NYX • Single Eye Shadow - Midnight • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alexanna7 on 10/11/2010 12:56:00 AM more reviews by alexanna7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

nice black color!it's got shimmer in it!to do a black smokey eyes.last fairly long.love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jenlovesmac03 on 8/9/2010 3:52:00 PM more reviews by Jenlovesmac03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've purchased a few NYX shadows, and some have just been blah for me, but I decided to give midnight a go and it surprised me! It's a charcoal color with multicolored shimmer in it. It's very pigmented and so easy to blend, it's become a favorite when doing smokey eyes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetmalinche on 6/24/2010 3:38:00 AM more reviews by sweetmalinche

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a BETTER due for MAC's Greensmoke eyeshadow. I have Greensmoke and prefer Midnight to Greensmoke. While Midnight is not as pigmented or buttery as other NYX shadows, but the color pay off is way better than Greensmoke. I paid $4 for Midnight and $10.25 for Greensmoke (CCO) and I haven't touched Greensmoke since purchasing Midnight.
***UPDATE ON 10/27/11*** NYX is notorious for changing the color, texture, formulation, etc. of their eyeshadows but keeping the name the same. Unfortunately, the newer version of this color is not as pretty as the original. The older texture was softer and the very fine shimmer was both silver and gold, making the older version more rich and complex. The newer version is not as smooth, and the biggest change is that it now has chunkier, silver glitter-like shimmer. It's not full on Urban Decay glitter, but it is not fine as it was in the older version. There is no gold shimmer in the new version, so it has less complex and makes the shadow much more cool toned. Wish I would have bought a back up of the original version had I known there was going to be a change. :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cinnabuns on 5/7/2010 6:12:00 PM more reviews by Cinnabuns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Midnight is charcoal with multicolored shimmer in the pan but when applied, it's nearly black with a little shimmer. It's very pigmented and has a nice texture. It's a nice eyeshadow but not sure if I'd repurchase. I prefer MAC pigment in Dark Soul or Milani shadow in Storm. NYX has a loose shadow in charcoal grey for those that were looking for a charcoal color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Betty24 on 4/28/2010 1:23:00 AM more reviews by Betty24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeshadow is an interesting dark olive/charcoal. I do like using it for smoky eyes and reach for it quite a bit. The reason I give it a 3 instead of a 4 or 5 is because without UD primer potion, this shadow creases and I find fallout under my eyes which is a bad look. Even though it is not long-lasting, I would purchase it again because the color is so unique and I always have primer on hand anyways!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kdimp on 12/6/2009 7:35:00 PM more reviews by kdimp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

disappointed with this one. its not very pigmented, i have to swipe it a lot to get it the color i want it to be. i was trying to find a cheaper alternative to MAC's black tied, but this failed. oh well, it was cheap and i still use it to set my eyeliner at times, so it wont go to waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nuls on 8/18/2009 3:03:00 PM more reviews by nuls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I liked this product, near black with some shimmer and it could be built up for more definition. Also blends well and reasonably priced. I would definatly recommend this product as a good staple for anyones makeup bag :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jrm1862 on 7/23/2009 10:57:00 PM more reviews by jrm1862

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this color and I like how easy it is to blend. It is well pigmented too. This goes on more black than what it looks like in the pan. I like the shimmer, it looks sophisticated to me. This is one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jhadiq on 7/23/2009 7:36:00 AM more reviews by jhadiq

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this eyeshadow was just OK. In the pan, it looks pretty unique and spectacular - a dark charcoal with hints of gold and dark olive reflect. Depending on what I combine this with, I can get more of the gold and/or green to show up, but most of the time, it just looks like a dark charcoal. I also find that it is somewhat chalky, gritty, and isn't as easy to blend as other NYX colors. I'm pretty disappointed in this particular shade, because in the end, it ended up just being another version of a rather chalky matte black/charcoal shadow, which I certainly don't need more of.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 crownoflaurel on 6/11/2009 6:46:00 PM more reviews by crownoflaurel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This, like NYX Odyssey, is black matte shadow with glitter in it. I can't see any gold or green or whatever other reviewers have said in the actual shadow, when I blow off the glitter, it looks just like NYX Black. The glitter is gorgeous, gold and some other colors, and if you can get it to stick the effect can be nice. But it's hard to get the glitter to stick, and then you just end up with black matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products