Lancome La Vie Est Belle

3.7

160 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/7/2013 9:53:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ugh, the EDP is so SWEET! :o( I just can't wear this or the highly successful Flowerbomb that it's ripping off (and I have both). They're both just too richly thickly candied & syrupy sweet (and I generally like sweetness). The syrupiness is semi-balanced out by a patchouli basenote, for a spicy kick.

Strong, way too strong. Just a small spritz on my lunch hour, and I feel like I reek, like they can probably smell me a block away. I'm totally getting a headache from it. This EDP is very rich and concentratedly sweet -- like Karo or a praline syrup baristas would put in coffee drinks -- plus patchouli is added, for a spicy balance.

I don't know how it could possibly work in warmer weather -- it might be overwhelming. Advise to spritz *very* judiciously any weather, any season, any occasion.

Here are notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes: Pear, Black currant
Heart Notes: Iris, Jasmine, Orange blossom
Base Notes: Patchouli, Praline, Tonka bean, Vanilla

Julia Roberts was born in Oct 1967 -- was probably 45 when it launched. I don't think this fits a middle-aged woman at all -- more for a teens-20's girl. And I don't think it's elegant -- doesn't fit the black-tie ball in the commercial -- or the nonconformist theme -- since it's like many others that have followed this same sweet-patch gourmand trend.

I think a lighter, sheerer, EDT or body mist version of this would be far preferable to the uber-concentrated, uber-sweet EDP. Lightening this up and making it more sheer and airy would be an improvement, I think.

3/11/14: And lo and behold, they do have a lighter version now (Eau Legere). Better, thinner, but still very sweet. You have to really like gourmands and candy sweetness for this whole LVEB line, the lotion also.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

This perfume is housed in such a lovely bottle! So chic! At first, it is quite sweet, but then it dries down into a really lovely day scent. I was actually surprised at the complexity of it, and I think I go against all those who complain of its sweetness. It isn't cloying to me, despite the fact that I rarely like the very sweet fragrances. This one is feminine in every sense of the word. And I do think it'd be suitable for all ages.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

In absolute love with this fragrance. A great perfume for the office that is not overpowering. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/30/2013 8:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I smelled this in a magazine ad sample and adored it. When I went to Macy's to try it on that was not the case. It is grossly simple - sweet and nothing else. Drug store Calgon is more complex than this. I can't imagine this being suitable on any age, it's just so overwhelming and obnoxious. I couldn't wait to go home and change after putting this on. The staying power is strong, which in other circumstances would be good. After washing my dress/cardigan that I wore when I sprayed this the scent still lingered. BLAH. Do not reccommend


on 3/29/2013 1:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The initial smell is unappealing-i think it's likely the patchouli and I'm so not a fan of patchouli....but then, that fades and what's left is a delicious caramel, vanilla, creme brulee deliciousness that lasts all day. The longer this perfume sits and mingles with your skin the better it smells. It's warm, inviting and comforting. Love it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2013 10:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Amazing! This scent is addictive! Right away it smells a bit too sweet but once it dries down it smells set. Men love it!


on 3/16/2013 10:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This perfume smells amazing! I've been using jean Paul gaultier classique for years and really fancied a change. I was given a sample of this in a department store and the first time I tried it 4 people asked what perfume I was wearing!
It lasts for hours and is such a gorgeous feminine fragrance.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2013 11:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This smelled lovely and intriguing in the bottle - an irresistible sexy vanilla. When I sprayed it on, however, it went straight to nasty: cigarettes and cherry coke. Jut did not work at all with my chemistry. Too bad, cuz I really loved the scent in the bottle!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

In my opinion, this is a better version of V&R Flowerbomb. It's not as heavy or cloying. You don't need a lot of it and the lasting power is great. Sweet and floral. My recent favorite fragrance. Would repurchase!


on 2/23/2013 10:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Yummy deliciousness! Love love love it!!!


Popular Fragrances


Flash
Flash
20 Reviews
Touch
Touch
82 Reviews
Tam Dao
Tam Dao
95 Reviews
Calyx
Calyx
108 Reviews


Top Rated Lancome Products

image

Foundation Brush

150 reviews
image

Rouge in Love

50 reviews
Back to Top