Barielle • Natural Nail Camouflage • Treatments

rated 4.4(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evapop on 3/25/2014 4:32:00 PM more reviews by evapop

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

In addition to messing up my commute, my kids school schedule, and any semblance of a social life, this terrible winter has also decimated my nails. In addition to the lovely ridges that naturally come with age, they have also been dry, hard and prone to peeling. Sometimes even creating small cracks along the ridges.

After checking in with the lovelies on the nail board about my clearly first world problem, I decided to give this base coat a try and I am loving it! Unlike Orly Bonder and Revlon Colorstay BC - which I do like as well - this base coat does great even after oiling nails (i.e. applying an oil such as CND Solar Oil all over nails and cuticles, rubbing it in, and allowing to absorb -- then painting vs. drying nail out with a remover).

One coat provides a fantastic base - OPI, Essie and Loreal have all lasted a solid 5-6 days on my nails with no chips and minimal tip wear). Two coats will fill in most of my ridges, and allows me to wear really shimmery shades that would normally highlight every ridge. And since it can do all this after nails are oiled - bye bye dry, peelie nails.

The one thing that keeps this from being completely HG for me is the dry time (and price). It does take longer to initially dry than Orly, and I find that even after a coat of Seche Vite, I need closer to 20-30 minutes for dry, set nails vs. 10-15. But, if you have a little more patience, and can afford it, its a really great base coat.

PROS:
- Helps with ridges
- Really helps extend nail polish wear
- Does its job even after oiling nails
- When I remove polish, my nails seems to be in better condition
- Can be wore alone or with simply a QDTC as well as with polish
CONS:
- Expensive, at least more expensive than Orly Bonder
- Take a while longer to dry

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 5/17/2011 11:03:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my second favorite base coat of all time and I've gone through multiple bottles of this. Nail camoflouge is great because not only does it apply evenly, but it leaves a somewhat sheer slightly white finish, which cancels out any yellowness from polish staining. It goes on with ease and just overall, helps my polish last a bit longer and also helps polishes to apply evenly. Overall, a great base coat and one I'll continue to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* magpiesparkle on 2/10/2011 12:36:00 PM more reviews by magpiesparkle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

One coat of this nail treatment makes my nails shine and have just the tiniest amount of color. I also use it under pale pink polishes and "holographic" nail polishes. It lasts about four days before needing a touchup, and will last longer if you prep your nails beforehand with a "dryer" like is used before application of false nails.

Also looks lovely under clear polish as well. Can't say enough good things about this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GimpyPoop on 12/21/2010 9:18:00 PM more reviews by GimpyPoop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I donít really discriminate between base coats. I keep my nubbins shorn very short because of my preference for short nails, although the few times Iíve allowed my nails to grow a bit Ė they are very very prone to splitting and peeling.
Iíve been using Natural Nail Camouflage for a few months now, and so far, so good. The product is a very very sheer pale pink color Ė a little more opaque than clear base coats because itís supposed to ďcamouflageĒ nail imperfections. I guess it does dry fairly sheerly, with a the slightest bit of coverage.
Whatís nice about this base coat is that it isnít too excessively shiny Ė just like a nice smooth satin? So the ďnatural nailĒ part is truth in advertising. I think the fact that itís not super glossy makes it an excellent base for your color nail polishes.
I usually have to be pretty generous with the my one base coat to even out my ridge-y nails and this is no exception. I will say that I noticed this consistency thickening a little with this one with my constant use and I had to add a few drops of thinner to restore it to easily spreadable consistency.
I will say that I change my nail polish quite frequently and often have to resort to pure acetone for stripping away the glitter. Iím not sure if Natural Nail Camouflage deserves credit, but my nails havenít completely deteriorated and have remained pretty resilient. Some yellowing has occurred, but thatís inevitable with constant nail polish wearing Ė no catastrophic stainage yet.
Overall, Iím quite pleased with this base coat because of its more unique properties (having a slight tint of color and satiny finish), but I donít know if I would ever repurchase it at its $16 retail price. $3.99 at Marshalls or T.J. Maxx Ė yes indeed, thatís more like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 7/13/2010 6:31:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very similar to Rimmel's Strengthening and Hardening Base Coat with Lycra. Both have are sheerly tinted base coats with low key shine that are designed to be worn either on their own as a subtle nail enhancer or as base coats. Rimmel's is pink-toned and Barielle's is more ivory-toned, but they look pretty much the same on my nails (rosy nail beds) with 2-3 coats. One coat will get you a bit of shine, three will add a nice, subtle milky color to your nails that make them look clean and bright. I think the Barielle bottle is cute, but can't justify the full price, especially since it's very similar to the Rimmel, which is miles cheaper and easier to source, though not as good as a base coat. In terms of its usefulness as a base coat: I applied two coats, allowed them to dry, then applied an Essie polish on top, plus a quick-dry top coat (Poshe) on 3/20. Still going strong, ten days later. Impressive! I managed to find three of these at a TJ Maxx for half-off, so it'll be awhile before I need to repurchase. I don't think I'd repurchase at full price, but I'll definitely keep an eye out at discount retailers.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ainnir on 5/24/2010 1:55:00 AM more reviews by Ainnir

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for a couple of months now and for now it's my HG basecoat. It lasts up to a week on me, just like Orly Bonder, only this one is B3F.

About halfway down the bottle it gets really thick, and I have to use thinner (I use B3F thinner), but this does not seem to impact the performance at all.

Sadly, this does not prevent my nails from staining, but it stains less than with Orly Bonder. It also does not peel and seems to keep my nails in decent shape.

The bottle seems of pretty lousy quality as well, the cap comes off the brush way too easily, but some superglue will fix this.

I doubt I will find a basecoat better than this one, that does not stain, so until then I will stock up on this one.

I wouldn't pay full price for it though, I get my stock at Marshalls for $4.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nowornever56 on 12/27/2009 11:27:00 PM more reviews by nowornever56

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to like this.... but I don't. It seems to make my polish chip really fast when I use it as a basecoat :( Overall, pretty disappointing. A few polishes will last 2 days, but most chip in one. Not worth it for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Laeny on 11/30/2009 11:42:00 AM more reviews by Laeny

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

One of Barielle's best products, Camo makes a fantastic base coat that evens the surface of your nails and prevents staining. Used by itself gives your nails a finished, professional look. Well worth the full price if you cannot find it in TJ Maxx and/or Marshalls.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluemeanie on 7/11/2009 8:47:00 PM more reviews by bluemeanie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have repurchased this several times since I started using it. It's the only base coat I use. I love that it reduces yellowing, and that it makes semi-sheer or sheer polishes more opaque. I only do manis once per week and this product as base coat, plus 2 coats of polish, plus Seche Vite top coat make my manis last with rarely any problems. I love this product and didn't know a thing about it until I read about it on the nail board and read the reviews here. This is HG for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Susan2148 on 4/19/2009 1:38:00 PM more reviews by Susan2148

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is pricey, but well worth it. I just purchased my second bottle at $16 (ouch), but I have to have this product. This product is applied like nail polish and it does for your nails what foundation does for your face -- evens out the tone and texture and disguises imperfections. My nails are lousy -- they're thin, they peel and there are white spots on them. When I do my nails, I apply Solar Oil to my nails and cuticles, massage it in, then remove it with nail polish remover (I'll review Solar Oil as soon as I finish this review). Next, I apply one coat of Natural Nail as a base coat, then I apply two coats of my nail polish as usual, then I finish off with Sally Hansen Insta-Dry top coat (I reviewed this as well). When I'm doing a "quicky" manicure, I apply a coat of Natural Nail and a coat of clear nail polish and I'm good for a couple of days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Barielle products

More Treatments products