Queen Helene Mint Julep Natural Facial Scrub

4.3

261 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), juglans regia (walnut) shell powder, sodium lauryl sulfate, stearic acid, stearyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, glycerin, cocamidoproply betaine, kaolin, isopropyl myristate, dimethicone, triethanolamine, fragrance (parfum), phenoxyethanol, carbomer 940, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben.


on 4/20/2015 3:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I don't know where this scrub has been all of my life, but I'm so glad I found it. I might marry it. Or name my first born after it. Something. Because it's amazing. Very fine, dense grains that exfoliate without tearing your face to shreds. It's mintily refreshing, but not too much. My skin loves it, and is fresh and glowing, instead of red and angry afterwards. It's perfect, and it's like $4 a tube. What's not to love about that?



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I rarely ever give products 5 stars across the board but this is just too good. It is extremely affordable, not harsh on my skin and it does exactly what I expect a scrub to do. I have gone through many tubes of this stuff over the years and have yet to find a scrub that delivers like this one!


on 3/15/2015 2:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been alternating between this and QH's cocoa butter scrub, using mint julep when my skin needs a deeper clean and cocoa butter for when it's dry. I wasn't thrilled with the results of either initially, because I was using them as cleansers which they are not and my skin was oily, makeup and product building up and clogging my pores, plus some really horrible acne that was very hard to treat. I tried to cheat and hope they would remove my makeup, exfoliate my skin and ultimately clean it in one step but no. Another peek at the instructions and you do need to cleanse your skin (and remove makeup for sure) first and then use the scrub after. Since I figured that out (derp!) they have worked much better. They are very fine, sand-like scrubs that work really well on my skin that is combo/acne-prone. My skin responds really well to glycerin and I like the balance it brings of light, substantial moisture without being greasy and just the right amount of exfoliation leaving my skin soft. Much like the mint julep mask, this helps minimize pores and blackheads. I love this brand, they are and have been around so long for a reason. Simple, straightforward and very reasonably priced stuff that beats out harsh, overly medicated products by a longshot. I wish I had used these products when I was a teenager, instead of scratching and making my skin burn with Proactiv-esque products.


on 1/30/2015 8:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Black

I got this because of the so many good reviews as a result, I had too high expectations from this! Firstly, the cap is twist cap - so in the middle of the shower, with shampoo lathered on my head, I have to fumble to open the cap just to get the amount I need. Secondly, I was not expecting such fine beads. I guess in comparison with St Ives apricot scrubs (in which the beads are coarse), Queen Helene's are considered microdermabrasion? Thirdly, I have combination skin with nasty whiteheads popping out every 3 days even with weekly extractions, therefore I make it a habit to start cleaning from the oiliest part of my face with every wash which is my nose. With this Queen Helene scrub, I actually have little patches of peeling on my nose WITHOUT FAIL with each weekly use. To sum it all - first and last for me!


on 1/7/2015 4:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I used to really adore this scrub -- I'd guess I've been through about 10 tubes of it. However, I've noticed only in the last month or so that it's gotten too harsh for my skin. My skin is usually normal with T-zone oil but can sometimes have dry patches (especially in winter) and goes through weird bouts of sensitivity -- I guess this is of them. It seems that every time I use this scrub in the shower (at night), I wake up with little tiny spots on my face, or new patches of redness. The spots don't seem to be zits or whiteheads, as far as I can tell, and they're easily coverable, but still: spots! :( This makes me so sad: this product was truly a HG scrub for me. I'm not sure what's going on...maybe just maturing skin? Thinning? :( I used to love this product so much: I love the refreshing mint smell, and QH is also 100% dirt-cheap when you can find it (I think it's about $3 per tube). I don't like wasting products, so I'll use the remainder of this QH one on my feet and chest...but what to replace it with?! I've ordered the Dermalogica Microfoliant, so fingers crossed.


on 12/3/2014 5:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great scrub. Ive converted from st ives!


on 11/10/2014 1:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

PROS

- minimizes pores
- cleanses
- scent
- gentle

CONS

- a little drying

COMMENTS: This, and the pomegranate scrub are my favorite. I love how small the granules are as they work miracles for my pores and blackheads. It leaves a tingly feeling afterward, but the face feels clean and soft. The scent is very refreshing, too. The only con is that it can be a little drying and I find that the pomegranate one exfoliates just a little bit better. Still, I really like this one.

Will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have acne prone, oily skin and this product is a life saver. I use it in the morning and it is the perfect gentle exfoliator to prepare my face for makeup. It doesn't leave my skin feeling dry or tight. I also notice it has been helping clear my face after 2 days (but of course combined with other products). Definitely will repurchase! xoxo


on 6/1/2014 2:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is so ridiculously good. I am such a Queen Helene's fan. The scrub itself is saturated with tiny bits of sand which is so NICE compared to a lot of other scrubs where there is barely any scrubbing agents (I've used a lot). This product has a nice subtle mint smell and leaves my skin smooth, tingly, and healthy looking. I used this daily so my makeup application goes on super smooth and obviously my skin feels healthier. Also it does not dry at all like many other scrubs.


on 4/13/2014 8:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I've literally searched high and low for any Queen Helene products as I've researched the products and continuously heard great things from this line. Upon visiting my local Sally's one day, I was surprised to not only find the famous Mint Julep FACE MASQUE but also this facial scrub!!!
I have an oily-combo skin, mainly acne-prone in the T-zone area. In comparison to the St. Ives Apricot Scrub, I found that the walnut grains were much more smooth and smaller in this product than the sharp grains in the St. Ives, which did not irritate my skin to the raw pink it usually turned after using the other scrub. The menthol scent was pleasant and after scrubbing, I felt very polished and smooth, with no excessive dryness or the 'tight-squeaky-clean' feeling. It was a wonderful exfoliant that I found out to be rather gentle and cheap for the amount you get, yet still did the job.
It says that it is gentle enough for every day use, but I still use it how I would any other exfoliant- every once or twice a week. It's good to scrub off the dead skin cells from the week after using a daily cleanser everyday and I absolutely loved how it came in a tube form rather than a tub of it. Definitely a lovely facial scrub and tempts me to try out other Queen Helene products.


Popular Scrubs


Ocean Salt
706 Reviews
Apricot Scrub
2625 Reviews
Green Tea Scrub
336 Reviews
Back to Top