L'Oreal • Dermo Expertise Hydra-Renewal Continuous Moisture Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.6(28 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OSusanna on 12/22/2013 11:41:00 PM more reviews by OSusanna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

A basic but effective medium weight moisturizer for those with dry skin. It is packaged in a jar and yet it could probably go in a tube because it is truly not thick enough to be a cream really. I find it quite runny. The product is very basic, contains mineral oil and leaves a slight film upon application. I don't mind this myself. Although it sinks in, I don't find that it causes any sort of plumping effect that can happen when a formula contains more sophisticated ingredients. It wears well under makeup and I can't detect a scent. In short, this is as basic as it gets, the packaging should be changed to a tube and the price is excellent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* erynnj on 3/25/2013 12:48:00 PM more reviews by erynnj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Good: this is great for really dry skin, this creme does what it sets out to do. Moisterize, moisterize. Can't beat the price.
Bad: (for me) made me break out REALLY bad. Those deep cystic zits that don't want to pop, yea those. I'm 32, PPP super dry skin, I wouldn't say I'm acne prone but I've had some acne, nothing serious.
I really wanted this cream to work for me because of the price. I was looking for a cheaper substitute for my beloved Estée Lauder day wear plus for dry skin. Well I learned my lesson don't stay away from HGs!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 soonermitzi on 2/21/2013 5:28:00 PM more reviews by soonermitzi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have VERY sensitive skin that gets REALLY dry so when I found the sensitive skin oil free version of this stuff I was hopeful. I have been using for several days now and LOVE it. I use it as a light night AND day cream. It, along with my primer create an awesome canvas for makeup application. I no longer feel dry and I now have a dewy look to my skin. I have had NO breakouts and believe me, I would already have one if this stuff was not going to work out for me. I will definitely keep this on the vanity for daily and nightly use!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 peacelovepatchouli on 2/26/2012 2:02:00 PM more reviews by peacelovepatchouli

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the worst face cream I have ever used, and I've tried alot of them.

I have never had acne before in my life, and at 21 years old, I have a field of acne across my chin and lower cheeks.

My skin is very dry, so I won't say that this moisturizer isn't moisturizing, because it is. But it definitely didn't work for me.

I've switched to Clinique Dramatically Different Lotion and am in love. Definitely my HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 9/25/2011 11:10:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am pretty acne prone when it comes to moisturizers and creams. Sad to say this is just another jar added to that pile of junk that breaks me out in acne. The first night I used a couple pea sizes to do my entire face. Then after that I used maybe half a pea size. I tried switching it up but either way I broke out. I'm not looking for anti-aging properties. Just a nice cream I can use at night to moisturize. Unfortunately, along with the acne, this does not do anything in terms of moisturizing. It's just a waste of money for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 9/13/2011 11:26:00 AM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Moisture my skin drinks in. Leaves it soft and supple. Does not bother my rosacea. No sticky residue. Very reasonable price.


CONS: Leaves a very slight film of moisture/oil that some might not like. Some won't like that it comes in a jar, but I make sure my hands are clean before using anyway. Smell is perfumy but not quite as strong as the Age Perfect line. Doesn't have any actual anti-aging properties except moisture.



ALTERNATES: I like using Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Mask as a night cream. Much more gentle and more moisturizing. My new fave for very moisturizing while not clogging me AT ALL is Aveeno - Positively Nourishing Comforting Whipped Souffle, which is actually made for the body, but I love it for my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kaydeem on 9/1/2011 10:46:00 PM more reviews by kaydeem

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Pros:
-Inexpensive
-Does an above-average job of sealing in moisture

Cons:
-Leaves skin a little "filmy", so I don't prefer it as a daytime cream
-The texture feels a little thin, so I can't fall in love with it as a heavy-duty night cream (I like to glop on thick stuff at night!)

I definitely don't hate this stuff, but I have used other lines within the L'Oreal brand that I have preferred, namely their "Age Perfect" creams. I DO read the labels, and this has some really great ingredients, but I just can't seem to get excited about it.

If your wallet is feeling a bit light but you need a decent face cream for dry skin, give it a whirl (I think I paid $6 or $7 at a discount drug store). One thing I've learned is that skin chemistry ranges widely so what works great for one person is an utter failure for another. I may be asking too much from my facial moisturizer because this cream IS effective, but I am a nit-picker about the texture and "feel"

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mistyanna on 1/5/2011 3:03:00 AM more reviews by mistyanna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this is my favorite Moisturizer I have it in the sensitive version it really does keep your skin hydrated all day long simple as that and it dosent cause irritation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Katzie105 on 5/14/2010 10:08:00 AM more reviews by Katzie105

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

**EDIT: I think this stuff now really breaks my skin out. It was wonderful at first but now it's really clogging my skin up. Since it's summer I wanted to stay away from it b/c of the hot weather and how greasy it feels, but I had a really dry patch and I needed to use this stuff to moisturize. Within THAT same day I broke out in 5 red, painful, pus filled acne. I now have red dots all over my face. Ugh. I hope it doesn't take a month to go away like the other reviewer said.** :(

**Update 7/23/10: It's been about a month since that horrible break out. It is JUST starting to finally go away. I will never touch this stuff again.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
**Original Review**
I have extremely sensitive skin to season changes, to the point of extreme dryness, flaking and peeling, especially under the eyes, and on my nose and chin.

My skin has been freaking out lately, I have no idea why. I was using Garnier Nutritioniste previously and no matter how many times I used it, it did absolutely nothing for dry skin.

I found this in Duane Reade and picked it up and I've used it for three days now, and after the first day, my dry skin is gone. I can't believe I've suffered for this long and this product was hiding right under my nose.

The cream is fantastic. It's not thin and watery, it has a nice, thick, rich texture. When I put it on, I can feel it doing the job it's supposed to do. Moisturize!

With my previous cream I would slather it on and my jar was gone after a couple of weeks, but with this stuff I notice a little goes a LONG way. I overdid it the first day since I was so used to just globbing my other lotion on to combat dry skin, and with this stuff I felt just a *tad* greasy from putting too much on.

The price is amazing... only $8 for the jar which will last a very long time. It goes very nicely under my make up and gives me a dewy smooth finish which my last cream didn't help me achieve. I love the smell, it's not overpowering, and I haven't had any burning or stinging with this product.

I think this face cream is my new HG. A++

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tranlily on 4/9/2010 12:29:00 AM more reviews by tranlily

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

So far so good. I have been using Clarins for years while trying other high end products, yet still had problems with dry skin and flakiness. Even with La Mer.. it would be too much or too dry, odd. Whenever I went to the beauty counter at Nordstrom, the Clarins lady would say... "You need to exfoliate and moisturize." I'm thinking... (I did exfoliate, wtf.. and I'm wearing Clarins moisturizer ughh). I'd then pick up a different product either from that counter or another line, e.g. Dior HydrAction Serum. It served me OK but my face would get flakey and skin dry and crusty at times.

Thought I'd give it a pass at a drugstore product since my situation was nearly hopeless. It had been a while since the last time I used a DS product, it sorta irritated my skin. I picked this L'Oreal Hydra-Renewal moisturizer up at Wal-Mart and really liked the $7 price tag and the description seemed to fit what I needed.

I think I hit the jackpot!! This goes on nice and smoothly, though it does look a little greasy/shiny... I wear foundation over it, so it doesn't matter. It didn't burn or break me out, which I was thrilled about since I have pretty sensitive skin. For example, Olay Sensitive Skin cream burns a little bit when I put it on. Even Bobbi Brown night cream. But this - this cream is not so thick but it seems to moisturize my face well. I can even wear makeup without having it flake on me, which is amazing. I do notice that the pores on my nose are a little clogged, but probably nothing my Clarisonic and face masks couldn't remedy.

I'll update if anything changes. I also purchased Neutrogena Intensified Day Moisture SPF 15 for sunscreen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Moisturizers products