E.L.F. Complexion Perfection

3.6

241 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Mica, Magnesium Stearate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Nylon-12, Titanium Dioxide, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Silica, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Boron Nitride. MAY CONTAIN: Chromium Hydroxide Green (CI 77289), D&C Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), FD&C Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), FD&C Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090).


on 2/22/2015 12:48:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm so sorry that I'd never reviewed this; I've used and loved it for YEARS to set my undereye concealer! What's not to love? It's $3, I can pick up more blue & pink or yellow powder as needed each day (the coloring under my eyes can change - more red, more sallow, etc) but a mix of all four shades generally covers all bases (ha). I use a large fluffy eyeshadow brush (mine is an old NYX brush but I love it), skate across all shades in a circle and PAT powder over my concealer under my eyes. I then apply my mineral foundation, blush, etc. and lastly my mineral finishing powder (Lucy Minerals) - none of which are applied to my undereyes. Then I take a large kabuki and LIGHTLY brush off excess ELF CP powder beneath my eyes and my face. My undereyes never look dry or powdery and my concealer never creases. I just love this stuff, love the finish and the shades and the compact lasts so long. I've never liked this as a color-corrector on my face - too light, too pastel. But do try it under your eyes!



on 1/26/2015 1:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Yuck this was terrible. Very chalky and not natural looking on the skin. It does not blend in well at all. Very dissatisfied.


on 1/16/2015 2:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Pros: This product can help tone down colors on my face and it does help my face stay matte.

Cons: I have light skin and this makes my face look a little chalky and pale at times.

I will not buy this product again, but I will continue to use this product because I still have it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've read some really great reviews for this and am quite astonished. It does nothing for me. I bought it to mask some redness on my cheeks, but I can't even tell I have it on. It's also quite powdery. Basically, it does nothing. The only redeeming quality of this product is the packaging. It's small & sleek and has a nice mirror. I'm thinking about digging out the powder and just using it as a mirror because, from my point of view, that's all it's good for.
I would like to note that I'm not pale like the other reviewers who have had good luck with this product, so maybe it's really only designed to help those with pale skin. I have medium-light to medium skin color in the winter and medium in the summer.
I do love that e.l.f. is cruelty-free and very affordable, I just don't like this product. :)


on 1/11/2015 3:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Packaging quality is amazing! The product is also amazing! I use mine over primer and under foundation- neutralizes the "red." Love using less foundation! Love this product!


on 5/3/2014 1:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE (9/12/2014)
I recently bought the shade "Warm" in this powder to test it out. A few things are different. First, the packaging is more matte and less square. I haven't dropped it yet, but it still feels solid and good for travelling. As for the shade, the "Warm" is a bit darker that the "Cool" and swatches very light nude as oppose to white. There is no green square in this pan, but the yellow/blue tones are present like before, as well as a darker tan color. Unfortunately, there seems to be visible particles of shimmer in this powder. Sometimes it gives my skin a look of natural luminosity, but at other times it looks off. Rawr. I definitely prefer the "Cool" toned powder and will repurchase that one.

UPDATE (8/7/2014)
First of all, NOOO I BROKE IT. Now, I'm not complaining: as I said earlier, this baby has gone to hell and back with me multiple times and has never shown any wear nor tear, but I think because its so soft and I had hit some serious pan, dropped it open-faced on hardwood, and stepped on it, not even this Hercules of a product could survive. Truly the best travel packaging of anything I've ever used. And I still love this stuff, even after 3 years of use. I'm a makeup flirt, but I used this on an everyday basis for that duration, and I fell in love with it more and more (I'm looking at you, pink square that I use to set my undereye concealer). This is fantastic and dirt-cheap. Do yourself a favor and get it. I love it and recommend it 100%.

______
PROS: soft texture, great packaging, adaptable, tone correcting ability for pale skin, cheap
CONS: powder can be a little messy, won't work well for darker skin

As a very pale, combination skinned girl who likes to keep things simple, this powder is a winner. It has become my one-stop-shop for correcting skintone, brightening my undereyes, highlighting my brow bone, mattifying my skin, and setting my concealer.

For tone correction, I use a small, angled crease brush to swirl this very specifically over areas of my face (painstaking for some, but I happen to be a naturalist and perfectionist, so I love the undetectable look this method gives me).This powder works exceptionally at evening pigmentation on whitish skin like mine- ladies with more depth to their skin may find it useless or too ashy to use. This also, mind you, is not a concealer- it won't cover scars or huge breakouts, but in minimizing imperfections and creating a blank canvas, it is golden.

The second best part of this powder is the packaging. Not only do I love that the four different colors are distinct and the huge mirror, but this baby is indestructible. I have dropped this, stepped on it, traveled with it, and so much more, and the clasp, hinge, mirror, and powder all all completely intact. It is sleek and effective, and that's all I can ask for as far as packaging goes.

In brief, this ELF powder is a real find. For three bucks, you get an effective, pale powder that mattifies, color-corrects, and sets the skin in travel-friendly (and clumsy friendly) packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2013 5:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Color correcting ya right


on 9/28/2013 12:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

not good for tone correcting... All the powders are basically just white when they go on. every time I wear this it ends up looking like I poured white baby powder all over my face. not a good look. it may be ok if used sparingly on oily skin. maybe mixed with a liquid concealer would help?? I'm not sure. but I def won't repurchase. this is the only elf product I don't like :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/4/2013 3:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

So far I really like this product. It takes away the redness I may have from a zit or from sun. I was going to pay a lot more for another brand and I am so glad I found this one and didn't spend over $20.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I do love E.L.F products, I am a total cheap makeup shopper, so I know when i purchase something cheaper than usual like ( nyc, wet n wild, and e.l.f) I know its a hit or miss. This product is in the middle, I love it for my oily t zone but not for overall coverage, i usually use this on my t zone and then another translucent powder on the rest of my face and sometimes over it, because some days it looks like it leaves a strange texture and color on my face. But overall its a great product, E.L.F never seems to fail me plus is cheap and you defiantly get a great product for cheap!


Back to Top