LUSH • Ocean Salt • Scrubs

rated 4.0(682 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 amcs0543 on 2/21/2015 2:01:00 PM more reviews by amcs0543

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

To start out I want to say I have never actually written a review on any skin care product, but because I am a religious review reader I felt inclined to write a review about the Ocean Salt scrub. I also love lush and a lot of their products which is why this was such a disappointment.

I don't have bad acne, but I have a lot of blackheads and clogged pores that have always been a constant battle to fight. Occasionally I get a couple cystic blemishes which makes me freak out and only causes more cystic blemishes. (Usually around my girl time of the month.) I went into lush to pick up the cosmetic warrior mask I've used before to clear up these bemishes. And I wanted something for some dry patches, because I naturally have oily skin, but living in the desert I have started to gain some dry patchy areas. After talking to one of the girls who was helping me she convinced me to also buy the ocean salt, along with another customer in there who swears by it. I checked my phone really quick just to check the overall rating on it before I spent $35 on the tub.

Finally using it: I was cautioned to be SUPER GENTLE, which I was, and it felt amazing; I really didn't mind the strong smell and with the tiny sea salt particles and mix of the large coarse particles I really thought I was exfoliating all of my imperfections. After about a minute passed it started to burn and tingle, which again I didn't mind because I still felt like it was seriously cleansing out everything! After I washed it all off it still felt really great and I put my moisturizer on.... It was then I sat on the couch for a bit and when I laughed at something my skin around my mouth and cheeks felt super tight. I went to check how my skin looked and it was flakier than before! I put some more moisturizer and it still didn't help. This just made my oily parts more oily! I brushed this off as a first time use reaction.
I've used it 7 times since then in high hopes that I will love it, but even still my dry patches are even drier and more obvious, worst of all it seems like the best moisturizer won't hydrate these patches after using it. It even dried out my lips so bad they started peeling and burned. This only lasts 2 days after exfoliating and then my face is fine... But in the end I think I need to give up and realize this product will not help my skin at all. It could work for other people, like I have read... But not for this girl!

Final review: it makes my dry patches drier, it burns and makes my sensitive areas more sensitive, it didn't clean out my pores, so it really just made things worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laraheartsmakeup on 2/8/2015 6:20:00 PM more reviews by laraheartsmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I literally don't understand how anyone could give this less than five stars. This may be the best skin care product I've ever used. The smell is heavenly -- like a lime margarita. It's an amazing exfoliator, but at the same time is creamy and smooth. I'm not really sure what the hell I was doing before I used Ocean Salt. I could not recommend it more highly.

I think some of the low ratings have to do with people using the product incorrectly. Here are a few tips:
1. When you get a new tub, mix the blue salt granules on the top into the product with a butter knife.
2. Wet your face before use.
3. You don't need a lot.
4. Be gentle!

Overall, Ocean Salt has done wonderful things for my skin and I will definitely repurchase it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Stellam on 2/5/2015 7:26:00 AM more reviews by Stellam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received this in a gift set - I liked the smell, but there should be instructions to stir the salt into the product (might be - I probably missed it). I didn't and I pretty much has all the salt on the first try - OUCH!, and then mush the rest of the time. Scent is great! But ladies - stir it up BEFORE using! I have not tried the newest version of Ocean salt - perhaps they updated that?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CraxFactor on 1/27/2015 11:34:00 PM more reviews by CraxFactor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I thought this would be more like the origins peppermint scrub. It's less oily, and much smaller scrubbies. I would never use it on my face. But the salt's still not coarse enough for me. it's complicated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 amandayuana on 1/17/2015 2:49:00 PM more reviews by amandayuana

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product, and the sales representative said that it was Lush's bestseller. However, it stung my face so much that it eventually became painful to touch my face. People with sensitive skin should DEFINITELY NOT use this product. It will burn the crap out of your face. Additionally, in a scientific perspective, salt dissolves in water because salt is ionic and water is polar and they have ion-dipole bonds (done with my scientific rant), but basically if you put this product in water it will dissolve the salt crystals and you will get a huge clump of mess.

In addition to this product being an absolute piece of crap, it contains propylparaben, which is a KNOWN CARCINOGEN. In addition to getting horrible and dry skin, you also get an increased risk of cancer!

Seriously, since I want to protect the well-being and health of other people, I would very strongly recommend that you do not purchase product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mistyxrose on 1/16/2015 1:53:00 PM more reviews by mistyxrose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the SELF-PRESERVING Ocean Salt, which is the same price as the Ocean Salt. I was told this scrub was a little more gentle and moisturizing because there's glycerin in it. I tried the sample last night and found it still too abrasive for the face - one of the pieces nicked me and the citrus burned my skin that my whole cheek bone area was all splotchy red. The redness faded this morning but I can feel that my skin is still irritated. Needless to say, I'm not using it on the face anymore but I'll use it for the back of my arms.

The only reason why I gave it three lippies is because I can see it as a really good scrub and I did try the Ocean Salt and my skin liked that better, but I guess my skin is too sensitive. Smells nice too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 misiaxoxo on 1/15/2015 11:23:00 AM more reviews by misiaxoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really loved this product! I have nothing bad to say about it, it helped with my dry skin and it made my skin super soft. But when I ordered it online (because my closest Lush store is an hour away) it took FOREVER to come in. It took almost a month, I thought it was never going to come in. I really enjoyed this product but I'm scared to order it online again and be waiting forever for it; when I need it now bc my skin is soooo dry!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aliengrrrl on 1/8/2015 11:47:00 PM more reviews by aliengrrrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is seriously my favorite Lush product! I have always had rougher skin, especially the little dry bumps on the back of my arms. I've always hated them, and every product and lotion I've tried hasn't been able to fix this problem--until now! After one use I could already tell a difference, and after two uses, I felt so smooth I couldn't believe it. The top layer is not to be used on your face due to the humongous pieces, but the under layers even help my face get so soft (I have a lot of acne though so it stings a bit! So I only use it on my face when it's feeling really dry and flaky). It smells very lemony, which personally I really like. Seriously seriously seriously I recommend this product. There's a reason why it's a best seller.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Milena on 1/4/2015 6:24:00 PM more reviews by Milena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ocean Salt is entirely too abrasive for use on the face. However, I find this to be a phenomenal body and foot scrub. You are supposed to mix it when you buy it, and then use it. The top layer is chock full of large chunks of sea salt, and underneath is a paste with finer ground salt. When I use this for pedicures, I use it on dry skin and it makes my feet baby soft. Only a small amount is needed to do the job. The smells is very fresh, and heavy on the lime and salt -just like a margarita :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 everydayglow on 12/31/2014 6:54:00 PM more reviews by everydayglow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I love this as a face exfoliate. I have used tones of products but this one is by far my favorite ♡ it has an amazing smell and refreshes you skin http://m.




http://everydayglowwithmichelle.blogspot.ca/?m=1

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Scrubs products