La Roche Posay Substiane

3.9

8 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA GLYCERIN BUTYROSPERMUM PARKII BUTTER / SHEA BUTTER CYCLOHEXASILOXANE PRUNUS ARMENIACA KERNEL OIL / APRICOT KERNEL OIL PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAETHYLHEXANOATE ISOHEXADECANE ZEA MAYS STARCH / CORN STARCH SILICA HYDROXYPROPYL TETRAHYDROPYRANTRIOL CERA ALBA / BEESWAX STEARIC ACID DIMETHICONE PALMITIC ACID PEG-100 STEARATE GLYCERYL STEARATE PROPYLENE GLYCOL PEG-20 STEARATE BIS-PEG-18 METHYL ETHER DIMETHYL SILANE STEARYL ALCOHOL DIMETHICONOL SODIUM HYDROXIDE ARGININE PCA SERINE DISODIUM EDTA POLYSORBATE 80 ACRYLAMIDE/SODIUM ACRYLOYLDIMETHYLTAURATE COPOLYMER TOCOPHEROL PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRADI-T-BUTYL HYDROXYHYDROCINNAMATE PHENOXYETHANOL BENZOIC ACID PARFUM


on 6/2/2014 1:01:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I just used up the last of my generous sample of this so-called anti-aging product. I hoped this would help my aging skin but it is a very average face cream. I have no reason to recommend it. I don't like the heavy feel or the peculiar scent or the tacky residue. I gave it a fair chance and I prefer almost anything else to this. Note: it's not a serum. It's an ordinary lotion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/23/2012 6:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've used this product as a night cream for about three months. My skin feels plump, moisturized and smooth. It has no perfume, which is important to me as scents make me sneeze and my eyes itch. I just wish it wasn't so expensive at around $45 for 40 ml.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2009 3:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

What a great product. It's a day cream and a night cream and is neither too heavy nor too light. So a single moisturizer for both day and night, and packaging in a small tube, makes it a must for travel. Also, I really like products that come in a tube that sits on it's top, because you always get product when you squeeze and there's very little waste. No mystery why 100% would buy again--I already have. As for does it do anything miraculous, I don't think there is a topical product that will undo wrinkles or sags. All we can do is prevent more.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2009 11:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was on the lookout for a new product for my dehydrated skin and stumbled upon the reviews for Substiane and thought I would give it a go. Extremely moisturising but not heavy and greasy, goes on like butter but leaves my face shine free and feeling so hydrated and comfortable. You only need a tiny amount for maximum results. I think this is going to be a staple for me. Retails for 28 euros here and is also available in spf version (I use the regular one).
UPDATE: I took one lippie off as I think it's not doing that much lately for my uber dehydrated skin and found rosehip oil is working much better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2009 6:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I feel like I shouldn't be reviewing this because Substiane isn't meant for my age group, but this moisturizer is so amazing I have to put in my two cents. I am in my mid-20's but I'm big on anti-aging prevention - I always moisturize after cleansing, use a glycolic toner, wear a night cream before going to bed, wear sunscreen and try to use all natural products, etc. etc. I received a sample packet of this from Sephora and I used it day and night for 3 days, totaling 6 uses. It soaks right in and is lightweight, but fully moisturized my skin while I slept, even with the heater on throughout the night. In the morning, my skin looked noticeably more even, glowier, and healthier. The only thing I changed in my regimen was that I started using this moisturizer.



The only things I don't like about this moisturizer is 1) the price, and 2) the ingredients list. At almost $50, it's not cheap. And it contains a bunch of crap, including beeswax, cornstarch, dimethicone, and several parabens. It also contains shea butter and several plant-based oils (apricot and soy bean), so if you have allergies to any of this you may want to avoid this product.



Overall I do like this moisturizer, I just wish it were not so chock full 'o chemicals. It did not break me out but this is probably not ideal for those with sensitive skin. For reference, I have combo skin (drier in the wintertime).

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2009 11:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Yes!!! I love this cream!! I would not recommend it for anyone under 35 as it is formulated for "mature" skin. It has 5% Pro-Xylane which is a super promising anti-aging substance. Did a bit a research on it and was excited to try a product that includes this ingredient. L'Oreal's Skin Genesis Line has Pro-Xylane and Hyaluronic acid, a potent combination. I use the Skin Genesis line and since La Roche Posay is a L'Oreal company, figured Substiane would be compatible. It is. This deeply moisturizes skin and claims to suppliment skin density. This claim is not unsubstantiated. This product works for me. My skin feels full, supple and hydrated all the time now since I have added this to my routine. Will always have a tube since I am not likely to get any younger.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2008 9:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been using this product for 5 months and love it.

I spray a light mist of the Thermal Spring Water on my face before I apply the product. A pea-size dab is plenty for my face and neck.

I use it under make-up and overnight . My skin never feels tight or greasy.

I have never spent this much on a moisturizer before, but intend to continue buying it. My tube lasts approximately 3 months.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2007 2:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I originally liked this a lot and found it moist enough for my dry skin, but I started breaking out on my chin, so I went back to Nutric, which is a great moisturizer w/ no breakouts. It's excellent for my neck though, so I'm using it on there until it runs out.


4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top