Clarins • HydraQuench Intensive Serum • Treatments

rated 3.4(52 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 MaggieRT on 4/19/2014 10:33:00 AM more reviews by MaggieRT

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product - it is perfect for my skin and the climate I live in. I live at a very high altitude and it gets very very dry. I've been using this for almost a year now and it has really changed my skin, I think because it is so moisturising. It isn't oily for me and soaks in really quickly. The only down side is the packaging - a pump which isn't so controlling for such a liquidy product. I've found the trick is to shape the palm of my hand into a 'cup' and put the serum on there and then dab it on with my finger. One pump for me is enough. I use this along with the Hydrquench Moisturiser which also seems to work perfectly for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pianoBUTTER on 3/26/2014 4:58:00 AM more reviews by pianoBUTTER

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

The whole Hydraquench range doesnt do anything to my skin. I bought one whole set and have been using them for a year. But now I noticed my skin is drier and more dehydrated than ever. I've been applying this serum religiously every night but my skin just won't absorb. I wake up every morning with an oily, shiny face and after cleansing, my skin feels dry and flaky.

I sometimes use it on days that i don't have classes and within an hour my face starts looking greasy already.

I tried using this serum with other moisturizers from other brands. It just won't work. In attempt to empty the bottle i spray all over my body every day just cos it smells really nice. One lippie for that.

I would highly recommend Mario Badescu's Vitamic C Serum which has not only hydrated, but moisturized and evened out my skin tone and also reduced my back acnes. When im too lazy i use this on its own after cleansing with no moisturizer and yet my skin feels so soft and fresh. I recently had an allergic reaction to a body gel, this serum soothed & reduced red bumps or any breakouts i had from the allergy. My skin absorbs this really fast. Its a must have for those who live in the tropics (like me).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kristynad on 3/15/2014 3:40:00 PM more reviews by kristynad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

At first, I really like the product as it made my skin soft to touch and nice to look at.
But after a few months, I realized it was doing nothing for my skin, so when I finish the bottle, I wonīt buy it again (you canīt really give something that was used back in Europe).
Skin feels softer, but I can achieve that with much more affordable creams or serums and it doesnīt really hydrate as I sometimes use it on my kinda dry nose and still can see and feel the dryness.

It was very pricy for such a small amount of product and I hate the packaging. The pump may be hygienc, but itīs impossible to get out as much as you need, it always gives the same amount of product, which is bad, because one pump is not enough for my face and two pump s are way too much. The serum feels nice, itīs very watery and has a nice smell.

Overall, I donīt reccomend this product and wouldnīt buy again. If you can, try getting a sample before buying the full size product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lichi79 on 2/23/2014 11:10:00 PM more reviews by lichi79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Will Never Purchase any Clarins product ever again. If you are allergy prone, sensitive to plants, acne prone Do Not Buy Clarins. It causes Severe Cystic Acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hazelbd on 11/11/2013 7:42:00 AM more reviews by hazelbd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this at Nordstroms and I kinda liked it at first, then as the month went buy, my skin wasn't getting softer, it didn't make it break either. Then I realized it was doing nothing for my skin, so I decided to return it. Glad I did, instead I bought bobbi brown Intensive Skin Supplement Serum, and man am I happy I did, it softens my skin like I want with a DIFFERENCE, unlike this serum. Don't buy, does nothing for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 7/11/2013 9:12:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Like the previous reviewer, I'm just not sure what this product actually does for my skin. I got a free bottle as part of some bonus Clarins was having (where I live, when they have specials or GWPs, they really shower you with extra "stuff"). Anyway, I was eager to try this but, to be honest, there is a limit to the number of things I want to pile on my face at any one time, even night time. Lately, though, it has been really warm and humid here and so I thought I would try using this in place of my other night time products (usually a Clarins oil or Lumene retinol night cream or one of several other products). While it is nice and non-greasy and even using it on its own, my skin doesn't seem to be dry or tight, I don't really notice it doing anything spectacular for my skin. I may or may not finish this bottle (it has a pump but the pump isn't exactly the best...product seems to dribble rather than deposit nicely on my fingertips), I would not repurchase. I much prefer using Alpha Hydrox Night Retinol Res-Q as a first layer and then a moisturizer of some sort over that if I need it (in the cooler months, for example) as my night time routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babykitten9 on 7/10/2013 5:13:00 PM more reviews by babykitten9

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Bought it a year ago and I have been trying so hard to love it because the bottle is cute, the layers (blue/translucent) are cute, the scent is great etc. After a year of trying to love it, I just don't. It does nothing for my skin. I don't feel any hydration (my skin is oily already, so it doesn't take much to fulfill its needs), it doesn't do anything special in any way. It just smells great. I can't use it during the day because it has too much oil to it (silicon since I don't feel any hydrating effect?) and leaves me disco ball shiny. I can't use it in the evening because my skin refuses to absorb the product and I am left with a shiny greasy great smelling face. I am desperately trying to use it up now (before it expires) but it's way too greasy for the summer time, so I am using it on my decollete area. I can then still enjoy the nice scent :) A completely useless product for me and it does tend to clog the pores around my chin area. And why it is in a pump bottle? It's a liquid product! I just don't get it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Matillyrose on 6/30/2013 9:16:00 PM more reviews by Matillyrose

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

At my age I have come to learn how important it is to use a good serum under your normal moisturising routine.

My skin is very dry and gets flaky and since I have been using this in conjunction with the Hydraquench Cream during the day my skin has improved greatly.

The little patch of dry skin on my cheek has disappeared and the flaky bits on my nose is gone. There is nothing more devastating when you put on your foundation to find your nose is flaking and there is nothing you can do to hide it.

It only takes one or two pumps to cover your entire face and neck. To help this serum absorb better I suggest you spray a little toner to dampen your face first, the extra moisture helps the oil to absorb better. Allow to absorb for a few seconds and then apply your moisturiser.

It is expensive but after trying countless other products to no avail it is worth the extra money.

The only reason I have subtracted one lippy is because they use cheap carrier oils like mineral oil and surely for the price we are paying they could use a better oil??

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaynne on 6/19/2013 10:00:00 PM more reviews by Jaynne

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was between flights in Frankfurt and reading a magazine review for Clarin's Natural Light gloss. I was so tempted to try the gloss, I went to the airport duty free store to see if I could find it. They did have it, but it was featured as a bonus GWP, when you purchased the HydraQuench Bi-Phase serum in the blue glass bottle that you had to shake up before use. I already owned and loved the HydraQuench Lotion SPF15. So I bought it, and I used the two skin care items throughout my trip through Egypt and both products performed beautifully. This serum worked well for me and my skin type (changing from oily-combo to normal-aging). I love products that you don't have to think about, because they just perform. The serum lasted me a long time, but eventually I ran out. I have not repurchased because I have been using up other serums, and using my own Vitamin C serum. However I would repurchase at a special price or deal. Shopper's sells Clarins now, so I can use points to purchase! yay! UPDATE: I stopped in at Shopper's to buy this product, but it didn't look like the same one I was familiar with - the bottle was blue but looked really different, however it said it was the Bi-Phase serum. Skeptical, I tried a sample on the back of my hand, and it wasn't the same product that I loved. The texture was different. It was oilier, and had no scent at all - the Hydraquench Bi-Active Intensive Serum that I had from Europe was gorgeous to use with a delicate scent and the serum was light and skin-loving. This just seemed to sit on the back of my hand and felt slick. Must be different formulas?? Anyway, I'm not buying it anymore, unless I happen to be in Frankfurt airport again maybe? The Shopper's SA recommended Clarins Double Serum as a way better choice, so bought that and will review after trying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pocketchic on 6/18/2013 11:15:00 AM more reviews by Pocketchic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Prior to this product I used the SK-II Repair C serum, which I felt didn't do much for my skin. I was looking for a simple hydrating serum, no anti-wrinkle, no brightening, no lifting. In other words no correcting or prevention, just hydrating. My skin is sensitive and acne-prone so I'm very careful with what I buy.

Iwant to make this very clear in my review because this product gives me exactly what I was looking for, but nothing more (and nothing less). So if you are looking for a multi-purpose serum, or any other purpose-specifc serum, ask for a sample first before buying. I doubt it will give you what you need.

As for me, I love it so far. I use it in the morning after my Garnier facewash and the SK-II Facial Treatment Essence, before my Vichy Aqualia Thermal cream and Lancome Genefique eye cream. As you can see, I like to mix my brands :). I lightly tap the serum into my skin using just my fingertips (I learned this trick from Virginie Clarins-Courtin), give it ~20 secs to dry and then follow with my other products (also lightly tapping, never smear or rub).

Since I'm not very brand loyal, I will not repurchase because I'm always looking to try something new. However I would definitely recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarins products

More Treatments products