Lancome • Photogenic Loose powder [DISCONTINUED] • Loose Powders

rated 4.1(42 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 kmw1 on 2/18/2013 11:39:00 PM more reviews by kmw1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I know this product has been discontinued for sometime now,so why am I writing this review? Because this is my Hg powder and I have spent months trying to find a replacement to no avail. I used to be able to get it on Ebay or Amazon, but lately there hasn't been much there. I have combo skin with an oily t-zone and my complexion is light with pink and slight yellow undertones. This powder gave a beautiful, radiant, lasting finish without looking powdery, cakey or shiny. It had just enough pigment to it that allowed me to wear it alone to even out my complexion on days when I did not wear foundation. When I did wear it over foundation (the companion Photogenic one) my face looked flawless and airbrushed. It never irritated my skin or caused my t-zone to go into overdrive. The majority powders out there are either mineral or moist powders. Both cause my t-zone to go out of control and make my face itch.The color that I used- light buff was perfect too- yellow with a slight pink tone.Nobody seems to carry a shade similar to that either. For reference i have tried Chanel- caused my face to get oily and it was too sheer, Nars- could have been great if they has a better color selection, Cliniique- made me shiny after an hour of wearing it. Plus countless others. I am so disappointed that Lancome never came up with a replacement, and everything they do have seems to be marketed to dry mature skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 terrisheldon on 1/7/2011 3:21:00 PM more reviews by terrisheldon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I too loved the Photogenic Loose Powder by Lancome and discovered yesterday that it has been discontinued. I bought the new Absolute powder, but am not impressed with the coverage that it gives me.

You may want to try the L'Oreal loose powder. It gives the same flawless coverage, but doesn't have they staying power that the Photogenic had. It is the same amount of powder as the Aboslute, but for 1/4 the price and I do like it better. I use the translucent color.

I am very disappointed that this product has been discontinued.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kmonster on 1/7/2011 12:07:00 PM more reviews by kmonster

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The BEST powder, love it. Whenever I wanted to try something different, it never was as sheer, brightening, or non-reactive as this powder. I've used it for over 10 years and when I went to buy my annual replacement (it lasts a long time), I was disappointed to learn that the photogenic loose powder has been discontinued AND that Lancome is reformulating their line, so right now offers mineral loose powders (for half the size at the same price) or a heavier loose powder that provides more coverage than I'm looking for. I get that mineral make up is popular right now, but I find them too heavy and thick and would really like an alternative. So I'm left buying the powder from Ebay while there are still some around. Gotta find something in the meanwhile. Thinking of trying L'oreal's loose powder since they're owned by Lancome. Would love to hear what others end up using.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pm3222 on 9/4/2010 5:14:00 PM more reviews by pm3222

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this powder. I've been using it for over 10 years. I tried other loose powders before (like Estee Lauder and drug store variety), but they didn't do much of anything. Some even turned orange by the end of the day. Try this one out at the make-up counter before you buy it and choose the right color. I use Photogenic in LIght Buff applied over Estee Lauder Double Wear in Dusk. I think you'll be able to see a difference in your skin even the first time you try it out. Also, Photogenic isn't cheap, but it lasts a really long time. I use it most days of the week and one will last me at least 1 1/2-2 years!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TinalovesyousxD on 7/19/2010 4:44:00 AM more reviews by TinalovesyousxD

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this powder! I had acne at the time and once I started using this it started to clear up, which is really weird. I'm upset at Lancome for discontinuing this product, it was a HG for me! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 julia_s on 1/15/2010 1:43:00 PM more reviews by julia_s

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This powder's incredible texture brings out my inner poet: shall I compare thee to a summer's day? angel wings? baby bottoms? call it what you will, this product is SERIOUSLY smooth!
Texture - I remember testing ALL the loose powders at the department store and this was definitely the silkiest, almost creamy feeling powders, very skin-like!
Finish- This has a slightly-satin matte finish, no sparkles or glitter that I can see in any light, but I find it still leaves a bit of a 'glow' (versus a true matte, like Maybelline's Dream Matte Pressed Powder)
Oil Control - Alright, stop the poetry. This powder did NOT give me significant oil-control, like a drier powder would (again, like Maybelline's)
But before you decide that life is not worth living if you can't use this powder, don't despair! I find when I use Milk of Magnesia as a primer underneath my foundation, I get enough oil control from the MoM and so can use the lovely Photogenic as a finishing powder.
Packaging - like many loose powders, not very travel friendly. I take a different, pressed powder compact with me for touch-ups.
Lasting - YES! I can use this everyday and it usually last for a year. So if you need to rationalize yourself into paying $40 for a powder, this should be your number one excuse ; )
Overall - I think slightly oily/slightly dry skin will love this powder to add a polished, finished look to skin. Very oily skin should either use a great primer, or go for a drier ( though not as silky) product like Maybelline's Dream Matte.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vivcheung on 8/20/2009 3:18:00 PM more reviews by vivcheung

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a lovely finishing powder that goes on smooth and silky, giving your skin a soft, velvety, semi-matte finish. The particles are milled very finely and does not leave your skin looking cakey like some other loose powders I've tried. I purchased this product in Light Beige for my fair asian skin. However, I'm disappointed that this color is slightly too dark for me. So, I can wear it only in the summer time... which is rarely as I usually don't need a finishing powder in the heat. I use this mostly for body makeup for when I need to expose my back which is covered with dark acne scars and I apply this over my Vichy concealer to even out my skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupjunkie35 on 8/18/2009 7:49:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkie35

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Not impressed! I was recommended the Translucent, Skin-Illuminating Natural Finish for my pale skin. I used it only once, but it looked chalky. Maybe because it did not match my skin? I did give it two stars being that it did keep my combination/oily skin from becoming a slick in the humid climate of FL. I will not buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pababy94 on 5/29/2009 11:59:00 PM more reviews by pababy94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product actually, I'm probably just bitter that it isn't the right color for me. But, one thing I must give it credit for, is that this powder truly does keep your skin looking light and refreshed - mine is the total wrong color, but when I put it all over my face and you can't see my natural color, it honestly looks like I only have a little make-up on. Crazy. Seeing as I don't like to do that though...this one has got to be swapped :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 marerahappy on 2/4/2009 6:39:00 PM more reviews by marerahappy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This powder makes me look like an oil slick in less than 2 hours. Initially it goes on smoothly but after a short period of time it becomes patchy and it comes off in some aread. My forehead, nose and cheeks look like I've been playing with olive oil. It doesn't break me out thank goodness. I'll stick to my Clinique blended and also try the very touted Marcelle loose powder. Wouldn't recommend this to oily skinned ladies :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Loose Powders products