Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3396 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/15/2015 9:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used this product for about 2 years and The only reason I was using it for that long was because they still sent it after I cancelled online and on the phone, and on the phone again because they didn't cancel it the first time. It still sent for around a year after I stopped using it and I now have a collection of proactiv products I do not want at all, and I spent months paying for stuff I did not want. As for results, it did clear up slightly at first but it started coming back even worse as if the acne built a resistance against it. The products are very drying and bleached the hair by my forehead. I have been taking accutane and my acne is completely gone, no thanks to proactiv.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Some of the products were ok. But when I used the "system" together my skin got really really dry


on 4/10/2015 2:37:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

anyone considering proactiv should consider:

Their deceptive business practices that require you to receive product and that do not cancel when requested, don't refund, etc.

Try Paula's Choice Clear Blemish Control system, regular or extra strength; you can get a 2-week trial of all 3 steps (normally $17, now $13), not just a tiny bit that won't tell you if it will work for you or not. She also has lots of other products for oily skin (other types too; I'm sensitive), if your primary issue isn't acne. Note that her benzoyl peroxide treatments are the only ones I've ever been able to use; I get the 0.5oz size 'cause I don't go through it very fast.

Plus, you can peruse the customer comments re: what works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2015 2:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Never, EVER will I give this crappy company my money again.

I stupidly bought this before my acne got to its worst as just a general face wash, it did absolutely nothing except made me lose my skin colour... my face was literally the same colour as a sheet of printer paper, and that's coming from a half Filipino with yellowish skin.

I looked unhealthily white, felt disgusting, and it didn't benefit my skin except for dry it out.

DO NOT I REPEAT, DO NOT PURCHASE FROM PROACTIV, YOU WILL BE EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED


on 3/29/2015 2:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I wish people would stop buying this stuff. Proactiv isn't being advertised like crazy because it's a good product...if it was, it would sell itself (like Alpha Hydrox). Do some research and go to acne.org and empower yourself with straight forward skincare knowledge.
2.5% Benzoyl peroxide is what eliminates acne...you don't need to invest in their 3 step package to reep the benefits of clear skin.
By the way, I have used 2.5% BP for the last 20 years I have perfectly clear skin. 20 years ago I had cystic acne and even meds from the derm wouldn't help.


on 2/23/2015 2:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely loathe ProActiv. I tried this line in my freshmen year of high school and then again in my senior year. I broke out like crazy. I tried to stay with the brand because I was told that ProActiv breaks you our first by bringing up all of the bacteria to the surface and then it begins to heal you. Well, even after sticking with ProActiv for a while, I broke out continuously. I suffered chemical-like burns on my jaw line (it looked like hives). I just don't really have anything positive to say about this product.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not for everyday use because this will dry out and could possibly damage your skin. Use proactive products as a supplement to a skin care routine. The product contains benzoyl peroxide which is an acne fighting powerhouse. This could irritate sensitive skin, BUT It is a life saver for acne prone skin! Don't over scrub with the cleanser, perhaps dilute the toner with water, and spot treat with the repairing lotion, or apply very lightly all over of needed. I have been using this on and off for over 10 years and have been very happy with the results.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this product about 5-6 years ago when I started developing acne my senior year of high school. I used it religiously. THIS STUFF IS TRASH! All it does is make you peel like if there's no tomorrow. I feel like Proactiv just aggravated my acne even more. It got worse year after year. Not to mention the fact that they'll automatically charge your card and send you a refill even if you specifically told them not to.

Word of advice....please go to your dermatologist! It took me 5 years to finally do so and I am so glad I did. I was prescribed Retin-a and I am now acne free. Not 1 zit on my face. Mind you, it took about 3 months to finally see results. It gets worse before it gets better. But it is definitely worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Simply the only thing that has ever worked for me! Will repurchase forever!


on 2/5/2015 4:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I started using this when I got stubborn adult acne. It dried my face out so bad it was flakey. Didn't do anything for me. I went to a dermatologist today and she almost cringed when I told her I was using Proactiv. She told me "they're really good at advertising" but that's about it. Apparently their soap has some sort of bleach in it. Gotta be good for your skin right? NOOOO. I feel bad I ever put this stuff on my skin. my poor poor skin. She told me to use Skin TX. I'm excited to try it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1287 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
181 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
102 Reviews
Unblemish
38 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
280 Reviews
Back to Top