Eucerin • Aquaphor Healing Ointment • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.7(1213 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.93%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 SoyUnDurazno on 1/21/2015 10:14:00 PM more reviews by SoyUnDurazno

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am not the one who posts a lot of negative reviews, but I just don't get all the hype. It is very oily and sticky, and doesn't do much for hydrating or moisturizing. I used it around my mouth and in my lips which were flaking and I didn't see any changes. I could have easily used a Chapstick. If you need this, you better stick to plain Vaseline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mimislamb on 1/14/2015 6:24:00 PM more reviews by mimislamb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing product! I use this every single day. My face around my mouth and chin gets extremely, horribly dry. I've used different unscented moisturizers on it over the years but this is my HG for sure. There is no trace of dry skin when I use this and it's very gentle and fragrance free.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bomkin on 1/12/2015 10:33:00 PM more reviews by bomkin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had this laying around my home years and years ago, and I didn't think it was anything special. I used it interchangeably with Vaseline & Eucerin's original healing ointment & Cetaphil cream. But now that I'm no longer in middle school and my skin has become much more drier, this thing has been the only thing that has been keeping my skin moisturized enough to not be flaking all over the place.

I have no idea why, but for the first time in my life, I've been experiencing some major wacky skin period. It's become SO much more drier, and sensitive, that it was very, very easy to irritate & get itchy. I even developed lizard-like rough skin around my mouth and cheekbones/brow areas. I was just BAFFLED and didn't know what to do. Even my trusty Waxelene, which has fixed everything from dry skin to chemical burns without breakouts, was not cutting it. As a last resort, I turned to Aquaphor. Which is a big deal for me, as I'm someone who usually avoids petroleum products. But the results have been so good that I'm going to make an exception.

At first, it didn't seem to be helping much. I slathered this on thickly all over my face (with all my other layers of moisturizers under it, including Waxelene) before I went to bed with my usual clean towel on the pillow. It was pretty uncomfortable to sleep in. :/ I'm acne-prone as well, and I broke out while doing this, but it could have been just a coincidence as I haven't been getting much sleep then, either.

But then, for some wacky reason, I found out that just putting a thin layer on my face and rubbing it in gently was much, much more effective and less greasy. I believe the most helpful step was to spray on rosewater between layers of moisturizers (I use Heritage Products rosewater spray, the one without glycerin), especially before putting on Aquaphor, since Aquaphor is part occlusive that traps the moisture under it.

This is what I do now:
- Wash face, put a small amount of vegetable glycerin on my palm and spray rosewater on, put it all over my face
- Put on Silk Naturals Oatmeal serum
- Spray rosewater all over face
- Apply a few drops of rosehip seed oil all over face & neck
- Spray rosewater
- Rub a pea sized amount of Aquaphor in my hands, warm it all up, pat it all over my face until it doesn't feel as greasy
- Spray rosewater (lol)

This might seem quite excessive to others, but doing this has helped my skin SO much. My alligator (I'm sorry reptiles, you are beautiful creatures, but it's not a good look or feel on my face) skin is gone and I'm not suffering from patches anymore. One thing that also surprised me about Aquaphor is that I thought it would just stay greasy the entire time I wore it, but when I rub it into my hands REAL good, it actually doesn't greasy to me! Interesting. I avoid such excessive rubbing on my face though, because I don't want to be stretching the skin there so much.

I've also noticed that using a gentle chemical exfoliant has been helping a ton in getting my moisturizers to actually soak in instead of sitting on top of my skin. I use Silk Natural's 8% AHA toner (which is made of lactic acid, instead of glycolic as usual, which is the gentlest form of AHA) every three days or so. I did not know this, but you have to wait 20-30 minutes before applying anything else to your skin so that the AHA can its job. Putting something else on your face before that can mess up the pH, causing it to not work properly. I usually just use the AHA on AHA days and wait 20-30 minutes, then continue with the routine as usual, but without the glycerin step.

Anyway, I really like that Aquaphor has something from chamomile in it as well, to help with the healing process, as my skin seems to really like chamomile things. Sometimes I mix in turmeric powder or oat flour with this ointment and put it on bug bites/cuts.

Overall, am so glad I was able to get past this painful skin issue this time around. Will update if anything changes.

Edit: I wonder if using just plain water instead of rosewater would have the same effect..?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skygirl777 on 1/4/2015 11:29:00 PM more reviews by skygirl777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is long overdue! My Derm said this is like liquid skin and uses it/recommends to all her patients. Believe it because it works on so many levels. I use it my lips, hands, feet, elbows, neck and I dab it under my eyes at night. Love this stuff!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 12/19/2014 8:18:00 AM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It is an amazing cream. I use it as a dry spots/cracked skin treatment and not for slathering on, like a lotion. It works miracles on chapped lips, dry cracked heels, knees and elbows and general dry spots on the face too. I also apply it under the eyes and on the neck, especially when stepping out in dry, cold weather or when there's a wind chill and am outdoors. It also works great as an eye liner, and helps grow the lashes, but that's probably because I am used to kohl so I am fine with applying it on the eyelids lining.

The huge tub is a bit unsanitary, for reuse. I use a small glass rod to scoop out the cream or apply on the eye lining. The ointment is definitely worth the high price. It is not just glorified vaseline as claimed by some, but has lanolin and chamomile extract.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hii on 12/19/2014 6:31:00 AM more reviews by hii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely amazing for new tattoos! Inexpensive, easy to find, and cheap. I use the squeeze tube, not the tub packaging. I've used it as a lip balm once or twice and it's great for that too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Melzy323 on 12/19/2014 3:50:00 AM more reviews by Melzy323

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Definitely another one in the bandwagon! Love this stuff! Petrolatum is the base so in that way it's like Vaseline but the difference ends there. The other ingredients are mineral oil, ceresin, lanolin alcohol, panthenol, glycerin, bisabolol. It's these other ingredients that put it over the edge and make this such a wonderful product. They are lubricants, emollients, humectants and even anti-microbials. Panthenol is provitamin B5. It does have a greasy, oily feel to it - much more than even Vaseline - but I'm ok with that. Aquaphor is made by Eucerin which is a part of Beiersdorf - the German company primarily famous for Nivea.

How does it compare to similar products like Homeoplasamine (only available online in the US) or Yu-be? Homeoplasamine is made by Boiron (France) is an ointment with a matte finish so that might be preferable for some but it is a LOT more expensive and hard to get (at least in the states). Yu-Be is a cream - so that makes it very different - and is available at Nordstrom, Sephora, etc. It's a Japanese product that's part of a skin care line. The cream is moisturizing enough but I don't like using it on my lips. I also don't think it lasts as long as an ointment would - and I don't think it's as efficient on healing as Aquaphor.

Love Aquaphor! Definite repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sherrys87 on 12/10/2014 7:44:00 PM more reviews by sherrys87

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Silver, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can not tell you how many times that I have lost my little portable that I carry with me!!!
I don't know what I would do without it, me and my retina A. However, sometimes in the summer, I do back off to: ta da- Eucerin Moisturiser for Intensely Dry Skin! Probably not supposed to be used on the face, but I didn't read that closely.....it works like a dream.
Can't do without it....ever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 serenas87 on 12/1/2014 1:24:00 AM more reviews by serenas87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My new favourite lip balm. I apply it at night on to my lips and they feel super hydrated in the morning. Beats all the other lip balms like eOS, nivea, and chapstick. I add/mix in a little of blistex on my lips with it just because I like the refreshing feel that blistex leaves on my lips. I wish the texture wasnt so much like vaseline. Other than that it functions amazing as a lip balm. Looking at other reviews I may try to apply it on other areas and see if it produces the same results. Recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bleuxs on 11/25/2014 7:29:00 PM more reviews by bleuxs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

totally awesome. everybody should try it. ..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Eucerin products

More Lotions/ Creams products