E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(786 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 CandyClouds on 9/27/2014 7:48:00 PM more reviews by CandyClouds

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good primer. It works well on my super oily eye lids and it is also very cheap. One thing I noticed is that it kind of stops working when you use up most of the packaging, probably because there is no enough product and that's the only reason why a gave it a 4 lipstick rating. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 9/10/2014 9:54:00 PM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a decent primer. It is not magic and can crease by the end of the day but I do notice my eyeshadow does last longer when I use this. I compared to my Primer potion and it held up well against it especailly for the price. At the end of my day both eyes still had shadow on them both had worn away a bit. The elf side did have some creasing which could easily be fixed by blending softly with your finger. For the price I think this is amazing. The fact that it was not a hot mess and still on the lids I was happy.
For going out or days I need my makeup to last I will stick to my primer potion but all other days I will use this. I have not tried the wet n wild one which I have heard good things about so I am not sure if that one may be better or not.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shindiggity on 9/10/2014 8:40:00 PM more reviews by shindiggity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have very oily skin and I normally use Urban Decay's Primer Potion. A friend of mine told me that she loves this ELF eyelid primer and that she considers it a dupe for the UD Primer Potion. So, of course, I had to try it! Let me just say that it really is not. The texture is a lot more watery than the UDPP and the performance is just not at all there. My waterproof mascara and/or my waterproof eyeliner even started to smudge and transfer after a few hours. If you're someone who is blessed with having normal or even dry skin, then maybe this will work for you. But, if you have oily to very-oily skin, stay away; it's not even worth getting for $1.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HotPozzum on 9/2/2014 1:22:00 AM more reviews by HotPozzum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this on reviews here as I love eyeshadow but hate the creases I would get after a few hours. This primer costs me $AU3 which is a total bargin. The peachy nudy colour suits me perfectly and yes, it worked a treat! Eyeshadow stayed perfectly in place for 12+hours - no flaking or creasing. My eyeliner didn't smudge either which was a nice bonus. Only strange thing I noticed was it seems to reduce shimmer/sparkle of the eyeshadow I was using ie. made it look more matte. Not a big deal but a little odd.

Best thing i discovered is if you are very fair like me - you can use this as an under-eye concealer. No joke - it works waaaaay better than any other expensive concealer I've purchased previously. It's a light glowy nude colour, not too sheer and sets like rock. Removes dark shadows, doesn't settle into fine lines (which I have a lot of) and stays put all day. No need to layer or powder - just a quick swipe with the doe-foot and dab it with your finger to set. Love it!!!! Wish I had discovered this years ago...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Peachedpeaches on 8/31/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Peachedpeaches

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

As a first impression, I have to say I love this. This is my first eye primer and as a broke teen I don't have a whole lot of money to buy makeup willy-nilly. The primer comes out a light beige color but blends out to be very sheer, almost undetectable, as the name implies. It holds my eyeshadow well, from wet n wild to Clinique to E.L.F. Overall, this is a decent product but what makes this a steal is the $1 price tag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Heyitssneha on 8/25/2014 9:56:00 PM more reviews by Heyitssneha

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have mixed feelings about this :/ when I wear the primer with eyeshadow it looks great but on the parts of my skin that have primer on them but no eyeshadow will get really peely and leave residue that's very noticeable on my skin. I wore it by itself today (no eyeshadow at all) and it just peeled a lot and was not very appealing :/ but it does work well when with eyeshadow! Just try not to get it on skin that won't have eyeshadow on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 etain_anders on 8/20/2014 12:29:00 AM more reviews by etain_anders

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have very oily lids, and on it's own this primer makes little to no difference in terms of how quickly my eyeshadow will crease (about an hour tops). BUT--if I apply this primer, wait a few seconds (basically long enough to open my mineral makeup foundation jar and find a brush), then press my mineral foundation onto my eyelids while the primer is still a little tacky, the two bond together and form a seal that keeps the oil from breaking through for at least FIFTEEN HOURS.

Seriously, I just stopped typing to go to the bathroom and check my eyeshadow. I put it on, after the primer and foundation, at 9:30-ish this morning, and it's now 11:28 pm. Granted this shadow is particularly long-lasting (the elf highlighter in fact), but even still, this is incredible. I will definitely be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eileeniebean on 8/17/2014 3:11:00 PM more reviews by eileeniebean

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

It works pretty alright to help prevent creasing and makes your eyeshadow pop more. I still find myself creasing at the end of the day, but much much less than if I went without primer. The packaging is flimsy though. The bottom of the lid, for some reason, has cracked all around. It doesn't seem to make a difference to the product though. Overall, this is a great primer for the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 8/15/2014 12:48:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an OK product for me, nothing to write home about and I will not be repurchasing. I am NC15 with warm undertones and the color of this looks too peachy at first but thankfully blends in on application. It's very siliconey feeling, which I don't love, and thin so you don't have to use much. Cream eyeshadows apply a little patchy on top of this, and it definitely doesn't make the shadow color pop. It does help to prevent my shadows from creasing and my mascara and liner from smudging and smearing - that's why it got 3 lippies. The biggest selling point is the price, which is totally reasonable. If that's what's most important to you, go for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Englishvik on 8/15/2014 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Englishvik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

For the price you can NOT go wrong with this primer, for everyday use it's brilliant it does exactly what it sets out to do, probably wouldn't recommend for clubbing etc as it probably wouldn't hold up as say Urban Decay Primer Potion but it's still amazing!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products