Chanel • Mat Lumiere Long Lasting Luminous Matte Fluid Makeup SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.7(439 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 StupidUserNames on 4/16/2014 12:07:00 AM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this foundation! I went in to a Dillard's counter and the girl matched me for this but they were out and she gave me two sample packets instead and I'm so amazed at the quality and staying power of this foundation. The packets last a really long time too so until I'm done with those I definitely be back to get the full size! As for the person who "went" to sephora and got a sample and hated it, that review is fake because sephora doesn't carry this product maybe years ago but to my knowledge there's just no way! I wish sephora carried chanel my rouge status would be out the roof!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Katerinamak703 on 4/1/2014 6:27:00 PM more reviews by Katerinamak703

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

for oil control I don't think it did a good job .It caked up around my forehead and nose it's a no for me !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 raquelsimoes on 3/17/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by raquelsimoes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I had been using Clinique's oil-free foundation when I decided it was time I picked out a new foundation. I loved mine (is great at oil control and looks & feels very natural on the skin), but it had a sheer coverage. So I started asking my friends and looking for reviews about several foundations. I was recommended this one, thought "Wow, pricey, but it is Chanel. Maybe it's worth it!" and got a sample at a Sephora store.

First of all, the one I got did not match my skin tone at all. My faced looked so orange and artificial! Once again, a bad experience with Sephora's employees.
Secondly, it is an extremely heavy foundation: it feels like paint on your face, which is just awful to me since I have oily skin and a preference for looking natural.
And the worst is it has sheer to medium coverage when that's not what Chanel describes.

Overall, this foundation made me look like a fake painted orange. Awesome, right? Thank God I got a sample before buying it! I don't recommend this product at all and I'm not buying it for sure. It's a pricey crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stef1986 on 2/27/2014 10:02:00 AM more reviews by stef1986

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Pros: Stays matt on my oily/combination skin where most other foundation i have tried hasn't.
Staying power
Pump pack
Consistency is a creamy consistency
Packaging
Scent
Semi matt finish
Medium coverage

Cons: It is quite an expensive foundation.
Limited colour range - I am shade 20 Claire in this foundation and it comes out too dark and yellowish on my skin tone (this is why I will unfortunately not be repurchasing this foundation).
Pump pack gets clogged which for me wasn't really a big issue but for some, they might get annoyed with this.
It is drying to the skin even with my oily/combination skin but i would prefer it over looking like an oily slick throughout the day. It also doesn't dry out my skin as much as some other foundations i have tried.
Can accentuate fine lines, dry patches and pores.
Appears to oxidize on my skin, although difficult to tell since the foundation isn't the correct colour when applied.

Overall, i have tried so many foundations and i really do like this foundation because it is one of the very few foundations i have tried which wasn't overately drying and doesn't make me look like an oil slick at the end of the day. If it wasn't being discontinued and had a better colour range i would definately reconsider purchasing it. This is one of the only foundations i have reconsidered purchasing and i have trialed so many foundations, many of which are too oily or far too drying. This foundation is a happy medium and i am disappointed Chanel didn't put out this foundation with a better colour range because it would have been perfect foundation with the right moisturiser underneath.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Viviannle on 2/9/2014 9:15:00 PM more reviews by Viviannle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

At first i loved using the Chanel Mat Lumiere, it had a subtle scent to it which i was fine with. The foundation had great coverage and with using the right primer it did stay matt for a decent time as i have oily skin. However, i realised that this foundation oxidises, it made me look i had a tan gone wrong. if you do have oily skin and you are interested in this foundation, my personal opinion is to start with a sample and one shade lighter than what your colour match is .
If you have super/oily skin, try using Hourglass Immaculate Powder Foundation :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anaanovak on 1/31/2014 2:07:00 AM more reviews by anaanovak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this foundation when I first put it on and then after 3 hours it starts to seperate and go blotchy *sad face*. It goes on demi matte gives the face a nice glow, but after a few hours of wear it just goes blotchy and doesnt look that great as when I frist applied it. I do have large pores and very oily skin that is maybe why, would repurches this prodcut very beautiful on the skin and needs touch ups during the day though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Maya02 on 1/4/2014 9:38:00 AM more reviews by Maya02

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is easy to blend, gives a nice luminous matte like skin, and has medium coverage.
I dont use it much, and when I do, I always use prior application a glycolic based moisturizer. What this does, is keeping my skin free of breakouts, and oilyness appears after many hours instead of minutes. If i use it without glycolic or other type of AHA, i get whiteheads the second day, as this foundation can be quite irritant because of the ingredients they use, and also can oxidize a bit during wearing.
For me, aha's worked better than a primer.

A very important note: i use it mostly in the summer when i have a slightly tan. Their lightest shade it looks quite dark on my skin. I got it as a gift, but will not repurchase because of the shade reason. I prefer samples as a gift from now on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 1/2/2014 9:03:00 AM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Overall, great foundation. Chanel foundation formulas seem to be safe for my skin. I don't get allergic reactions, breakouts or clogs. However, finding the right formula was a bit of a challenge. In the past, I've owned Vitalumiere (too hydrating) and Perfection Lumiere (too drying and flat). Mat Lumiere gives a glow to the skin yet doesn't make you look greasy nor does it cling on to dry patches. It is the perfect level of matte and hydration. I do love this foundation.

The shade I wear is 40 Beige. I am 57 in Kat Von D, 6.0 in Urban Decay and 060 in Shiseido.

The coverage is medium. I find it doesn't really build to full coverage when layered. To cover stubborn spots, I would rather use a concealer than this foundation.

The texture is light. I can't feel it on the skin.

The longevity is pending. Winter and seditary, it will last all day. I'm not sure yet about summer and activity. *Will update

The bad news: This will soon be discontinued. Starting in February 2014, Chanel will be stopping the production of Mat Lumiere and introducing a reformulation for their Perfection Lumiere to be a matte formula. I'm not excited about this because I really dislike the original Perfection Lumiere formula so I will be crossing my fingers that the new one will be a lot better.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsiliii on 10/15/2013 1:31:00 AM more reviews by itsiliii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really nice foundation, to start off the packaging is gorgeous -as it is
with all chanel products! The formula has got a good amount of coverage, easily
buildable. The finish is a demi-matte, so it doesn't leave you absolutely chalky, it
imparts a slight glow that keeps you looking fresh. As gorgeous as the formula is though
I just think it is way overpriced, especially considering this formula just does not last very
well on me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TamaraD87 on 10/2/2013 8:50:00 AM more reviews by TamaraD87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used to love this product when I was younger but now I just find that it dries out my skin, it looks caked on even though i don't apply a lot, and I use no. 3 Cendre, it can look a bit orange at the end of the day, my skin is fair, so it is noticeable.

It is very matte, provides excellent coverage and very long lasting.

It is good during the summer months, i find that my skin can be a bit oily in summer, and if going out at night it's great because it lasts, for me, not ideal for winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products