Unlisted Brand • Gelatin Milk Pore Cleansing Masque • Masks

rated 3.4(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 AriD on 7/28/2013 6:14:00 AM more reviews by AriD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Works better than any pore cleaner I ever used. Still not the result I'm looking for, but the best I've seen.
The way I do it is pour some powder gelatin into a shot glass, add a bit of milk and stir till its mixed, add a few drops of honey to even out the consistency. Then I nuke it for about 5-10 seconds, depending on how much I am making. After it cools a bit I put it on my face with a butter knife. I wait till it dries and then I carefully peel it off.
Can be quite painful though when I get hair in it. I use it only on the center of my face, from my forehead to chin. I avoid the edges of my face because that is where I have more facial fuzz. It takes my mustache hairs off nicely though.
The best part of this method is that its so cheap. I'm never buying pore strips again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Steffisaurus on 7/13/2013 1:34:00 AM more reviews by Steffisaurus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I noticed that every time I tried to use this method in the past, it did not deliver great results. I realize now that many of us may be over cooking the recipe. My latest attempt, I heated my milk alone and then added the gelatin while stirring the mixture. This made the consistency much more even and when I applied it, the mixture spread over my skin much easier and smoothly. After it dried, the peel was consistent and there were few bubbles. Most importantly, the peel actually lifted my black heads out like a Biore strip- like it is supposed to. I also advise any users to exfoliate properly and steam your face so your pores are actually open. All masks and peels require a well prep'd face to do their job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MSaintH on 6/12/2013 4:45:00 AM more reviews by MSaintH

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been making homemade masks for about a month. As an avid juicer, I've come to discover most the juices I drink are also great to apply to my skin. Tonight I made a juice (and a mask) of papaya, cantaloupe, lemon, spinach, kale and parsley. These ingredients have a ton of vitamins that are great for the skin. I added the gelatin at first solely as a thickening agent, but then discovered that it becomes a peel.

Like many others stated, peeling this off wasn't particularly easy, so I focused on peeling my most congested areas: nose, cheeks and chin. It removed blackheads just like a biore strip. I also dislike the fuzz on my face, so I was actually happy it took that with it. I rinsed the rest off with warm water.

My face has never been so smooth in my life. I followed it up with a serum of grapeseed oil, lavender oil and tea tree oil. I am anxious to see the results in the morning.

I plan on experimenting with other juices, including my favorite strawberry and turmeric mix. The gelatin was an unexpected, but awesome, addition to my home remedies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 4/7/2013 5:02:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was trying to find something similar to what I used here. Well I guess this is kind of right. I used Knox Gelatine to create a peel off mask (it's supposed to act like Bioré strips).
Basically you take the gelatin, add water until it looks chunky, heat it up in the microwave for 10 seconds, let it cool a little, and apply to your face (do not get on any hair you want to keep).
I personally did not feel like this did anything for me. My pores were not cleaned out. I broke out in acne the day after using it and have come to notice it's the only reason why I've been having pimples. Peeling this off is a pain and hurts like no other. You're taking all the hair on your face with the mask when you peel it off (feels like you're waxing your face but not as fast). The worst you can do is try this and see if it works for you. If it does it's cheap. A package of 4 envelopes of Knox Gelatine was not even a $1 at my grocery store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Pestina18 on 3/30/2013 8:56:00 PM more reviews by Pestina18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

All I can say is OUCH. I mixed some gelatin with milk and melted it in the microwave. Then, I applied to my entire face and let dry fully. Peeling off this mask was so painful - it tugs at your skin like a super strength band-aid and rips out tiny little hairs. Hurt so badly, especially on sensitive areas like the cheeks. My face was a bright red mess...and there was nothing on the strips. The gelatin also smells horrible, and I practically gagged the entire time it was drying. I tried again recently, washing my face and then applying it only on my black-head prone areas. I got the same results this time around - a lot of pain and redness, but my blackheads weren't removed at all. Won't be trying it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jjmb on 3/28/2013 1:01:00 AM more reviews by jjmb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

No need to use milk for this mask, water does the trick. After heating it up in the microwave I add 1 drop of essential oil (Lavender, tea tree, etc) to mask the smell of the gelatin. After applying I use a blow dryer on low heat to dry the mask faster. This mask pulls EVERYTHING out of my skin! I take a hot shower and use an exfoliator before hand to open my pores up. I'll never buy another biore strip again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LittleMissLawyer on 9/18/2012 5:13:00 PM more reviews by LittleMissLawyer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This mask makes a HUGE difference in my skin.

I mix 1 part gelatin/1 part milk and microwave for 10 seconds. I apply it in a thin layer, then quickly place a paper towel over it (to aid in removal). I allow to dry for about an hour, then remove slowly.

The results include removal of: gunk in pores, tiny hairs on my face, and dead skin.

I usually apply another mask or a peel afterward, as this mask allows other masks and peels to really sink in. (A serum would be a good idea as well.)

Be sure to let the mask dry completely, or, just like a pore strip, it will not remove gunk from your face!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AliyMayer on 9/5/2012 11:48:00 AM more reviews by AliyMayer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The trick is your face has to be SUPER clean and dry. I do a bakingsoda scrub that removes all oil and exfoliates right before, then is nothing between the gunk and the mixture. Works amazing!

I wish it didn't goop up so quickly. :( You have to work Fast

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alinaw111 on 1/22/2012 5:43:00 PM more reviews by alinaw111

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Works great. I've master tweaked the recipe though!

Make a cup of hot green tea. (Milk smells bad warm in the recipe.)

Add gelatin. Use same ratios, equal parts tea and gelatin. Stir. Heat 5 seconds. Stir. Then I added a drop of teatree oil, which is also great for your skin and smells nice. :)

Apply thin to generous layer. Blow dry your face. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ashmccord88 on 4/6/2011 1:07:00 PM more reviews by ashmccord88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It didn't really work that well for me. I mixed one tablespoon of milk and one tablespoon of powdered unflavored gelatin mix and heated in the microwave for 10 seconds. Applied on my nose and chin. I think it just removed some dead skin and no black heads. I also couldn't get all of it off and ended up using a warm washcloth to remove the rest of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Masks products