Burt's Bees Beeswax Lip Balm

3.7

3611 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
Burt's Bees is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

beeswax, coconut oil, sunflower seed oil, peppermint oil, lanolin, tocopherol, rosemary leaf extract, soybean oil, canola oil.


on 7/28/2015 11:38:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This lip balm is so hyped. I've heard of people using this lip balm for 10-20+ years and it's the only thing they ever use, but I honestly don't see why.

The lip balm came in a duo pack for around 3$ in Wal-Mart (Canada). The packaging is a yellow lip balm tube, with 4.25g of product inside.

The product itself was only okay. It smelled like peppermint and left a tingly sensation on my lips (which I LOVE), and didn't really have a distinct flavour. But unfortunately, this lip balm was EXTREMELY waxy. It felt like when you buy a new EOS lip balm, the outer layer is some waxy layer you have to work through before you can get to the product. But with Burt's Bees, you simply cannot get through said "waxy layer" because the whole lip balm is just wax.

I also felt the formula did little for my lips. My lips themselves were somewhat hydrated, but the skin just outside of my lips for whatever reason became extremely chapped and flaky after using this for a few hours. Not a good look.

So unfortunately, I don't see what all the hype is over Burt's Bees lip balm. It's just an okay lip balm.



on 7/21/2015 8:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an okay lip balm but definitely not one that I reach for or think of when my lips are dry or chapped. I just feel like it isn't moisturizing enough. It may work if you don't have chapped lips at all and just want a slight bit of moisture to keep them in good shape.

I have tried a few different Burts Bees balms (ultra conditioning, spf, etc) and none of them really wow me.

I way prefer lypsyl or blistex for a good balm.
even aquaphor.


on 7/19/2015 3:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I didn't really like this product. It did not hydrate my lips at all - maybe for like 2 minutes did it slightly hydrate if it did at all - and it kinda left a white residue shortly after an hour of application. I keep this in my jacket pocket and the product completely crumbled inside the packaging. I really wanted this product to work since it works so well for some people! However, this worked awfully on my and I do not recommend. I also do not have very dry lips at all so if you have mild to extremely dry lips stay away from this product and purchase something else as this will do nothing for you.


on 7/17/2015 3:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am in love with this lip balm. I have the pink grapefruit one and it is so moisturizing and the smell doesn't dry your throat out.


on 7/16/2015 4:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

After dealing with dry, cracked, and bleeding lips for over a month, while trying several different lip balms, I finally picked up a tube of this product. Within two days my lips were back to normal. Now Burt's Bees is the only lip balm I will buy.
I was a bit surprised at the (almost buttery) scent, but I ended up growing on me.


on 7/12/2015 7:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the best lip balms on the market. The scent is amazing (I love peppermint so much) and it slightly tingles your lips once you first apply it. I love how the product is so natural but it's so effective. It feels waxy at first, but once you get used to it and keep on applying it, it turns so much less waxy and smooth and buttery and AMAZING. (OK, maybe not exactly buttery...) I have repurchased this so many times, and I always keep one in my desk, makeup collection, and purse. This is one of the only lip balms that actually DO something for my lips. I absolutely love it and it's worth all the popularity it gets.

Overall, I love this product so much and I definitely recommend it. 10/10. ;)


on 7/10/2015 1:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was sitting in math class one day & suddenly this flood of peppermint scent floated over from the girl next to me. I guess that means the scent is very very strong.
I really love the smell of peppermint so I went the next day to go get it.

However the moment I ripped open the packaging I could smell the peppermint.
But I realize when I put it on that it had that waxy scent along with the peppermint. The mint covers it for a while & then it fades away & I couldn't really smell anything but the wax anymore.

And speaking of the wax, it's very dry. It would actually take a while to get a sufficient amount transferred. It also felt a bit sticky & dry so I returned it a few days later.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So i bite my lips constantly, and I am always biting skin off of my lips. I know thats really gross. A nervous habit I guess. I got this lip balm as a free sample at a hair show recently. They were passing them out, and I tried it right away. I want even looking for a new lip balm, and never really gave it much thought. Instantly, I could tell a difference, and my lips felt silky smooth. Then after a few days of using it, I could tell my lips were improving. Im not sure if the balm is just conditioning my lips, or if it has some kind of medicine in it that helps heal your lips. Now I have been wearing it under my regular lip gloss, and I think it helps a lot. The smell is fresh and pleasant as well. I still bite my lips, but this stuff helps out the bad habit :)


on 6/29/2015 11:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The scent is lovely. (I tried the Island scent.) It works relatively well, but still found that it couldn't handle my winter lips. I used it and EOS at the same time, and found myself reaching for EOS, when my lips got really dry because the Burt's Bees just couldn't handle it. The waxy feeling a little uncomfortable to me, and I feel like it sits weirdly on my lips for a while before ceasing to be useful. I really don't think it's worth the high price.


on 6/28/2015 12:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Other

Eyes: Other

I love the texture, it's silky smooth and non-sticky but stays put. As a lip balm, though, it just doesn't work for me. It feels great the first time, but soon becomes drying and irritating. There's way too much peppermint. My lips end up worse than they were to begin with.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1532 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
178 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3611 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top