Tom Ford • Neroli Portofino • Fragrances

rated 3.5(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tyleka on 9/16/2014 10:08:00 AM more reviews by tyleka

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Never have I been so conflicted about a scent. Sometimes I smell it, and it smells like a fresh, citrusy mediterranean scent. Other times I smell it and it smells like a hair spray I used in the 80's... AquaNet maybe? Can't put my finger on it, but it's far too expensive to be this ambivalent about it so I won't purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlohaPandaXOXO on 8/24/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by AlohaPandaXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I tested this on a whim and was really disappointed by the quality of the scent considering the price. Upon first spritz, the perfume had an overpowering smell of zinc oxide - like diaper rash cream. Now I love Tom Ford and believe he can make anything sexy, but a fragrance reminiscent of diaper rash cream at this point isn't something I really want to spend 200+ on. It was utterly bizarre. Later the heart of the scent does develop a more sunny orange blossom overture, but the zinc cream smell still persists. I'm wondering if this is due to the fact I was using a tester bottle from a heavily trafficked Sephora, but there is something very mass market in this perfume that just rubs me the wrong way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 su on 7/10/2014 12:01:00 PM more reviews by su

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great perfume for summertime. Light and aquatic. My husband loved it as well. Unfortunatelly, lasting power is too short (about 2 hrs on my skin) and, due to its price, I won't purchase this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* firesyren on 6/29/2014 7:01:00 PM more reviews by firesyren

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Neroli Portofino is a summery, breezy scent that mentally takes me to a white sand beach. As others have noted, there is some citrus in here that is a little sweet, not tart, there are aquatic notes, and it seems kind of "green" too. This scent has zero lasting power on me. It lasts no more than an hour. And, it isn't a scent that is overly unique in my opinion-I feel as if I've smelled this scent several times before. It smells like the Crabtree & Evelyn store---I know I have smelled some soap product there that is just like this scent. Also, a long time ago, Love's Baby Soft made a version of their cologne called "Rain", if I remember correctly---it was kind of greenish-blue. This scent reminds me of that. Lastly, my mom, when she borrowed this from me and wore it, said it reminded her of Jean Nate. LOL, I see that someone else mentioned that in a review as well.

I have a nice collection of Tom Ford scents. Luckily this one is only a decant, because I would never buy it in full size, as it lacks the uniqueness and lasting power that other Tom Ford scents have---and it's expensive, for a scent that doesn't last on my skin. Of course, this is a summer scent. I suppose light and airy, which this perfume is, fits the bill perfectly for hot summer weather!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fionarocks on 6/19/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by fionarocks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love it. It's masculine and fresh but still warm and I feel sunny when I wear it. I like pairing it with Jo Malone Grapefruit for an energy boost.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eryn2 on 4/13/2014 11:22:00 PM more reviews by Eryn2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Yeah, no. Boring citrus-aquatic, quickly turns very cheap-smelling. The price is shocking considering the product. Made to be office-safe, I take it. I LOVE TF fragrances; but this one is a huge miss. Fades fast but lingers as a hint of a skin scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Empyrean_Luminary on 3/29/2014 2:51:00 PM more reviews by Empyrean_Luminary

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Oh dear. This is a stringent, antiseptic, sharp, and acidic scent. Remember your grandmother's big yellow bottle of Jean Nate body splash? Yeah, this is that mixed with a beachy sunscreen scent. Not there's anything wrong with a $5 bottle of Jean Nate, but when it's repackaged in the mid $100 range it's just absurd. When I sprayed this, some of it ended up on my shirt collar and a few hours later it turned atrociously skunky. I ADORE Tom Ford's Black Orchid EDP, but this one I definitely avoid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mav221 on 3/28/2014 2:47:00 PM more reviews by mav221

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After searching and searching for a scent thats not to fruity, spicy, citrus, I found; NEROLI PORTOFINO by Tom Ford. First purchased the body moisturizer and instantly knew I would go to quickly through it, so I shelled out 250.00 for the parfum. This is has no lasting power what so ever! I don't think I have ever been so disappointed. : ( I actually tested it and it ranges between 1-2 hours. HUGE FAIL. It was suggested to spray in hair and that didn't help either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 girlnextdoor on 9/5/2013 3:15:00 PM more reviews by girlnextdoor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Got the splash bottle of eau fraiche this summer, and I love it so much. I get a lot of orange blossom and a touch of lavender on my skin. This is a light scent, it fades to just a whiff of orange blossom by the end of the day, and the eau fraiche is obviously not going to last as long as a real perfume. But honestly, I kind of love how faded this gets; I have a miniature orange tree in my house that only blooms once a year, and the scent is translucent and transient, so that only sometimes while I walk through the living room I catch just a whisper of the blossoms. The fleeting scent of orange blossoms on my skin at unexpected moments reminds me of this, and just makes me feel so happy and at home.
I think Tom Ford does a great job of creating fragrances that are classic and simple. My downsides for this actually have nothing to do with the scent. The splash bottle, while gorgeous with the turquoise and gold, is such a pain to use. I decanted some into a pretty glass faux retro atomizer that I found at Ikea, and that is what I keep out on my vanity. The other con is the price. This was a gift, so I can't complain about that, but its $110 for what amounts to a body spray. I will likely never buy the real perfume ($210), but I will rebuy the splash as a fancy treat for myself.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dolcefan on 9/1/2013 12:53:00 PM more reviews by dolcefan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is beautiful. Other TF scents are too strong or heavy for my taste. This reminds me of being in a sea town....mandarin and I get hints of lavender right at the start. Shortly afterwards is when the bergamot kicks in for me. Overall, these scents do not change again over time. On me it keeps the same essence through the day.
This one won't be for everyone, starting with the fact that perfume changes on everyone's body chemistry. On some it may be too citrusy, on some, too "soapy". For me this smells like I just emerged from the best shower (of Mediterranean water ) in my entire life.
I said I'd repurchase, but as it is so expensive this will depend on my finances when that moment arrives!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Fragrances products