Chanel • Mat Lumiere Long Lasting Luminous Matte Fluid Makeup SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.7(440 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anera on 7/4/2014 4:04:00 AM more reviews by Anera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got a sample at a store in Poland. I've read on some places it is discontinued this Feb, 2014 because Chanel introduced a new foundation: Perfection Lumiere.

MY SKIN: After using a cleanser and toner for dry, sensitive skin, my skin feels very tight and dry. During summer I apply light moisturizers for oily skin. I have dry flakes from pimples. After 2 hrs my skin is oily. It is sensitive, too, so I have to be very gentle toward my skin since it becomes red just by tapping it into the towel. I have redness on my cheeks near the nose all the time. I am allways red - haven't found anything effective. This are the main reasons I opt for foundations: to neutralize redness and to hide imperfections like pimples, blackheads (nose) and fill-up my pores. I hate my skin. I have cystic acne - at least one pimple; wake up every morning with one new zit.... Blah, blah.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Upon application it matches my skin tone very good. I wear Bourjois CC Cream in shade 31 and 123 Perfect Foundation in shade 51; Healthy Mix in 52 is rather dark for me atm (there's no HM in 51 where I live). This foundation is easy to blend: I've put dots on my face and using the Real Technique's Buffing Brush I blended the foundation into my skin. It does cling to dry patches. The overall effect isn't matte, it isn't dewy but semi-matte. It is enough semi-matte that you can choose whether you want the foundation to set it with a mattifying powder. Since I have oily skin which tends to shine, I did set it with a mattifying powder (Rimmel Matte Pressed Powder). The powder is no good: it isn't finely milled; I would recommend any other than this one. The coverage of Mat Lumiere is medium. You can 'increase' the coverage if you want, but I like it the more natural style.

REVIEW: After two hours it look like freshly applied, after three and a half of hours it look still nice, kind of dewy. In total, I got 5 hours of wear time without any need for powdering. After 5 hours I looked horribly oily, like a new layer was added. Really embarrassing. I powdered my whole face and it looked cakey, but this may be due a cheap, not overly finely milled Rimmel mattifying powder. I was wearing the foundation for 8 hours, and there was a lot of foundation left. It could go for 10 hours; it didn't slip of my face nor did it 'break'.

Honestly, it's a decent foundation, but I have been expecting a better oil control, considering it's called 'Mat'. And, they labeled it as a 'Long Lasting' foundation. Well, for the price of US$73 (yup, that's how much it cost in most parts in Europe!), I would expect really more from it. Especially, considering how Bourjois 123 Perfection Foundation performs on my skin.

I would recommend trying a sample first to see how it acts on (someone else) skin. But for me, it is not worth buying. I would be happy if the price was 2-3 times lower.
I am glad that the SA gave me a sample to try it out first.

I have also got a sample of Perfection Lumiere, Vitalumiere Aqua and Estee Lauder's Double Wear.
Perfection Lumier was horrible after 3 hours. The cheek-near-the-nose par was bad at that point: some of the foundation vanished, and my pores were accentuate by the foundation, like the foundation 'got stuck'.
The same was with VA. But, this foundation looks so pretty once applied for 3 hours! Very natural, and covered all the redness, imperfections and pores really nice. After 3,5 hr you can see it started to wear off. The good thing is, this is the milestone point for this foundation. After that, it stayed that way, it didn't get worse. It was noticable I had foundation alright, but it wasn't bad either. But, Bourjois CC foundation performs better, tbh., and for US$60 vs. US$13 I know what decision I would make.

I tried hard to like Chanel's foundations. I want a higher end one, but this was really disappointing. I cannot believe how Bourjois makes such good foundations! If they were in a sleek, Chanel-like bottle, you could think that Bourjois is a HE!

I'm giving it 4 lippies because:
- it may be a good one for someone less oily
- nice, silky smooth upon application, effect & natural appearance
- staying power is not bad either, but you shall have a mattifying powder in purse, or any blot thing

I don't like:
- price, obviously, because for this price I expected better oil control

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MarG05 on 6/23/2014 1:31:00 PM more reviews by MarG05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is EVERYTHING!!

I have acne prone skin with a lot of discoloration. I use the beauty blender for the application and it gives me a flawless complexion. obviously, if you're oily. Setting powder is a must! I use bareminerals mineral veil on top of it.
Lasts all say. Does not break me out. :)

Not to mention I have tried: Dior, Armani and other high end foundations. Does not compare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StupidUserNames on 4/16/2014 12:07:00 AM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this foundation! I went in to a Dillard's counter and the girl matched me for this but they were out and she gave me two sample packets instead and I'm so amazed at the quality and staying power of this foundation. The packets last a really long time too so until I'm done with those I definitely be back to get the full size! As for the person who "went" to sephora and got a sample and hated it, because doesn't carry this product in the states I wish sephora carried chanel my rouge status would be out the roof!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Katerinamak703 on 4/1/2014 6:27:00 PM more reviews by Katerinamak703

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

for oil control I don't think it did a good job .It caked up around my forehead and nose it's a no for me !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 raquelsimoes on 3/17/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by raquelsimoes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I had been using Clinique's oil-free foundation when I decided it was time I picked out a new foundation. I loved mine (is great at oil control and looks & feels very natural on the skin), but it had a sheer coverage. So I started asking my friends and looking for reviews about several foundations. I was recommended this one, thought "Wow, pricey, but it is Chanel. Maybe it's worth it!" and got a sample at a Sephora store.

First of all, the one I got did not match my skin tone at all. My faced looked so orange and artificial! Once again, a bad experience with Sephora's employees.
Secondly, it is an extremely heavy foundation: it feels like paint on your face, which is just awful to me since I have oily skin and a preference for looking natural.
And the worst is it has sheer to medium coverage when that's not what Chanel describes.

Overall, this foundation made me look like a fake painted orange. Awesome, right? Thank God I got a sample before buying it! I don't recommend this product at all and I'm not buying it for sure. It's a pricey crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stef1986 on 2/27/2014 10:02:00 AM more reviews by stef1986

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Pros: Stays matt on my oily/combination skin where most other foundation i have tried hasn't.
Staying power
Pump pack
Consistency is a creamy consistency
Packaging
Scent
Semi matt finish
Medium coverage

Cons: It is quite an expensive foundation.
Limited colour range - I am shade 20 Claire in this foundation and it comes out too dark and yellowish on my skin tone (this is why I will unfortunately not be repurchasing this foundation).
Pump pack gets clogged which for me wasn't really a big issue but for some, they might get annoyed with this.
It is drying to the skin even with my oily/combination skin but i would prefer it over looking like an oily slick throughout the day. It also doesn't dry out my skin as much as some other foundations i have tried.
Can accentuate fine lines, dry patches and pores.
Appears to oxidize on my skin, although difficult to tell since the foundation isn't the correct colour when applied.

Overall, i have tried so many foundations and i really do like this foundation because it is one of the very few foundations i have tried which wasn't overately drying and doesn't make me look like an oil slick at the end of the day. If it wasn't being discontinued and had a better colour range i would definately reconsider purchasing it. This is one of the only foundations i have reconsidered purchasing and i have trialed so many foundations, many of which are too oily or far too drying. This foundation is a happy medium and i am disappointed Chanel didn't put out this foundation with a better colour range because it would have been perfect foundation with the right moisturiser underneath.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Viviannle on 2/9/2014 9:15:00 PM more reviews by Viviannle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

At first i loved using the Chanel Mat Lumiere, it had a subtle scent to it which i was fine with. The foundation had great coverage and with using the right primer it did stay matt for a decent time as i have oily skin. However, i realised that this foundation oxidises, it made me look i had a tan gone wrong. if you do have oily skin and you are interested in this foundation, my personal opinion is to start with a sample and one shade lighter than what your colour match is .
If you have super/oily skin, try using Hourglass Immaculate Powder Foundation :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anaanovak on 1/31/2014 2:07:00 AM more reviews by anaanovak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this foundation when I first put it on and then after 3 hours it starts to seperate and go blotchy *sad face*. It goes on demi matte gives the face a nice glow, but after a few hours of wear it just goes blotchy and doesnt look that great as when I frist applied it. I do have large pores and very oily skin that is maybe why, would repurches this prodcut very beautiful on the skin and needs touch ups during the day though.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Maya02 on 1/4/2014 9:38:00 AM more reviews by Maya02

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is easy to blend, gives a nice luminous matte like skin, and has medium coverage.
I dont use it much, and when I do, I always use prior application a glycolic based moisturizer. What this does, is keeping my skin free of breakouts, and oilyness appears after many hours instead of minutes. If i use it without glycolic or other type of AHA, i get whiteheads the second day, as this foundation can be quite irritant because of the ingredients they use, and also can oxidize a bit during wearing.
For me, aha's worked better than a primer.

A very important note: i use it mostly in the summer when i have a slightly tan. Their lightest shade it looks quite dark on my skin. I got it as a gift, but will not repurchase because of the shade reason. I prefer samples as a gift from now on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 1/2/2014 9:03:00 AM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Overall, great foundation. Chanel foundation formulas seem to be safe for my skin. I don't get allergic reactions, breakouts or clogs. However, finding the right formula was a bit of a challenge. In the past, I've owned Vitalumiere (too hydrating) and Perfection Lumiere (too drying and flat). Mat Lumiere gives a glow to the skin yet doesn't make you look greasy nor does it cling on to dry patches. It is the perfect level of matte and hydration. I do love this foundation.

The shade I wear is 40 Beige. I am 57 in Kat Von D, 6.0 in Urban Decay and 060 in Shiseido.

The coverage is medium. I find it doesn't really build to full coverage when layered. To cover stubborn spots, I would rather use a concealer than this foundation.

The texture is light. I can't feel it on the skin.

The longevity is pending. Winter and seditary, it will last all day. I'm not sure yet about summer and activity. *Will update

The bad news: This will soon be discontinued. Starting in February 2014, Chanel will be stopping the production of Mat Lumiere and introducing a reformulation for their Perfection Lumiere to be a matte formula. I'm not excited about this because I really dislike the original Perfection Lumiere formula so I will be crossing my fingers that the new one will be a lot better.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products