Demeter • Salt Air • Fragrances

rated 4.0(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatieRoxx on 6/20/2014 7:35:00 PM more reviews by KatieRoxx

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Purchased the roll-on version of this. I live on the East Coast. This does not smell anything like salt air along the coast - not the New England Coast, not the Jersey Shore, not the Outerbanks. Doesn't smell like salt air in the tropics either. It's not unpleasant. I pick up more lemon verbena than any sort of marine or water notes. Slightly unisex. Zero lasting power. Would not purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HeidiF69 on 12/16/2013 8:12:00 PM more reviews by HeidiF69

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have the roll on version and it lasts quite long on me. I really like this fragrance and keep it in my desk drawer. It doesn't remind me much of the beach, but it is a lovely, spicy almost masculine scent. It reminds me of either Moroccan Oil shampoo or Chi Silk Infusion smell with a blue ocean note. Very professional and unassuming.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladysonoma on 8/23/2013 5:19:00 PM more reviews by ladysonoma

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Salt air smells just like at the beach. Like others, it doesn't last very long. This scent picks me up because I spent most of my life in a beach town. Now I live in the south, for career reasons, and the thing I miss most is the smell of salt in the air. This is such a good and life like scent that I'm absolutely amazed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 atn913 on 8/20/2013 7:36:00 PM more reviews by atn913

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love the fragrance. It wears fairly long on me, but it's the roll-on rather than the PMU spray. I don't mind that it has to be applied throughout the day, in fact, if the scent lasted longer I'd wonder if it were truly phthalate free as advertised.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 8/20/2013 7:21:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Demeter calls their Salt Air fragrance a "perfect sea breeze on the perfect beach at your favorite tropical island. There's just no denying it... Demeter's Salt Air will have you thinking of that last vacation and much needed new one. Take off to the land of tranquility where the scent of the sea breeze wakes you up each day and sends you off to dreamland at night. But don't forget to book your airfare early!" I received a .29 fl oz (8.8ml) roller ball of Salt Air in my July Ipsy Bag. This is my third scent from Demeter, they offer countless fragrances, and Salt Air is one of the most popular. This fragrance is available in a variety of sizes and products ranging in price from $6-40 - the roller ball featured in this post retails for $10. Demeter products can be bought through the brand's website and Duane Reade and Walgreens stores. Demeter does not test on animals or buy ingredients from suppliers who test. This perfume oil was made in America.
Demeter's Roll On Perfume Oil has simple packaging. This fragrance comes in a small, rectangular glass bottle with a black plastic cap. Removing the cap reveals a small plastic roller ball. I really like Demeter's roller ball, it doesn't feel weird on the skin like ceramic balls, nor does it ever jam or skip. A white and aqua label is affixed to the from of the bottle, offering the product and scent name. A full ingredient list can be found on the back of the bottle. This product's packaging is recyclable.
I was very pleased to receive Demeter's Salt air scent, I love ocean themed products and fragrances. Demeter doesn't offer a list of notes for Salt Air, and my knowledge of what the actual ocean smells like is limited to Sydney Harbour...an odor not quite worthy of being bottled. Salt Air is light and pleasant, certainly beachy. To me it smells like fresh air and seaweed. I don't feel like Salt Air is particularly salty, but it makes me feel like I should be on a boat. I can't pick out specific scent notes, but this scent takes me back to afternoons playing on the beach with Deano, and the endless ferry rides that got us there. This is a fantastic summer scent, I really love it. Unfortunately, like the other two Demeter scents I've tried, Salt Air has very poor wear time, lasting no longer than 90 minutes on me.
I really like Demeter's Salt Air Roll On Perfume Oil, I just wish it lasted longer. This perfume is perfectly beachy and reminds me of some very happy days. I'm glad that I got it, and will continue to use it, but I don't think I'd repurchase it. The poor wear times of Demeter's scents makes them not worth the money, in my opinion. Also, as much as I like this scent I don't think I'll wear it particularly often. I welcome more Demeter products in future Ipsy bags though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nikki8811 on 8/14/2013 10:37:00 PM more reviews by nikki8811

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have the roll on and I really like this scent. It smells just like the beach. But smells classy and clean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kimberlylayne on 7/19/2013 9:27:00 PM more reviews by Kimberlylayne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I got this fragrance in my Glossy Box. I am very picky about perfumes and I wear Versace Crystal Noir almost exclusively. With that being said I did like this scent. It really does smell like the beach. I let my son sniff it without telling him what it was and the first thin he said was that smells like the ocean. So I guess they nailed it. One down side is that the scent wears off rather quickly, in about two hours in my case and I hardly ever sweat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 frazzletree on 5/21/2012 12:08:00 AM more reviews by frazzletree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is for a rollon perfume oil - not the spray.
I found this in a CVs for $5. It smell exactly like the beach. I live at the beach - and this is an onzonic, marine smell. It's kind of awesome, I have to say. I think this would be ideal layered with other scents - a vanilla lotion, Marc Jacobs lemon splash, or with anything super floral - all seem interesting.
Wearing this alone - I think I'll need to be in a very specific mood.
This was sooo cheap and this is such a unique scent - this is definitely worth the five bucks.
Oh, and everyone wondering where they can find the Demeter library? It's at Demeter.com - looks like everything is available.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 7/23/2011 11:15:00 AM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Extremely synthetic smelling, bordering on nausea-inducing. Nothing salt air about it imo. I've tried this on skin, on fabric, and on paper. It's a no-no for me. BBW fragrances are much better ... and that's not saying much. It's available at the online discounters for 18 bucks (4 ounce bottle) for a reason. Just saying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 adltchickadee on 3/16/2011 12:39:00 PM more reviews by adltchickadee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Green    

This cologne has a salty-sweet fragrance that is very reminiscent of summer days on the beach. I fell in love with it when I first smelled it and bought a huge bottle. I thought it was mild enough to wear to work on a daily basis. However, as the days passed, the sweet aspect grew stronger and the salty less so. I wanted a clean fragrance to wear to the office; I thought this was it, but the fragrance turned out to be a bit more overpowering than I wanted. (I finally settled on Demeter's Pure Soap to wear to work.)
I gave my bottle of Salt Air to my husband, and it smells great on him, so at least the purchase didn't go to waste.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Demeter products

More Fragrances products