NARS 27 - Yachiyo

4.5

127 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/21/2015 10:29:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Well, I'm sorry that a number of people have had bad experiences with this brush, but the same isn't true for me. I knew I needed some kind of "light handed" brush, i.e. one that could lay down a light dusting of heavily pigmented blush--and this one IS IT for me! I actually did get mine from eBay and as far as I can tell, it is the real deal, down to the NARS packaging and the number 27 on the handle If I was fooled somehow, well, they did a good job.

I will agree that the brush sheds, but not horribly so. It does a perfect job of laying down a light dusting of blush which you can then build up gently. All in all, I love this brush and would definitely buy again--I own a quazillion brushes but none of them can do quite what this one does. Love it.



on 3/26/2015 4:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This brush wasn't as great as I expected it to be. It was small, not too soft but not too scratchy... I used it for my MAC MSF highlighter. Why am I using past tense? Because I bought this for myself for Xmas, and sadly I lost it by New Years...left it in a hotel room and hopefully someone else is giving it some use now. RIP little one, you are missed, but not enough that I will replace you. Don't plan to repurchase.


on 2/22/2015 12:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have wanted this brush for years, ever since my friend, who was a MUA at the NARS counter, used it on me. Somehow I always thought it was the HG of blush brushes. It just seemed so exotic and expensive. I finally bought it, and while I do like it, it's not as luxurious as I thought. It's a great shape and does a perfect job with very pigmented blushes, but it's just not that soft. It's not scratchy per se, but is not as soft as my other favourite blush brushes from MAC and Quo. I do use it several times a week, but always feel a bit let down by the quality.


on 2/22/2015 11:47:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've had this brush for several years, and I like it, but I don't love it. It is good for applying blush that is highly pigmented or too dark or bright for my skin (N/NW10-15) because it gives a nice, sheer application. However, it sheds like crazy, and the handle just seems fragile. I am always very careful when I wash it because I am afraid it will unravel. Mine isn't scratchy like some reviewers have commented, but I wouldn't say it's extremely soft either. The price ($55) is outrageous. I can't say I would never spend that on 1 brush again, but if I did, it would be from a company that focuses on brushes, like Hakuhodo.


on 2/15/2015 4:10:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Makeup brushes are my Achilles heel - well, one of them anyway. I own some super expensive ones as well as cheapo's and many in between. In my old age I have come to find that where makeup brushes are concerned, $$$ price doesn't always reflect quality. Case in point: I can't stand MAC brushes and this is because I own some inexpensive Real Technique and Bdellium brushes that blow the former out of the water (and are a fraction of MAC's price). Case in point re the expensive Yachiyo from Nars.

I got my NARS Yachiyo brush from a makeup artist friend who bought it but never even used it; I traded her some high end brushes I regretted buying because I wanted another Yachiyo brush. I already had a Yachiyo from Hakuhodo (which I LOVE!) but I had been thinking abt getting an extra one so I opted for this opportunity to procure a free one. I figured they were roughly around the same price so should mirror each other right? ERK, wrong answer! The Nars version does not even come close to the same performance as my Hakuhodo Yachiyo (and I think the Hakuhodo is actually abt 5 dollars less). Although as far as performance goes, its not a bad brush - it is great for high pigment blushes (bc it doesn't pick up too much color) and is a good size for quick and effortless highlighting.

If you are thinking about getting this I say skip it and go straight for the Hakuhodo Yachiyo - not too mention Nars isn't reinventing the wheel here, Yach brushes have been around in Japan for hundreds of years and are therefore easily accessible if you just do some "googling". I am giving 3 stars simply because there's better out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2015 4:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Black

This brush is magic! I have issues applying my blush and I put off buying this because of the price tag. I didn't think this could possibly be worth it, but this has the perfect bounce if that makes any sense. I dab the product on one side of the brush, place it on my cheek and bounce it in the area where I want to apply my blush. I also will go in circular motions after over the edges if i need it. It helps you build up layers of blush while still keeping it blended. It does work great for pigmented blushes but also works great for all other blushes like blushes with normal to sheer pigmentation! Just thought I'd mention that because I use it as my daily blush brush- not just for when I'm using a super pigmented blush.

However, I wish the packaging was not so flimsy. I haven't had problems yet but I haven't had it for very long and I've heard the twine can come undone. It seems very fragile. My brush isn't scratchy at all- at least not yet. It's very soft and tapered in the perfect way.


on 11/9/2014 1:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my idea contouring/blush brush...it fits right into the hollows of my cheeks and defines them like no other brush I've used. Will make sure to always keep one in my kit.

Edit: knicked off a couple lippies as this brush scratched my face...it's pretty rough. I've since found two HG contour brushes, Kevyn Aucoin and Sephora Collection's new tapered contour brush that looks like a larger MAC 217. They are perfect!


on 7/9/2014 9:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have a small face and for me this brush is perfect! At first I was like this is very thin and light and not even a brush guard for the price. Still I wasn't giving up yet considering what I paid and how many times it has been out of stock which seems to be always, so I went for it. For me it picks up the perfect amount of colour and is the perfect size for my face. I have a hard time with brushes always being too big and this applies my blush to perfection IMO. I don't find it scratchy because I have a MAC contour brush that I was using for blush. It was goat hair as well and is a lot more scratchy but I love it, because it's small and picks up I the perfect amount of product no matter what blush I use.

This is way softer than I expected and I like that it has a little "grip" to pick up the product. Also for me having a small face this brush is great for my small cheek bones. Mine has not shed at all and I was totally prepared for that but so far it's just lovely. I have been keeping it in the box till I get a proper brush guard for it. I really like it so this is a purchase I do not regret. Because with proper care this will last and preform for a long time. My blush goes on so much better and never applies too much. I have very soft or sensitive skin from doing peels and this is fine by my standards. I'm really glad I have this and since I'm a blush lover this is a nice addition. If you have a small face definitely check this out. Sometimes the brush makes all the difference sometimes it does not. For me it's fantastic and I luv it! Recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2014 5:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this brush and I didn't even manage to like it. It feels scratchy on my skin and sheds everywhere! It takes twice as long to put my blush in because I have to pick off the little bits of bristles that were stuck on my skin. An overhyped product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2014 8:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Totally in love with this brush!! I had some difficulty in getting my hands on this bad boy and had a girlfriend pick up at a NARS counter in Japan and ship it to me. When I opened the package and saw my beautiful Yachiyo brush, I squealed with excitement!

Now after owning and using it for the past 3 months, I can't imagine my make-up routine without it. It softly delivers the perfect amount of color to my face, I just lightly sweep over my blush color of choice and apply, it's that simple and the results are perfect every time! It has to be the way the bristles are designed, but it picks up just the right amount of product and deposits where I want. This is definitely worth the money!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
Core Collection
230 Reviews
Buffing Brush
Buffing Brush
122 Reviews


Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Jungle Red

61 reviews
image

Exhibit A

361 reviews
Back to Top