John Masters • Sea Mist • Styling Products

rated 3.2(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 LeftyJay on 10/11/2013 3:33:00 PM more reviews by LeftyJay

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I think this product will work best for people who already have a natural wave/curl to their hair. My hair is shoulder-length, thick, and naturally wavy, but it doesn't wave evenly. I use this product to maintain the all-over beach wave where it does wave, and create wave where it doesn't, and it works great without that awful crunchy texture a lot of sea sprays will give to hair. What I do is, I let my hair air-dry then spray and twist into a top knot. If my hair is already completely dry then I spray it on and twist into either a top knot or into sections, then let it down after about 10 minutes and finger comb. It works either way.

I personally like the way it smells, it's true lavender, there's no sweetness to it. For people who don't like straight lavender, the smell does fade pretty quick.

If you're using it for volume and not for waves, you don't need much, otherwise you'll end up with sticky clumps. My friend who has shorter, fine hair says you only need to spray a little at the crown.

I'd give it a 5 except for the price. It's kind of high for just being sea water with lavender oil, but I'm too impatient to experiment with salt/water/oil ratios and I don't wear my hair wavy every day, so I'm OK with dropping some extra money on it. And hey, it's cheaper than the Bumble and Bumble spray, which I don't like AT ALL.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jayelle083 on 10/11/2013 3:26:00 PM more reviews by jayelle083

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I think this product will work best for people who already have a natural wave/curl to their hair. My hair is shoulder-length, thick, and naturally wavy, but it doesn't wave evenly. I use this product to maintain the all-over beach wave where it does wave, and create wave where it doesn't, and it works great without that awful crunchy texture a lot of sea sprays will give to hair. What I do is, I let my hair air-dry then spray and twist into a top knot. If my hair is already completely dry then I spray it on and twist into either a top knot or into sections, then let it down after about 10 minutes and finger comb. It works either way.

I personally like the way it smells, it's true lavender, there's no sweetness to it. For people who don't like straight lavender, the smell does fade pretty quick.

If you're using it for volume and not for waves, you don't need much, otherwise you'll end up with sticky clumps. My friend who has shorter, fine hair says you only need to spray a little at the crown.

I'd give it a 5 except for the price. It's kind of high for just being sea water with lavender oil, but I'm too impatient to experiment with salt/water/oil ratios and I don't wear my hair wavy every day, so I'm OK with dropping some extra money on it. And hey, it's cheaper than the Bumble and Bumble spray, which I don't like AT ALL.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 therubyprincess on 2/6/2013 5:18:00 PM more reviews by therubyprincess

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was a fool to spend to $20US on salt h20. All this did was add a tacky film to my hair, much like Avene Thermal h20 which I also dislike. Really did nothing for the texture or beachiness of my hair. Do yourself a favor and pass on this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 joziel on 6/8/2012 7:42:00 AM more reviews by joziel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The reason I bought this product was because it was a *natural* sea salt spray, containing very simple natural ingredients (water, lavender and sea salt). I had previously been using Lee Stafford's sea salt spray - I was happy with the results that gave, but I felt like I was inhaling a massive amount of parabens on a daily basis (as it has a million of them), what with blow-drying hair after having sprayed loads in. So this product appealed because it didn't matter if I inhaled loads of it regularly!

My hair is very fine, flyaway hair usually - but it is also thick, so there's a lot of it. It looks awful when it is flat and volume-less, so I am on a constant quest to find ways to inject volume into it and have tried literally everything.

I used the sea salt spray by putting some mousse in my hair first, then liberally spraying the sea salt spray in. I found you use A LOT of this product (or it doesn't have much effect), so I literally drench my hair in it and comb it through. Given that it is around 16/bottle (for essentially salty water), that is pretty pricey. I then blow dry upside down, with a diffuser, still scrunching hair.

No matter how much I spray in, I find that this leaves my hair rather 'soft' feeling - which is perhaps the result of the lavender oil in it. This 'softness' also tends to make the volume fall out faster (as opposed to a slight crunchyness which holds it in). After having used half a bottle, I wondered if perhaps there wasn't enough sea salt in it and maybe that was why it wasn't as good as other products I've tried. So I ground up a tablespoon of sea salt and added that to it - no difference!

Over all - not as much volume as other sea salt sprays; leaves hair feeling soft. Some people might like that, but the downside of it is that the volume falls out faster.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 noinoi on 9/29/2010 11:08:00 AM more reviews by noinoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a con--salt and lavender essential oil--for 16 pounds???

Insane.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bronislava on 7/1/2010 1:20:00 PM more reviews by bronislava

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product and the result it gives my hair, however it's just salt water and essential oil, so I will just make it next time instead of paying high prices for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnythingVanilla on 1/28/2010 1:11:00 PM more reviews by AnythingVanilla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this spray! I use it on my 2 daughters hair at night after their bath and before I braid their hair. RESULT: their hair has a pretty wave for school the next day. Plus I use it on my hair. I spray sections before I use the curling iron and it holds my curl longer!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 puppyluv2620 on 12/2/2009 11:13:00 PM more reviews by puppyluv2620

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

i bought this because i wanted a beachy curl texture wave look to my hair. i feel that it does give me that look for the most part. i dont really like the smell when it goes on my hair but i dont think the smell stays on my hair very long. the reason i would not purchase again is becuase i dont think i will run out of the one i have becuase i dont think you need to use a lot or it makes your hair feel gross.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CombatWombat on 11/9/2009 4:01:00 PM more reviews by CombatWombat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A nice idea as a take on all the salt sprays that are on the market, but after a few uses, I never reached for it again. You definitely need to have some texture to begin with for this product to work; my hair is pretty much straight and very dense, so this product just made it sticky and clumpy. Yes, it's drying, as all salt sprays are, and the bottle specifically says to use a deep conditioner/moisturizer if you use this regularly. I won't be repurchasing, but I'm leaving a neutral rating b/c although it did nothing for me, I think I used it incorrectly, and should have curled or braided my hair first to produce some texture for the spray to work with. Expensive for what it is, very nice packaging.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 joyacchen on 8/20/2009 7:34:00 PM more reviews by joyacchen

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is basically lavender-scented salt water, which would have been ok if it had made my hair look like I spent a day at the beach. Instead, I got hair that had flaky dried salt from where the spray dried and a really really really itchy scalp. Also, no discernible increase in volume either.

I could have bottled this myself from the salt I have in my kitchen and it might have been better, or at least just as bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Masters products

More Styling Products products