La Roche Posay • Substiane • Moisturizers

rated 3.9(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hebrides on 6/2/2014 1:01:00 PM more reviews by hebrides

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I just used up the last of my generous sample of this so-called anti-aging product. I hoped this would help my aging skin but it is a very average face cream. I have no reason to recommend it. I don't like the heavy feel or the peculiar scent or the tacky residue. I gave it a fair chance and I prefer almost anything else to this. Note: it's not a serum. It's an ordinary lotion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 psears on 2/23/2012 6:29:00 PM more reviews by psears

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this product as a night cream for about three months. My skin feels plump, moisturized and smooth. It has no perfume, which is important to me as scents make me sneeze and my eyes itch. I just wish it wasn't so expensive at around $45 for 40 ml.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* noseofblue on 9/16/2009 3:05:00 PM more reviews by noseofblue

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

What a great product. It's a day cream and a night cream and is neither too heavy nor too light. So a single moisturizer for both day and night, and packaging in a small tube, makes it a must for travel. Also, I really like products that come in a tube that sits on it's top, because you always get product when you squeeze and there's very little waste. No mystery why 100% would buy again--I already have. As for does it do anything miraculous, I don't think there is a topical product that will undo wrinkles or sags. All we can do is prevent more.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinaGreece on 7/4/2009 11:38:00 AM more reviews by TinaGreece

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was on the lookout for a new product for my dehydrated skin and stumbled upon the reviews for Substiane and thought I would give it a go. Extremely moisturising but not heavy and greasy, goes on like butter but leaves my face shine free and feeling so hydrated and comfortable. You only need a tiny amount for maximum results. I think this is going to be a staple for me. Retails for 28 euros here and is also available in spf version (I use the regular one).
UPDATE: I took one lippie off as I think it's not doing that much lately for my uber dehydrated skin and found rosehip oil is working much better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 2/16/2009 6:28:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I feel like I shouldn't be reviewing this because Substiane isn't meant for my age group, but this moisturizer is so amazing I have to put in my two cents. I am in my mid-20's but I'm big on anti-aging prevention - I always moisturize after cleansing, use a glycolic toner, wear a night cream before going to bed, wear sunscreen and try to use all natural products, etc. etc. I received a sample packet of this from Sephora and I used it day and night for 3 days, totaling 6 uses. It soaks right in and is lightweight, but fully moisturized my skin while I slept, even with the heater on throughout the night. In the morning, my skin looked noticeably more even, glowier, and healthier. The only thing I changed in my regimen was that I started using this moisturizer.



The only things I don't like about this moisturizer is 1) the price, and 2) the ingredients list. At almost $50, it's not cheap. And it contains a bunch of crap, including beeswax, cornstarch, dimethicone, and several parabens. It also contains shea butter and several plant-based oils (apricot and soy bean), so if you have allergies to any of this you may want to avoid this product.



Overall I do like this moisturizer, I just wish it were not so chock full 'o chemicals. It did not break me out but this is probably not ideal for those with sensitive skin. For reference, I have combo skin (drier in the wintertime).

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suzi2qs on 1/23/2009 11:48:00 PM more reviews by suzi2qs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Yes!!! I love this cream!! I would not recommend it for anyone under 35 as it is formulated for "mature" skin. It has 5% Pro-Xylane which is a super promising anti-aging substance. Did a bit a research on it and was excited to try a product that includes this ingredient. L'Oreal's Skin Genesis Line has Pro-Xylane and Hyaluronic acid, a potent combination. I use the Skin Genesis line and since La Roche Posay is a L'Oreal company, figured Substiane would be compatible. It is. This deeply moisturizes skin and claims to suppliment skin density. This claim is not unsubstantiated. This product works for me. My skin feels full, supple and hydrated all the time now since I have added this to my routine. Will always have a tube since I am not likely to get any younger.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PamelaAnn on 8/26/2008 9:59:00 PM more reviews by PamelaAnn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this product for 5 months and love it.

I spray a light mist of the Thermal Spring Water on my face before I apply the product. A pea-size dab is plenty for my face and neck.

I use it under make-up and overnight . My skin never feels tight or greasy.

I have never spent this much on a moisturizer before, but intend to continue buying it. My tube lasts approximately 3 months.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slc on 11/29/2007 2:28:00 PM more reviews by slc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I originally liked this a lot and found it moist enough for my dry skin, but I started breaking out on my chin, so I went back to Nutric, which is a great moisturizer w/ no breakouts. It's excellent for my neck though, so I'm using it on there until it runs out.


4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More La Roche Posay products

More Moisturizers products