-purchase the largest size when I do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 REDK1967 on 10/21/2012 9:55:00 PM more reviews by REDK1967

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is the longest lasting perfume I have found in ages. The only thing comparable is Must by Cartier. This seems like more of a perfume for women not girls. Does not remind me of Flowerbomb at all. The notes are lovely and it is ultimately a creamy soft oriental on me.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 moomooknickers on 10/15/2012 6:23:00 AM more reviews by moomooknickers

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Vile.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MalibuMands on 10/13/2012 1:09:00 PM more reviews by MalibuMands

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

The pear is the strongest fruit note on me - well, I say strongest, but it is still pretty soft and doesn't leave me with a lasting impression. There is soft vanilla present through all of the fragrance too, with adds a creamy sweetness and warmth to the fragrance. The patchouli is also quick to develop, so whilst everything is sweet, it's not cloyingly so.


The floral notes used are powdery and just provide a background for the iris. It's quite startling how, after around two hours, the fragrance suddenly changes from a soft gourmand to present the wearer with a rich iris note. I don't have much experience with iris in perfumes, so LA VIE EST BELLE is unique to me.


After another few hours the fragrance turns slightly nutty and even creamier as the rest of the base notes develop. Whilst the iris note dies down, the combined powderiness of the floral notes remain and softly fade away with the base notes after around nine hours on my skin.




Official scent notes: Iris, orange blossoms, jasmine, black currant, pear, tonka bean, praline, patchouli and vanilla

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bloublou065 on 10/2/2012 6:01:00 PM more reviews by bloublou065

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Why i like it. it's light, it's sweet, it's caramel-y, it's really girly, but not too much. Boyfriend loves it. The price is like any other high end perfume, and well yeah. I love lancome for their frangrances..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oopppp on 9/30/2012 11:59:00 AM more reviews by oopppp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This smells great, very close to Flowerbomb. I used to wear Flowerbomb a lot and this scent is very similar, I tend to like more vanilla based purfumes, but this is still good value for money overall. :)




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* taylor123 on 9/28/2012 7:17:00 PM more reviews by taylor123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This perfume is nice but it's one of those perfumes that can give you a headache which is always annoying. To me it's a sweet, caramel scent. It's not sickening sweet like Aquolina Pink Sugar (which I hate). It's sweet but it's more sophisticated than that. When I first sprayed it and let it hang out for a bit on my wrist I thought it smelled like peach. I'm not sure why cause there's no peach note in it to my knowledge. Maybe I was getting that from the pear and the praline or something but it smelled peachy to me and I liked it. The die down was still sweet but more vanilla sweet with the jasmine floral notes in there. This did end up giving me a headache which wasn't nice. Not sure why that happened because I'm a huge fan of sweet scents. I only sprayed it on my wrist and that's it. Something about it just made my head hurt. You definitely don't wanna over spray this stuff cause it is quite strong. I know in the beginning I said it's not sickening sweet but there's still something about it that's very BAM in your face. Just in a different way. It is expensive being that it's Lancome so I would spray it and walk around for a bit just to make sure you like it before you spend your money on it. The bottle is absolutely stunning, the perfume itself is like a pinky peach color and the bottle has a grey ribbon around the neck. It's very classy looking. I would say this is a fall/winter scent. For me, I live in Florida where it's very hot so I cannot imagine wearing this during the summer when it's hot out, it would just be too much. But for the colder months it would be great. It's very cozy and sweet. All in all I do like this perfume but you have to be careful with it. It's definitely a very feminine, girly perfume.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoonieR on 9/28/2012 8:47:00 AM more reviews by CoonieR

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Fragrance is so personal and some scents just smell really different on different people, so I'll base my review not just on the fragrance notes themselves, but the overall product.


I love sweet, vanilla-y scents, and my DH loves them on me. I'm a Comptoir Sud Pacifique Vanille Abricot girl, and I like scents like Pink Sugar. Since Vanille Abricot isn't as easy to find these days and I wanted something slightly more sophisticated, I gave this a try. I had smelled it in a department store and actually asked the SA for the name of the perfume (which is unusual for me), as it has that sort of sugary scent that I like. It sort of smells like Vanille Abricot mixed with Vera Wang. I could see a teenage girl or a 40 year old woman liking this. That said, on me, it's quite nice and as it wears, there's less of the sugary smell and more of the floral notes.


What impresses me is the lasting power. I could apply this in the morning and it lasts all day into the night. Even if I shower the following morning (24 hours later), I can still detect a hint of this on my skin. I've never had a perfume last that long on me.


The bottle is nice and straightforward. It's not flashy--just a glass bottle with no ornamentation, save a top and gray ribbon, but that's not important to me. If you're looking for something stand out on your vanity, this probably isn't it.


I like this. If you like sweet fragrances like Pink Sugar, this is worth a look. Just be forewarned, though: if you try it on and don't like it, it will linger for a while. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sexyredhead on 9/25/2012 9:36:00 PM more reviews by sexyredhead

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I smelled this on a sample card at the perfume counter this afternoon and thought it was soft and pretty, so I sprayed a bit on my wrist to see how it blends with my skin. Oy. There's something strong and almost sour that's giving me a headache and making my nose and TEETH hurt. I'm giving it 2 lippies because it's been over four hours and it's still going strong. Nothing will wash this off. For those of you who can wear this, I can see how it would be a pretty scent. I, unfortunately, am not one of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Fragrances products