Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2128 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanel277 on 7/24/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by chanel277

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is on the drier side and this foundation doesn't agree with that. I get why so many people love this foundation but unfortunately its not for my skin type. The color selection is huge but i find it a bit hard to find your exact match since they have a weird way to categorize their selection. In Mac things are easy they have nc/nw 15 and they go up from there. In MUFE things are way more complicated, anyway bottom line is that this foundation comes in a huge variety of shades and you can probably find one that suites you. Many people say that this is a full coverage foundation.This isn't true. With one thin layer you get sheer to light coverage. The good thing is that this foundation is very buildable so with 2-3 layers you can defiantly get fuller coverage. It has very nice texture and spreads easily on the skin and sets to a matte finish which looks natural. The texture isn't too thick neither too runny its somewhere in between and blending it on the skin is piece of cake . It has quite good lasting power and it doesn't set on lines and wrinkles thanks to its silicone base . If you have oily normal or combination skin then this foundation is perfect. On my dry skin this sets completely matte and i look dry and wrinkly. Even without powder on top of it still looks drying on my skin. I use a very thick moisturizer as a base and that way i can almost make it work especially during the summer. In the winter this foundation is a complete disaster for my skin personally. It cracks and makes my skin look dry wrinkly and shallow. I wont buy it again for me but i would happily recommend it to someone with oilier skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 librarygirl85 on 7/23/2014 10:19:00 PM more reviews by librarygirl85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this foundation and can't imagine using anything else. This is light to medium coverage in my option. So if you have a lot to hide I wouldn't recommend it. I also don't recommend it for oily skin - the rep at Sephora also said this is not for oily skin types because it will come off. If you have dry or combo skin give it a try. I have dry skin and was beginning to have problems finding a foundation that didn't look caked on. This feels like I'm wearing nothing and looks like I'm wearing nothing. It lasts all day (coupled with the powder)! I do not have to touch it up and it never looks oily nor does it melt off my face (I live in Texas - it gets hot!). I've been able to wear it 12+ hours ... does not break me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetheart5703 on 7/23/2014 8:41:00 PM more reviews by sweetheart5703

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this foundation. This is my personal holy grail foundation, I have been using it for a few years now. I love how I look in pictures when I wear it. I can wear it alone and my face does not get shiny or anything. However I am using it more now with primer and setting powder just because I want it to look better. I get bored sometimes with foundation and I like to mix it up. This is the only one I really ever go back too. Another foundation I love equally as much is the Even Better foundation by Clinique. When I am budgeting I use that one instead. Love both though, but Make Up Forever is the best for me. I am always looking for a foundation to top it though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ahrako on 7/23/2014 11:18:00 AM more reviews by ahrako

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I know this is HG for a lot of people, but I just don't feel it. The coverage is average at best and I was surprised at how watery and thin the formula was. It actually oxidized and turned orange-y only after 2 hours of application, and it slid around and became blotchy at the end of the day, even after setting with powder and on a non-humid summer day. I have tried to use it with all sorts of different applicators - stippling brush, beauty blender, flat kabuki buffing brush, MAC 190 - all same results. I do like the packaging - gotta love a foundation that comes with a pump. Will not purchase again, and will stick to MAC studio fix fluid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeuploveraus on 7/22/2014 11:32:00 PM more reviews by makeuploveraus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Nice but nothing to rave about.

Having heard so much from beauty guruís about this product I was expecting something amazing. This is a nice foundation but it didnít wow me. It has a nice natural finish, the colour range is great but I donít think it performs much better than my garnier bb cream. If I pay AUS 70 I expect a high performing product, especially compared to my AUS15 bb cream. By 12pm this foundation was starting to fade, it would never last a night out as it just got too shiny and looked dreadful. I have an oily t-zone but nothing out of control, but this foundation just didnít work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Shaethegoddess on 7/22/2014 1:21:00 PM more reviews by Shaethegoddess

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I thought I would try this foundation after reading the reviews. Very disappointed! It feels oily on my skin almost like my skin can't breath. I'm taking this back to store and heading back to the Lancome counter!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 chloemorris on 7/15/2014 9:46:00 PM more reviews by chloemorris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I do not understand the hype surrounding this foundation. It is probably one of the worst foundations I have ever used. Sorry MUF, you don't get my vote on this one. I felt like there was barely any coverage and I was constantly having to touch up and reapply throughout the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 willowyv on 7/15/2014 5:19:00 PM more reviews by willowyv

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My favorite foundation! Very natural finishing and it's medium coverage. A little goes a long way. Just find the right shade and you'll love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Loveandcouturexo on 7/14/2014 4:09:00 PM more reviews by Loveandcouturexo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Out of all the foundations i've tried, (which is quite a lot), i'd have to say this is one of my favorites, if not my favorite. First of all, the packaging is great. It is sleek and pretty lightweight with a pump. Nothing too fancy, but still looks nice. The shade range is INCREDIBLE. Probably one of the best shade ranges out there for a foundation. It's super easy to find your match. My shade is 117, the most perfect match i've ever had for a foundation. It doesn't oxidize, which is a huge plus. It feels lightweight on the skin, like you're putting on nothing, and has little to no scent to it. This foundation goes on really easily and you can use whatever method you prefer, (fingers, sponge, brush). It looks so natural, like skin, but naturally flawless looking skin. It lasts well on me, doesn't cake up, and doesn't break me out. Those are all the pros I can think of. As for cons, i'd say the price is a drawback, because it is expensive. Also, I do get shiny after a few hours but that's a problem for me with pretty much any foundation.
Overall, love this product! 5/5

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 upinspace on 7/14/2014 2:00:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this after I finished up a MAC Studiofix, and I love it so much!

I love the finish, it doesn't make me feel cakey or like I have too much makeup on. This foundation lasts me a whole school day and doesn't need touchups. (And I don't even powder my face after, my skin dries out faster.) It covers well and overall I love it! Also, the pump is really handy.

My only two small issues are that the cap for it doesn't go on to well and usually falls off in my makeup bag. Also, I have the lightest shade but it's a little too pink so I wish they made a more yellow toned color. But neither of those are the products fault and are so minor. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products