Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1046 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Dee2014 on 4/14/2014 9:22:00 AM more reviews by Dee2014

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Been using Bare Mineral Veil for years!! I've tried the original, hydrating and SPF. They don't sell it in mya country so i have to stock them up evrytime go overseas. Pretty pricey but i'm happy with the product. It's talc en fragrance free, doesn't irritate skin or create blemishes. My doctor recommended for me years ago after i had a major breakout (first time in 30yrs of my life due to stress). I use it with brush, to give a very natural finished. Use them on top of my sunblock and voila, create a no shine layer but without the drying effect. I never use compact powder so this is definitely my HG. Bring it everywhere. Haven't found any better loose powder that can replace this so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 missmarr on 3/28/2014 3:48:00 AM more reviews by missmarr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible! I had used it in the past and thought I'd give it another try but this second time was definitely not a charm!! I used it for a couple of days and started noticing very big cystic pimples forming onto my face, which I never get. This product broke me out ridiculously! I would not recommend it to anyone with acne prone skin or even sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sianxo on 3/26/2014 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Sianxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a fantastic powder to set your foundation with. I have this in the original version, which is meant to be translucent, but I think it adds the tiniest bit of extra colour to my face. The only major downside to this loose powder is the packaging. It has the worst packaging I have ever experienced with make up. The holes are too big and too much powder comes out everytime I tap the base lightly... which means I am wasting product as I don't want to overload my face with the excess product. A tiny positive for the packaging is that it locks quite well when you turn the lid so nothing will fall out if you were to travel around with it. I would re-buy this product as it is fairly cheap (being $25.95 in Australia) compared to other make up brands we have. I would love to give this product 5 stars but due to the packaging being a massive let down I have only given it 4.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 suzanneluc on 3/24/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by suzanneluc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Years ago I bought a Bare Minerals Starter Kit and was hooked on the stuff. I really believed it was good for my skin, but alas, I made the swtich to liquid foundation for better coverage, and my BM makeup was forgotten about.

Fast forward to a couple weeks ago, I was researching a new setting powder to try out, and I came across my old Mineral Veil in my makeup collection! Perfect, no need to buy a new setting powder. I've been using my clear Mineral Veil everyday for the past 2 weeks and realized why it was forgotten in the first place. I have a light complexion with some redness, and the mineral veil looks like cheap costume makeup on me. I DO NOT apply too much (light dusting over the face, always swirling in the cap and tapping off excess), but it leaves a white cast on my face that doesn't look natural at all.

As far as oil control, it leaves my face looking matte enough for the first hour, but more time than that, and my face is an oil slick again. I believe it's just my skin type, as most of you seem to really like the Mineral Veil, but it is just ok for me, and with this price point, I'll search for a better powder.

I will say that when applying this powder, it leaves a really refreshing "cool" feeling that I love, but that's not enough for me to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mrsaflores on 3/24/2014 12:07:00 AM more reviews by mrsaflores

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

For a light weight coverage or over foundation I like this without looking cakey. Its even a good highlighter and shine fixer!! Love this. Check out my video on Flik http://flikapp.com/flik/v7BkaIk

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jocox88 on 2/19/2014 4:35:00 PM more reviews by jocox88

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

The locking lid containers from BE usually have bottoms that can be removed when almost empty. I think when the last foundation I had with a sifter container was just about empty, I was able to unscrew the bottom to access the remainder.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nikkii18 on 2/19/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by nikkii18

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I do love this product, but it is a little pricy. Their old packaging was much better. The lock lid not doesn't come off so when you are down to just a few applications left in the jar it's hard to get out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShazboTastic on 1/5/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by ShazboTastic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is amazing but it's not the cheapest. A little does go a long long way. Feels silky and leaves skin looking radiant and glowy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/29/2013 7:26:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know why I never reviewed this product because I have had it for 10 years. This was my favorite setting powder for the longest time but since I have explored others. It does set foundation well, the only issue I have with it is pores. It seems to show mine more than any other powder and I don't know why.
Some of the newer Mineral Veils do not, so it might be the formula on the original. I love BE products, I think they are high quality and have great ingredients. This stuff can become cakey regardless of what the company says and needs to be buffed in some. It has never oxidized on me or become splotchy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Purplegal on 12/27/2013 11:26:00 PM more reviews by Purplegal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this because of the SPF and believing that Bare Minerals only sold good products. I was disappointed. The SPF worked fine, but the powder seemed to oxidize & turn into an oily mess. I tried it with a variety of foundations, primers & bare skin, but it just didn't do well with my skin. Also, I am not a fan of the packaging it seemed to release way to much powder and it was messy.

I know others love & swear by Bare Minerals, but this didn't work for me. For reference, my skin is oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products