Trader Joe's Savon De France Oatmeal Exfoliant Soap Ginger Almond

3.8

9 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/7/2015 8:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I don't normally like using bar soaps due to them drying out my skin (even the moisturizing ones), but I do tend to like Trader Joe's bath products and it was also cheap. The soap itself has a nice warm scent but nothing too sweet or strong. I lather it up using a loofa and let me tell you, it lathers up really nicely. Because I don't apply it directly, the exfoliation is a bit lost on me but I don't really want to shower with almonds anyway. Much like the vast majority of Trader Joe's bath products, the quality is much greater than what you'd expect for the price. It isn't as drying on me, although I'd probably use this more as a fall/spring soap than a winter one. But it keeps me clean, so I guess it does its job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/4/2015 12:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought and tried this soap a few years ago, and I absolutely loved the smell. I don't recall it doing much in terms of exfoliating, but it definitely didn't dry out my skin. The only reasons I didn't continue to purchase this soap is that my family buys soap from Costco and I just bum soap from them (college student mentality). I only gave it 4 lippies because it's a great-smelling soap that doesn't do much more than other average soaps, but it doesn't do harm either.

However, IF I had the dispensable income, I would definitely repurchase as a nice, treat-yo-self soap for spa-like shower experience post-yoga or something.


on 3/4/2013 8:14:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love the oatmeal almond soap. It is a huge bar, difficult to handle (tends to slip out of my hand and get dents!) but the scent is great. There are specs of ginger, oatmeal and almonds that sort of act as exfoliating agents too. Just wish the almonds/oatmeal had been present as powder form, instead of bits. That would have been more beneficial to the skin.
The soap can be drying, in the winter. One huge bar lasts for about 4 months which may get boring over time as I like to switch soap bars every few weeks or so!

Overall, I prefer this soap to using artificially-scented bars containing tallow. Wish there are smaller versions available (for travel).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2012 5:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been eying this soap a while because it smells so, so good-- soft and yummy but clean. I finally bought it and I love it. It's not drying, the oatmeal is mildly scrubby without being scratchy, and the lather is so creamy and velvety that I can even use it to shave my very sensitive, dry legs! For $3, an 8.8 oz bar is reasonable, but I wish the bar was sold as half the size for half the price; it's an enormous bar and tends to slip out of my hands! I may chop the block in half and use it piece by piece. This is a great bar to travel with -- it's solid so it won't leak on your luggage, cheap so you won't be sad if you lose it, and it doubles as a shave cream! Love it.

UPDATE: I'm nearing the end of my bar and it's becoming a bit drying on my skin. Nothing unbearable but I probably wouldn't use this in the winter time. Still great for shaving though (somehow!)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/28/2009 6:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Nice soap for around $3. I love that it's natural and has bits of oatmeal inside the bar. I use this both on my face and body. It lathers up real nice into a milky, almost creamy consistency and doesn't strip my skin. I can't really smell the ginger but I bought it primarily for the almond scent. I'd definitely repurchase and would recommend it to those with sensitive skins.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/21/2008 12:21:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this soap. I've been searching for something with all-natural ingredients, and this seems to be the only one that doesn't leave my skin feeling weird. I love the smell (I'm a sucker for almond) and the fact that it exfoliates every time I use it because of the oatmeal in it. I want to try Trader Joe's other soaps, but so far, I'm in love with this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Smells good, and is made of natural ingredients, but it dried out my skin horribly.


on 4/1/2008 8:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Gah! Drying. And overpriced for the quality.


on 12/5/2007 3:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a very nice soap. It's 8.8oz and retails for $2.99 IIRC, so you get a lot for your money. it's a creamy white colour and you can see flecks of oatmeal in it. This time of year my skin is quite dry, so I'm always on the lookout for a moisturizing soap to help. I picked this up mostly because it smelled nice w/o being overly spicy from the ginger in it, but I was pleasantly surprised in the shower by how rich and soothing the bubbles seem to be. The scent wasn't heavy and didn't linger on my skin, but most soaps really don't anyway. While it's not a super moisturizing bar like Olay or Dove, it did help. I liked it so much that I went back and bought a few more as presents/stocking stuffers for friends and family.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top