NYX • Black Label Lipstick • Lipstick

rated 4.5(31 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.93%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 12/12/2014 7:49:00 PM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

HG lipstick formula. I've thrown out multiple (uncomfortable) high-end lipsticks when I discovered that they made a shade close in these NYX lipsticks, and I'd pay a heck of a lot more for them - I have $45 lipsticks that don't glide on as comfortably as these, and that don't stay put half as well. I'm trying to get every color but there are some that I buy multiples of just in case (Heiress and Midnight Dinner...I seriously have like 5 of Midnight Dinner). I think these things might be my "desert island" makeup product - it's a close call between NYX Black Label and mascara but when my lips are as dry and bleh as they are right now (winter :( ) I think these win out.

Also, don't try and substitute the Round Lipsticks because they're a little cheaper - go for the real deal. BL is worth the extra three bucks for sure, and then some!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LyrA236 on 10/11/2014 9:26:00 AM more reviews by LyrA236

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favourite lipsticks ever, and I am a lipstick junkie. I reach for these as often or more frequently than Chanel, Chantecaille, Becca, Bite Beauty, BB, etc. The colours are amazing. I find the shimmers to be more sheer, and less long lasting than the creams. The best bang for your lipstick buck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NikitaRose on 10/10/2014 6:50:00 PM more reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I think this might be my favorite lipstick ever. I like it as much as I like the MAC amplified formula but since this one is so much cheaper.. I have about 9 of them (Orchid, Hot pink, Cancun pink, Heather, India, Poem, Dusty rose, Citrine and Bling and I just got Brick, Summer in Hampton, Garnet and Hot tamale in the mail today).
They are so pigmented, creamy and the scent is just divine, I think it is a soft grape scent (don't say ewww, it is actually very nice). They last quite a long time on the lips as well, at least 4-5 hours although that might depend on the shade. They don't have a taste.
My biggest problem would be the color selection, it seems the it consists from a lot of fuchsia and brownish reds but there are not many nudes or soft pinks... and I don't think they have one coral shade. And this comes from someone who wears bright lipsticks whenever they can, but unfortunately I can't wear those all the time. Another con would be that they are hard to find, I always get them online since I have never seen a display in ulta or wherever they sell NYX in store. For some time I thought they were being discontinued but I think they just stopped selling some shades.
The packaging is great as well, looks almost classy for such a cheap product.
Overall I highly recommend this product, they are much better than NYX's round lipsticks especially in terms of the smell (can't get over that lemony dishwasher scent).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brelig on 3/11/2014 8:01:00 AM more reviews by brelig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

These are decent lipsticks. Great value for money and an extensive color range to choose from.

The consistency is rich and creamy. I've had no issues with this drying my lips out, and while they are on, my lips feel moisturized. Once they've worn off, there is no moisturizing benefit, but no harm done either.

The pigmentation is good, though if you're looking for an intensely pigmented lipstick with a lot of color payoff, this might not wow you. I wouldn't describe them as sheer either, more like a medium coverage lipstick, and I find the effect very nice. They have a semi-gloss finish, not shiny or wet, but definitely not matte either. I'd best compare this to the old Maybelline Moisture Wear line in the brown tube, if anyone even remembers those anymore.

The wear time for these is not so great. Maybe 3 to 4 hours if I'm super careful and have gone through the motions of lipliner, apply, blot, apply, etc. I haven't tried any of the deeper shades, but the two shades I have, Dusty Rose and Diva, wear off quickly and do not leave any noticeable pigmentation behind. They do wear off evenly though, so you aren't left with a patchy mess once they are gone.

The lipsticks have a sweet almost grapey scent, which I don't particularly care for. There is no flavor, which I prefer. The smell is most noticeable on application but disappears quickly enough.

I'm not a fan of the bulky square packaging but they do have a clear bottom where you can see the actual color, which is helpful.

Be aware that any time I've seen these on any website, the color swatches they provide are highly inaccurate. It's best to go looking for actual swatches and reviews, lest your hopes be dashed when the color looks nothing like what you had expected.

I like this as an every day lipstick and something I don't mind throwing into my purse. The color selection is fantastic, and I like the look and feel of the applied product. I will definitely be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maroko on 10/26/2013 9:19:00 AM more reviews by Maroko

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

it's my current favorite lipstick, i have it in raisin (a deep red) and smtg else-i forgot the name:p

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ayevalen on 6/5/2013 7:38:00 AM more reviews by ayevalen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
- it has great pigmentation, esp if you have pigmented lips
- it's glossy, if you're a lip gloss girl you may like it
- it has pretty packaging
- it smells like grape bubble gum

Cons:
- it dries out your lips, so you'll have to put on lip balm first
- it fades out really quick

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lucygirl on 4/6/2013 5:12:00 PM more reviews by lucygirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I believed all the online reviews and bought four tubes of this stuff. The colors are pretty. The formula is creamy. But it definitely does not look as "rich" as high-end lipsticks. It also doesn't last as long--frequent reapplication is necessary. Decent lipstick, at best. You get what you pay for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alisasmir on 3/16/2013 10:54:00 AM more reviews by alisasmir

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Grey    

These lipsticks are just so amazing! As a nude lip lover, my favorite shades are 'Nude' and 'India'. The formula is so creamy and opaque, I love it. Since I'm quite fair, I find that those 2 shades look more flattering on me when they have a base underneath, but I can't even say how impressed I am with these. Will be repurchasing forever! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 izzyslove on 1/28/2013 6:04:00 AM more reviews by izzyslove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this lipstick in Adore which is purplish to a little bit of pink undertone .It looks so dark and vampy in packaging but on the lips it is very beautiful and I am totally in love with it . it is very creamy dose not dry my lips and the staying power is very decent . I have not try any other shades but hopefully I will because nyx product are not that cheap where I live

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Embeth3 on 11/5/2012 10:30:00 PM more reviews by Embeth3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I know I'm juvenile but I LOVE the way these smell like grape lollies. Artificial fruit scent, FTW :-)
That said, these are excellent. Smooth, creamy to apply, not too much slip, very pigmented and long lasting with a fairly even fade. They have a very light texture despite their creaminess and feel quite moisturizing, though I am obsessive about my lip balm application so YMMV.
The packaging in bulkier than I'd like, but pretty cute, a metallic charcoal grey tube with an adorable fine black lacy pattern around the lid. The end of the tube has a little plastic covered colour indicator and the top of the tube has the sticker with the name on it, so it doesn't matter which way up you store these, you can always see what colour you want.
Shades so far...
Bling, which is a warm peachy pink nude shade
Diva, a medium neutral mauve with brown tones.
Tea in Afternoon, a deep mauve rose with purple tones.
Cinnamon, a lovely lush gold shimmered red, slightly sheer. A favourite of mine!
Jaipur, a deep plummy wine with light frost.
Midnight Dinner and Socialite are almost identical, both rich red toned berry creams, Socialite is a tad cooler, Midnight Dinner a touch brighter (you don't need both!)
Volcano, gorgeous orange red with light gold shimmer, very wearable.
Sweet Prawn, a vivid yellow based medium pink.
Strawberry Shortcake, a softly frosted baby bubblegum pink.
Hot Tamale, bright coral cream.
Heiress, a very cool lavender pink cream.
Poem, a very cool, blue based lollipop pink.
Rose, medium rich rose pink with lots of silver shimmer.
Dusty Rose, the slightly mauvey almost neutral, MLBB. Also a favourite!
Off The Beaten Path, a vibrant, creamy red toned deep coral.
I paid about $12 or $13NZD from Crush Cosmetics (plus shipping) in Australia and considering even a Revlon or L'Oreal lipstick is easily upwards of $20, these are an absolute steal. Or even cheaper on Cherry Culture, they're about $6US there, which even with the exchange rate and shipping is still really affordable.
Highly recommended.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products