Fashion Fair • Fast Finish Foundation Stick • Foundations

rated 4.2(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 bfever on 4/21/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by bfever

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this foundation stick for years, come to think,of it, it was the first real non-powder foundation that I've ever used. It works amazing as a concealer, and I've recently starting using it as such under the FF souffle makeup. I've found that this as a works better as a daily foundation than a lot of the other liquid foundations that I have been trying in the search of my "perfect daily foundation" long story short it's perfect for what I need and gets the job done.

My only slight complaint is the packaging, I mean it is a tube it's fits perfect in my makeup bag, but I've noticed after having it for a while even if I slightly raise it up to use it, when bringing it won't go back all the way down unless I push it a little bit, which is messy and a waste of product.

I have a lifelong, semi-complacated relationship with Fashion Fair products. I'm loyal to them forever, stop using, try another brand and ALWAYS come back because for me, there's nothing truly better or more suitable for me out there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tamira on 3/8/2013 6:12:00 PM more reviews by Tamira

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Aside from the fact that I ALWAYS need more yellow, this stick in Honey is my new favorite thing. It provides full, flawless coverage with ease, dries down to a powder feel, but still gives a natural satin/dewy finish, even a little glow in my shade.



Before I complain that it could have stronger yellow tones, I must note that I got mine in old packaging from eBay for under $10. I've heard that since they've upgraded/changed the packaging that they've also improved the formulas and colors and are much less red and more yellow based. So, the retail version may be more yellow. Mine has strong yellow and strong red, but seems to adjust nicely to my very yellow tone because it blends so well. I do use an Asian BB cream as primer and sometimes Hourglass primers, but not always. It wears well either way, but a primer is always recommended.



I splurged on this older packaging just to try it cheap and see the color which looked very yellow in the swatches and photos before I splurged online or drove to the Macy's counter for $28 (almost 3 times the price). And, I love it!



If the Honey stick in the newer package and formula is significantly more yellow, then it is a no brainer to splurge and buy it. I've used sticks from at least 5 other high end brands (Bobbi Brown, Shiseido, MAC, etc.) and several drugstore brands (Iman, L'Oréal, etc.). I can state emphatically that this is the best foundation stick I've ever used...Perfect full coverage without looking or feeling heavy and no breakouts yet...



Be sure to keep in mind that there are 2 different versions/ formulas and packaging to choose from. Please specify if you bought a fresh new one in new pretty dark packaging (see photos above) from a dept. store or ordered it cheap in old rust colored packaging from eBay. It makes a difference and will help people like me do less legwork in the future...;)



I will update my review once I test the sticks in new packaging at Macy's to see if the formula and colors are significantly different.



***EDIT***
This isn't yellow enough, so I'll need to try the updated version at Macy's... Also have some new pimples, BUT that is likely hormonal. Will update again in a month or so...

UPDATE: MAY 2013...I have stopped using this because it turns rancid orange pink on me after a while and I think it was causing breakouts. It also emphasizes flakes and sits on top of skin after oil production. I still think it may work well for others...I just had to continue my quest...

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KClark on 5/26/2012 5:39:00 PM more reviews by KClark

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First, bottom line: good foundation, be careful with the coloring. If you have a red undertone you should be good to go. If you have a yellow undertone like me, it may be a little difficult to match.

Pros: Good coverage, concealer built in, easy to carry in stick format, easy to apply, not too pricey

Cons: Difficult to match for those with yellow undertones, not enough options when it's supposed to be for women of color, can become "ashy" looking throughout the course of a day.

I waited about 8 months or so to write this review, wanted to make sure I wrote what I really felt about the product. Some days this foundation looked great and some days it looked not so great. Like many have said before, initially I was dead set against FF, thinking it was for grandmas, but it really wasn't so bad.

I originally purchased this product in Butterscotch but it seemed a tad dark, took it back and got the Tan and it was a better match for me. The only thing I noticed is that it can look great initially but after awhile, it seems to have an "ashy" look to it. Not super noticeable but it was too many, especially around the chin area, which is what essentially made me not repurchase at this time. I really want something to match and look natural during the course of the day.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dundada on 4/27/2012 10:44:00 PM more reviews by dundada

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

At the FF counter, the MUA matched me with the foundation stick in Butterscotch all over my face. It looked great throughout the day, stayed matte for most of the day, and barely transferred any colour to my hands or on to other things at all. Excellent.

I've heard through the internet that FF has been reformulating their foundations and powders to get rid of that weird tangerine peel-colored cast in them, and for me at least it looks like they have! Great! I like that Sam Fine works for FF now too, as his Fine Beauty book was really nice.

But I'm torn between buying an FF foundation stick and a cream to powder foundation from Flori Roberts though at the moment!

UPDATE: I prefer the color of the FF foundation stick in Butterscotch on me than the cream to powder foundation from Flori Roberts I bought, so I got the FF foundation stick! LOL It's been great and long lasting and it never turns orange or red on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pecantan on 4/25/2012 7:03:00 PM more reviews by pecantan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i normally use the FF cream to powder foundation. however right now there is a serious shortage of it. all the stores within 100 miles of me are out of stock and macy's and the FF website are out of it too. so i decided i would give the stick a try in the meantime. to my surprise..i actually like the stick better! i love the natural finish,it doesnt crease under my eyes like the cream to powder, and it helps to keep my oily skin matte.my shade in the cream to powder is brown blaze..so i got the same shade in the stick. however it turned out to be too dark. i actually had to go down several shades lighter to hazelnut. sooo i guess everything happens for a reason..im happy that i tried this foundation stick and i intend to keep using it :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mlsbailey on 2/6/2012 7:53:00 PM more reviews by Mlsbailey

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation stick and was happy that FF added new shades to their foundations which are not to red or orangey. I found my perfect match in their Java shade. In addition to the perfect shade, I found that the foundation lasts all day and did not transfer or oxidize. I used their Kola pressed powder to set it, which is another new beautiful shade. I normally wear Mac Studiofix in N9 which turned orange on me by midday and broke me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* happynappy1 on 1/3/2012 11:59:00 PM more reviews by happynappy1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Edit: Fashion Fair has added a new shade called "Walnut", which seems a good match to my skin. I'm test driving this over the next few days to see how it wears on my acne-prone skin.

I have to agree with the poster below. I was excited to try Fashion Fair again after word got out that Sam Fine had joined the brand as creative director. Nothing seems to have changed. The foundations are too orangey or, if you're darker skinned, they lean toward being so neutral as to look like ash on your skin. I doubt they'll survive after the current generation of loyal customers passes on. There's nothing new here to attract new customers. On the plus side, the stick is portable but that is where the positives about this product end. I was never able to find a good match for my skin tone or skin type (combo/oily) in any of the formulations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 1/2/2012 6:24:00 PM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I must seriously beg to differ from the majority of the other reviews of this product. As a matter of fact, my experience and opinion is almost completely the exact opposite of the review before mine. Because of all of the recent positive press about this brand and this product, in particular, I made the trek to my nearest counter (which is a bit away from me) with the goal of finding my match in the stick foundation and making a purchase. I was really let down. I used to use Fashion Fair in the late 70's and wasn't completely happy with it then, not with the foundations, anyway. Their foundations were always too orange or red in tone, and this confounded me, because I have always figured that a company that makes cosmetics specifically for WOC would have a certain handle on that issue and excel in that area. When I tried this product very recently, the first two shades that were tried on me leaned red and orange, respectively. Even the MUA who was assisting me had on a shade of this very product that was orangey and shiny in appearance. The color that was the closest match to me (Butterscotch) was still off in some way that I couldn't quite put my finger on. I let the MUA do my entire face in the shade, however, and I left the store thinking I would wear it the entire day and give it an honest shot. I found that the color *did* transfer, and started to have a somewhat shiny appearance (and my skin is not oily). I will pass on this product.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dupsie on 12/26/2011 2:28:00 PM more reviews by Dupsie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Thank you God. I have tried so many many foundations and everytime I always come back to fashion fair. With my skintone, most foundation are either to light making me look ashy or too red (bare minerals) or too orange. Everytime, I go to the fashion fair counter I am always amazed at the absolutely perfect match. I am a tender in this stick foundation and I think this will become my staple everyday foundation. It doesnt look cakey, it is very creamy then dries up and doesnt transfer (which is a bonus)

I think most people my age (20s) run away from fashion fair because our mums, nans and aunties use it but till date, Fashion fair in tender has been the only foundation I have used that fits me like perfect skin.

This case (the new one) is also super cute

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldandrubies on 12/22/2011 7:09:00 AM more reviews by goldandrubies

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

If you are reading this: stop everything you are doing and run to the nearest Fashion Fair make-up counter (Macy's, Dillards, etc). This is the best foundation for black women---period end of story. It makes MAC look like CoverGirl. I got the complete line-up: concealer, stick, and powder. I have super sensitive skin, and this doesn't break me out. It doesn't have sun block in it, so that is a must for me. I'm allergic to sunblock.

Don't hesitate. Treat yourself.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fashion Fair products

More Foundations products