LUSH Ocean Salt

4.0

706 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Fine Sea Salt (Sodium Chloride), Fresh Grapefruit Infusion (Citrus grandis), Coarse Sea Salt (Sodium Chloride), Stearic Acid, Fresh Lime Extracted in Vodka (Citrus aurantifolia), Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Glycol Cetearate, Triethanolamine, Fresh Avocado Butter (Persea gratissima), Coconut Fat (Cocos nucifera), Lime Oil (Citrus aurantifolia), Seaweed Absolute (Fucus vesiculosus), Violet Leaf Absolute (Viola odorata), Glycerine, Lanolin, Cetearyl Alcohol, *Limonene, *Linalool, Perfume, FD&C Blue No. 1, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.


on 6/29/2015 12:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I brought this after watching Shaaanxo on YouTube review several lush products. I love the smell and texture (smells like the beach and kinda alcoholic because of the vodka and lime and it's quite thick with corse salt granules). I use this a couple times a week when my skin feels a bit blah and needs that little pick me up after cleansing. A really good exfoliator. Lush products can be really $$$$ (hence only 4 lippys) but a few are definitely worth the price tag, even got my bf into using this product. Definitely recommend.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product at the lush on Lincoln Road, FL and I just want to say that its one of the best body scrubs I have ever purchased. I don't use it as a facial scrub though because I'm scared its rough texture will damage my skin which is pretty sensitive. It smell's so amazingly good (like ocean salt and margarita mix almost) and I just cant stop using it! It leaves my skin so smooth and fresh as well as squeaky clean. I will probably never stop buying this item for as long as Lush is around. Although it's a little pricy, all of it (or most of the income I forgot) goes to charity in order to help clean our oceans from plastic and stuff. I love that about this product.

The people who work at lush are also pretty amazing (shout out to George I think It was who got me addicted to this product. Rock on dude!)


on 5/30/2015 11:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this scrub to see what all the buzz was about and I must say that I am less than pleased with it. I thought it was going to be quite a thick scrub however when I use it I feel like my Tree Hut scrub is thicker and does a better exfoliating job. Mind you this is a salt scrub and Tree Hut is a sugar scrub so there will obviously be differences. In addition to that, the price for this stuff is ridiculous and not cost effective in my opinion. I won't be repurchasing as I have way too many body scrubs in rotation to spend that kind of money on this stuff.


on 5/29/2015 5:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great scrub for body but not my sensitive face. I will buy this always as long as lush will be in business. This is my must have. This cost $35.95/250g. Love it. This make my skin soft and smooth. Smell nice and not over power.


on 5/29/2015 11:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I absolutely love this scrub. It smells amazing, and can last a while if you use it sparingly. As a body scrub, it is fantastic. Not so much as a face scrub, as I have sensitive skin. When I do use it on my face, I feel almost TOO clean and I get that squeaky clean feeling.

The price is too expensive for just a body scrub, as I dont use it that often. (Frank is my holy grail)
Wouldn't repurchase again unless it was cheaper.


on 5/18/2015 6:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I wanted to try Ocean salt so much for the reviews were so positive! I have acne prone skin and I was told this scrub would be my holy grail skin care product. I purchased the self preserving version, when I applied it to my face it really felt like deep exfoliating my skin but after a couple of seconds the salt dilutes and you don't really get that much exfoliation. I was ok with that cause it wasn't as hard as everyone said (at least my pot). The problem for me and my oily skin with this product was that after I washed it off, my skin was feeling greasy and stiky!!!!! (Literally, my worst nightmare), some ingredients are meant to moisturize the skin after but they clogged my pores and sometimes left some soft of 'butter' around my face that was really hard to get off :( so after trying it 6 or 7 times I gave up on it, I didn't want it to break me out. I think for my dry legs tho it works fine, so if you have combination or dry skin you could give it a shot! But it's a sure NO NO for acne prone!


on 5/13/2015 9:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

On my second tub, addicted to the smell and feel! Feel so fresh after using it!


on 5/8/2015 2:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very dry and EXTREMELY sensitive skin on my face. This hurt so bad. The sales girl said this is fine for sensitive skin, but let me tell you it is not! It took my face a week to recover from this. I gave it 2 stars because it is nice on the body though.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My most favorite product from lush! Been using it for more than 4-5yrs :)) i mainly use it on my body. (I apply it without water, i love it that way) It always makes my skin look vibrant, healthy and squeaky clean, ive tried on so many body scrubs none of them even compares to ocean salt. On my face i only use it once or twice a week But with small amount of water since its very abrasive for me, i have a very sensitive face (i only use chanel douceur milk cleanser for everyday use). I will purchase this forever. Its a must have :))


on 5/6/2015 1:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Though I have switched over to an otherwise entirely natural skincare routine, I cannot seem to give this product up - it's the only store-bought skincare product I use.

Since changing to natural skincare, my skin has become normal and balanced. My acne, which used to be severe, is now mostly gone. I get a hormonal breakout here and there and tend to get some small bumps/dry spots when my mild rosacea flares up, but it's nothing like it was in the past. I am happy with my skin for the first time in 10 years.

Ocean Salt helps me to maintain and improve my skin's condition when I use it one or two nights a week. I find that removing some of the dead skin from the surface helps to further prevent my breakouts, makes my makeup apply better, and keeps the small bumps from forming. While I have tried home-made scrubs, they just don't do for my skin what Ocean Salt does.

To use Ocean Salt, I apply it to my face and rub it in VERY gently. It's got quite large salt granules in it but they don't irritate my face unless I use too much pressure. I make sure to avoid any cracked or open skin. I feel the need to stress that if your skin is dry to the point of being chapped or if you have a lot of open/popped blemishes, I would avoid this product until things heal a bit. On open skin the combination of salt, citrus, and alcohol is not a good time. The smell is tropical and fresh and, even though there is some alcohol in it, my skin feels hydrated and looks bright after use. I follow with an alcohol free toner and some oil to moisturize and my skin is left smooth and soft. If it have any blemishes, they are reduced when I wake up in the morning. The redness in my cheeks seems to even out a little as well.

I know that this is a lengthy review, but I felt the need to go into so much detail with the history and current state of my skin because of the amazing changes. Ocean Salt has been a staple and has really helped me in the process of getting rid of my acne, balancing my oil levels and smoothing my texture. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND giving it a try. It's well worth the price and, since I only use it on my face 1-2 times a week, it lasts quite a long time. Also, if you end up not liking it as a face scrub, you can always use it on your body! It's awesome to use before sunless tanners.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Scrubs


Ocean Salt
705 Reviews
Apricot Scrub
2625 Reviews
Green Tea Scrub
336 Reviews
Back to Top