No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Argan Oil • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(121 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinknika on 5/1/2011 6:18:00 PM more reviews by pinknika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So far I am not impressed. The argan oil I bought was from a small little booth at an arts & crafts fair. They claim to have high quality hand pressed argan oil that isn't deoderized like Josie Marans argan oil. We had a long conversation about Argan Oil in general and the owner told me that her husband is Moroccoan and his family is the one that cultivates it.


The difference between their product and Josie Marans is that they don't put any additives in it, and they are able to hand press it, where Josie Maran is just a name for marketing and fronting the argan oil which is manufactured by machines and another company.


Anyways, I was really hoping to use this for my acne but I can't. I break out really bad with it, I am thinking due to the high oleic acid content in it. If you look up acne and oleic acid there are articles online about it.


As far as a regular moisturizer goes, its okay, it sinks it pretty good and I have only used a little bit for my split ends of my hair. I purchased an extremley tiny amount so I can't use a whole lot which is kinda dumb because in order for me to condition my hair with any oil, I at least need to use 2 oz or more every time! I might try and find some other Argan oil brands but it is so hard to find something really pure and not manufactured with any other oil. I will look around but I am not using this on my face ever again.

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* meriellyn on 3/27/2011 5:32:00 PM more reviews by meriellyn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this oil for my hair. I use 100% cold pressed argan oil from AAA Shea Butter, which I got from Whole Foods. It wasn't cheap but the large bottle is lasting me quite a while because I only need a couple drops at a time. I add it to my leave in to apply it straight to wet or dry hair, depending on what I'm going for. In my leave-in it helps with shine and conditioning. Straight on wet hair it is a little more intense and also seems to make my hair a little straighter. I like to use it on dry hair and braid it or bun it for a treatment or just use a little when I braid my hair to tame fly-aways and make the ends shinier.

I'm not in love with it for my face on its own. I've tried it in my lotion for body as well but it's just ok. I like other oils better for these applications. But for my hair it can't be beat!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gizzyxx on 3/19/2011 5:17:00 PM more reviews by Gizzyxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fantastic facial moisturizer for acne prone skin, after battling for years with acne, at 29, i finally have it somewhat under control, Argan oil is definitely done wonders for the overall condition of my skin.
It is not too heavy, I splash my face with water first and then apply a few drops and it sinks in really well, If you have oily or combo skin, this may be a good method of applying the oil. It worked well, for me when I used Jojoba oil (before discovering Argan).
The oil works on acne or oily skin by regulating the amount of sebum in the skin, it also prevents redness and inflammation. Its also good for protecting the skin from damage done by the sun, helping to slow down aging of the skin and so many other great benefits, its literally amazing.
It calms my skin no end and within in a few weeks of use my complexion is clearer and people have commented that my skin is better. What I love is that this is natural, have no smell (not to me anyway), and doesnt cost the earth. I will most definitely continue to use this and I recommend it for so many people, doesnt matter what your skin type is like. My friend has very dry skin and I told her to try it and now she is hooked and says it has cleared her eczema no end

If you can get hold of it, please give it a try. I usually buy mine from Ebay from a seller with very good feedback, and its about 8 for 100ml. I only use it at night, since I want a moisturizer with SPF in it for the day time, but a 100ml bottle last me ages and its GREAT value for money.

Please give it a try, if you want a natural and effective moisturizer - I am in love with this, and I would have not discovered it had it not been for MUA, thanks MUA!! xx

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HollyArgan on 3/9/2011 1:40:00 AM more reviews by HollyArgan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Best argan oil is Mogador Argan Oil. It is amazing, works well for skin and hair. 100% pure certified organic beauty serum. It can be used as such or added to your favorite lotion, cream, shampoo or conditioner. Inexpensive and available at
Http://www.CertifiedArganOil.com I have never experienced an argan oil as good as Mogador Argan Oil, better than the more expensive brands!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 luvnewstuff on 3/1/2011 10:19:00 PM more reviews by luvnewstuff

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

And on the 5th day there were zits..where there had been none. Not sure if the oil is the cause because I felt I have may have overexfoliated a little too. I thought maybe if I backed off on glycolics and clairisonic for a few days and used light application of oil at night only(too greasy for daytime) that my face would feel better. It does feel better but I'm not willing to pay the price of breakouts for feeling better. It doesn't look better. I don't believe this is a purge situation. Will use this on my cuticles and occassionally on my hair. Will not repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kokomo123 on 2/27/2011 1:16:00 PM more reviews by kokomo123

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Blue    

i am in my fifties and stumbled upon this product. i use it on my face and use what most people would call a silicone facial brush, after cleansing i moistion my face with warm water and put a few drops on my facial brush and massage in. absorbs quickly. i use in the morning and at night and no more rosacia for me. my argan oil did not have any smell or fragrance. i love it

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beautymarksandscars on 2/27/2011 12:58:00 PM more reviews by beautymarksandscars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This review is for the 100% Pure argan oil purchased from the gardenofwisdom.com site. I purchased argan oil, desperate, looking for a moisturizer for my skin this winter. This winter my skin has become ultra sensitive and reactive to just about everything. Every moisturizer I have been using has eventually broken me out. Some ladies on the board recommend argan oil to use on my face for moisture so I purchased it out of desperation. About 2 weeks in I was thinking it would be an HG. My facial skin was moisturized, glowy and sooo soft. I was in heaven! Also my previous acne seemed to be healing up a bit, thanks to GoW Oxygen Rich Gel and what I thought to be argan oil as well. Then I started noticing tiny flesh-color bumps appearing, clogged pores I suspect, something I tend to get when a product is going to break me out. I immediately dismissed the notion that it could be the argan oil, and I continued on using it for 2 weeks, meanwhile night and day applying the GoW Oxygen rich gel, which was greatly fighting with the argan oil, I suspect. In the end, I discontinued use when my skin was getting worse, and now I am left with a hardly used bottle of argan oil and bumpy skin that the GoW oxygen gel is doing it's best to clear up now. :( Argan oil may wok for you if you're not easily prone to breakouts and clog pores. I recommend it as, it was wonderful at first!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shaaralee on 1/26/2011 7:19:00 PM more reviews by shaaralee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently bought the Bayliss Pro Argan Oil for my hair, it is not pure Argan Oil but I still love the product. It has a great smell (not sure what they put in there to get it smelling like that though, as I have read up on how nutty and raw the pure form smells) and the results it gives my hair is unlike any other product I've used in the past. At first it seems like it won't absorb into my hair but a few minutes later it is completely absorbed and when blow dried gives a lovely sheen and professional finish. Will definitely buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kookykabooky on 1/19/2011 3:19:00 PM more reviews by kookykabooky

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for Slice of Nature Argan Oil purchased through Amazon.com. I specifically bought it because of the review below from moonandtheriver. (THANK YOU!!!) I have suffered with horrible painful ugly eczema on the backs of both hands for the last 5 years. I tried petroleum jelly first, then Aquaphor, to CeraVe cream, to Yu-be cream I read about on Sephora.com. I tried Weleda Skin food, and olive oil as well as something I bought at Target, Sage and Olive oil from Boots? Of course, I also used the prescription creams I was given my the derm also, but nothing, nothing has helped. Along comes argan oil. I had the Josie Maran version (will review that separately), but I ordered this less expensive oil for the purposes of slathering it all over my hands. I am thrilled to say that in just one week, my hands look and feel the way they did 5 years ago!!!!! The eczema is gone. I have to apply 3 times a day or else the skin by my knuckles will begin to crack and bleed, but I will happily apply this stuff as often as I have to for my hands to look normal and not hurt anymore!!! I also started applying this all over my face because of the miraculous results on my hands! I have combo skin and I apply the oil to my palms and then pat all over my face. I will update my review at a later date because it has only been two days of face application.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pawnshop_rose on 9/13/2010 9:35:00 PM more reviews by pawnshop_rose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this oil! I get mine from Garden of Wisdom, it's organic, cold pressed and very reasonably priced at around $8 for 1oz. I apply it to my face at night and by morning my dry but clog prone skin is happy, moisturized and glowy. I also apply a few drops in damp hair and it smooths away any frizz I have without weighing down my fine hair. I also will add a few drops to my body lotion, and will rub a drop or two on my cuticles. A great multi-use oil that I will def. repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Moisturizers products