L'Oreal • HIP Shine Struck Liquid Lipcolor -- Tainted (760) • Lips

rated 3.9(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 shirl195 on 2/14/2010 1:47:00 AM more reviews by shirl195

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

im always searching for the perfect wine lip color. this is a dark raspberry colored liquid lipstick and looks lovely on me. because it is a liquid, you could wear it sheer for a wine stain or apply product liberally for full color intensity. im not one of thos picky makeup aficionado who bitch about packaging and brushes etc but i do have to admit if you plan on utilizing the full force effect of the color, it can be kind of tricky because its got a rather large doe foot sponge applicator which is larger and more absorbent than most ive seem, so its difficult to apply evenly- which is key with an intense color. i think this is a great concept and i'd buy again, but its not very practical. its an deep dark hue in gloss form, meaning- no lasting power. its also not sticky, which is great, unless you want a lasting color. and even if it does last, theres no possible way the application will stay even throughout the eveing.. seriously, if youre going out on the town and want a vampy color, just use regular lipstick and apply gloss over it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baileybabe7486 on 9/14/2008 9:49:00 PM more reviews by baileybabe7486

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is just gorgeous. It is a dark, matte, creamy raspberry shade. Very cool, almost purple. It's not thick or sticky, so it goes on a bit sheerer than it looks. Works as a stain or can be layered for a juicy raspberry lip. Definitely recommend using a liner as it can be a bit difficult to control.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 balletflat on 9/7/2008 11:11:00 AM more reviews by balletflat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm not sure why I bought this lip color, given I have red hair and light skin. The consistency is very thin and tends to run all over my lips, I can't get an even look. It works wonderfully as a stain though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yoroshiqueen on 9/3/2008 7:44:00 PM more reviews by yoroshiqueen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Maybe I should have trusted their advertising better... I really didn't expect the lip color to be that dark. Most of the liquid lipsticks I've tried always ended up quite light so I was almost put off by the color payoff. Putting this on as a stain works wonderfully though. It gives a good pop of color, but isn't too overwhelming. If you can rock the full on color, kudos to you, but I am sad to say that my somewhat light Asian skin doesn't seem to work very well with it. Furthermore, I'm not a fan of the cocoa smell. I think it's a bit too strong. Overall, it's actually a great product, it's just not for me. ^^;

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Disco_Dancing on 8/18/2008 11:36:00 PM more reviews by Disco_Dancing

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Reference: NC20, dark brown eyes, dirty blonde hair, pigmented lips.

I bought "Tainted" at a BOGOF sale at Rite Aid for $6, along with the shimmery tangerine shade Precarious.
"Tainted" is a deep berry/plum color, completely free of shimmer. It goes on almost completely opaque, and the exact color that it appears in the tube. It's less glossy than a gloss, but more glossy than a lipstick. IMO, this is a wonderful balance. It has a very creamy consistency, and though I would recommend wearing a lip liner, it didn't seem to creep off of my lips. It also had pretty great staying power; I got four hours with eating and drinking.

"Tainted" can also be applied very sparingly and blended over a balm for a beautiful berry-wine stain. When I did this, it lasted all day.

It smells sort of like caramel or a birthday cake to me (although I have a cold right now so this could be WAY off). The scent didn't seem to be overpowering, and I actually found it quite pleasant.

All in all, I found "Tainted" to be a wonderfully vampy color that can also be applied sheerly for daytime wear.
Pic>>

(It's a bit darker in real life.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sansob on 4/1/2008 11:41:00 AM more reviews by sansob

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

this color suits my indian complexion very well, and the staying power is good too but the price is high for it being a ds brand. i recc it to ppl who want to try bold colors with sheer shade

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 juwel on 1/24/2008 10:54:00 PM more reviews by juwel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a rather opaque, matte deep raspberry/ plum shade - the HIP liquid lipcolour display looked very enticing so I picked up this shade and Pretentious to try them out. The thing I like best about this stuff is the smell! They really did a good job on an inoffensive and actually pleasant smell that doesn't smell tacky (think candy fruit flavours) or overwhelming. It's a cocoa smell. Then the texture and pigmentation is quite outstanding. This shade is quite deep on my light-rose coloured lips, and I like it best as a thin layer /lipstain. A little disappointing cos I was looking for a patent leather opaque shine, but this colour turned out to be too bold for me. Will definitely pick up other colours to try, esp since it's BOGOF right now at CVS

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 12/21/2007 5:35:00 PM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    


This is not quite opaque enough to call a liquid lipstick, but it's not sheer enough to be a gloss either. I like the lack of flavor and the cocoa-ish scent. This color is a MLBB for me: a deepish plum. Normally I would have gotten the vibrant red but I really needed a casual color and I have about 14,000 red lipsticks. I like this, but I think Revlon's new Chrome liquiid lipcolors are better. Plus this was $11.99! Kinda pricey for a drug store lippie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More L'Oreal products

More Lips products