L'anza • Healing Moisture Tamanu Cream Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.2(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 12/13/2014 3:31:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My other bottles of shampoo are languishing in my bathroom because I've fallen in love with L'anza's Healing Moisture Tamanu Cream shampoo.
I had read rave reviews about this line and I decided to get the Tamanu cream shampoo (and Kikui conditioner) as a birthday treat and I'm so glad I splurged.
$24.95 CAD for a bottle of shampoo isn't cheap change but this product delivers such great results for me that I think it's worth the cost.

It does have a tropical scent so it's not for everyone. Fortunately it's not too strong as I dislike anything too sweet. The fragrance does dissipate after rinsing.
It's supposed to be made with Polynesian Botanicals which are better for your hair. I don't know about the ingredient claims but this shampoo makes my hair look healthy and full with that 'just left the salon' look. It's SLS free which is important for me as I colour my hair professionally and SLS irritates my skin.

The shampoo is quite thick but it doesn't weigh down my hair and gives it the moisture it needs. If you have fine hair, you may not like the thick formula.

I don't buy the big litre size bottles of shampoo but I'm an exception for this one. I'll be saving up my pennies for that purchase.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SkinnyRed on 7/10/2014 6:06:00 PM more reviews by SkinnyRed

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

WATCH OUT FOR FAKES ONLINE. This is a luxurious shampoo and very moisturizing. It has repaired my dry, brittle hair, and even my beauty stylist noticed the improvement after several months. This is so moisturizing that I can skip the conditioner if I'm in a hurry. I use about a quarter-size amount and that does the trick. And a plus is that it has a nice light tropical scent. But I'd recommend you buy this product at a salon or an Ulta store. I ordered both the shampoo and conditioner off Amazon a few months ago just to save money. The bottles looked exactly the same, but I discovered the products were fakes. They dried out my hair and faded my color in no time flat. Who knows what they put in them. I purchased new bottles at Ulta and love it again! So worth the price. Watch for specials at Ulta and you can buy two and get one free from time to time. Stock up then with the real stuff, instead of the fakes online.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Scarlet39 on 6/29/2014 1:04:00 PM more reviews by Scarlet39

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Not a fan of this shampoo. After using it, my hair felt dry and coarse and looked frizzy. Will not be repurchasing this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catherinevary on 2/22/2014 7:15:00 PM more reviews by catherinevary

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVED it!! My hair is thick and very dry, and I also damaged it a lot with chemical process. I would say if it were less damaged, I almost wouldn't need a conditionner!

Although it is really expensive for its size, it's worth the money because you really don't need a lot to make it lather. Even with its moisturizing properties, this shampoo is really easy to rinse off and it doesn't leave the hair oily. I really liked the smell and the thickness of the product. I would definitely buy it again :)


And also, not very important for some but still... L'Anza doesn't test on animals, so it's a plus for me :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 WindyRain on 11/23/2013 1:53:00 PM more reviews by WindyRain

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Its ingredients are the main attraction - sulfate and paraben free. I have this satisfaction that finally my hair are free of the detergent chemicals that were found in all of my previous shampoos.
Apart from this, I had a sudden increase in dandruff a couple of months ago and it was like constant snow fall from the head, in fact a hail storm, such was the size of dry flakes. A week's use of this shampoo and 75% of the dandruff is gone! After about 7 week's use, I can say that the hair also feel better (though i,ve had a more than usual hairfall past few days, don't know why). It also keeps the split ends at bay and overall the hair look better and a little less dry. It has a subtle mysterious yet pleasant fragrance.
On the downside it's quite pricey. However, a little goes a long way. One bottle lasts about two months for mid back hair length (washing hair no more than 3-4 times a week). Overall I would recommend it for people with very dry and frizzy hair like mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gita1 on 4/13/2013 9:10:00 AM more reviews by Gita1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Funny thing, non-sulfate shampoos are not necessarily gentle nor good for the hair. They contain plenty of detergents that are quite harsh just not sodium lauryl sulfate per se. I had the same result with this shampoo that I had with Organix Coconut Milk
http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=94066/Coconut-Milk-Shampoo/Organix/Shampoo
which is poorly rated. I could feel in the shower that this was very drying/stripping. I used my usual conditioner but my hair looked terrible after using this. Dried out, stringy, flat, looked fried. Even after my next wash where I only CO washed, it still has not recovered. I have fine, wavy, frizzy colored (roots) hair that is not damaged. Very disappointing. I think that because this is expensive people may be reluctant to rate this as harshly as the Organix products. Really it is no better at least on my hair.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dv_27 on 4/2/2013 9:41:00 AM more reviews by dv_27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have yet to nail the perfect shampoo, thought this would be "it" but the search goes on. It rinses off well, doesn't leave my hair dry but neither gives me the super moisturizing feeling. I like it but don't love it for the price.
UPDATE***** 08/13
Started using this product again, because I wanted to finish it off and to my surprise..I noticed a change in the texture of my hair every time I used this..all for the good obviously. Changing it back to 5 stars, planning to buy the liter this time. I am happy, gave it another chance rather than putting this to in the corner of my bathroom shelf.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cindylou413 on 12/11/2012 4:51:00 PM more reviews by cindylou413

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

One of my favorite shampoos EVER...I have naturally thick,frizzy, wavy/curly hair, and I have relaxers and keratin treatments done..usually alternating them. This shampoo is sulfate free which helps maintain my color(oh yeah I do that too:), and is ok to use with keratin treatments. I have alot of hair, but it gets weighed down very easily. This shampoo leaves my hair feeling clean, soft, and smooth without making it feel coated and gross like so many sulfate free shampoos that I've tried in the past. I love this shampoo, and the conditioner is awesome, too. Good stuff if you have dry/damaged hair!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 10/7/2012 8:19:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE 1/25/13: My hair was apparently in need of major moisture with these sub zero temps we have been having. I used this today for the first time in a while. I had been using Aquage Sea Extend Silkening shampoo for the last few months. But lately my hair has felt so dry. I tried this today and yes, this gave amazeballs moisture to my hair and it feels so much better. BUT, it is weighing down the crown of my hair a touch. The weighing down was harder to handle when I had a short jaw length inverted bob that needed bounce. Now that my hair is growing out into a lob, the bounce up is less critical. Regardless, this shampoo is saving my hair in these winter temps.


ORIGINAL:This shampoo has been like that guy that is your friend & kind of likes you...he's great, but you don't pay much attention to him "that way". Then one day, you look over and you see things differently. Exactly what happened with this shampoo. When I first bought this I was sucked into a new (different) shampoo's sleek packaging and wonderful scent. Then I wanted to give Wen a fair try after that (about 3 months or so). After deciding Wen wasn't rocking my world, I went back to the great smelling shampoo and it was great, but would leave my hair feeling slightly tangled after I washed (before conditioning). So, I pulled out the L'Anza Tamanu to try again. It has an ok scent, lathers well for sulfate free, DID NOT LEAVE THAT TANGLED FEELING, and when all was said and done, I had one damn good hair day! It gave me a very nice balance of moisture but not too heavy for my fine waves. We didn't have the fireworks I had with the great smelling shampoo, but the L'Anza always gives good hair.

PS-My friend had the Aveda straightening treatment done and she uses both the shampoo & conditioner with much love. She has thick straight/wavy hair. I always use my Pureology Hydrate Conditioner with the Tamanu shampoo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 khristos on 1/9/2012 10:42:00 AM more reviews by khristos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

A very good quality shampoo for the correct quality of hair type. However my hair is very long and fine but with a lot of volume I also have a greasy scalp, this shampoo whilst moisturising left my hair quite flat and usually my hair is full of life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'anza products

More Shampoo products