Murad • Skin Perfection Lotion for Acne Prone Skin • Moisturizers

rated 3.2(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 rubyrhee on 10/8/2013 11:22:00 PM more reviews by rubyrhee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Seriously disliked this. first few days i enjoyed this product very lightweight and easily absorbed also a good base for your makeup. since i have dry skin this really moisterized my face throught the day. but after a week my skin litteraly freaked out. my acne got worse, clogged alot of pores (even though it said it doesnt clog pores), made my complexion rough again. it might be different to some people but i really enjoyed it the first few days i used it. very gentle but my face didnt really adjust to it. i recommend getting a sample and try it out for a week and see if it works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sweetheart7 on 10/4/2013 6:52:00 PM more reviews by Sweetheart7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My HG moisturizer has always been Dermalogica's Active Moist recently I wanted to switch it up though. When I got this moisturizer for the first time my first thought was 'How is this going to moisturize my skin well? It is so liquidy'
Surprisingly it moisturizes pretty well. Do I like it as much as Active Moist? No, but it is a nice change up from it. It does not aggravate my skin but I do not get that feeling that my skin is really moisturized since it does absorb so quickly into the skin. I like this for in the morning to make my routine quicker but at night I like a bit more moisture since my skin is very sensitive.
I do not see any increase in oil on my skin during the day which is good since I have quit oily skin and it gives my skin a nice matte base for my powder.
It is cheaper than Active Moist but when you compare the sizes, I feel that you get more from Dermalogica than Murad but then again it all depends on how much you use and how fast you go through it.
I think that I will re-buy this but it is not something I am going to rave about to my friends. It is a decent moisturizer that I can say surprised me since I am not flaky and my skin is not irritated from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mianga on 6/4/2012 10:52:00 AM more reviews by mianga

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This smells like a light version of the cleanser. Stinky feet light. I don't know if Murad is going for a medicinal quality? Are these active ingredients so awful that it would cost significantly more to disguise them? Other brands seem to be disguising them more effectively... I will tolerate a lot of strange smells in my products, provided they are my heroes. I don't mind Carmex at all. Or tea tree oil. 'Medicinal' is not an automatic turnoff for me as a descriptor. The fragrance does fade, admittedly. But not that quickly! So distasteful to apply, when the cleansing and treating ritual can be pleasant and luxurious. Stink aside, this texture is alright. Not as smooth as the Proactiv treatment lotion (which smells faintly of chlorine, and which I don't at all mind, for the record). Absorbs fine. Doesn't appear to be actually CAUSING me to break out. Ugh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenniviva on 2/5/2011 2:51:00 PM more reviews by jenniviva

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

2 weeks later:

~Doesn't clear acne, but does not aggravate my skin :)
~Doesn't cause break outs, keeps pores unclogged
~non greasy
~lightweight
~still very moisturizing
~absorbs quickly

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ellearpon on 10/11/2010 2:37:00 PM more reviews by ellearpon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using Murad's Acne skin system comprised of the Clarifying Cleanser, Exfoliating Treatment, Skin Perfecting Lotion (this product), and the 3% Salicylic Acid Spot Treatment, for about a year. (Something I would not recommend since these are clinical strength products to only be used six months at a time).

I would have to say that while certain lifestyle changes would be necessary for me to greatly improve my skin, this product has done mediocre at best. It has not particularly worked for me, but it has kept acne under decent control. My skin has fairly normal with both oily and dry days, but this lotion has not served to reduce pores or redness.

That being said, it does have a soothing texture after I've extracted, which is good. I would by this product again, but also, it is slightly expensive until another decent moisturizer is found.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kellybethga on 9/9/2010 10:31:00 PM more reviews by kellybethga

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I used this with the Anti-Wrinkle Anti-Blemish lotion (step 2). Pilled under makeup. Unlike the other lotion, this doesn't contain sulfur so that's a good thing. However, after 2 weeks of use my skin was much worse using Murad's system. My pores were not "purging", but producing too much oil, period. I had hoped to find an anti-acne anti-wrinkle system but sadly this didn't work for me. Went back to the store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 truebella on 1/6/2010 9:38:00 AM more reviews by truebella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty good light moisturizer for acne prone skin. Never caused me any break outs, which is rare for me. Good for really oily skin or for summer months. For the winter I need something a little heavier.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Australianforbeerk2k3 on 10/4/2008 1:27:00 AM more reviews by Australianforbeerk2k3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fantastic moisturizer. I'm not sure how it differs from the original skin perfecting lotion, but I find that this one keeps my acne at bay just a touch more (eventhough they're both oil free). This moisturizer has reformed my skin. I have fewer spots, my redness is completely redcuced, and my skin tone is much more uniform. This is my HG moisturizer. It is not greasy, absorbs easily, and keeps the skin soft. Plus, it doesn't smell like old lady and really does the job!

I would absolutely recommend this product.
I should note that I do not use it as part of the Acne step treatment, but just as a moisturizer on its own!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pudge1914 on 9/16/2008 11:49:00 PM more reviews by pudge1914

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Proactiv for about 2 - 3 years, recently decided to switch to Murad, becos Proactiv contains Benzoxyl Peroxide, it was good, clearing my face, and keeping my breakouts at BAY. At bay, becos there are certain stubborn comedones that remains under the radar for the longest time, due to over production of sebum since Proactiv strips away all the moisture. And its causing my skin to be really OILY. So finally I bought the Murad acne complex kit, because it contains Salicylic acid thats suppose to treat white and black heads.
Its been 3 weeks, both the cleanser and the exfoliating gel, are ok, exfoliating gel seem to help reduce some scars, however haven't seen any tremendous results. Maybe cos I have only been using for about 3 weeks.
Currently: Complexion not clear at all. Very rough. Recently Lots of bumps surfacing, haven't purge YET. No Pus seen underneath, except for all the stubborn comedones ard my chin (many of them!!!). They have been purging - non stop - since I started using Murad. I have to add that they have been there for a long time, underneath the skin surface, but nvr quite surfacing until now. So I am not sure if its good or bad, it looks horrible to me, cos its red and pus filled, however, I've been trying to psycho myself that Murad treatment is actually forcing all of these stubborn comedones on my chin to purge and then later "hopefully" clearing it all. So maybe its a good thing. One thing tho, I am not quite sure about using the Skin perfecting Lotion that should come after the exfoliating gel, simply becos I dunno when or how I should be using it, it contains Talc in it, and thats gonna clog the pore. I am VERY sporty, so I do sports everyday, weather here is humid and hot, so I doubt its good to slap on the lotion that can cause a clog in my acne prone skin, in addition to that, since there is talc in it, then I dun suppose its good for night application as well, thot we are suppose to leave the skin to breathe at night and not clog it. So I am quite Puzzled why they added talc. They don't label their cream based lotions to be Non Comedogenic. So I am very doubtful, as I know its gonna clog my pores. Am not using their Sulphur Spot treatment too, becos I still have the Proactiv Clay mask (can be use for spot treatment as well) and it has 6% sulphur as compared to Murad's 3%. Its better and more effective to me in my perspective.
Will update again about my progress.Currently I doubt I'd buy it, since I still have like 3/4 of the whole set, usage is pretty slow, thats a plus. Cost wise, DAMN!!! its expensive, hope its worth the money spent. i am thinking of buying the other moisturiser instead tho.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jessicarabbit421 on 12/10/2007 10:18:00 AM more reviews by jessicarabbit421

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this moisturizer for years, and in that time I have used many others trying to find "THE ONE"... well, why was I looking all that time, when it was right in front of me. EVerytime I come back to this stuff, my skin stays clear and healthy, and everytime I stray away, I get what I deserve for ditching the best Moisturizer on the planet. If you have acne prone skin, YOU NEED THIS!!! It WONT break you out, it will help keep your skin clear and moisturized, and everything you want it to be. I cant say the same for thier whole acne regimen, but this stuff is A+

UPDATE: I started breaking out more and more, and decided that not only was this not hydrating enough, but it was irritating my face. I FELL IN LOVE WITH KINERASE INSTEAD. Read my reviews of thier products if you have acne prone skin, or redness, or acne marks... you NEED Kinerase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Murad products

More Moisturizers products